DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 have been considered for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Clidaras et al. (US Publication 2008/0055846).
In re Claim 1, Clidaras discloses a receptacle (paragraphs 0081-0082) for a module for computation 901-910, wherein the receptacle comprises a mating interface for connection to a corresponding module interface (paragraphs 0081-0082, “docking regions” with “quick-connection stubs” to be connected with “appliance style connectors”), wherein the mating interface comprises connectors for power and networking (Id.), wherein the module for computation 901-910 is a standard freight container (paragraphs 0009, 0017-0019, 0046).
In re Claims 2 and 6, Clidaras discloses wherein the interface further comprises connectors for cooling (paragraphs 0081-0082).
In re Claims 5 and 9, Clidaras discloses a module interface for a module for computation (paragraph 0081), wherein the module interface comprises connectors for power and networking (Id.), wherein the connectors are adapted for connection to a corresponding receptacle (paragraph 0081) having a mating interface (paragraphs 0081-0082, “appliance style”),wherein the module for computation 901-910 is a standard freight container (paragraphs 0009, 0017-0019, 0046).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clidaras et al. (US Publication 2008/0055846) in view of Brewster (US Publication 2007/0212183).
In re Claims 3 and 7, Clidaras discloses the limitations as noted above, but does not explicitly disclose a locking mechanical interface. However, providing such was not new in the art before the effective filing date. For example, Brewster discloses a standard freight container 22 that may be locked to a surface with a mechanical interface 24. See Brewster, Figure 1. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of container securement to have provided a locking mechanical interface as disclosed in Brewster with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Clidaras. The addition of a locking mechanical interface ensures that the container does not slide or move during shipping. Brewster, paragraphs 0005-0014.
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clidaras et al. (US Publication 2008/0055846) in view of Curletto et al. (WO 2022118267).
In re Claims 4 and 8, Clidaras discloses the limitations as noted above, but does not explicitly disclose a guide for guiding a module in place during installation. However, providing such was not new in the art before the effective filing date. For example, Curletto discloses a receptacle 14 with a guide 12, 13, 40 for guiding the receptacle into connection with a corresponding module 2 interface 20. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of containers to have provided a guide as disclosed in Curletto with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Clidaras. A guide would ensure that the power and networking connections were made when the container was in a docked position. Curletto, p. 2 ll. 6-29.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clidaras et al. (US Publication 2008/0055846) in view of Crawford, Jr. et al. (US Publication 2021/0394660).
In re Claim 10, Clidaras discloses the limitations as noted above, and further discloses a method for installing a module for computation 901-910, comprising a module interface (paragraphs 0081-0082) with a receptacle, the method comprises steps of positioning the module until the module interface is connected with a corresponding mating interface of the receptacle to provide power and networking to the module for computation (paragraphs 0081-0082). Clidaras does not explicitly disclose a lowering the module into connection. However, providing such was not new in the art before the effective filing date. For example, Crawford discloses a module for computation 200 that is lowered until a module guide 430 interfaces with a guide 230 for guiding the module for computation in place, and lowering the module for computation 200 further allows for connection of a module interface 220 for power and networking connection (paragraph 0163) with a mating interface 300 of a receptacle (Figures 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of containers to have incorporated a lowering technique, as disclosed in Crawford, with the apparatus and disclosure as otherwise disclosed in Clidaras to allow for alternative module connection methods. Lowering a module would provide for greater control of the module especially when the module is larger/heavier which protects the module from damage as well as improves safety. Crawford, paragraphs 0083, 0197-0209.
In re Claim 11, Crawford further discloses a step of locking the module for computation 200 in place, wherein the receptacle comprises a mechanical interface 230 and the module 200 is locked through the mechanical interface 230. Crawford, paragraphs 0163-0165.
Conclusion
/ADRIAN S WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841