Detailed Action
This is the first action on the merits (FAOM) to this instant application in which claims 1-21 are pending. Claims 1, 17 and are independent and claims 2-16, 18, and 20-21 are dependent. Claims 22-30 are canceled by the Applicant by preliminary amendment.
The main invention in independent claim 1 is directed to a probe pin comprising:
a body 110
a vertical slit 120a and
a horizontal slit 120b.
There are other clarifying features in the claim language; however, the invention mainly comprises the three items listed above.
There are clarity issues with Applicant’s horizontal slit 120b, because Applicant’s horizontal slit 120b is not actually a horizontal slit as disclosed in various exemplary embodiments presented in the instant application, see various Figures in instant application. Applicant’s horizontal slit 120b is parallel to the vertical slit 120a, and therefore, horizontal slit 120b can be and should be called a second vertical slit. All claims (1-21) are being rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Further, Examiner’s search has uncovered at one reference that resembles the invention according to claim 1, see claim rejections elsewhere in this Office action. It is worth mentioning that not all claims are rejected based on prior art.
For reasons cited above, instant application is not deemed to be in condition for allowance. Resolutions of these issues should be made before any decision on the merits can be reached.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
A general objection to specification is being raised regarding definition of horizontal plane and vertical plane through which the vertical slit and horizontal slit are formed. Applicants may find guidance for correcting the specification from discussion provided in claim rejection under 35 USC 112(b) in this instant Office action. It is worth mentioning that, even though specification is unclear about definitions of vertical slit and horizontal slit, rejections under 35 USC 112(a) are not being issued in this instant Office action.
Applicants may address this issue by amending instant specification or by persuasively arguing that no amendments are required.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejection under 35 USC §112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. §112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to independent claim 1, the scope of the claim is unclear because one cannot understand, from the claim language and the supporting disclosure, what constitutes the horizontal slit 120b. As presented in the drawings slit 120b is described to be claimed horizontal slit. Instant drawings show horizontal slit 120b is parallel to slit 120a which is called vertical slit. It is a mystery why one of the two vertical slits is called a horizontal slit.
A slit is understood to be an elongated cut or elongated opening, and it is further understood to have a length, and slit’s length is understood to be much larger than its width. Direction of a slit is understood to be lengthwise direction, unless otherwise specified.
Applicants have defined the vertical slit or horizontal slit by a plane of body 110. It is unclear what constitutes a “plane” of a body. Typically, a plane constitutes an imaginary geometric element. A body has outer surfaces which are not imaginary, as it is understood that outer surfaces define a boundary of the body. It could not be clearly understood what constitutes the claimed “horizontal plane” and “vertical plane” of the body 110.
Even if we can allow a plane to be equivalent to an outer surface of the body 110, in the instant drawings an example of horizontal surface of the body, onto which vertical slit is formed, is not found.
In the instant drawing, a vertical surface of the body 110 can be found on which a vertical slit 120a is formed. And another vertical surface of the body can be found onto which a slit 120b is shown to be formed which can be called another vertical slit and not a horizontal slit. A slit may be called a vertical slit if its longitudinal direction extends in a vertical direction. Similarly, a slit will be called a horizontal slit if it extends in a horizontal direction.
Examiner believes, applicant’s drawings are correct, however, descriptions and claim language lack clarity. Therefore, an objection to drawings is not being raised. Even though the Applicant can be his/her own lexicographer, unclarity of instant claim 1 is beyond lexicography.
As to independent claims 17 and 19, these claims are defective because each of these claims contains subject matter of horizontal slit and vertical slit like that of claim 1. Therefore, the clarity issues of claim 1 pervade through claims 17 and 19.
As to dependent claims 2-16, 18 and 20-21, these claims are defective because each of these claims depends from one of the defective independent claims 1, 17 and 19.
Rejection under 35 USC §102
Claims 1-5,7,9, 13-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang (US-7,025,602-B1).
Item matching between claim feature and prior art reference Hwang are shown below in Table-1.
Table-1
Claim No
Claim feature
Prior art
Hwang (US-7,025,602-B1)
Row No.
1
A probe pin comprising:
Hwang discloses a probe pin (100) as claimed, see Figs 5 and 6 in Hwang.
1
a body extending in one direction; and
a body (110+130) extending in one direction (vertical direction)
2
a slit formed through a portion of the body,
wherein the body includes:
a slit (120, 116), see Fig.7a, 7b in Hwang
3
a first body constituting one side of the body;
a first body (130), see Fig. 5, 6.
4
a second body extending from the first body and constituting a middle portion of the body; and
a second body (middle portion of the contact 100), se Fig. 5 and 6.
5
a third body extending from the second body and constituting the other side of the body,
a third body (110)
6
wherein the slit includes:
a vertical slit formed in a vertical direction through a horizontal plane of the body; and
a vertical slit1 (116, 120) in the upper contact 110.
7
a horizontal slit formed in a horizontal direction through a vertical plane of the body.
a horizontal slit (116, 120) in the lower contact 130.
8
2
The probe pin of claim 1, wherein at least one of the vertical slit and the horizontal slit is formed in the second body.
Hwang meets claim 2, see item 16, 20 are formed in the second body middle portion of the contact 100 Fig. 7a, 7b in Hwang.
9
3
The probe pin of claim 1, wherein at least one of the vertical slit and the horizontal slit extends from the second body to an end of the first body, opening one side of the first body.
Hwang meets claim 3, see item 16, 20 are formed in the second body i.e., middle portion of the contact 100 Fig. 7a, 7b in Hwang.
As to the slit extending from second body (middle portion of contact 100) to first body (130), it depends where one sets the border between first body and second body.
10
4
The probe pin of claim 1, wherein the vertical slit and the horizontal slit intersect each other.
Hwang meets claim 4, see Fig. 7a, 7b, slits in the upper contact 110 and slits in the lower contact intersect each other.
11
5
The probe pin of claim 1, wherein the body includes a first separated body, a second separated body, a third separated body, and a fourth separated body spaced apart from each other by the vertical slit and the horizontal slit, at least one of the first separated body to the fourth separated body include an over-spaced portion curved in a direction in which a separation distance from at least one of the others excluding the at least one increases, and the over-spaced portion contacts an upper plate into which the body is inserted to prevent separation of the body.
Hwang meets claim 5.
Each of the upper contact 110 and lower contact 130 includes a pair of arm-like structures (115, 118, 119) and together they include 4 arm-like structures. Each of these arm-like structures can be equated to the first, second, third and fourth claimed separated bodies.
7
The probe pin of claim 1, wherein at least one of the vertical slit and the horizontal slit is provided in plural.
Hwang meets claim 4, see Fig. 7a, 7b, slits (120, 116) in the upper contact 130 is provided in plural (120 and 116).
12
9
The probe pin of claim 1, further comprising a contact tip located in an end region of the third body and contacting an object to be inspected.
Hwang meets claim 9.
Hwang discloses an object to be inspected (IC 1) is contacted by the third body (110), see Fig 16 and 17 in Hwang.
13
13
The probe pin of claim 9, wherein a thickness of the contact tip is greater than a thickness of the horizontal slit.
Hwang meets claim 13 as the contact tip (111) has greater thickness than the slit as contact tip (111) is solid and slit (116) is formed on a region of the item 110 having same thickness as contact tip (111). So, slit (116) has thickness smaller than that of the contact tip (111).
14
The probe pin of claim 9, wherein the horizontal slit and the contact tip are located at different heights so as not to form an overlapping region.
Hwang meets claim 14.
Contact tip (111) and slit (116) not shown to be overlapped as claimed.
17
A probe pin comprising: a body extending in one direction; a vertical slit formed in a vertical direction through a horizontal plane of the body; a horizontal slit formed in a horizontal direction through a vertical plane of the body; and a contact tip formed on one side of the body.
Scope of this claim is like that of claim 1, see treatment claim 1 above to see how Hwang anticipates claim 1.
14
18
The probe pin of claim 17, wherein the contact tip is formed at a height closer to a lower surface than an upper surface of the body.
Hwang meets claim 18, see Fig. 5 and 6.
Orientation of the test socket 20 can be reversed to meet the claim (claim 18) without making any other changes to the test socket 20 in Hwang.
15
19
A probe card comprising:
Hwang discloses a probe card (27, 28), see Figs. 16 and 17 in Hwang.
16
a probe pin including a body, a vertical slit formed in a vertical direction through a horizontal plane of the body, and a horizontal slit formed in a horizontal direction through a vertical plane of the body;
Hwang meets this feature.
This feature is found in claim 1, so please see above treatment of claim 1 for this feature as discussed in anticipation of claim 1 by Hwang.
17
an upper plate having an upper hole through which the probe pin passes; and
an upper plate (27), see Fig. 16, 17.
There are holes formed in the upper plate (27) into which the probes (100) are located, in Hwang.
18
a lower plate having a lower hole through which the probe pin passes, wherein the body includes a first body located in the upper hole, a third body located in the lower hole, and a second body formed between the first body and the third body.
a lower plate (28), see Fig. 16, 17.
Rest of this claim feature is also met by Hwang as it discloses all claimed limitations in Fig. 16 and 17.
19
Claim 1-4,7, 9 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inuzuka (WO-2014/136884-A1).
Item matchings between claimed features and Inuzuka are shown below in Table-2.
Table-2
Claim No
Claim feature
Prior art
Inuzuka (WO 2014/136884-A1)
Row No.
1
A probe pin comprising:
Inuzuka discloses a probe pin (1), see Fig. 1a, 1b in Inuzuka.
1
a body extending in one direction; and
Inuzuka discloses a body2 as claimed.
2
a slit formed through a portion of the body,
wherein the body includes:
Inuzuka discloses a slit 19 to be formed in the body, see Fig. 2a.
3
a first body constituting one side of the body;
Inuzuka discloses a first body (20) constituting one side of the body;
4
a second body extending from the first body and constituting a middle portion of the body; and
a second body3 extending from the first body and constituting a middle portion of the body;
5
a third body extending from the second body and constituting the other side of the body,
a third body (10) extending from the second body (sliding part) and constituting the other side of the body,
6
wherein the slit includes:
a vertical slit formed in a vertical direction through a horizontal plane of the body; and
There are multiple vertically elongated slits4 in Inuzuka. One of them can be selected to match the claimed vertical slit.
7
a horizontal slit formed in a horizontal direction through a vertical plane of the body.
There are multiple vertically elongated slits in Inuzuka. Another one of them can be selected to match the claimed horizontal slit.
The feature, horizontal slit has been given a rejection under 35 USC 112(b).
8
2
The probe pin of claim 1, wherein at least one of the vertical slit and the horizontal slit is formed in the second body.
In Inuzuka, vertical slits are form in the second body (“sliding part”).
9
3
The probe pin of claim 1, wherein at least one of the vertical slit and the horizontal slit extends from the second body to an end of the first body, opening one side of the first body.
Inuzuka discloses the probe pin (1) of claim 1, wherein at least one of the vertical slit and the horizontal slit extends from the second body (“sliding part”) to an end of the first body, opening one side of the first body (20).
10
4
The probe pin of claim 1, wherein the vertical slit and the horizontal slit intersect each other.
Inuzuka meets claim 4 as it discloses horizontal slits and vertical slits are shown to be mutually perpendicular to one another meaning intersecting each other.
11
7
The probe pin of claim 1, wherein at least one of the vertical slit and the horizontal slit is provided in plural.
Inuzuka meets claim 7, see cross-sections of the sliding part in Figs. 4 and 8-10.
12
9
The probe pin of claim 1, further comprising a contact tip located in an end region of the third body and contacting an object to be inspected.
Inuzuka meets claim 9, see Fig. 1a, 1b.
13
17
A probe pin comprising: a body extending in one direction; a vertical slit formed in a vertical direction through a horizontal plane of the body; a horizontal slit formed in a horizontal direction through a vertical plane of the body; and a contact tip formed on one side of the body.
Claim 17 is similar in scoke to claim 1, see treatment claim 1 above for claim 17.
14
18
The probe pin of claim 17, wherein the contact tip is formed at a height closer to a lower surface than an upper surface of the body.
Inuzuka meets claim 18, see tip part 21 is formed closer to lower surface than an upper surface of the body (overall structure of contact pin 1).
15
Contact Information
G.M. HYDER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/G.M. A HYDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
1Examiner comment: Claimed vertical slit can be equated to items 120 or 116 provided in the upper contact 110 in Hwang. Similarly claimed horizontal slit can be equated to items 116 or 120 in the lower contact 130. Even though these items 116 or 120 appear more like slots in Hwang than slits, in a patent claim no such distinctions can be allowed without further clarifying language. One way to overcome this rejection is to amend claim language to limit the slits to be different from the openings 116, 120 shown the drawings of Hwang.
2 Examiner comment: Inuzuka discloses a body of the contact pin 1 as it gives, in Fig. 1a, 1b, a general structure, of the contact pin 1, which extends in the vertical direction. In the instant claim (claim 1) the body is defined only by its extension in one direction. First plunger 10 and second plunger 20 extends in vertical direction which can be equated to the claimed one direction of the claim 1.
3 Examiner comment: Claimed second body is met by the overlapping region of first plunger 10 and second plunger 20, where the overlapping portion forms the middle portion of the contact pin 1. Inuzuka calls the middle portion of the contact pin a sliding part.
4 Examiner comment: See cross-sections of the sliding part in Figs. 4, 8-10 where slits are shown to form between sliding part of the first plunger 10 and the second plunger 20. Each vertical slit as shown in these figs, has multiple straight sections, and one straight section can be equated to vertical slit while another straight section can be equated to the claimed horizontal slit.