DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment submitted 21 April 2025 has been entered. Currently Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. The scope of the claims is indefinite because there is an inconsistency between the body and the preamble. The preamble indicates that the subcombination, light fixture FOR mounting a plurality of light panels onto a surface, is being claimed. However, the body contains positive limitations directed toward the light panels suggesting that applicant intends to claim the combination of the fixture and the light panels Applicant is required to clarify what subject matter the claim is intended to be drawn to and the language of the claim must be amended to be consistent with this intent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The applicant is respectfully advised that in examining a pending application, the claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably convey. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d. 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). MPEP § 2111.01.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dobija (U.S. Patent No. 7,510,297).
Regarding Claim 1, Dobmija disclsoes in Figures 1-6, a fixture 90 for mounting a plurality of light panels 60 onto a surface, comprising:, one or more aligning sides and a plurality of openings 65, wherein each opening 65 is sized and shaped to receive a respective mounting plate of a light panel 60 therein, a position of each opening 65 in relation to at least one aligning side of the fixture 90 is the same as or corresponds to a position of the respective mounting plate 60 in relation to at least one side of the light plate to which it is connected;
Regarding the light panels each having a different polygonal shape with a detachably connected mounting plate, the applicant is respectfully advised that such recitations have been considered to have little or no patentable weight as they relate to elements external to the subject matter of the invention as defined by the claims. The patented device of Dubija discloses all the structural features of the claimed invention (as detailed above) and was therefore considered to anticipate the claimed structure.
Regarding Claim 5, Dubija discloses in figure 2, the fixture of claim 1,wherein the fixture comprises a projection formed on each aligning side (the rail 90 has sides that project outwards).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applicant is respectfully advised that in examining a pending application, the claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably convey. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d. 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). MPEP § 2111.01.
Claim 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubjja (U.S. Patent No. 7,510,297).
Dubija does not disclose a fixture body of a hexagon shape, diamond shape or triagular shape, with a first one of the openings being centered with respect to the fixture body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have a hexagonally shaped fixture body for accomodatign hexagonal shaped light panel bodies for aesthetic reasons, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Dubija.
Regarding the shape of the light panel, the applicant is respectfully advised that such recitations have been considered to have little or no patentable weight as they relate to elements external to the subject matter of the invention as defined by the claims. The patented device of Dubija discloses all the structural features of the claimed invention (as detailed above) and was therefore considered to anticipate the claimed structure.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubjja (U.S. Patent No. 7,510,297) in Dieckmann (U.S. PG Publication No. 2014/0233227).
Dubija does not disclose the plurality of openings 65 are through openings
Diekmann discloses a panel light fixture having through openings (20a Figure 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use through openings for using longer fasteners or for fastening to an additional support member behind the fixture. All the claimed elements in Dubija and Diekmann were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the through hole with the fixture 90 as claimed with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result providing a fastening hole to fastening multiple support elements together that are stacked to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 3-4, the closest prior art does not teach or suggest alone or in combined the fixture body comprising a diamond portion and a triangular portion, with a second one of the openings being centered with respect to the diamond portion and a third one of the openings being centered with respect to the triangular portion.
Regarding Claims 8-20, the closest prior art does not teach or suggest alone or in combined the fixture body comprising:
A method of mounting a plurality of light panels onto a surface by using a fixture comprising the steps locating the fixture with respect to an existing light panel that is already mounted to the surface; locating or matching a mounting plate of a new light panel into an opening of the fixture and attaching the mounting plate to the surface; removing the fixture from the existing light panel and attaching a light panel body of the new light panel to the mounting plate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Curic (U.S. Patent No. 9,322,534) discloses a light panel mounting structure.
/ROBERT J MAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875