DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 37, Claim 37 recites the limitation "the inner" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 37, 47, and 55, Claims 37, 47, and 55 recites the limitation "the nozzle body" in the last limitation of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim requires “an inner nozzle body” and “an outer nozzle body” and so it is not clear which is being referred to here.
Further regarding claims 37, 47, and 55, the claims read “wherein the nozzle body has a plurality of holes for allowing the high voltage applying needle to path”. . . it is not clear what is meant here by “applying the high voltage applying needle to path.” Also, with respect to “the nozzle body,” see above – as the claims recite both an “inner” and an “outer” nozzle body, this limitation is not clear as drafted. Also, it is not clear what is meant by “high conductivity corresponding to the electrospinning nozzle in one-to one relationship.”
Dependent claims 38-46, 48-54, and 56 are also rejected at least due to their dependence upon claims 37, 47, or 55.
Regarding claims 42 and 53, Claims 42 and 53 each recites the limitation "the hole" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US 2005/0233021), hereinafter Chun, in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0069741), hereinafter Park, and further in view of Fong et al. (US 2019/0292685), hereinafter Fong.
Regarding claims 37, 47, and 55, Chun discloses an electrospinning nozzle block (spinning unit 120) comprising an inner space for accommodating a spinning solution transferred and injected from a solution storage tank (supply unit 110 and storage container 112) (par. 0030; Fig. 1-2), a nozzle body including a plurality of solution distribution ports, an electrospinning nozzle (122), a nozzle adapter for detachably coupling the electrospinning nozzle to the nozzle body (as shown in the drawings), and a high voltage applying unit (170) for applying high voltage electricity from a high voltage generating device to the spinning solution.
Chun further discloses that the high voltage applying unit includes (a) a high voltage applying needle (connecting element 170 and element 124 in Fig. 1); and (b) a high voltage body (124) configured to fix and arrange the “needle” in a direction (since length and width are not defined, any direction in the prior art would suffice).
Chun does not explicitly disclose the features of the electrospinning nozzle or the pneumatic control unit body, or the air ejection unit including a center hole with a plurality of gas ejection ports surrounding the center hole.
However, Park teaches an electrospinning nozzle that includes:
(a) an inner nozzle body (301) into which a spinning solution serving as a first fluid is injected (Park, par. 0062; Fig. 5);
(b) an inner needle unit (303) connected to the inner nozzle body and having a hollow tube inner needle (303a) serving as an outlet of the first fluid;
(c) an outer nozzle body (302) into which air serving as a second fluid is injected (Park, par. 0062); and (d) an air ejection unit coupled to a tip of the outer nozzle body (Park, par. 0065).
Park further discloses (with respect to claim 55) a pneumatic control unit body (310) (Park, par. 0062) having a needle shaft (311) to control or block the flow of solution as is required in the claims, having a double needle.
Chun discloses a “base” system with electrospinning nozzles arranged in a block for use in an electrospinning process. Park discloses an “improvement” to the “base” system of Chun above in that Park describes specific structural features of a similar type of electrospinning nozzle. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have specified that the nozzles are configured as described in Park above, as both Chun and Park describe electrospinning nozzles, meaning that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the teachings of Park and Chun applicable to each other, with a reasonable expectation of success from having used either structure to have performed the electrospinning.
Chun/Park does not explicitly disclose that the air ejection unit has a center hole and a plurality of gas ejection ports.
However, Fong discloses a spinning nozzle that includes an air assisted spinneret (Fong, par. 0056), with a coaxial air flow (20) (Fig. 1A). Fong further describes (see Fig. 7A) an air ejection unit (air plenum cover) (Fong, par. 0081) which has a center hole and a plurality of gas ejection ports (holes) surrounding the center hole (as shown in Fong, Fig. 7A). See also Fong, par. 0090-0098. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have specified that the air ejection unit (of Chun/Park above) further includes a center hole (for the needle) and a plurality of gas ejection ports or holes surrounding the center hole, as to have adequately allowed for sufficient air flow through the system.
Regarding claims 38-42 and 51-52, Chun/Park/Fong discloses the subject matter of claims 37/47, and further describes a plurality of air holes (as in Fong, Fig. 7A) above. The air ejection unit (enclosure 12, Fong, Fig. 7A) is an air cap having a space to hold air (as shown more clearly in Fig. 7B).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious, in view of the teachings above, to have modified the air ejection unit to have included any suitable number of holes in the plate, for air to flow through the system in a desired manner.
Regarding claims 43-46 and 53-54, Chun/Park/Fong discloses the subject matter of claims 41/52, and further discloses that the needle and high voltage body (Chun, Fig. 1) are configured as in the claims. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have specified that the high voltage applying unit is movable with respect to the system as it has been held that adjustability, where desired, supports a case of prima facie obviousness.
Regarding claims 48-50, Chun/Park/Fong discloses the subject matter of claim 47, and further discloses that the outer needle positioning unit (Park, par. 0056) includes a positioning unit body and a plurality of screw pins (107b), and a gas inlet is formed on the positioning unit body and the screw pins are arranged to surround a periphery of the outer needle (Park, par. 0056-0057).
Regarding claim 56, Chun/Park/Fong discloses the subject matter of claim 55, and further discloses (Park, Fig. 5) that the pneumatic control body (310) includes an air inlet for injecting air (injection port 310a) into the needle shaft (311) (Park, par. 0062), and wherein the needle shaft includes, a spring (313) wound around the needle shaft and having an elastic restoring force (Park, par. 0063); a taper blocking portion (311a) formed at a tip of the needle shaft to block a fluid passage toward the inner needle unit (303) in order to block the flow of the first fluid (or solution) (Park, par. 0063), and a shaft needle (303a) connected to the taper blocking portion and having a pointed end penetrating the inner needle and protruding through a front end of the inner needle (Park, par. 0063).
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742