DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (US 2021/0335180 A1, Published October 28, 2021).
As to claim 1, Sun discloses a display panel, comprising a first gate driving circuit, a second gate driving circuit, and a control circuit, wherein the first gate driving circuit comprises multiple cascaded first shift register units, the second gate driving circuit comprises multiple cascaded second shift register units, the control circuit comprises multiple control units, and the first shift register units, the second shift register units, and the control units are arranged in correspondence (Sun at Figs. 1, 4, first shift circuits 12, second shift circuits 13, and control circuits 14 are arranged in correspondence); and
wherein each control unit is connected to an output terminal of each first shift register unit, an input terminal of each second shift register unit (Sun at Figs. 1, 4, output of first shift circuit is connected to input of control circuit 14, and output of control circuit 14 is connected to second shift circuit 13), and a restart control terminal (Sun at Figs. 1, 2, 4, gate terminal T1 of control circuit 14 is analogous to a restart control terminal), and
the control unit is configured to transmit, in response to a signal from the restart control terminal, an output signal of the first shift register unit to the input terminal of the second shift register unit (Sun at Figs. 1, 2, 4, control signal S1; ¶ [0043] discloses “The first transistor T1 can turn on the connection between the output terminal of the first shift circuit 12 and the input terminal of the second shift circuit 13 when the control signal S1 provides a first level as a gate turn-on voltage (eg, a voltage that causes the first transistor T1 to operate in a linear region or a saturation region). When the control signal S1 provides a second level as a gate-off voltage (eg, a voltage that causes the first transistor T1 to operate in the cut-off region), the first transistor T1 can break the connection between the output terminal of the first shift circuit 12 and the input terminal of the second shift circuit 13.”).
As to claim 2, Sun discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein each of the control units share the same restart control terminal (Sun at Fig. 2, gates of transistors T1 are all connected to control signal S1).
As to claim 3, Sun discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the control unit comprises: a first control transistor, wherein a first electrode of the first control transistor is connected to the output terminal of the first shift register unit, a second electrode of the first control transistor is connected to the input terminal of the second shift register unit, a gate of the first control transistor is connected to the restart control terminal, and the first control transistor is configured to transmit, in response to the signal from the restart control terminal, the output signal of the first shift register unit to the input terminal of the second shift register unit (Sun at Fig. 2, control circuit 14 including transistor T1).
As to claim 7, Sun discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first shift register unit and the second shift register unit have the same circuit structures (Sun at Fig. 2).
As to claim 16, Sun discloses a display device comprising a display panel wherein the display panel (Sun at Fig. 7) comprises
a first gate driving circuit, a second gate driving circuit, and a control circuit, wherein the first gate driving circuit comprises multiple cascaded first shift register units, the second gate driving circuit comprises multiple cascaded second shift register units, the control circuit comprises multiple control units, and the first shift register units, the second shift register units, and the control units are arranged in correspondence (Sun at Figs. 1, 4, first shift circuits 12, second shift circuits 13, and control circuits 14 are arranged in correspondence); and
wherein each control unit is connected to an output terminal of each first shift register unit, an input terminal of each second shift register unit (Sun at Figs. 1, 4, output of first shift circuit is connected to input of control circuit 14, and output of control circuit 14 is connected to second shift circuit 13), and a restart control terminal (Sun at Figs. 1, 2, 4, gate terminal T1 of control circuit 14), and a restart control terminal (Sun at Figs. 1, 2, 4, gate terminal T1 of control circuit 14 is analogous to a restart control terminal), and
the control unit is configured to transmit, in response to a signal from the restart control terminal, an output signal of the first shift register unit to the input terminal of the second shift register unit (Sun at Figs. 1, 2, 4, control signal S1; ¶ [0043] discloses “The first transistor T1 can turn on the connection between the output terminal of the first shift circuit 12 and the input terminal of the second shift circuit 13 when the control signal S1 provides a first level as a gate turn-on voltage (eg, a voltage that causes the first transistor T1 to operate in a linear region or a saturation region). When the control signal S1 provides a second level as a gate-off voltage (eg, a voltage that causes the first transistor T1 to operate in the cut-off region), the first transistor T1 can break the connection between the output terminal of the first shift circuit 12 and the input terminal of the second shift circuit 13.”).
As to claim 17, Sun discloses the display device according to claim 16, wherein each of the control units share the same restart control terminal Sun at Fig. 2, gates of transistors T1 are all connected to control signal S1).
As to claim 18, Sun discloses the display device according to claim 16, wherein the control unit comprises: a first control transistor, wherein a first electrode of the first control transistor is connected to the output terminal of the first shift register unit, a second electrode of the first control transistor is connected to the input terminal of the second shift register unit, a gate of the first control transistor is connected to the restart control terminal, and the first control transistor is configured to transmit, in response to the signal from the restart control terminal, the output signal of the first shift register unit to the input terminal of the second shift register unit Sun at Fig. 2, control circuit 14 including transistor T1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2021/0335180 A1, Published October 28, 2021) in view of Kim (US 2019/0266928 A1, Published August 29, 2019).
As to claim 6, Sun discloses the display panel according to claim 1.
Sun does not disclose that the display panel further comprises a pixel driving circuit located in a display area, and the pixel driving circuit comprises: a driving transistor, wherein a first electrode of the driving transistor is connected to a second node, a second electrode of the driving transistor is connected to a third node, a gate of the driving transistor is connected to s first node, and the driving transistor is configured to provide a driving current by using a voltage difference between the second node and the third node under control of a voltage at the first node; a first transistor, wherein a first electrode of the first transistor is connected to the first node, a second electrode of the first transistor is connected to a first initial signal terminal, a gate of the first transistor is connected to a first reset signal terminal, and the first transistor is configured to reset, in response to a signal from the first reset signal terminal, the first node using a voltage signal from the first initial signal terminal; and a second transistor, wherein a first electrode of the second transistor is connected to the first node, a second electrode of the second transistor is connected to the third node, a gate of the second transistor is connected to an output terminal of the second shift register unit corresponding thereto, and the second transistor is configured to charge, in response to a gate driving signal output by the second shift register unit, the first node using a voltage signal at the third node; wherein the first reset signal terminal reuses an output signal of the second shift register unit.
However, Kim does disclose that the display panel further comprises a pixel driving circuit located in a display area, and the pixel driving circuit comprises: a driving transistor, wherein a first electrode of the driving transistor is connected to a second node, a second electrode of the driving transistor is connected to a third node, a gate of the driving transistor is connected to s first node, and the driving transistor is configured to provide a driving current by using a voltage difference between the second node and the third node under control of a voltage at the first node; a first transistor, wherein a first electrode of the first transistor is connected to the first node, a second electrode of the first transistor is connected to a first initial signal terminal, a gate of the first transistor is connected to a first reset signal terminal, and the first transistor is configured to reset, in response to a signal from the first reset signal terminal, the first node using a voltage signal from the first initial signal terminal; and a second transistor, wherein a first electrode of the second transistor is connected to the first node, a second electrode of the second transistor is connected to the third node, a gate of the second transistor is connected to an output terminal of the second shift register unit corresponding thereto, and the second transistor is configured to charge, in response to a gate driving signal output by the second shift register unit, the first node using a voltage signal at the third node; wherein the first reset signal terminal reuses an output signal of the second shift register unit (Kim at Fig. 8, in particular).
Sun discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Sun the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of enhancing image purity (Kim at ¶ [0126]).
Claims 8, 9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2021/0335180 A1, Published October 28, 2021).
As to claim 8, Sun discloses the display panel according to claim 7, wherein the first shift register unit and the second shift register unit each comprises: an input module connected to an output terminal of a corresponding shift register unit in a previous stage, a fifth node, and a first clock signal terminal, wherein the input module is configured to transmit, in response to a signal from the first clock signal terminal, a received output signal of the previous-stage shift register unit to the fifth node; a pull-down module connected to a fourth node and the first clock signal terminal, wherein the pull-down module receives a first level signal, and is configured to pull, in response to the signal from the first clock signal terminal, down the fourth node using the first level signal; a pull-up module connected the fourth node, the fifth node, and the first clock signal terminal, wherein the pull-up module is configured to pull, in response to a signal at the fifth node, up the fourth node using the signal from the first clock signal terminal; a reset module connected to the fourth node, the fifth node, and a second clock signal terminal, wherein the reset module receives a second level signal, and is configured to reset, in response to a signal at the fourth node and a signal from the second clock signal terminal, the fifth node using the second level signal; a protection module connected to the fifth node and the third node, wherein the protection module receives the first level signal, and is configured to transmit, in response to the first level signal, the signal at the fifth node to the third node, and to be turned off in response to a voltage difference between the first level signal and the signal at the third node; a first output module connected to the fourth node and the output terminal, wherein the first output module receives the second level signal, and is configured to transmit, in response to the signal at the fourth node, the second level signal to the output terminal; a second output module connected to the third node, the output terminal, and the second clock signal terminal, wherein the second output module is configured to transmit, in response to the signal at the third node, the signal from the second clock signal terminal to the output terminal; a second storage module connected to the third node and the output terminal, wherein the second storage module is configured to perform bootstrap on a potential of the third node when a polarity of the signal from the second clock signal terminal is the same as a polarity of the signal at the third node; and a first storage module connected to the fourth node, wherein the first storage module receives the second level signal, and is configured to maintain voltage stability of the fourth node (Sun at Fig. 2).
As to claim 9, Sun discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the second shift register unit comprises an input module and an output module, the input module is connected to a first clock signal terminal, and the output module is connected to a second clock signal terminal; when the display panel is driven for display at a same refresh frequency, the first clock signal terminal and the second clock signal terminal alternately output a turned-on level; and when the display panel is driven by different refresh frequencies based on partition regions, both the first clock signal terminal and the second clock signal terminal output a non-turned- on level, and a duration of the non-turned-on level is greater than or equal to 2H, where H is a pulse width, and represents charging time of a single row (Sun at Fig. 2).
As to claim 13, Sun disclose a display panel driving method, for driving the display panel according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above),
the method comprising: determining a starting row corresponding to a target region on which refreshing needs to be stopped (Sun at Figs. 5-6; ¶ [0040]);
controlling a target clock signal terminal in a second shift register unit corresponding to the starting row to simultaneously output a non-turned-on level, to control the second shift register unit to continuously output the non-turned-on level (Sun at Figs. 3, 5, 6);
determining a target row on which the refreshing needs to be restarted, wherein a first shift register unit corresponding to the target row outputs a signal having a turned-on level (Sun at Figs. 3-6); and
controlling a restart control terminal to output a signal having the turned-on level to turn on each control unit, wherein the second shift register unit corresponding to the target row uses the signal having the turned-on level output by the first shift register unit for shift output (Sun at Figs. 2-6).
As to claim 14, Sun disclose the method according to claim 13, wherein a duration during which the target clock signal terminal simultaneously output the non-turned-on level is greater than or equal to 2H, where H is a pulse width, and represents charging time of a single row (Sun at Figs. 3, 5, 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 10, 11, 12, 15, 19, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the objected to claim and all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan (CN 117854416 A1, Filed on January 19, 2024) is made of record for its relevance to claims 1 and 16 by its disclosure of the following at Figs. 9 and 28 in particular:
Zheng (US 2018/0137805 A1, Published May 17, 2018) is made of record for its relevance to claims 1 and 16 by its disclosure of the following at Fig. 2:
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
06/03/2026