Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1-6 and 8;
Display control device (540); Fig 4 which is processor 910 as shown;
Acquisition unit; (reception unit 911, Fig 4)
Rotation determination unit; (913)
Display control unit; (915)
The examiner notes the specification states the units may be integrated into hardware or software units and may be implemented as a processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatake et al., US 20200063397 in view of DING et al., US 20210062473
In considering claim 1,
The claimed display…Is met by display device 50 (Fig 1 & 5; para 23-24, 30, 62-63, 71-72, 80-101, 107-117, 126-151, 161, 165-174)
The claims display control device is met by control device 60 (Fig 6)
The claimed acquisition unit is met by image acquisition unit 61 (Fig 6). Regarding the blocked, Hatake discloses (para 168-170) that the if an operation includes using a single side of the vehicle/machine then the other side image (not being used) is “not displayed” (blocked)
The claimed display control unit is met by display control unit 62 (Fig 6)
The examiner notes Hatake does not explicitly recite the conventional features of:
Rotation determining unit..
Hatake does disclose the machine includes a travel body 2, swing body 3 (para 33-36).
The examiner incorporates DING et al., US 20210062473 which discloses calculation/determination of the body orientation, which uses an inclination measurement device which measures the acceleration and angular velocity of the swing body including the posture (roll angle, pitch and yaw angle) (para 45, 48).
The motivation to modify Hatake with DING would provide the advantages as noted above, notably to determine the orientation (rotation) of the body/machine to the user was aware of the position in addition to the respective display corresponding to the position/operation and display the captures images with respect to such operation/position, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In considering claim 2;
The claimed display…is met where Hatake discloses a display (200) which includes 3 center monitors and a left (52) display and right display (53) (the peripherhals).
As noted in claim 1, Hatake discloses displaying only one side (not displaying the other side, left or right) based upon the position of the body/orientation and operation (such as single side loading).
In considering claim 3,
The claimed work machine…includes a front camera 31, side camera 323 (includes camera 32 and 33), upper side camera 34 and lower side camera 35 (Fig 3, 6)
The claimed acquisition unit…is met where acquisition 61 (Fig 6) of display control device 60 receives camera images via communication system 400.
In considering claim 4.
The claimed cameras…is met by front camera 31, left side camera 32 (left), right side camera (33) (Fig 3);
The claimed display..is met by front display (51S); left side display (52s) and right side display (53s).
As disclosed by the combination, when not rotating, all displays are shown camera images, however when loading/working from one side (left or right) the other non-working side (right or left respectively) would not be shown as taught by DING (see claim 1).
In considering claim 5
The claimed upside camera is met by camera 34 (Fig 3) is display on top center monitor (54s)
Regarding not displays the upside camera image on display 54s when rotating, the examiner notes given the combination, where DING was evidenced to not display images from a non-working/loading portion of the vehicle, this would be an obvious modification to not show an front upper image when for example the operator/machine were working on the left center/bottom portion which should be displayed, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In considering claim 6,
Refer to claim 5.
Regarding the additional limitations of work equipment..Hitake disclose the working equipment includes a boom 6 (para 37-38) and bucket 8, boom cylinder 10, arm cylinder 11, driving arm 7 etc..
In considering claim 7,
Refer to claim 1.
In considering claim 8,
Refer to claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure—see newly cited references on attached form PTO-892.
The examiner notes the following references also disclose remote operation of a machine with similar display/camera setup:
US 12043982 (Fig 2);
US 12,123,175 (Fig 2);
US 12,127,038 (Fig 3);
US 20250376829 (Fig 5);
US 20230102056 captures images in the rotating direction of the vehicle to create a panoramic set of images.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
Washington, D.C. 20231
or faxed to:
(571)-273-8300
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 Customer Service Office whose telephone number is
(703)305-HELP.
General information about patents, trademarks, products and services offered by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), and other related information is available by contacting the USPTO’s General Information Services Division at:
800-PTO-9199 or 703-308-HELP
(FAX) 703-305-7786
(TDD) 703-305-7785
An automated message system is available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day providing informational responses to frequently asked questions and the ability to order certain documents. Customer service representatives are available to answer questions, send materials or connect customers with other offices of the USPTO from 8:30 a.m. - 8:00p.m. EST/EDT, Monday-Friday excluding federal holidays.
For other technical patent information needs, the Patent Assistance Center can be reached through customer service representatives at the above numbers, Monday through Friday (except federal holidays) from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST/EDT.
The Patent Electronic Business Center (EBC) allows USPTO customers to retrieve data, check the status of pending actions, and submit information and applications. The tools currently available in the Patent EBC are Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) and the Electronic Filing System (EFS). PAIR (http://pair.uspto.gov) provides customers direct secure access to their own patent application status information, as well as to general patent information publicly available. EFS allows customers to electronically file patent application documents securely via the Internet. EFS is a system for submitting new utility patent applications and pre-grant publication submissions in electronic publication-ready form. EFS includes software to help customers prepare submissions in extensible Markup Language (XML) format and to assemble the various parts of the application as an electronic submission package. EFS also allows the submission of Computer Readable Format (CRF) sequence listings for pending biotechnology patent applications, which were filed in paper form.
/BRIAN P YENKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422