Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the ends of the seal walls" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) that depend(s) from the rejected claim(s) 2-19 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Bidkar et al., US Pub. 2016-0010480).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-13, a pressure activated non-contact seal (Shoe plate 14 rides on film above rotor shaft. Para. [0026]. Figures 6 and 9) for sealing against a rotating cylindrical surface (surface of rotating rotor 25, 92, 142) between a high-pressure region (20) and a low-pressure region (22, para. [0026]), comprising:
a seal member carrier (28) spaced radially from the rotating cylindrical surface and defining a seal member chamber (Space between 28 and 102) in fluid communication with the high-pressure region (20);
a seal member (102) supported by the seal member carrier (28) so as to be moveable in a radial direction of the rotating cylindrical surface (Since a bellow spring 24 is disposed between 28 and 102, during operation bellow spring 24 allows radial movement for seal 102), and comprising non-contact seal surfaces adjacent to the rotating cylindrical surface (Figures 8-9); and
a secondary seal (includes 24,106) mounted between a surface of the seal member (102) facing the seal member carrier (28) and an opposed surface of the seal member chamber to provide a pressure barrier around the seal member (102) between the high-pressure region (20) and the low-pressure region (22, Figures 6 and 9);
wherein:
the seal member (102) comprises side walls (15, 18, 50) extending in the radial direction towards the rotating cylindrical surface and defining a seal cavity (Space between 15 and 18), the ends of the side walls adjacent to the rotating cylindrical surface defining non-contact seal surfaces (Shoe plate 14 rides on film above rotor shaft. Para. [0026]); and
the seal member (102) further comprises a bleed port (30) extending between the seal cavity (space between 15 and 18) and the seal member chamber (space between 28 and 102) on the high-pressure side (20) of the secondary seal (106) such that in use, high pressure in the seal member chamber urges the seal member towards the rotating cylindrical surface until balanced by the pressure in the seal cavity to maintain the non- contact seal surfaces in a non-contact sealing relationship with the rotating cylindrical surface (Figures 6 shows the surfaces subjected to different pressure until the seal assembly is balanced during operation.)
For claim 2, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the rotating cylindrical surface is the outer surface of a rotating shaft or cylinder, or the inner surface of a rotating cylinder (Figures 8, 11, and 13.)
For claim 3, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the seal member side walls are located at opposite ends of the seal member, and one or more intermediate walls are located between the side walls to define multiple seal cavities (Seal assembly 10 has multiple assemblies. Figures 1 and 9.)
For claim 4, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 3, further comprising a bleed port (30) extending between each seal cavity and the seal member chamber around the seal member on the high-pressure side (20) of the secondary seal (106, Figure 9)
For claim 5, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the secondary seal (106) is mounted on the seal member and is urged against the opposed wall of the seal member chamber (Figure 9.)
For claim 6, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the secondary seal (106) is mounted on the opposed wall of the seal member chamber and is urged against the surface of the seal member facing the seal member carrier (Figure 9.)
For claim 7, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the secondary seal (106) is located at a position between the high-pressure end and the-low pressure end of the seal member (Figure 6.)
For claim 8, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the surface of the seal member facing the seal member carrier (28) is extended in a radial direction (104) to define an axially-facing surface portion (radial surface on either side of 104), the opposed surface of the seal member chamber has a corresponding axially-facing surface portion, and the secondary seal (106) is mounted between the two axially-facing surface portions. (Figure9.)
For claim 9, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the seal member carrier (28) comprises an end wall (108) located at the low-pressure (22) end of the seal member carrier and extending towards the shaft such that the low-pressure end of the seal member (radial wall of 104) abuts against the end wall (via 106, Figure 9.)
For claim 10, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 9, wherein the end wall has a pocket (space above 106) formed facing the low-pressure end of the seal member carrier, wherein the pocket is in pressure communication with the seal member chamber outside the seal member on the high- pressure side of the secondary seal (Figure 9.)
For claim 11, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 10, wherein there is a pressure port (gap in 24) extending between the pocket (space above 106) and the seal member chamber around the seal member on the high- pressure side of the secondary seal, or between the pocket and a seal cavity having a bleed port (30) extending to the seal member chamber around the seal member on the high-pressure side of the secondary seal (Figure 6 and 9.)
For claim 12, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 9, wherein the seal member carrier end wall (on either side of 106) and the low-pressure end of the seal member (17) are axially spaced from the non-contact seal surfaces (15, 18; Figure 9.)
For claim 15, D1 discloses a seal assembly comprising multiple seals as claimed in claim 1 arranged circumferentially around the rotating cylindrical surface (Figure 1.)
For claim 16, D1 discloses the seal assembly as claimed in claim 15, further comprising a seal carrier (28), wherein each seal comprises a formation that engages with a corresponding formation on the seal carrier to resist rotational movement of the seal (Figures 1 and 3.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Bidkar et al., US Pub. 2016-0010480) in view of D2 (Grover et al., US Pub. 2021-0301925).
For claim 13, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the seal member carrier (28) comprises an end wall located at the high-pressure end of the seal member carrier and extending towards the rotating cylindrical surface (Figure 9), and a leaf spring extends between the end wall and the high-pressure end of the seal member.
D1 does not disclose a leaf spring. D2 teaches, in Figures 1-2 and 4, a non-contact seal with leaf spring (spring beams 118a, 118b. para. [0068]) for effective sealing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a leaf spring such that the leaf spring extends between the end wall and the high-pressure end of the seal member, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an effective sealing.
For claim 14, D1 discloses the seal as claimed in claim 13, but does not disclose wherein the leaf spring comprises a pair of leaf springs spaced apart in a radial direction.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-2 and 4, a seal a non-contact seal with leaf spring (spring beams 118a, 118b. para. [0068]) for effective sealing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a pair leaf spring spaced apart in a radial direction, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an effective sealing.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Bidkar et al., US Pub. 2016-0010480) in view of D3 (Fuller, US Pub. 2003-0094762).
For claim 17, D1 discloses the seal assembly as claimed in claim 15, but does not disclose further comprising springs between adjacent seals arranged to urge the adjacent seals apart.
D3 teaches a segmented labyrinth seal assembly with spring 40 between two adjacent seal segments urging the segments apart to maintain fluid film in the labyrinth seal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with springs such that the springs between adjacent seals arranged to urge the adjacent seals apart, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing an effective labyrinth seal.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Bidkar et al., US Pub. 2016-0010480) in view of D4 (Brandon et al., US 5,934,684).
For claim 18, D1 discloses the seal assembly as claimed in claim 15, but does not disclose wherein the edges of adjacent seals are stepped, and the stepped edges are inter-engaged to prevent a direct path extending between adjacent seals.
D4 teaches a seal assembly with segmented seal ring 113 having stepped ends to engage with each other (Figure 6) for secured arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such the edges of adjacent seals are stepped, and the stepped edges are inter-engaged to prevent a direct path extending between adjacent seals, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured arrangement.
For claim 19, the combination teaches the seal assembly as claimed in claim 18, wherein the steps are in the radial and/or axial directions (D4 teaches the seal segments have edges with steps, Figure 6. D1 modified with D4 teaches the claimed limitations.)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides example of invention. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Turnquist (US 5,972,400); Sarshar (US 6,572,115); and Flower (US 6,681,486).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675