DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed 04/18/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/18/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 2-9, 12, 16-17, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
5. Claims 1, 10-11, 13-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (WO 2021143845 A1) in view of Chen (CN 114168173 A), further in view of Zhu et al (CN 115098867 A).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao teaches a method for compiling a mirror image (pg. 3, lines 1-4, “compiling the preset source code…to obtain the preset data mirror file”), comprising:
executing a compilation code configured to generate a PFR mirror image in a case that the recognition result indicates that the compilation operation of the PFR project exists, so as to generate the PFR mirror image (pg. 3, lines 1-10, “compiling the preset data source code…to obtain the user data mirror file”), wherein the PFR mirror image comprises a whitelist configuration file of each item in the project of the board manager controller (pg. 3, lines 9-15, which discloses a whitelist containing file IDs corresponding to the mirrored file).
Xiao does not explicitly teach recognizing whether a compilation operation of a platform firmware resilience (PFR) project exists in a compilation script through a macro definition in a case of compiling a project of a board manager controller, so as to obtain a recognition result, wherein the macro definition is a macro definition in a project configuration item file.
However, Chen teaches recognizing whether a compilation operation of a platform firmware resilience (PFR) project exists in a compilation script through a macro definition in a case of compiling a project of a board manager controller (pg. 3, lines 1-15, “preset macro definition in the BMC firmware file”), so as to obtain a recognition result, wherein the macro definition is a macro definition in a project configuration item file (pg. 9, lines 25-30, “configuration update item…preset macro definition”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Chen within the disclosure of Xiao in order to provide the predictive result of improving file configuration setting updating by implementing several configuration updating modules (as disclosed in pg. 4, lines 1-15 of Chen) because this feature provides automatic configuration setting updates by modifying the default configuration option value to ensure automatic changes to the newly updated settings for future access.
Xiao and Chen do not explicitly teach performing a data check through the PFR mirror image in a case of running each item in the project of the board manager controller.
However, Zhu et al teaches performing a data check through the PFR mirror image in a case of running each item in the project of the board manager controller (pg. 2, lines 24-30 and pg. 5, lines 20-25, which discloses a BMC-based firmware security check for a mirror image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Zhu et al within the teachings of Xiao and Chen in order to provide the predictive result of preventing unauthorized access of mirror data images by implementing the security upgrading system for firmware packet encrypting (as disclosed in pg. 3, lines 1-5 of Zhu et al) to continuously upgrade mirror image provisioning systems in the event that updated security standards are required to protect stored data.
Regarding claim 10, Xiao does not explicitly teach wherein the macro definition indicates a macro definition of PFR; and recognizing whether the compilation operation of the PFR project exists in the compilation script through the macro definition, so as to obtain the recognition result.
However, Chen teaches wherein the macro definition indicates a macro definition of PFR (pg. 3, lines 10-15, “macro definition in the BMC firmware file”); and
recognizing whether the compilation operation of the PFR project exists in the compilation script through the macro definition, so as to obtain the recognition result (pg. 13, lines 8-15, “compiling tool…in the preset macro definition”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Chen within the disclosure of Xiao according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 1.
Xiao and Chen do not explicitly teach determining that the compilation operation of the PFR project exists in a case of recognizing that the macro definition shows true; and determining that no compilation operation of the PFR project exists in a case of recognizing that the macro definition shows false.
However, Zhu et al teaches determining that the compilation operation of the PFR project exists in a case of recognizing that the macro definition shows true (pg. 8, lines 30-35); and
determining that no compilation operation of the PFR project exists in a case of recognizing that the macro definition shows false (pg. 7, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Zhu et al within the teachings of Xiao and Chen according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Xiao teaches executing a compilation code configured to generate a general mirror image in a case that the recognition result indicates that no compilation operation of the PFR project exists, so as to generate the general mirror image (pg. 3, lines 1-10, “preset data mirror file”).
Xiao does not explicitly teach wherein after recognizing whether the compilation operation of the PFR project exists in the compilation script through the macro definition in the case of compiling the project of the board manager controller, so as to obtain the recognition result.
However, Chen teaches wherein after recognizing whether the compilation operation of the PFR project exists in the compilation script through the macro definition in the case of compiling the project of the board manager controller (pg. 10, lines 25-35), so as to obtain the recognition result (pg. 13, lines 8-15, “compiling tool…in the preset macro definition”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Chen within the disclosure of Xiao according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Xiao and Chen do not explicitly teach recognizing whether firmware of the PFR project exists through the macro definition in a process of refreshing firmware of the board manager controller; and refreshing, in a case that the firmware of the PFR project exists, the firmware of the PFR project.
However, Zhu et al teaches recognizing whether firmware of the PFR project exists through the macro definition in a process of refreshing firmware of the board manager controller (pg. 7, lines 1-6, “refresh…then upgrading other firmware”); and
refreshing, in a case that the firmware of the PFR project exists, the firmware of the PFR project (pg. 8, lines 32-35, “refresh operation…firmware version upgrade operation”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Zhu et al within the teachings of Xiao and Chen in order to provide the predictive result of preventing unauthorized access of mirror data images by implementing the security upgrading system for firmware packet encrypting (as disclosed in pg. 3, lines 1-5 of Zhu et al) to continuously upgrade mirror image provisioning systems in the event that updated security standards are required to protect stored data.
Regarding claim 14, Xiao and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein refreshing, in the case that the firmware of the PFR project exists, the firmware of the PFR project comprises:
refreshing the firmware of the PFR project through a target refresh tool, wherein the target refresh tool is a refresh tool configured for the firmware of the PFR project.
However, Zhu et al teaches wherein refreshing, in the case that the firmware of the PFR project exists, the firmware of the PFR project comprises:
refreshing the firmware of the PFR project through a target refresh tool, wherein the target refresh tool is a refresh tool configured for the firmware of the PFR project (pg. 14, lines 27-28, “if the upgraded firmware is CPLD firmware, the firmware is validated by refreshing the file”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Zhu et al within the teachings of Xiao and Chen according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, Xiao does not explicitly teach recognizing whether the PFR project exists through the macro definition in a process of running the project of the board manager controller.
However, Chen teaches recognizing whether the PFR project exists through the macro definition in a process of running the project of the board manager controller (pg. 3, lines 12-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Chen within the disclosure of Xiao in order to provide the predictive result of improving file configuration setting updating by implementing several configuration updating modules (as disclosed in pg. 4, lines 1-15 of Chen) because this feature provides automatic configuration setting updates by modifying the default configuration option value to ensure automatic changes to the newly updated settings for future access.
Xiao and Chen do not explicitly teach displaying, in a case that the PFR project exists, a version of firmware of the PFR project.
However, Zhu et al teaches displaying, in a case that the PFR project exists, a version of firmware of the PFR project (pg. 14, lines 1-5, “firmware version information”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Zhu et al within the teachings of Xiao and Chen according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 13.
Regarding claim 19, Xiao teaches a nonvolatile readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor (pg. 2, lines 20-30, “computer-readable storage medium…for the processor to access the data”), implements to:
execute a compilation code configured to generate a PFR mirror image in a case that the recognition result indicates that the compilation operation of the PFR project exists, so as to generate the PFR mirror image (pg. 3, lines 1-10, “compiling the preset data source code…to obtain the user data mirror file”), wherein the PFR mirror image comprises a whitelist configuration file of each item in the project of the board manager controller (pg. 3, lines 9-15, which discloses a whitelist containing file IDs corresponding to the mirrored file).
Xiao does not explicitly teach recognizing whether a compilation operation of a platform firmware resilience (PFR) project exists in a compilation script through a macro definition in a case of compiling a project of a board manager controller, so as to obtain a recognition result, wherein the macro definition is a macro definition in a project configuration item file.
However, Chen teaches recognize whether a compilation operation of a platform firmware resilience (PFR) project exists in a compilation script through a macro definition in a case of compiling a project of a board manager controller (pg. 3, lines 1-15, “preset macro definition in the BMC firmware file”), so as to obtain a recognition result, wherein the macro definition is a macro definition in a project configuration item file (pg. 9, lines 25-30, “configuration update item…preset macro definition”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Chen within the disclosure of Xiao in order to provide the predictive result of improving file configuration setting updating by implementing several configuration updating modules (as disclosed in pg. 4, lines 1-15 of Chen) because this feature provides automatic configuration setting updates by modifying the default configuration option value to ensure automatic changes to the newly updated settings for future access.
Xiao and Chen do not explicitly teach performing a data check through the PFR mirror image in a case of running each item in the project of the board manager controller.
However, Zhu et al teaches performing a data check through the PFR mirror image in a case of running each item in the project of the board manager controller (pg. 2, lines 24-30 and pg. 5, lines 20-25, which discloses a BMC-based firmware security check for a mirror image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Zhu et al within the teachings of Xiao and Chen in order to provide the predictive result of preventing unauthorized access of mirror data images by implementing the security upgrading system for firmware packet encrypting (as disclosed in pg. 3, lines 1-5 of Zhu et al) to continuously upgrade mirror image provisioning systems in the event that updated security standards are required to protect stored data.
Regarding claim 20, Xiao teaches an electronic device, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and runnable in the processor (pg. 4, lines 19-30), wherein the processor, when executing the computer program (pg. 4, lines 19-30, “executed by the processor”), implements to:
execute a compilation code configured to generate a PFR mirror image in a case that the recognition result indicates that the compilation operation of the PFR project exists, so as to generate the PFR mirror image (pg. 3, lines 1-10, “compiling the preset data source code…to obtain the user data mirror file”), wherein the PFR mirror image comprises a whitelist configuration file of each item in the project of the board manager controller (pg. 3, lines 9-15, which discloses a whitelist containing file IDs corresponding to the mirrored file).
Xiao does not explicitly teach recognizing whether a compilation operation of a platform firmware resilience (PFR) project exists in a compilation script through a macro definition in a case of compiling a project of a board manager controller, so as to obtain a recognition result, wherein the macro definition is a macro definition in a project configuration item file.
However, Chen teaches recognizing whether a compilation operation of a platform firmware resilience (PFR) project exists in a compilation script through a macro definition in a case of compiling a project of a board manager controller (pg. 3, lines 1-15, “preset macro definition in the BMC firmware file”), so as to obtain a recognition result, wherein the macro definition is a macro definition in a project configuration item file (pg. 9, lines 25-30, “configuration update item…preset macro definition”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Chen within the disclosure of Xiao in order to provide the predictive result of improving file configuration setting updating by implementing several configuration updating modules (as disclosed in pg. 4, lines 1-15 of Chen) because this feature provides automatic configuration setting updates by modifying the default configuration option value to ensure automatic changes to the newly updated settings for future access.
Xiao and Chen do not explicitly teach performing a data check through the PFR mirror image in a case of running each item in the project of the board manager controller.
However, Zhu et al teaches performing a data check through the PFR mirror image in a case of running each item in the project of the board manager controller (pg. 2, lines 24-30 and pg. 5, lines 20-25, which discloses a BMC-based firmware security check for a mirror image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Zhu et al within the teachings of Xiao and Chen in order to provide the predictive result of preventing unauthorized access of mirror data images by implementing the security upgrading system for firmware packet encrypting (as disclosed in pg. 3, lines 1-5 of Zhu et al) to continuously upgrade mirror image provisioning systems in the event that updated security standards are required to protect stored data.
Conclusion
/RANDY A SCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439 20251226