DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanohashi et al. (US20020172733), and further in view of Urata et al. (US20110159132).
Regarding claim 1, Takanohashi teaches an injection molding machine ([0075] FIG. 2 is a schematic view of a mold clamping apparatus of an injection molding machine according to a first embodiment of the present invention) comprising:
a ball screw (Figure 9 and Figure 4; [0083] In the feed mechanism, the plurality of balls 29a transmit power between the screw shaft 26 and the screw nut 25, while rolling) including a screw shaft (screw shaft 26; Figure 4), a ball (plurality of balls 29a; Figure 4), and a nut (screw nut 25; Figure 9);
a grease supply mechanism (lubrication oil supply pipe 34; Figure 9 and Figure 10) that supplies grease to the ball screw ([0119] As shown in FIG. 10, in the present embodiment, the lubrication oil supply pipe 34 and the lubrication oil discharge pipe 38 are connected not to the screw-shaft cover member 33 but to the nut cover member 32); and
a control device (controller 72; Figure 13) that controls the grease supply mechanism,
wherein the control device is configured to have the grease supply mechanism supply grease to the nut ([0100] the quantity of the lubrication oil 35 stored inside the screw-shaft cover member 33 is controlled in such a manner that the oil level does not exceed the point at which the lubrication oil discharge pipe 38 is connected to the screw-shaft cover member 33 and [0137] For example, when the iron content of the lubrication oil 35 has exceeded 0.1%, the controller 72 warns the operator to change the lubrication oil 35; and when the iron content of the lubrication oil 35 has exceeded 1.0%, the controller 72 warns the operator to change the feed mechanism). Examiner notes that supplying a first amount of grease to the nut and a second amount of grease to the nut are materials worked upon by the apparatus and do not impart patentability to the claim (MPEP 2115). Takanohashi teaches the control device is configured to supply an amount of grease to the nut, and therefore, teaches the required structural limitations that would make the injection molding machine capable of performing the operation of supplying a first amount and second amount of grease to the nut.
However, Takanohashi fails to teach the control device is configured to have the second amount be larger than the first amount.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to injection molding, Urata teaches an automated grease supply device that variably controls an amount of grease to be supplied by adjusting an actuation time (see [0027], [0079] and Figure 5). Automating the grease supply process such that the control device is configured to have the second amount vary from the first amount allows the grease to be supplied at an optimum time according to a change in molding conditions and prevent the excessive supply of grease ([0041] by supplying the grease when the workload exceeds a predetermined value (hereafter referred to as "reference workload", the grease can be supplied at the optimum time according to a change in molding conditions and magnitude of the load, troubles of the movable portion and excessive supply of the grease can be prevented).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to automate the grease supply mechanism of Takanohashi such that the control device is configured to have the second amount be larger than the first amount, as suggested by Urata, for the benefit of supplying the grease at an optimum time while preventing the excessive supply of grease.
Regarding claim 6, Takanohashi modified with Urata teaches the injection molding machine according to claim 1.
Further, Takanohashi teaches wherein the grease supply mechanism includes a filter (filter means 46; Figure 10) that removes a foreign matter from grease discharged from the nut ([0101] When the lubrication oil supply pump 47 pumps the lubrication oil 35 from the lubrication oil tank 49, the lubrication oil 35 is caused to pass through the filter means 46. Therefore, impurities such as iron particles and dust contained in the lubrication oil 35 are filtered out), and grease that has passed through the filter is reused in grease supply to the nut ([0108] an excessive portion of the lubrication oil 35 is discharged from the lubrication oil discharge pipe 38 and is caused to return to the lubrication oil tank 49. When the lubrication oil 35 is caused to circulate in the above-described manner, impurities, such as iron particles and dust, contained in the portion of the lubrication oil 35 stored in the screw shaft cover member 33 are removed by the filter means 46, thereby cleaning the lubrication oil 35).
Regarding claim 8, Takanohashi modified with Urata teaches the injection molding machine according to claim 1.
Further, Takanohashi the injection molding machine further comprises a sensor that detects a physical value indicating a state of the ball screw ([0134] However, when the lubrication oil 35 flowing inside the lubrication oil supply pipe 34, which passes through the center of the first excitation coil 74, contains iron particles 73, the intensity of the magnetic field formed by the first excitation coil 74 increases, upsetting the balance of magnetic fields at the midpoint. Therefore, an electromotive force or voltage is generated in the detection coil 77),
wherein the control device is configured to determine timing of the cleaning grease supply based on output from the sensor ([0137] When the measurement signal is sent from the iron-content measurement unit 71 to the controller 72, the controller 72 calculates the service life of the feed mechanism. When the quantity of the iron particles 73 contained in the lubrication oil 35 is in excess of a preset value, the controller 72 provides a warning to the operator. For example, when the iron content of the lubrication oil 35 has exceeded 0.1%, the controller 72 warns the operator to change the lubrication oil 35; and when the iron content of the lubrication oil 35 has exceeded 1.0%, the controller 72 warns the operator to change the feed mechanism, while commenting that the degree of wear of the feed mechanism has reached the allowable limit), and
the sensor detects as the physical value a concentration of iron particles in grease discharged from the nut ([0135] When the lubrication oil 35 circulates, the iron particles 73 contained in the portion of the lubrication oil 35 located inside the screw-shaft cover member 33 circulate together with the lubrication oil 35. Therefore, the quantity of the iron particles 73 contained in the lubrication oil 35 can be measured by use of the iron-content measurement unit 71 disposed in the lubrication oil supply pipe 34. Notably, the quantity of the iron particles 73 may be measured at all times, or intermittently at intervals corresponding to a frequency at which the lubrication oil supply pump 47 is operated).
Regarding claim 9, Takanohashi modified with Urata teaches the injection molding machine according to claim 1.
Further, Urata teaches wherein the control device is configured to determine timing of the cleaning grease supply based on a total distance of slide of the screw shaft held by the nut with respect to the nut ([0017], [0042]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to automate the grease supply mechanism of Takanohashi such that the control device is configured to determine timing of the cleaning grease supply based on a total distance of slide of the screw shaft held by the nut with respect to the nut, as taught by Urata, for the benefit of supplying the grease at an optimum time while preventing the excessive supply of grease.
Claim(s) 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanohashi et al. (US20020172733), Urata et al. (US20110159132), and further in view of Zheng (CN109424711A- Machine translation provide herein).
Regarding claim 2, Takanohashi modified with Urata teaches an injection molding machine according to claim 1.
However, Takanohashi teaches wherein the nut includes a first injection port and fails to teach wherein the nut includes at least a first injection port and a second injection port through which grease is injected, and the control device is configured to control the grease supply mechanism to inject grease through both of the first injection port and the second injection port during the ordinary grease supply and to inject grease only through the first injection port during the cleaning grease supply.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to ball screw assemblies, Zheng teaches a first injection port (storage box 6; Figure 1) and a second injection port (washing liquid box 7; Figure 1) through which grease is injected, and
a control device is configured to control the grease injection through the first injection port and a cleaning material through the second injection port (“the storage box connected with oil pump and the oil tank via the oil delivery pipe, the oil pump connected with an oil path control switch; the washing liquid box through a water conveying pipe connected with a water pump and a washing liquid storage tank; said water pump is connected with a water path control switch”- see pg. 3). A first and second injection port that controllably delivers grease and cleaning material automates the cleaning process such that the service life of the ball screw is extended without requiring manual cleaning of the ball screw (“The invention realizes the screw pair simply and fast assembly and disassembly, low manufacturing cost and automatically cleaning sundries and small noise even mute, high efficiency and safe and reliable technical effect”- see pg. 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the nut of Takanohashi modified with Urata to have a first and second injection port such that the control device is configured to control the grease injection through the first injection port and a cleaning material through the second injection port, as taught by Zheng, for the benefit of automating the cleaning process such that the service life of the ball screw is extended without requiring manual cleaning of the ball screw.
Further, Examiner notes that the grease injected from both the first injection port and the second injection, and the grease injected only through the first injection port is a material worked upon by the apparatus and does not impart patentability to the claim (MPEP 2115). Both Takanohashi and Zheng teach the control device is configured to supply an amount of material to the nut, and Zheng teaches a first injection port and second injection port that supplies material to the nut such that the injection molding machine comprises the structural limitations that would make it capable of performing the operation of injecting grease through both of the first injection port and the second injection port during an ordinary grease supply and injecting grease only through the first injection port during a cleaning grease supply.
Regarding claim 3, Takanohashi modified with Urata and Zheng teaches the injection molding machine according to claim 2.
Further, Zheng teaches wherein a distance between a central position of the nut and the first injection port in a direction along a rotation axis of the screw shaft is shorter than a distance between the central position and the second injection port (see storage box 6 and washing liquid box 7 relative to center of nut 2 along direction of rotation axis of screw 1 in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the nut of Takanohashi modified with Urata to have a first and second injection port such that the control device is configured to control the grease injection through the first injection port and a cleaning material through the second injection port, as taught by Zheng, for the benefit of automating the cleaning process such that the service life of the ball screw is extended without requiring manual cleaning of the ball screw.
Regarding claim 4, Takanohashi modified with Urata and Zheng teaches the injection molding machine according to claim 1.
Further, Zheng teaches wherein the grease supply mechanism includes a first holding portion where a first type of grease to be supplied in the ordinary grease supply is stored, and
a second holding portion where a second type of grease to be supplied in the cleaning grease supply is stored (“the storage box connected with oil pump and the oil tank via the oil delivery pipe, the oil pump connected with an oil path control switch; the washing liquid box through a water conveying pipe connected with a water pump and a washing liquid storage tank; said water pump is connected with a water path control switch”- see pg. 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the nut of Takanohashi modified with Urata to have a first and second injection port such that the control device is configured to control the grease injection through the first injection port and a cleaning material through the second injection port, as taught by Zheng, for the benefit of automating the cleaning process such that the service life of the ball screw is extended without requiring manual cleaning of the ball screw.
Further, Examiner notes that the first type and second type of grease with given viscosities are materials worked upon by the apparatus and do not impart patentability to the claim (MPEP 2115). Zheng teaches two types of material are injected into the nut through two separate injection ports such that the injection molding machine of Takanohashi modified with Urata and Zheng would be capable of injecting materials with different viscosities through the two ports.
Regarding claim 5, Takanohashi modified with Urata and Zheng teaches the injection molding machine according to claim 4.
Further, Urata teaches wherein the control device is configured to control the grease supply mechanism such that the nut is filled with a first amount of grease after a second amount of grease is supplied (see [0027], [0079] and Figure 5). Automating the grease supply process such that the control device is configured to have the second amount vary from the first amount allows the grease to be supplied at an optimum time according to a change in molding conditions and prevent the excessive supply of grease ([0041] by supplying the grease when the workload exceeds a predetermined value (hereafter referred to as "reference workload", the grease can be supplied at the optimum time according to a change in molding conditions and magnitude of the load, troubles of the movable portion and excessive supply of the grease can be prevented).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the control device of Takanohashi modified with Urata and Zheng to be configured to control the grease supply mechanism such that the nut is filled with a first amount of grease after a second amount of grease is supplied, as taught by Urata, for the benefit of supplying the grease at an optimum time while preventing the excessive supply of grease.
Further, Examiner notes that the first type and second type of grease with a first amount and second amount are materials worked upon by the apparatus and do not impart patentability to the claim (MPEP 2115). Zheng teaches two types of material are injected into the nut through two separate injection ports such that the injection molding machine of Takanohashi modified with Urata and Zheng would be capable of injecting a first type and second type of material through the two ports.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanohashi et al. (US20020172733), Urata et al. (US20110159132), and further in view of Zheng (CN109424711A- Machine translation provide herein) and Wessely et al. (WO2007036244- Machine translation provided herein).
Regarding claim 7, Takanohashi modified with Urata teaches the injection molding machine according to claim 6.
Further, Takanohashi teaches wherein the grease supply mechanism further includes a first holding portion (lubrication oil tank 49; Figure 10) where grease to be supplied in the ordinary grease supply is stored ([0099] The lubrication oil 35, which the lubrication oil supply pump 47 pumps from a lubrication oil tank 49 via the suction pipe 45 and the filter means 46, is supplied to the interior of the screw-shaft cover member 33 via the lubrication oil supply pipe 34).
However, Takanohashi fails to teach a second holding portion where grease to be supplied in the cleaning grease supply is stored.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to ball screw assemblies, Zheng teaches a second holding portion where material to be supplied in the cleaning grease supply is stored (“the storage box connected with oil pump and the oil tank via the oil delivery pipe, the oil pump connected with an oil path control switch; the washing liquid box through a water conveying pipe connected with a water pump and a washing liquid storage tank; said water pump is connected with a water path control switch”- see pg. 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the nut of Takanohashi modified with Urata to have a first and second injection port such that the control device is configured to control the grease injection through a first and second holding portion, as taught by Zheng, for the benefit of automating the cleaning process such that the service life of the ball screw is extended without requiring manual cleaning of the ball screw.
However, Takanohashi fails to teach the grease that has passed through the filter is sent to the second holding portion and reused in the cleaning grease supply.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to injection molding machines, Wessely teaches material that has passed through a filter is sent to either a first holding portion or second holding portion and reused in a grease supply (see material passed through filter 40’ and sent to return line 38 or return line 38’ in Figure 2 and “Excess lubricant, which is thrown off its surface in particular by the rapid rotation of the spindles 14, 14 ', or which runs out of the spindle nuts 16, 16', is collected in the lubricant collecting containers 20, 20 ', and via the return lines 38, 38'. fed back to the central lubricant reservoir 28. The second regions 24, 24 'of the lubricant collecting container may also have return lines, not shown, or may be in fluid communication with the respective first region through a connecting line, also not shown”- see pg. 8). Sending the filtered material to either a first or second holding portion allows for efficient supply and reuse of lubricant material (“Contamination of the area and the environment of the closing unit is effectively avoided and handled at the same time very sparingly with the lubricant reservoir, since excess lubricant is fed through a filter back into the lubricant reservoir”- see pg. 8-9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the grease of Takanohashi modified with Urata that has passed through the filter to be sent to the second hold portion and reused in a grease supply, as taught by Wessely, for the benefit of having efficient supply and reuse of the lubricant material.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743