DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsushita (US 2016/0226238).
With regard to claims 1-5, Matsushita, in Figure 1 & 7, discloses a breaker apparatus comprising: a circuit breaker (5) configured to disconnect and connect a power line connecting a DC power source (1 & paragraph 0049) and a load device (LOAD); and a controller (6b) configured to control the circuit breaker to repeatedly disconnect and connect the power line upon occurrence of a condition in which an inrush current is detected in the power line (as taught in paragraphs 0044-0047) (re claim 1), wherein the controller is configured to: receive a signal indicating an event that generates the inrush current (via current detecting part 6c), and determine, in response to receiving the signal, that the inrush current has been detected, or detect that a magnitude of a current flowing through the power line is equal to or greater than a threshold, and determine that the inrush current has been detected (paragraphs 0044-0047) (re claim 2), wherein the controller is configured to control the circuit breaker to repeatedly perform disconnection during an OFF time and connection during an ON time (as seen in Fig. 7) (re claim 3), wherein the controller is configured to control the circuit breaker such that the ON time gradually increases (paragraph 0045 teaches that the duty ratio is changed and Fig. 7 teaches that the FET is on for a longer time each time that the breaker is turned on) (re claim 4), wherein the controller is configured to bring the circuit breaker into a connected state upon occurrence of a condition in which a peak of a current flowing through the power line is lower than or equal to a threshold (as seen in Fig. 7, once the inrush current no long crosses the threshold current Ith, the circuit breaker is maintained in the connected state) (re claim 5).
With regard to claim 6, Matsushita, in Figures 1 & 7, discloses a control apparatus configured to control a breaker apparatus (5) between a DC power source (1) and a load device (LOAD) that are connected by a power line, the control apparatus comprising: circuitry (6b) configured to: receive a signal (via current detecting part 6c) indicating occurrence of an inrush current in the power line; and instruct the breaker apparatus to repeatedly disconnect and connect the power line, in response to receiving the signal (paragraphs 0044-0047).
With regard to claim 7, Matsushita, in Figures 1 & 7, discloses an inrush current suppression method executed by a breaker apparatus (5) between a DC power source (1) and a load device (LOAD) that are connected by a power line, the inrush current suppression method comprising detecting occurrence of an inrush current in the power line (via current detecting part 6c); and repeatedly disconnecting and connecting the power line (paragraphs 0044-0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita in view of Mills (US 2020/0249742).
With regard to claim 8, Matsushita teaches the method of claim 7.
Matsushita does not teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program configured to cause a computer to execute the inrush current suppression method.
Mills, in Figure 4a, teaches a controller for limiting an inrush current from a DC source to a load by controlling a breaker (306). It is further taught that a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program is configured to cause a computer to execute the inrush current suppression method (paragraph 0092).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsushita with Mills, by using a computer with non-transitory media to perform the functions of the controller of Matsushita, for the purpose of allowing a programmable controller to act as the controller which is readily available and able to be upgraded.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yun (US 2024/0388080) teaches a circuit to protect against an inrush current from a DC source by repeatedly turning a circuit breaker on and off until the inrush subsides. It is also taught that a duty cycle or duration of the switching can be changed during the limiting event.
/Scott Bauer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838