DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 23, 24, 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Armstrong US 2007/0129757.
Regarding claim 1, Armstrong discloses a device suitable for treating a fistula (paragraph 0012, 0025), wherein the fistula comprises a fistula tract (paragraph 0025), wherein the device comprises a seton 20 and an elongate body 11 of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0036), wherein the elongate body is suitable for being positioned within the fistula tract (paragraph 0025, 0036), and wherein the elongate body comprises a plurality of protrusions 16 positioned on at least one outer surface of said elongate body (figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Armstrong discloses wherein each outer surface on which the plurality of protrusions are positioned is parallel or substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body (figure 1, anchoring members extend along substantially parallel along the longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 23, Armstrong discloses wherein the elongate body 11 and the plurality of protrusions 16 are of unitary construction (figure 1, body having anchoring members forming a single unitary portion). Examiner notes in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, the method of construction has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e -a unitary construction, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 24, Armstrong discloses wherein the elongate body is an elongate sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0036, 0046; biocompatible sheet material), optionally wherein the plurality of protrusions are positioned on at least one outer edge surface of the elongate sheet, wherein the outer edge surface is parallel or substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the elongate sheet (Examiner notes this limitation is optional and not required to be explicitly disclosed in the prior art).
Regarding claim 28, Armstrong discloses said method comprising the step of affixing the seton to the elongate body (threaded through lumen 18, figure 1).
Regarding claim 29, Armstrong discloses a method of treating a fistula, the method comprising the use of a device according to claim 1 (paragraph 0025).
Claim(s) 30-33, 36 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paul, JR. et al. US 2011/0288581.
Regarding claim 30, Paul, JR. et al. discloses a device suitable for treating a fistula (paragraph 0007), wherein the fistula comprises a fistula tract (paragraph 0068) wherein the device comprises a seton 28 (figure 5A) and an elongate body 30 (figure 5A) of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0037), wherein the elongate body is suitable for being positioned within the fistula tract (paragraph 0068), and wherein the device comprises one or more attachment points positioned along the length of the elongate body (paragraph 0039, passing filament 28 from one side to the other of body 30, attachment loops being formed), wherein the one or more attachment points are configured to connect the elongate body to a further seton (configured to be attached to the loops as formed by filament 28 within body 30, figure 5A).
Regarding claim 31, Paul, JR. et al. disclose wherein the elongate body 30 is an elongate sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0009, 0037; body 30 folded or rolled sheet).
Regarding claim 32, Paul, JR. et al. discloses wherein each attachment point is provided in the form of an attachment loop (figure 5A, passing filament 28 from one side to the other of body 30, attachment loops being formed) , optionally wherein each attachment loop has an internal circumference from 5 to 20 mm, and optionally wherein the seton is thread through the elongate body of tissue growth promoting matrix material, and wherein each attachment loop is directly secured to the seton or each attachment loop is formed by the seton.
Regarding claim 33, Paul, JR. et al. discloses wherein the elongate sheet comprises a first end and a second end, with a longitudinal axis extending from the first end to the second end (see annotated figure 5A below), wherein the seton extends beyond the first end of the elongate sheet (figure 5A), is repeatedly thread through a first side of the elongate sheet to a second side (paragraph 0009; 0039; filament 28 threaded or woven through such a sheet or ribbon to form a unit, figure 5A), then back though the second side of the elongate sheet to the first side (paragraph 0009; 0039; filament 28 threaded or woven through such a sheet or ribbon to form a unit, figure 5A), so as to form a plurality of attachment loops positioned on alternate sides along the length of the elongate sheet (paragraph 0009; 0039; filament 28 threaded or woven through such a sheet or ribbon to form a unit, figure 5A), wherein the seton is optionally thread back through the first side of the elongate sheet to a second side (paragraph 0009; 0039; filament 28 threaded or woven through such a sheet or ribbon to form a unit, figure 5A), and wherein the seton exits so as to extend beyond the second end of the elongate sheet (figure 5A), wherein the plurality of attachment loops are configured to tie the elongate sheet to one or more further setons (configured to be tied to the loops as formed by filament 28 within body 30, figure 5A).
Regarding claim 36, Paul JR. et al. discloses wherein the seton is formed from one or more biodegradable polymers (paragraph 0011, filament may be biodegradable).
Regarding claim 37, Paul JR. et al. discloses a method of manufacturing comprising the step of affixing the seton 28 to the elongate body 30 (figure 5A, filament 28 threaded or woven through body 30).
Claim(s) 1, 23, 24, 26-32, 35-37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patel et al. US 2007/0088445.
Regarding claim 1, Patel et al. discloses a device suitable for treating a fistula wherein the fistula comprises a fistula tract (paragraph 0013), wherein the device comprises a seton 50 and an elongate body of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0031, 0055, 0069, sheet body 21 or 41; figures 1, 3A), wherein the elongate body is suitable for being positioned within the fistula tract (paragraph 0018), and wherein the elongate body comprises a plurality of protrusions positioned on at least one outer surface of said elongate body (paragraph 0065, 0070; device may further incorporate one or more barbs or other suitable adaptations for anchoring the product to soft tissue around the fistula void or trigger a healing response).
Regarding claim 23, Patel et al. discloses wherein the elongate body and the plurality of protrusions are of unitary construction (barbs and elongate body or sheet being a unitary device and may be considered a unitary construction). Examiner notes in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, the method of construction has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e -a unitary construction, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 24, Patel et al. discloses wherein the elongate body is an elongate sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material (for example, paragraph 0030, 0031, 0069), optionally wherein the plurality of protrusions are positioned on at least one outer edge surface of the elongate sheet, wherein the outer edge surface is parallel or substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the elongate sheet.
Regarding claim 26, Patel et al. discloses wherein the tissue growth promoting matrix material comprises a scaffold comprises a plurality of fibres (paragraph 0034, materials include collagen fibers), and optionally wherein: (i) the fibres are interconnected in a non-woven disordered structure; and/or (ii) the fibres are constructed from a biodegradable polymer such as a biodegradable polyester;and/or (iii) the fibres are constructed from poly-L-lactic acid.
Regarding claim 27, Patel et al. discloses wherein the seton is formed from one or more biodegradable polymers (paragraph 0015, 0065; suture 50 may be absorbable).
Regarding claim 28, Patel et al. discloses a method comprising the step of affixing the seton to the elongate body (figures 1, 3A, 3B; paragraph 0066, 0068; a knot through opening 25 or a suture formed as a loop around middle region 43).
Regarding claim 29, Patel et al. discloses the method comprising the use of a device a device suitable for treating a fistula wherein the fistula comprises a fistula tract (paragraph 0013), wherein the device comprises a seton 50 and an elongate body of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0031, 0055, 0069, sheet body 21 or 41; figures 1, 3A), wherein the elongate body is suitable for being positioned within the fistula tract (paragraph 0018), and wherein the elongate body comprises a plurality of protrusions positioned on at least one outer surface of said elongate body (paragraph 0065, 0070; device may further incorporate one or more barbs or other suitable adaptations for anchoring the product to soft tissue around the fistula void or trigger a healing response).
Regarding claim 30, Patel et al. discloses a device suitable for treating a fistula wherein the fistula comprises a fistula tract (paragraph 0013), wherein the device comprises a seton 50 and an elongate body of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0031, 0055, 0069, sheet body 21 or 41; figures 1, 3A), wherein the elongate body is suitable for being positioned within the fistula tract (paragraph 0018), and wherein the device comprises one or more attachment points positioned along the length of the elongate body (figures 1, 3A, opening 25 or middle section 43), wherein the one or more attachment points are configured to connect the elongate body to a further seton (figures 1, 3A, 3B; paragraph 0066, 0058; a knot through opening 25 or a suture formed as a loop around middle region 43).
Regarding claim 31, Patel et al. discloses wherein the elongate body is an elongate sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0031, 0055, 0069, sheet body 21 or 41; figures 1, 3A).
Regarding claim 32, Patel et al discloses wherein each attachment point is provided in the form of an attachment loop (loop of material around opening 25, figure 1), optionally wherein each attachment loop has an internal circumference from 5 to 20 mm, and optionally wherein the seton is thread through the elongate body of tissue growth promoting matrix material, and wherein each attachment loop is directly secured to the seton or each attachment loop is formed by the seton.
Regarding claim 35, Patel et al. wherein the tissue growth promoting matrix material comprises a scaffold comprises a plurality of fibres (paragraph 0034, 0047; materials include collagen fibers, bioabsorbable polymers), and optionally wherein: (i) the fibres are interconnected in a non-woven disordered structure; and/or (ii) the fibres are constructed from a biodegradable polymer such as a biodegradable polyester; and/or (iii) the fibres are constructed from poly-L-lactic acid.
Regarding claim 36, Patel et al. discloses wherein the seton is formed from one or more biodegradable polymers (paragraph 0015, 0065; suture 50 may be absorbable).
Regarding claim 37, Patel et al. discloses a method comprising the step of affixing the seton to the elongate body (figures 1, 3A, 3B; paragraph 0066, 0068; a knot through opening 25 or a suture formed as a loop around middle region 43).
Regarding claim 39, Patel et al. discloses a method comprising the use of a device suitable for treating a fistula wherein the fistula comprises a fistula tract (paragraph 0013), wherein the device comprises a seton 50 and an elongate body of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0031, 0055, 0069, sheet body 21 or 41; figures 1, 3A), wherein the elongate body is suitable for being positioned within the fistula tract (paragraph 0018), and wherein the device comprises one or more attachment points positioned along the length of the elongate body (figures 1, 3A, opening 25 or middle section 43), wherein the one or more attachment points are configured to connect the elongate body to a further seton (figures 1, 3A, 3B; paragraph 0066, 0058; a knot through opening 25 or a suture formed as a loop around middle region 43).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 22-33, 35-37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agnew et al. US 2013/0079811.
Regarding claim 1, Agnew et al. discloses a device suitable for treating a fistula (paragraph 0033), wherein the fistula comprises a fistula tract (paragraph 0006, implant in a fistula tract), wherein the device comprises a seton (for example, figures 7, 9, 10, 12; suture 72, 79, 104 or 119) and an elongate body of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0095), wherein the elongate body is suitable for being positioned within the fistula tract (paragraph 0006), and wherein the elongate body comprises a plurality of protrusions positioned on at least one outer surface of said elongate body (paragraph 0038, 0041, 0045; for example, projections giving the member a saw-tooth or star like shape as similarly described in regards to figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Agnew et al. discloses wherein each outer surface on which the plurality of protrusions are positioned is parallel or substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body (for example, figure 7, 9, 10, edge star like shape parallel to the longitudinal axis through center or along suture 91).
Regarding claim 22, Agnew et al. discloses a plurality of protrusions (edge of star shape, for example, figures 7, 9), wherein (i) each protrusion of the plurality protrusions has a height of between 0.5 and 3 mm and has a width of between 0.5 and 5 mm; and/or (ii) each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions is conical, triangular, triangular prismatic or pyramidal in shape (triangular or wedge shaped 105, figures 7, 9, 10).
Regarding claim 23, Agnew et al. discloses wherein the elongate body and the plurality of protrusions are of unitary construction (for example, figures 3A, 7, 9; disk body having unitary protrusions or the star shape barbs).
Regarding claim 24, Agnew et al. discloses wherein the elongate body is an elongate sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0095), optionally wherein the plurality of protrusions are positioned on at least one outer edge surface of the elongate sheet (figures 7, 9, forming a star shape on edge of disk) wherein the outer edge surface is parallel or substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the elongate sheet (edge is parallel to longitudinal axis or parallel along the suture passed through center).
Regarding claim 25, Agnew et al. discloses wherein the elongate sheet comprises a first outer edge surface and a second outer edge surface (see annotated figure 7 below, edge of disk), wherein the first outer edge surface and the second outer edge surface are both parallel or substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the elongate sheet when laid flat (see annotated figure 7, edge of star sheet formed around central body, edge extends from a proximal to distal end or from top and bottom surface of disk sheet), wherein a first plurality of protrusions is formed by serrations on the first outer edge surface, and wherein a second plurality of protrusions is formed by serrations on the second outer edge surface (annotated figure 7 below; serrations on each side of star as shown by shaded portion).
Regarding claim 26, Agnew et al. discloses wherein the tissue growth promoting matrix material comprises a scaffold, wherein the scaffold comprises a plurality of fibres (paragraph 0046, scaffold to facilitate and support tissue ingrowth), and optionally wherein: (i) the fibres are interconnected in a non-woven disordered structure; and/or (ii) the fibres are constructed from a biodegradable polymer such as a biodegradable polyester; and/or (iii) the fibres are constructed from poly-L-lactic acid.
Regarding claim 27, Agnew et al. discloses wherein the seton is formed from one or more biodegradable polymers (paragraph 0033, 0083; biodegradable polymers).
Regarding claim 28, Agnew et al. comprising the step of affixing the seton to the elongate body (threaded through body, for example, figures 7, 9).
Regarding claim 29, Agnew et al. discloses a method comprising the use of a device suitable for treating a fistula (paragraph 0033), wherein the fistula comprises a fistula tract (paragraph 0006, implant in a fistula tract), wherein the device comprises a seton (for example, figures 7, 9, 10, 12; suture 72, 79, 104 or 119) and an elongate body of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraphs 0046, 0095), wherein the elongate body is suitable for being positioned within the fistula tract (paragraph 0006), and wherein the elongate body comprises a plurality of protrusions positioned on at least one outer surface of said elongate body (paragraph 0038, 0041, 0045; for example, projections giving the member a saw-tooth or star like shape as similarly described in regards to figure 2).
Regarding claim 30, Agnew et al. discloses a device suitable for treating a fistula (paragraph 0033), wherein the fistula comprises a fistula tract (paragraph 0006, implant in a fistula tract), wherein the device comprises a seton (for example, figures 7, 9, 10, 12; suture 72, 79, 104 or 119) and an elongate body of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0095), wherein the elongate body is suitable for being positioned within the fistula tract (paragraph 0006), and wherein the device comprises one or more attachment points positioned along the length of the elongate body, wherein the one or more attachment points are configured to connect the elongate body to a further seton (for example, figure 7, first and second sutures or setons 72 connected through openings in disk; alternatively, figure 12, through attachment points or openings in disks 111; Examiner notes the second seton is not disclosed and may be configured to be attached with disks 111).
Regarding claim 31, Agnew et al. discloses wherein the elongate body is an elongate sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraphs 0046, 0095).
Regarding claim 32, Agnew et al. discloses wherein each attachment point is provided in the form of an attachment loop (figures 7, 12; for example, loop of material formed around opening of disk 71 or 111), optionally wherein each attachment loop has an internal circumference from 5 to 20 mm, and optionally wherein the seton is thread through the elongate body of tissue growth promoting matrix material, and wherein each attachment loop is directly secured to the seton or each attachment loop is formed by the seton.
Regarding claim 33, Agnew et al. discloses wherein the elongate sheet comprises a first end and a second end, with a longitudinal axis extending from the first end to the second end (see annotated figure 12), wherein the seton 119 extends beyond the first end of the elongate sheet (see annotated figure 12 below), is repeatedly thread through a first side of the elongate sheet to a second side (figure 12, through folded accordion segments 111), then back though the second side of the elongate sheet to the first side figure 12, through folded accordion segments 111, so as to form a plurality of attachment loops positioned on alternate sides along the length of the elongate sheet (loops may be formed with suture 119 with the sheet 111, for example shaded loop portion in annotated figure 12 below), wherein the seton is optionally thread back through the first side of the elongate sheet to a second side, and wherein the seton exits so as to extend beyond the second end of the elongate sheet (extends through to cap 120), wherein the plurality of attachment loops are configured to tie the elongate sheet to one or more further setons (configured to tie additional suture or setons).
Regarding claim 35, Agnew et al. discloses wherein the tissue growth promoting matrix material comprises a scaffold, wherein the scaffold comprises a plurality of fibres (paragraph 0046, collagen fibers provides a scaffold), and optionally wherein: (i) the fibres are interconnected in a non-woven disordered structure; and/or (ii) the fibres are constructed from a biodegradable polymer such as a biodegradable polyester; and/or (iii) the fibres are constructed from poly-L-lactic acid.
Regarding claim 36, Agnew et al. discloses wherein the seton is formed from one or more biodegradable polymers (paragraph 0033, 0083; biodegradable polymers).
Regarding claim 37, Agnew et al. comprising the step of affixing the seton to the elongate body (threaded through body, for example, figures 7, 9).
Regarding claim 39, Agnew et al. discloses a method comprising the use of a device suitable for treating a fistula (paragraph 0033), wherein the fistula comprises a fistula tract (paragraph 0006, implant in a fistula tract), wherein the device comprises a seton (for example, figures 7, 9, 10, 12; suture 72, 79, 104 or 119) and an elongate body of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0095), wherein the elongate body is suitable for being positioned within the fistula tract (paragraph 0006), and wherein the device comprises one or more attachment points positioned along the length of the elongate body, wherein the one or more attachment points are configured to connect the elongate body to a further seton (for example, figure 7, first and second sutures or setons 72 connected through openings in disk; alternatively, figure 12, through attachment points or openings in disks 111; Examiner notes the second seton is not disclosed and may be configured to be attached with disks 111).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agnew et al. US 2013/0079811 in view of Kullas et al. US 2014/0303603.
Regarding claim 34, Agnew et al. discloses the discloses the device essentially as claimed but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the seton is affixed to the elongate sheet via a first knot located proximal to the first end of the elongate sheet, and the seton is affixed to the elongate sheet via a second knot located proximal to the second end of the or elongate sheet, optionally wherein the elongate sheet is rolled or folded at each of the first end and the second end, and the first and second knots are tied such that the loop of each knot encircles the respective rolled or folded portion of the elongate sheet.
However, Kullas et al. discloses a device for placement within a fistula tract (paragraph 0005, repairing a fistula having a fistula tract) comprising a seton or suture material 66 or 68 being knotted to the elongate body 44 (for example, figure 10, 17), wherein the seton is affixed to the elongate sheet via a first knot located proximal to the first end of the elongate sheet (figures 10, 17), and the seton is affixed to the elongate sheet via a second knot located proximal to the second end of the or elongate sheet (figure 10, 17, sutures are tied with one or more knots 62 to fixedly couple the elongate body during insertion, paragraph 0071), optionally wherein the elongate sheet is rolled or folded at each of the first end and the second end, and the first and second knots are tied such that the loop of each knot encircles the respective rolled or folded portion of the elongate sheet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Agnew et al. with a seton that is knotted on a first and second end of the elongate sheet, as taught by Kullas et al., to provide the seton and the elongate both being secured together during placement within the fistula.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul, JR. et al. US 2011/0288581 in view of Patel et al. US 2007/0088445.
Regarding claim 34, Paul, JR. et al. discloses the discloses the device essentially as claimed (figure 5A) comprising a seton being coupled at a first and second end (figure 5A, through attachment points or openings within body 30 to receive seton 28), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the seton is affixed to the elongate sheet via a first knot located proximal to the first end of the elongate sheet, and the seton is affixed to the elongate sheet via a second knot located proximal to the second end of the or elongate sheet, optionally wherein the elongate sheet is rolled or folded at each of the first end and the second end, and the first and second knots are tied such that the loop of each knot encircles the respective rolled or folded portion of the elongate sheet.
However, Patel et al. teaches a suture or seton 50 being attached to a elongate sheet by looping looping the seton through the opening and securing using a knot (paragraph 0066), keeping the suture and the material engaged as the device is drawn through the opening (paragraph 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a seton attached to the elongate sheet by use of a knot, as taught by Patel et al., and as known in the art to keep the suture and the material engaged.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul, JR. et al. US 2011/0288581 in view of Patel et al. US 2007/0088445.
Regarding claim 38, Paul, JR. et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a device comprising an elongate body 30 comprising an elongate sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0009, 0037; body 30 folded or rolled sheet, said method comprising the steps of: (ii) folding the elongate sheet in alternate directions so as to create an accordion fold, wherein the creases of the accordion fold extend in a direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the elongate sheet (paragraph 0009, 0039; folded accordion style, ribbon or sheet folds along the filament, leaves between folds that with incorporation of filament 28, figure 5A); (iii) passing the seton through the accordion folded elongate sheet (figure 5A), optionally with the assistance of a needle, such that the seton passes though the elongate sheet multiple times; (iv) extending the accordion folded elongate sheet along a length of the seton (figure 5A); and (v) optionally tying or otherwise securing the seton to the elongate sheet so as to prevent the elongate sheet from sliding along the seton.
Paul, JR. et al. fails to disclose (i) cutting an elongate sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material from a larger sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material, optionally such that the elongate sheet is formed with one or more castellated or serrated outer edges that extend in a direction parallel or substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the elongate sheet.
However, Patel et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a device, the device comprising an elongate body is an elongate sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0031, 0055, 0069, sheet body 21 or 41; figures 1, 3A), said method comprising the steps of: (i) cutting an elongate sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material from a larger sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material (paragraph 0050, 0070; sheet sized and shaped for the procedure; sheet can be formed by cutter a larger overall sheet into smaller segments).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Paul, JR. et al. with a step of cutting an elongate sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material from a larger sheet of tissue growth promoting matrix material, as taught by Patel et al. to provide a sheet cut into smaller segments as necessary to provide the ideal size or shape sheet for a particular procedure.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA C LAUER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771