DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 6 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 10-0572849, English translation appended).Regarding Claim 1:In Figures 1-6 Kim discloses a turbo compressor (turbo blower 1000) capable of compressing a gas (air) and supplying the compressed gas to outside (as depicted by the flow direction arrows for air in Figure 3 and known in the art that turbo blowers compress gas at a lower compression ratio), the turbo compressor (1000) comprising: a compressed gas inlet (280) for sucking in the gas (as depicted in Figure 3); an impeller (60) for compressing the gas introduced through the compressed gas inlet; a compressed gas outlet (55) for discharging the gas compressed by the impeller, to outside (see page 12 last line of the translation); a compression unit (generally depicted as 100) comprising a compressed gas channel (channel from 280 to 55 as depicted by flow direction arrows in Figures 3-4) connected from the compressed gas inlet to the compressed gas outlet; a motor (230) comprising a rotating shaft (208) with an end coupled to the impeller (60), to rotate the impeller (see page 9, 1st paragraph); a housing (100, 200) comprising a motor accommodation space (space within 200) for accommodating the motor (as seen in Figure 3); and a cooling gas channel (213, 233, 283, 2087) provided to pass through the motor accommodation space and formed to allow a cooling gas accommodated inside to flow (as seen in Figures 3-4), wherein the compressed gas inlet (280) is disposed at a front end of the housing (as seen in Figure 3) while the impeller (60) is disposed at a rear end of the housing (see Figure 3), wherein the motor (230) is disposed between the compressed gas inlet (280) and the impeller (as seen in Figure 3), wherein the rotating shaft (208) comprises a borehole (2087) extending along a longitudinal direction (as seen in Figure 3), wherein the cooling gas channel (213, 233, 283, 2087) comprises: a first cooling gas channel (channel in 213, 233) starting from the compressed gas inlet, passing along an outer circumferential surface of the rotating shaft, and reaching the impeller (as seen in Figures 3-4 and mentioned on page 10, 2nd paragraph); and a second cooling gas channel (2087) starting from the compressed gas inlet (280), passing through the borehole (2087) of the rotating shaft, and reaching the impeller (via 227, see page 12, 2nd paragraph), and wherein the gas sucked in from the compressed gas inlet (280) by suction force of the impeller passes through the first and second cooling gas channels to cool the motor (as depicted by the flow direction arrows in Figures 3-4 an described on page 11, 2nd paragraph to page 12 1st paragraph).Regarding Claim 2:In Figures 1-6 Kim discloses the turbo compressor (1000), wherein the first (213, 233) and second (2087) cooling gas channels are formed to allow the cooling gas to flow unidirectionally from the compressed gas inlet to the impeller (unidirectional flow through the cooling gas channels is depicted by the flow direction arrows in Figures 3-4).Regarding Claim 3:In Figures 1-6 Kim discloses the turbo compressor (1000), wherein the first cooling gas channel (213, 233) is formed to cool a stator (231) of the motor (see Figures 3-4 and page 9, last line to page 10, 1st line).Regarding Claim 4:In Figures 1-6 Kim discloses the turbo compressor (1000), wherein the second cooling gas channel (2087) is formed to cool a rotor (235) of the motor (see page 10, 2nd paragraph).Regarding Claim 5:In Figures 1-6 Kim discloses the turbo compressor (1000), wherein at least one first through-hole (2072) for allowing the gas sucked in from the compressed gas inlet (280) to flow into the motor accommodation space is formed at the front end of the housing (see Figure 4), and wherein at least one second through-hole (227) for allowing the gas accommodated in the motor accommodation space to flow toward the impeller is formed at the rear end of the housing (see Figure 4).Regarding Claim 6:In Figures 1-6 Kim discloses the turbo compressor (1000), wherein at least one of the first and second through-holes comprises a plurality of through-holes (227) arranged at predetermined intervals along a circumferential direction of the rotating shaft (as seen in Figure 4, 227 is multiple holes formed in the rotating shaft in a circumferential direction).Regarding Claim 7:In Figures 1-6 Kim discloses the turbo compressor (1000), wherein the motor (230) further comprises thrust bearings (thrust foil air bearings 211, see Figure 3) disposed at a front end of the rotating shaft (as seen in Figure 4), and wherein the cooling gas channel further comprises a third cooling gas channel (2298 to 20721) to starting from the compressed gas inlet, passing through the thrust bearings (211), and reaching the impeller (as seen in Figures 3-4).Regarding Claim 8:In Figures 1-6 Kim discloses the turbo compressor (1000), wherein at least one third through-hole (2298) for allowing the gas sucked in from the compressed gas inlet to flow toward the thrust bearings (211) is formed at the front end of the housing (see Figure 3).Regarding Claim 9:In Figures 1-6 Kim discloses the turbo compressor (1000), wherein the third through-hole (2298) comprises a circular ring-shaped hole (circular ring-shaped hole formed adjacent to the disk 2110 extending from 2298 and allowing air to pass around the disk 2110 depicted as 217, see Figure 4) formed by cooperation of a circular hole (hole in the front end of the housing depicted as a portion of 217, see figure 4) provided at the front end of the housing, and the front end of the rotating shaft disposed in the circular hole (as seen in Figure 4, the front end of the shaft connected to fan 210 is in the circular hole).Regarding Claim 10:In Figures 1-6 Kim discloses the turbo compressor (1000), wherein the rotating shaft (208) comprises: a gas inlet hole (217) connected to the borehole (2087) of the rotating shaft (as seen in Figure 3, the gas inlet hole is formed on a front end of the shaft forming the fan hub fan 210 or alternately the holes formed inside the shaft immediately adjacent to the front end of the stator as seen in Figure 4) and formed at a front end of the rotating shaft (as seen in Figures 3-4); and a gas outlet hole (227) connected to the borehole (2087) of the rotating shaft and formed at a rear end of the rotating shaft (as seen in Figure 4), and wherein the gas outlet hole (227) is disposed between a stator (231) of the motor and the impeller (as seen in Figure 4, 227 is between 231 and 60).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 6296441 – Turbo compressor with shaft cooling passage. US 20070228847 – Motor with shaft cooling for turbo compressor. US 20190293085 – Turbo compressor with stator cooling passage.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7571. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 12 pm -8 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746