DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 contains the trademark/trade name Teflon. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe polytetrafluoroethylene and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Publication KR 20150032029 A to Park et al. (“Park”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,967,163 B1 to Martin (“Martin”).
As to claim 1, Park teaches a glass bottle cover assembly for protecting a glass bottle, comprising: a cover (bottle storage case 100) configured to surround a body (vial 102) of the glass bottle (Park, abstract); and a cap (Park Fig. 1 shows a lid on the vial 102) configured to open and close an opening formed at the upper end of the glass bottle (Park Fig. 1 shows a lid on the vial 102), and the cap is screw-coupled to a glass bottle screw thread formed on the outer circumferential surface between the opening of the glass bottle and the upper recess portion (Park Fig. 1 shows a lid on the vial 102); but does not teach a guide ring configured to fasten to an upper recess portion formed in an upper portion of the outer circumferential surface of the glass bottle; wherein the guide ring includes a first fastening portion formed in an upper portion of the outer circumferential surface of the guide ring and configured to couple to the cap, and a second fastening portion formed in a lower portion of the guide ring and configured to couple to the cover, and at the same time, configured to couple to the first fastening portion of the guide ring.
Martin teaches a guide ring (annular retaining ring 54) configured to fasten to an upper recess portion formed in an upper portion of the outer circumferential surface of the glass bottle (Martin, col. 3, lines 3-7); wherein the guide ring includes a first fastening portion (tear strip 61) formed in an upper portion of the outer circumferential surface of the guide ring and configured to couple to the cap (cap 60), and a second fastening portion (threaded portion 56) formed in a lower portion of the guide ring and configured to couple to the cover (rigid tubular body 20), and at the same time, configured to couple to the first fastening portion of the guide ring (Martin, col. 3, lines 7-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the connection of the retaining ring and cap to the cover of Martin with the glass bottle cover as taught by Park to provide a container that is inexpensive to manufacture (Martin, col. 1, lines 61-62).
As to claim 2, Park modified by Martin teaches the glass bottle cover assembly of claim 1, wherein the cover (Park Fig. 1 shows the bottle storage case 100 in an upper section and lower section) includes an upper cover (upper case part 210) and a lower cover (lower case section 110).
As to claim 3, Park modified by Martin discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the second fastening portion is formed on the outer circumferential surface of the guide ring and configured to couple to a guide ring fastening portion formed in the upper inner circumferential surface of the upper cover. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the threads on the outer surface of the annular retaining ring of Martin and the threads on the inner surface of the tubular body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.
As to claim 4, Park modified by Martin teaches the glass bottle cover assembly of claim 3, wherein the upper cover includes: a handle (handle 222) formed on one side of the outer circumferential surface (Park Fig. 1 shows the handle 222 on the outer circumferential surface); a protruding portion (Park Fig. 2 shows the wall of the container extends outward below the neck of the bottle) located below the guide ring fastening portion and formed to protrude outward from the outer circumferential surface; a protrusion coupling portion (Park Fig. 2 shows the wall of the container extends outward below the neck of the bottle) located below the protruding portion and formed to protrude outward from the outer circumferential surface; a cover recess portion formed below the protrusion coupling portion (Park Fig. 2 shows the wall of the container extends outward below the neck of the bottle); and an upper cover assembly screw thread (female screw 220) formed in a lower portion of the outer circumferential surface and configured to couple to the lower cover.
As to claim 5, Park modified by Martin teaches the glass bottle cover assembly of claim 4, wherein the upper cover further includes a groove portion located between a first connecting portion at which the outer circumferential surface of the upper cover and an upper portion of the handle are connected and a second connecting portion at which the outer circumferential surface of the upper cover and a lower portion of the handle are connected, and formed recessed inward from the outer circumferential surface (Park Fig. 2 shows the handle 222 attached to the outer circumferential surface of the upper case part 210).
As to claim 6, Park modified by Martin teaches the glass bottle cover assembly of claim 4, wherein the lower cover includes a lower cover assembly screw thread (male thread 118) formed in an upper portion of the inner circumferential surface, and configured to couple to the upper cover assembly screw thread of the upper cover (Park Fig. 3 shows the male thread 118 coupled to the female thread 220).
As to claim 7, Park modified by Martin teaches the glass bottle cover assembly of claim 6, wherein the upper cover is formed to cover from the second fastening portion of the guide ring to an annular bend of the glass bottle, and the lower cover is formed to cover from the upper cover assembly screw thread to a lower portion of the glass bottle (Park Fig. 2 shows the upper case part 210 is screw thread to the lower case section 110).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Martin further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,556,723 B2 to Lee (“Lee”).
As to claim 9, Park modified by Martin teaches the glass bottle cover assembly of claim 1, but does not teach wherein a material of the cover includes one selected from the group consisting of glycol-modified polyethylene terephthalate (PETG), low density polyethylene (LDPE), high density polyethylene (HDPE), polypropylene (PP), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), acrylic resin, polycarbonate (PC), acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), Teflon, and thermoplastic elastomer (TPE).
Lee teaches wherein a material of the cover includes one selected from the group consisting of glycol-modified polyethylene terephthalate (PETG), low density polyethylene (LDPE), high density polyethylene (HDPE), polypropylene (PP), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), acrylic resin, polycarbonate (PC), acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), Teflon, and thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) (Lee, col. 3, lines 25-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the material of Lee to make the cover assembly as taught by Park modified by Martin to provide a cover for a glass container to minimizing leakage of the liquid in the glass container to the outside even if the glass bottle is broken by an impact when a worker handles of moves the glass bottle (Lee, col. 2, lines 3-6).
As to claim 10, Park modified by Martin teaches the glass bottle cover assembly of claim 1, but does not teach wherein a material of the guide ring is ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) or silicone.
Lee teaches wherein a material of the guide ring is ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) or silicone (Lee, col. 6, lines 27-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the material of Lee to make the cover assembly as taught by Park modified by Martin to provide a cover for a glass container to minimizing leakage of the liquid in the glass container to the outside even if the glass bottle is broken by an impact when a worker handles of moves the glass bottle (Lee, col. 2, lines 3-6).
As to claim 11, Park modified by Martin teaches the glass bottle cover assembly of claim 1, but does not teach wherein a material of the guide ring includes carbon.
Lee teaches wherein a material of the guide ring includes carbon (Lee, col. 3, lines 25-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the material of Lee to make the cover assembly as taught by Park modified by Martin to provide a cover for a glass container to minimizing leakage of the liquid in the glass container to the outside even if the glass bottle is broken by an impact when a worker handles of moves the glass bottle (Lee, col. 2, lines 3-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record is seen to disclose or suggest the limitation of claim 8 that the second fastening portion of the guide ring includes a fitting groove formed recessed inward from the outer circumferential surface, and the guide ring fastening portion of the upper cover is formed to protrude inward from the inner circumferential surface and configured to fasten to the fitting groove. For example, the closest reference found, Martin, teaches an inner container with a rigid tubular body and a cap secured to the body but does not teach the second fastening portion of the guide ring includes a fitting groove formed recessed inward from the outer circumferential surface, and the guide ring fastening portion of the upper cover is formed to protrude inward from the inner circumferential surface and configured to fasten to the fitting groove.
None of the prior art of record is seen to disclose or suggest the limitation of claim 12 that a first screw thread formed in an upper portion of the inner circumferential surface and configured to couple to the glass bottle screw thread; and a second screw thread formed in a lower portion of the inner circumferential surface and configured to couple to the first fastening portion of the guide ring. For example, the closest reference found, Martin, teaches an inner container with a rigid tubular body and a cap secured to the body but does not teach a first screw thread formed in an upper portion of the inner circumferential surface and configured to couple to the glass bottle screw thread; and a second screw thread formed in a lower portion of the inner circumferential surface and configured to couple to the first fastening portion of the guide ring.
Conclusion
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Korean Publication KR 20250139081 A1 to Jeong discloses a glass bottle protection assembly.
U.S. PGPUB 2025/0115409 A1 to Abadi discloses a glass bottle that can be nested in a reusable bottle assembly covered by a bottle cap.
/M.L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/JAMES N SMALLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3733