DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 23, line 6, the limitation “configured to defines” should read –defining--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 18, 19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the check valve” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the relief poppet” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the main poppet” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the pilot poppet” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the third bore” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the main poppet” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the relief poppet” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the pilot poppet” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 is rejected because it depends on a rejected claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “a relief poppet moveably disposed within the second bore to selectively engage the pilot seat, the relief poppet defining the pilot seat” in lines 14-15; however, the it is unclear as to how the relief poppet can selectively engage the pilot seat, while concurrently defining the pilot seat, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 15 and 17-23, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US7984890 (“Pfaff”).
Regarding claim 1, Pfaff discloses (see fig. 1) a control valve comprising:
a valve body (“14”) defining a first bore (“16”), a first port (“18”) and a second port (“19”) in communication with the first bore, and a first seat (“21”) between the first port and the second port;
a first poppet (“24”) moveably disposed within the first bore to selectively engage and disengage the first seat, and to define a control chamber (“28”) within the first bore that is opposite the second port, the first poppet defining a second bore (“26”) extending through the first poppet to couple the control chamber to the second port, and a second seat (a shoulder of the central aperture “26”) and a third seat (“33”) formed within the second bore;
a second poppet (“31”) moveably disposed within the second bore to selectively engage and disengage the second seat, wherein the pressure in the control chamber biases the second poppet to disengage with the second seat (see figs. 3 and 4); and
a first biasing member (“32”) extending between the third seat and the second poppet to bias the second poppet into engagement with the second seat.
Regarding claim 2, Pfaff discloses the second poppet (“24”) defines a third bore (“54”) extending through the second poppet.
Regarding claim 5, Pfaff discloses a control passage (defined mainly by “25”, “27” and/or “29”) extending between the control chamber (“28”) and the first port (“18”).
Regarding claim 6, Pfaff discloses the control passage (defined mainly by “25”, “27” and/or “29”) is formed in the first poppet (“24”; see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Pfaff discloses when the first poppet (“24”) is engaged with the first seat (“21”), the second poppet (“31”) is configured to selectively disengage from the second seat (the shoulder of the central aperture “26”) based on a pressure differential between the control chamber (“28”) and the second port (“19”) to allow fluid to flow (via aperture “54” and channel “30”) from the control chamber to the second port.
Regarding claim 8, Pfaff discloses (see fig. 2) when the first poppet (“24”) is disengaged with the first seat (“21”), the second poppet (“31”) is configured to engage with the second seat (the shoulder of the central aperture “26”) to block fluid flow (via channel “30”) from the second port (“19”) to the control chamber (“28”).
Regarding claim 9, Pfaff discloses a second biasing member (“48”) disposed within the first bore (“16”) and configured to bias the first poppet (“24”) into engagement with the first seat (“21”).
Regarding claim 15, Pfaff discloses (see fig. 1) a control valve comprising:
a valve body (“14”) defining a first port (“18”) and a second port (“19”) in communication with a first bore (“16”);
a main poppet (“24”) moveably disposed (to positions in contact with and displaced from main seat “21”) within the first bore to selectively couple the first port and the second port, and to define a control chamber (“28”) within the first bore that is opposite the second port and in fluid communication with (via channel(s) “25”, “27” and/or “29”) the first port, the main poppet defining a second bore (“26”) extending through the main poppet to allow fluid to flow from the control chamber to the second port;
a relief poppet (“31”) moveably disposed within the second bore to selectively couple (via channel “30”) the control chamber to the second port via the second bore, the relief poppet defining a third bore (“54”) extending through the main poppet to allow fluid to flow from the control chamber to the second port; and
a pilot poppet (“52”) moveably disposed (into and out of contact with pilot seat “53”) in the first bore to selectively couple the control chamber to the second port via the third bore.
Regarding claim 17, Pfaff discloses the main poppet (“24”) is configured to couple the first port (“18”) to the second port (“19”) based on at least one of:
a first pressure differential between the control chamber (“28”) and the second port (“19”) to allow fluid to flow from the first port to the second port (when pressure within control chamber “28” is bled through channels “54” and/or “30”, pressure in control chamber “28” is reduced to raise main poppet “24” from main seat “21”; see figs. 2 and 3); and
a second pressure differential between the first port (“18”) and the second port (“19”) to allow fluid to flow from the second port to the first port (when pressure upstream is higher than pressure downstream, fluid flows from first port “18” to second port “19”).
Regarding claim 18, Pfaff discloses the relief poppet (“31”) is configured to couple the control chamber (“28”) to the second port (“19”) via the second bore (“26”) based on a pressure differential (pressure in control chamber “28” is higher than pressure in second port “19”) between the control chamber (“28”) and the second port (“19”) when the first port (“18”) is blocked (see fig. 4) from the second port (“19”) by the main poppet (“24”).
Regarding claim 19, Pfaff discloses the pilot poppet (“52”) moves to couple the control chamber (“28”) to the second port (“19”) via the third bore (“54”), a pressure differential (pressure in control chamber “28” is reduced by bleeding through third bore “54”; see fig. 2) between the control chamber (“28”) and the second port (“19”) moves the main poppet (“24”) to couple the first port to the second port (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Pfaff discloses an actuator (solenoid actuator “40”) configured to move the pilot poppet (“52”) to selectively couple the control chamber (“28”) to the second port (“19”) via the third bore (“54”).
Regarding claim 21, Pfaff discloses a first biasing member (“39” and/or “48”) configured to bias the main poppet (“24”) to block (see fig. 1) the first port (“18”) from the second port (“19”);
a second biasing member (“32”) configured to bias the relief poppet (“31”) to block (blocking channel “30”) the control chamber (“28”) from the second port (“19”); and
a third biasing member (“45”) configured to bias (via armature “42”) the pilot poppet (“52”) to block (via engagement with pilot seat “53”) the control chamber (“28”) from the second port (“19”).
Regarding claim 22, Pfaff discloses the first biasing member (“39” and/or “48”) is retained in the control chamber (“28”) and the second biasing member (“32”) is retained in the second bore (“26”).
Regarding claim 23, Pfaff discloses (see fig. 1) a control valve, comprising:
a valve body (“14”) defining a first bore (“16”), a first port (“18”) and a second port (“19”) in communication with the first bore, and a primary seat (“21”) between the first port and the second port;
a poppet assembly (defined mainly by “24”, “31” and “35”) moveably disposed within the first bore, the poppet assembly including a first end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1, defining seating surface “22”) configured to engage the primary seat to selectively couple the first port and the second port (see figs. 2 and 3), a second end (top end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) configured to defines a control chamber (“28”) within the first bore that is opposite the second port, and a passage (“26”) extending between the first end and the second end, wherein a pilot seat (“53”) is formed on the second end between the control chamber and the passage; and a pilot poppet (“52”) moveably disposed in the control chamber and configured to engage the pilot seat (see fig. 1) to selectively couple the control chamber to the second port via the passage (see figs. 2-4); and
wherein the poppet assembly includes:
a main poppet (“24”) configured to engage the primary seat and defining a second bore (“26”) forming the passage and a relief seat (a shoulder of the central aperture “26”) within the second bore; and
a relief poppet (“31”) moveably disposed within the second bore to selectively engage the pilot seat (a shoulder of the central aperture “26”), the relief poppet defining the pilot seat and a third bore (“54”) forming the passage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 10-14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the control valve further comprising a check valve that is moveably disposed within the third bore to selectively engage and disengage a fourth seat that is formed within the third bore to allow fluid to flow from the control chamber to the second port, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Regarding claim 4, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious, as best understood, the control valve, wherein the first biasing member is configured to retain the check valve within the third bore, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Regarding claim 10, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the control valve further comprising a third poppet configured to selectively engage and disengage a fifth seat defined by the second poppet to selectively engage and disengage the first poppet with the first seat, wherein, when the third poppet is engaged with the fifth seat, the third poppet blocks fluid flow from the control chamber to the second port so that a pressure differential between the control chamber and the second port biases the first poppet to engage with the first seat, and wherein, when the third poppet is disengaged with the fifth seat, fluid flows from the control chamber to the second port so that a pressure in the control chamber reduces and the pressure differential between the control chamber and the second port biases the first poppet to disengage with the first seat, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Claims 11-14 are allowable because they depend on an allowable claim.
Regarding claim 16, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the control valve further comprising a check valve disposed within the relief poppet to block fluid flow from the second port to the control chamber, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US12398823, US4650155, US2665708 and US2015/0192213 discloses a first valve poppet nested within a second valve poppet.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753