DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of SEQ ID Nos: 5 and 11 in the reply filed on 28 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search for at least SEQ ID Nos 1-14 would overlap and not cause an undue burden. This is persuasive because a search of SEQ ID NO: 5 and 11 showed a combination/subcombination relationship between the elected species and that non-elected species. The Examiner has searched SEQ ID Nos 1-14.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code on page 9, lines 19 and 20, and page 42, line 8. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
The Specification fails to comply with the Sequence Rules.
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Specifically, Table 2 and Table 3 do not comply with the Sequence Rules.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the view of the figures is cut off. See Figure 1B and 2B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Figure 1B and Figure 2B fail to comply with the Sequence Rules.
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 fails to further limit the method of claim 1.
Claim 18 fails to further limit the method of claim 1, therefore claims 19-23 also do not further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
At claim 1iii, claim 3iii, claim 4iii/iii and claim 16i/ii the limitation “hybridizing under stringent conditions” is indefinite because it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the limitation are.
At claim 4, there are multiple instances of steps “i)”, “ii)” etc., hence the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant claims a method of enhancing expression of a plant promoter by functionally linking to the promoter two or more heterologous nucleic acid expression enhancing nucleic acid (NEENA) molecules that share at most 80% sequence identity. Applicant claims NEENA molecules are at least 90% identical to any one of SEQ ID NO: 1-41 (which includes searched sequences 1-14), that hybridize under stringent conditions to SEQ ID Nos. 1-14 or a complement thereof or a functional fragment of 27 or more consecutive bases.
Applicant describes minimal enhancer fragments of EN1390 (SEQ ID NO: 1) at SEQ ID NO: 5 and of EN3233 (SEQ ID NO: 7) at SEQ ID NO: 11. Applicant describes several mutants of said enhancers at SEQ ID Nos. 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 and 14.
Applicant does not describe the genus of nucleic acids that “hybridize under stringent conditions” to any of SEQ ID Nos. 1-14 other than by function (hybridizing). Applicant does not describe the genus of nucleic acids that act as an enhancer to a heterologous promoter having at least 90% identity to any of SEQ ID Nos. 1-14. A search of instant SEQ ID NO: 5 did not show any species other than said SEQ ID NO: 5, thus only a single species has been described by either Applicant or the prior art. For instant SEQ ID NO: 1, there is a single species at 92.2% identity. Applicant does not describe any 27 functional fragment of the recited nucleic acids that are enhancing nucleic acids.
Meng et al (2021, The Plant Cell. 33(6):1997-2014) describe the effect of deletions in DHS7#1 and DHS7#2 enhancers on the expression levels of the TRY gene (Triptychon) in Arabidopsis thaliana. DHS7#1 and DHS7#2 single deletion lines and DHS7#1#2 double deletion lines were created. Analysis of the expression levels of TRY in the deletion lines in roots from 4-day-old A. thaliana plants showed expression of TRY was reduced by ∼30% in DHS7#2 single deletion lines and DHS7#1#2 double deletion lines compared to wild type. However, TRY expression in the DHS7#1 single deletion lines was unchanged. In rosette leaves from 14-day-old A. thaliana plants, expression of TRY was further reduced by ∼70% in DHS7#2 and DHS7#1#2 deletion lines. In rosette leaves from 21-day-old A. thaliana plants, the expression of TRY in DHS7#1 and DHS7#1#2 deletion lines was significantly reduced. In cauline leaves from 30-day-old A. thaliana plants, significant repression was observed only in DHS7#1#2 deletion lines. In flowers from 35-day-old A. thaliana plants, expression of TRY in all deletion lines was reduced by ∼25%. In the first internode of the main stems from 35-day-old A. thaliana plants, expression of TRY of DHS7#1 and DHS7#1#2 deletion lines was slightly decreased compared to wild type. The study demonstrated that deletions of intronic enhancers did not abolish gene expression but resulted in varying levels of transcriptional repression of their cognate genes.
Hence, it is unclear that Applicant was in possession of the invention as broadly claimed.
See Amgen inc. v Chagai Pharmaceutical co., 18 USPQ 2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991), which teaches that the conception of a chemical compound requires the inventor to be able to define the compound so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it rather than simply defining it solely by its principle biological property; thus, when an inventor of a gene, which is a chemical compound albeit a complex one, is unable to envision detailed constitution of the gene so as to distinguish it from other materials, as well as a method of obtaining it, the conception is not achieved until a reduction to practice has occurred, and until after the gene has been isolated. Furthermore, “[a] patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” IN RE CURTIS, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274,1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Comai et al (1990, Plant Molecular Biology 15: 373-381) in view of Meulewaeter et al (WO 2021/048316 and WO 2021/110582).
The claims in general are directed to introducing two different enhancer elements into a heterologous plant promoter that act either additive or synergistically compared to the enhancer elements alone in a heterologous plant promoter. The instant claims relate to two Triticum aestivum enhancer elements, EN1390 SEQ ID NO: 1 and of EN3233 SEQ ID NO: 7.
Comai et al teach introducing two non-identical enhancer elements into a heterologous plant promoter. Comai et al teach that certain combinations of the non-identical enhancer elements act synergistically or additive in the Abstract on page 373.
Comai et al do not teach the EN1390 and EN3233 enhancer elements, or modifying an endogenous promoter.
Meulewaeter et al ‘582 teaches the EN1390 enhancer element EN1390 at SEQ ID NO: 16 which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Meulewaeter et al ‘316 teaches the EN3233 enhancer element at SEQ ID NO: 19 which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 7.
Meulewaeter et al ‘316 teaches making modifications to the EN3233 enhancer element at claim 11 and modifying an endogenous promoter to comprise the EN3233 enhancer element or a modification thereto at claims 3-6. In fact, claims 1-17 of Meulewaeter et al ‘316 are directed to a very similar invention as the instant claims except for the addition of the EN1390 enhancer element taught in Meulewaeter et al ‘582.
I would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant claims to modify the teachings of Comi et al to combine the enhancer elements taught by Meulewaeter et al ‘316 and ‘582. It would have been obvious to use the method of Meulewaeter et al ‘316 teaches to introduce the enhancer elements into an endogenous promoter in a plant using art standard methods as claimed therein. The EN1390 and EN3233 enhancers are less than 80% identical one to the other. Comi et al teaches that it would have been routine experimentation to determine enhancer fragment length and positioning to identify combinations that would be additive or synergistic. Given the teachings of Meulewaeter et al, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of the prior art to arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/David H Kruse/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663