Application Status
Claims 1-19 are pending and have been examined in this application
This communication is the first action on the merits
Claims 1-7, 10-19 are rejected herein
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 4/18/2025 and reviewed by the examiner. As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 4/9/2026 and reviewed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6,7, and 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (WIPO No. WO 2022108102 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a connector mounter connected to a medical instrument control device(control device 100 is connected to the holder 8), the connector mounter comprising :a base plate (plate is shown on 8) ;a connector holder positioned at a distal of the base plate to hold a medical instrument connector(see fig. 12 between E opening on the distal end of the base plate to hold a medical instrument connector) ; and a medical instrument guide positioned at a proximal of the base plate to guide a path of a medical instrument that passes through the medical instrument connector(see wire channels on 8 on the proximal side to guide a path of a medical instrument that passes through the medical instrument connector).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches the connector mounter of the connector mounter of claim 1 wherein the connector holder comprises: a holder plate connected to a distal end of the base plate in a hinge manner(holder plate labeled A is connected to the distal plate via a hinge); and a proximal holder positioned at a proximal of the holder plate to hold the medical instrument connector(clamps 6a, 6b, 6c, and 6d are on the proximal side to hold the medical instrument connector).
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 2 wherein the connector holder further comprises: a distal holder positioned on a distal of the holder plate to hold a distal end of the medical instrument connector or hold a medical instrument connected to the distal end of the medical instrument connector (distal holder labeled B).
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 3 wherein the distal holder is detachably attached to the holder plate. (B is attached with fasteners which may be removed so B may be detached from the holder plate)
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 1 wherein the medical instrument guide comprises: a lower guide positioned at the proximal of the base plate; and an upper guide connected to the lower guide in a hinge manner(see C, lower and upper guide are connected by a hinge).
Regarding claim 7, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 6 wherein the lower guide comprises: a lower body positioned at the proximal of the base plate(lower half is on the proximal part of the base plate); and a valley recessed from the lower body to insert and dispose the medical instrument therein(valleys exist in the lower part), and the upper guide comprises: an upper body connected to the lower body in a hinge manner(upper body is connected to lower by a hinge see C); and a blade protruding from a lower part of the upper body to close an open upper part of the valley(the edges of the protrusions on the upper portion are blades used to close the open upper part of the valley in the lower part).
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 7wherein the valley comprises: a plurality of independent valleys formed independently (independent valleys in the lower part of C); and a converging valley formed on a distal of the lower body to converge the plurality of independent valleys into one(the valleys converge at a distal end of the lower body into one).
Regarding claim 11, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 10 wherein one of the plurality of independent valleys is formed to be positioned on a same straight line as the converging valley. (valley D forms a straight line that is the same as the converged valley)
Regarding claim 12, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 7 wherein the valley comprises: a first space of which a width narrows toward a lower side; anda second space of which a width remains the same on a lower side compared to the first space.(the valley above D associated with 6a has a first portion that narrows and a second lower portion where the width remains the same)
Regarding claim 13, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 7 wherein the lower guide further comprises a grip guide part formed by recessing at least a portion of a distal end of the lower body. (E are recessed portions on the distal end of the lower part that defines a grip guide part)
Regarding claim 14, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 7 wherein the lower guide further comprises a protruding wall protruding upward from the lower body at a position where the valley is curved. (protruding walls protruding upwards exist next to the valleys on the lower portion of C)
Regarding claim 15, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 1 wherein the base plate comprises a discharge guide formed on a top surface of the base plate to discharge, in at least one direction, a foreign material that falls onto the base plate from the medical instrument(area between E is on the top surface of the base plate and may function as a discharge guide for any foreign material that falls onto the base plate from the medical instrument).
Regarding claim 16, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 1 wherein the medical instrument guide comprises a plurality of valleys recessed to insert and dispose the medical instrument therein(lower portion of C contains a plurality of valleys recessed to insert and dispose the medical instrument therein), and at least one of the plurality of valleys is formed in a straight line shape to dispose the medical instrument in a straight line (valley D forms a straight line).
Regarding claim 17, Choi teaches the connector mounter of wherein proximal ends of the upper guide and the lower guide are formed in a shape corresponding to a roller module connected to the medical instrument control device. (see fig. 3 and 4, 6a, b, c, and d are associated with tools Ta, Tb, Tc, and Td and with their respective roller modules 22a, 22b, 22c, and 22d)
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clark (U.S. Pat. No.US 20220233820 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Clark teaches a connector mounter connected to a medical instrument control device, the connector mounter comprising: a base plate(506a in fig. 50b); a connector holder positioned at a distal of the base plate to hold a medical instrument connector(the cover 505 distal to the base holding the medical instrument); and a medical instrument guide positioned at a proximal of the base plate to guide a path of a medical instrument that passes through the medical instrument connector(see proximal guide path fig. 47 and 48 channels leading to the proximal side).
Regarding claim 2, Clark teaches the connector mounter of claim 1 wherein the connector holder comprises: a holder plate connected to a distal end of the base plate in a hinge manner; and a proximal holder positioned at a proximal of the holder plate to hold the medical instrument connector(505 has corresponding holder plates on both the proximal and distal ends, see fig. 50b).
Regarding claim 5, Clark teaches the connector mounter of claim 2 wherein the connector holder further comprises a support link connected to the holder plate in a hinge manner(505 is connected via hinge 503, the hinge functions as a support link holding 505 in an upright position when lifted relative to the base plate), and when the holder plate is lifted upward relative to the base plate, an end of the support link is caught by a support bump formed on the base plate to maintain a lifted state of the holder plate(the hinge will bump into the side of 506a functioning as a support bump on the base plate to maintain a lifted state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (WIPO No. WO 2022108102 A1).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by Choi (WIPO No. WO 2022108102 A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Choi (WIPO No. WO 2022108102 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 3 wherein the distal holder is detachably attached to the holder plate. (B is attached with fasteners which may be removed so B may be detached from the holder plate)
In the alternative, regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 3 but does not explicitly teach that the distal holder is detachably attached to the holder plate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to make the distal holder detachably attached to the holder plate. (see MPEP 2144.04 (V)(C. Making separable)
Regarding claim 18, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 10 where in at least one of the plurality of independent valleys comprises: a first section curved in one direction, a second section extending in a longitudinal direction , and a third section curved in the other direction. (see fig. 12, F, at least one of the valleys has a first section curved one direction, another extending longitudinal, a third section curved in the other direction) While Choi does not explicitly teach the angles or radius of curvature of the sections, this is a matter of routine optimization. (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). Because this falls within routine optimization, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to determine the angles of the sections of at least one of the valleys relative to one another and their respective radii of curvature.
Regarding claim 19, Choi teaches the connector mounter of claim 10 where in at least one of the plurality of independent valleys comprises: a first section curved in one direction, a second section extending in a longitudinal direction, and a third section curved in the other direction. (see fig. 12, F, at least one of the valleys has a first section curved one direction, another extending longitudinal, a third section curved in the other direction) While Choi does not explicitly teach the angles or radius of curvature of the sections, this is a matter of routine optimization. (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)) Because this falls within routine optimization, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to determine the angles of the sections of at least one of the valleys relative to one another and their respective radii of curvature.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/W.D.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619