Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 1 was amended. Claims 9-19 were newly added. Claims 1-19 have been examined on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the crotch part and upper parts, zipper fastener, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 9-13 recite “the dress continuously extends from a base to a neck to a hem of the dress as a one piece structural without having a joint structure connecting between the upper part and the lower part. There is no support in the originally filed disclosure for the limitations “extends continuously from a base to a neck to a hem of the dress as a pone piece structure without having a joint connecting between the upper and lower parts”. Claims 14 -20 recite “wherein the dress does not have another zipper in addition to the zipper”. There is no support for this limitation in the originally filed disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley (US 1,421,162) in view of Caco (US 2017/0295858).
The device of Buckley teaches,
With respect to claim 1, A one-piece garment (1) capable for use for men comprising:
No bulge for breast provided at a breast part of a dress (Figure 1). It is noted that the language “for breast” is a functional recitation. The prior art teaches a flat front garment with “no bulge” and would be capable for a use for a user without breast, as recited in the claim see MPEP 2114;
;
A chest circumference length being 100% to 120% relative to a corresponding chest size of a corresponding clothes size of a user according to a male size standard, the device of Buckly has a chest circumference (Figure 1, area at the top portion that would cover a chest) length (inherent measurement around the circumference of the garment) being 100% to 120% relative to a corresponding chest size of a corresponding clothes size of a user (it is noted that the users clothes size or chest size is not disclosed and therefore any numerical measurement that would fit a male user would meet the functional recitation as claimed.) The device of Buckley has a chest size measurement (undisclosed, but for example 120cm,) and would be 100% of a man with a chest size of the same measurement, (for example 120cm) according to a male size standard;
a fastener (6) provided at a front of the garment along a front center line of the garment (figure 1), the fastener extending downwardly from a crotch part of the dress to a lowest end of the dress (Figure 1) wherein the fastener does not extend upwardly (the fastener ends at the crotch portion waist area) from the crotch part to an upper end of the dress (1);
The device of Buckley substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking a waist circumference less than a chest circumference length, and a fastener comprising a zipper. The device of Caco teaches a one-piece garment having a waist circumference ( vertically central portion of 118) that is smaller than a chest circumference (Figure 13). The device of Caco teaches a zipper (114) to close a slit opening.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the smaller waist circumference in order to provide a tighter fight to prevent excess fabric from hindering movement or catching on something, and zipper fastener in place of front slit fastener, since they provide easy opening and closing and are known functional equivalents within the art.
With respect to claim 2, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein a hip circumference length is larger than the waist circumference length (Caco Figure 14).
With respect to claim 3, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein a dress length, from a base of a neck to a hem along a back of the dress, is 60% to 100% of a corresponding height size of the corresponding clothes size of the user according to the male size standard. (Figure 1). The recitation of a corresponding clothes size of the user according to the male size standard is any size that fits any clothes size. The prior art shows a user having a size, a corresponding dress size length that appears to be in the range of 60-100% but fails to give the range or measurement. It has been cited by legal precedent in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984),cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the invention was effectively filed to utilize the length of 60-100% a height of a male size standard, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine sill in the art.
With respect to claim 4, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein a dress length, from a base of a neck to a hem of the dress, is 60% to 100% of a corresponding height size of the corresponding clothes size of the user according to the male size standard. The recitation of a corresponding clothes size of the user according to the male size standard is any size that fits any clothes size. The prior art shows a device intended for a user having a size, a corresponding dress size length that appears to be in the range of 60-100% but fails to give the range or measurement. It has been cited by legal precedent in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984),cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the invention was effectively filed to utilize the length of 60-100% a height of a male size standard, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine sill in the art.
With respect to claim 5, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein the lowest end of the dress (lower most edge) at both sides of the fastener/zipper splits to the left and right when the fastener/zipper is opened. (Figure 1).
With respect to claim 6, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein the lowest end of the dress (lower most edge) at both sides of the zipper/fastener (Figure 1) splits to the left and right when the zipper is opened. (Figure 1).
With respect to claim 7, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein the lowest end of the dress (lower most edge) at both sides of the zipper/fastener splits to the left and right when the zipper is opened. (Figure 2).
With respect to claim 8, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein the lowest end of the dress (lower most edge) at both sides of the zipper/fastener (Figure 1) splits to the left and right when the zipper is opened. (Figure 1).
With respect to claim 9-13, wherein the dress continuously extends from a base of a neck (at top of element 1) to a hem (bottom of element 1) of the dress as a one-piece structure without having a joint structure connecting between an upperpart and a lower part of the dress at the waist (Figure 1).
With respect to claims 14-20, the dress does not have another zipper in addition to the zipper (Figure 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892
Please Note, the art of recorded cited in the PTO-892 may be relevant to the features of the invention both claimed and unclaimed or are relevant to the overall inventive concept. The best art has been set forward in the office action, as determined by the examiner and the art references provided are to establish other significant and relevant art and to promote compact prosecution.
RICHALE LEE. QUINN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3765
/RICHALE L QUINN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732