Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/17/2026 has been fully considered. Claims 1, 3 and 4 were amended. Claims 5-8 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 2009/0300822) in view of Calde (US 2,598,759).
The device of Johnson et al teaches,
With respect to claim 1, A one-piece (when the fasteners are jointed the garment is a one piece garment) garment capable for use for men comprising:
a zipper (14) provided at a front of the garment along a front center line of the garment (figure 1), the zipper extending downwardly from a crotch part of the dress to a lowest end of the dress (Figure 1) wherein the zipper does not extend upwardly (the zipper ends at the crotch portion waist area) from the crotch part to an upper end of the dress;
The device of Johnson et al substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking an upper dress portion.
The device of Calde teaches, a one piece dress (when the fasteners are secured) having no bulge for breasts provided at a breast part of the dress (Figure 4, 7). It is noted that the language “for breast” is a functional recitation. The prior art teaches a flat front garment with “no bulge” and would be capable for a use for a user without breast, as recited in the claim see MPEP 2114;
a chest circumference (Figure 4, areas that would cover a chest) length (inherent measurement around the circumference of the garment) being 100% to 120% relative to a corresponding chest size of a corresponding clothes size of a user (it is noted that the users clothes size or chest size is not disclosed and therefore any numerical measurement that would fit a male user would meet the functional recitation as claimed. The device of Calde has a chest size measurement (undisclosed, but for example 120cm,) and would be 100% of a man with a chest size of the same measurement, (for example 120cm) according to a male size standard;
a waist circumference length (at 4) being narrower than the chest circumference length (area around chest; figure 4);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to utilize the upper chest area portion as taught by Calde in order to provide a more flexibility and style options for the use (Column 1, lines 1-10).
With respect to claim 2, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein a hip circumference length is larger than the waist circumference length (Figure 4).
With respect to claim 3, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein a dress length, from a base of a neck to a hem along a back of the dress, is 60% to 100% of a corresponding height size of the corresponding clothes size of the user according to the male size standard. (Figure 4). The recitation of a corresponding clothes size of the user according to the male size standard is any size that fits any clothes size. The prior art shows a user having a size, a corresponding dress size length that appears to be in the range of 60-100% but fails to give the range or measurement. It has been cited by legal precedent in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984),cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the invention was effectively filed to utilize the length of 60-100% a height of a male size standard, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine sill in the art.
With respect to claim 4, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein a dress length, from a base of a neck to a hem of the dress, is 60% to 100% of a corresponding height size of the corresponding clothes size of the user according to the male size standard. The recitation of a corresponding clothes size of the user according to the male size standard is any size that fits any clothes size. The prior art shows a user having a size, a corresponding dress size length that appears to be in the range of 60-100% but fails to give the range or measurement. It has been cited by legal precedent in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984),cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the invention was effectively filed to utilize the length of 60-100% a height of a male size standard, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine sill in the art.
With respect to claim 5, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein the lowest end of the dress (lower most edge) at both sides of the zipper (14) splits to the left and right when the zipper is opened. (Figure 2).
With respect to claim 6, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein the lowest end of the dress (lower most edge) at both sides of the zipper (14) splits to the left and right when the zipper is opened. (Figure 2).
With respect to claim 7, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein the lowest end of the dress (lower most edge) at both sides of the zipper (14) splits to the left and right when the zipper is opened. (Figure 2).
With respect to claim 8, The one-piece dress for men according to wherein the lowest end of the dress (lower most edge) at both sides of the zipper (14) splits to the left and right when the zipper is opened. (Figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RICHALE LEE. QUINN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3765
/RICHALE L QUINN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732