DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 10 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite a “null position” as opposed to the “null angular position” presented in claim 1. Appropriate correction is advised.
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite “at least one magnet” as opposed to “at least one permanent magnet” presented in claim 1. Appropriate correction is advised.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benner (US 20130181549 A1).
Claim 1
Benner teaches: An electric rotary torque motor, comprising: a stator (102), including: a yoke; a plurality of teeth (106, 108) extending radially inward from the yoke and separated circumferentially by slots (152, 154), the plurality of teeth (106, 108) forming a radially inward facing surface; and electrical windings (formed by coils 128) arranged in one or more of the slots (152, 154);
a rotor (120) operatively arranged to rotate about a center axis relative to the stator (102) from a null angular position (when restorative activation occurs to restore rotor to central rotation angle; see para. 0036-0040) to an off-null angular position (when restorative activation is disabled allowing rotor to diverge from central rotation angle), the rotor (120) including a radially outward facing surface (126) and at least one permanent magnet (122);
and a radial airgap (124) arranged between the radially outward facing surface (126) of the rotor (120) and the radially inward facing surface of the stator (102), the radial airgap (124) varying in radial depth about the center axis and having a minimum radial depth at the null angular position (when restorative activation occurs to restore rotor to central rotation angle; see para. 0036-0040) and a greater radial depth at the off-null angular position (when restorative activation is disabled allowing rotor to diverge from central rotation angle);
wherein the at least one permanent magnet (122) is positioned circumferentially on the rotor (120) such that when the electrical windings (formed by coils 128) are de-energized the rotor (120) is biased to the null angular position (when restorative activation occurs to restore rotor to central rotation angle; see para. 0036-0040).
Claim 2/1
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 1, wherein the rotor (120) is in the null position (when restorative activation occurs to restore rotor to central rotation angle; see para. 0036-0040) when the at least one magnet (122) is aligned with the minimum radial depth.
Claim 3/1
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 1, wherein when the electrical windings (formed by coils 128) are energized the rotor (120) displaces circumferentially with respect to the stator (102) such that the at least one magnet (122) is aligned with the off-null angular position (when restorative activation is disabled allowing rotor to diverge from central rotation angle).
Claim 4/1
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 1, wherein the greater radial depth at the off-null angular position (when restorative activation is disabled allowing rotor to diverge from central rotation angle) is the maximum radial depth (oval restoring slot area 166 described as having a width that continually increases toward left and right; see para. 0087).
Claim 5/1
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 1, wherein the radially inward facing surface is non-cylindrical (restoring slot area may be oval rather than uniform; see para. 0087).
Claim 6/1
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 1, wherein the radially inward facing surface is an ellipse (as illustrated in Fig. 13).
Claim 7/1
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 1, wherein the radially inward facing surface is an oval (restoring slot area may be oval rather than uniform; see para. 0087).
Claim 8/1
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 1, wherein the plurality of teeth (106, 108) comprise coils (128) and the coils (128) are connected to form the electrical windings (formed by coils 128).
Claim 12
An electric rotary torque motor, comprising a stator (102), including: a yoke; a plurality of teeth (106, 108) extending radially inward from the yoke and spaced apart by slots (152, 154), the plurality of teeth (106, 108) forming a non-cylindrical radially inward facing surface;
and a plurality of electrical windings (formed by coils 128) engaged with at least two of the plurality of teeth (106, 108);
a rotor (120) arranged in the stator (102) and including a radially outward facing surface (126) and at least one permanent magnet (122);
and a radial airgap (124) arranged between the radially outward facing surface (126) and the radially inward facing surface, the radial airgap (124) varying in radial depth and having a minimum radial depth at a first angular position and a maximum radial depth at a second angular position; wherein: the rotor (120) is in a null position (when restorative activation occurs to restore rotor to central rotation angle; see para. 0036-0040) when the at least one permanent magnet (122) is aligned with the first angular position; and the rotor (120) is biased toward the null position (when restorative activation occurs to restore rotor to central rotation angle; see para. 0036-0040).
Claim 13/12
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 12, wherein when the plurality of electrical windings (formed by coils 128) are energized the rotor (120) is displaced from the null position (when restorative activation occurs to restore rotor to central rotation angle; see para. 0036-0040) toward the second angular position.
Claim 14/12
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 12, wherein when the plurality of electrical windings (formed by coils 128) are de-energized the rotor (120) is biased toward the null position (when restorative activation occurs to restore rotor to central rotation angle; see para. 0036-0040).
Claim 15/12
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 12, wherein the radially inward facing surface is an ellipse (as illustrated in Fig. 13).
Claim 16/12
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 12, wherein the radially inward facing surface is an oval (restoring slot area may be oval rather than uniform; see para. 0087).
Claim 20
An electric rotary torque motor, comprising: a stator (102), including: a yoke; a plurality of teeth (106, 108) extending radially inward from the yoke and spaced apart by slots (152, 154), the plurality of teeth (106, 108) forming a stator bore comprising a non-cylindrical radially inward facing surface (see fig. 13);
and at least one electrical winding (formed by coils 128) arranged in one or more of the slots (152, 154); a rotor (120) rotatably arranged in the bore, the rotor (120) including a cylindrical shaft (156; see para. 0080-0081) comprising a radially outward facing surface (126) and a plurality of permanent magnets (122);
and a radial airgap (124) arranged between the radially outward facing surface (126) and the radially inward facing surface, the radial airgap (124) at a first angular position is a first distance (vertical distance with respect to Fig. 13) and the radial airgap (124) at a second angular position is a second distance (horizontal distance with respect to Fig. 13), the second distance being greater than the first distance;
wherein: the rotor (120) is in a null position (when restorative activation occurs to restore rotor to central rotation angle; see para. 0036-0040) when the plurality of permanent magnets (122) are aligned with the first angular position; and the rotor (120) is biased toward the null position (when restorative activation occurs to restore rotor to central rotation angle; see para. 0036-0040).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benner in view of Benner2 (US9077219B2).
Claim 9
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the off-null angular position is ±450 from the null position.
Benner2 notably teaches a limited angle permanent magnet rotary actuator having a central restoration position and expressly discloses ± 45o angular positions in connection with its magnetic gap/rotor position behavior (see para. 0072).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to configure the limited rotational operating range of Benner to provide an off-null position of approximately ± 45o, as taught by Benner2, because doing so would provide a known limited angular operating range while retaining the magnetic return to center characteristics of the actuator.
Claim 10/1
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the rotor is operatively arranged to displace only ± 45° from the null position.
Benner2 notably teaches a limited angle permanent magnet rotary actuator having a central restoration position and expressly discloses ± 45o angular positions in connection with its magnetic gap/rotor position behavior (see para. 0072).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to select ± 45o as the maximum angular displacement of the rotor of Benner in view of Benner2’s teaching of a limited angle actuator having ± 45o angular positions, particularly where Benner themselves contemplates adjustment of the desired limited rotation range.
Claim 17/12
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 12, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the second angular position is 45o from the null position (when restorative activation occurs to restore rotor to central rotation angle; see para. 0036-0040).
Benner2 notably teaches a limited angle permanent magnet rotary actuator having a central restoration position and expressly discloses ± 45o angular positions in connection with its magnetic gap/rotor position behavior (see para. 0072).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to configure the limited rotational operating range of Benner to provide an off-null position of approximately ± 45o, as taught by Benner2, because doing so would provide a known limited angular operating range while retaining the magnetic return to center characteristics of the actuator.
Claim 18/12
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 12, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the rotor is operatively arranged to displace only ±45° from the null position.
Benner2 notably teaches a limited angle permanent magnet rotary actuator having a central restoration position and expressly discloses ± 45o angular positions in connection with its magnetic gap/rotor position behavior (see para. 0072).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to select ± 45o as the maximum angular displacement of the rotor of Benner in view of Benner2’s teaching of a limited angle actuator having ± 45o angular positions, particularly where Benner themselves contemplates adjustment of the desired limited rotation range.
Claim(s) 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benner in view of Vanderlaan (US4510403A).
Claim 11/1
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 1, wherein the rotor is operatively arranged to open and close a valve.
Vanderlaan notably teaches a limited angled torque motor having a permanent magnet rotor and magnetic centering, wherein the torque motor is particularly intended to directly drive a proportional control valve in a fluid control system. Vanderlaan further discloses that the motor provides limited rotational movement of the rotor shaft (156).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to utilize the limited angle rotary actuator of Benner to directly actuate a valve similar to that taught by Vanderlaan, because both references concern limited angle torque motors specifically suited to produce controlled rotational movement of a driven mechanical element.
Claim 19/12
Benner teaches: The electric rotary torque motor as recited in claim 12, wherein the rotor (120) is operatively arranged to open and close a valve.
Vanderlaan notably teaches a limited angled torque motor having a permanent magnet rotor and magnetic centering, wherein the torque motor is particularly intended to directly drive a proportional control valve in a fluid control system. Vanderlaan further discloses that the motor provides limited rotational movement of the rotor shaft (156).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to utilize the limited angle rotary actuator of Benner to directly actuate a valve similar to that taught by Vanderlaan, because both references concern limited angle torque motors specifically suited to produce controlled rotational movement of a driven mechanical element.
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834