Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US2018/0167713), hereinafter “Chou” in view of Sandanger et al. (US20210409858A1), hereinafter “Sandager”.
As to Claim 1, Chou teaches an open-type earphone( earpiece or headphone 10 that includes a cushion having an ear-canal aperture opens towards the ear canal, abstract), comprising: an earphone body( Figure 2, housing 100), which at least has a built-in speaker( miniature speakers, [0037]); and an acoustic duct ( cushion 220 ( Figure 4B, 6 #420) accommodating nozzle portion 204, Figure 4B, which extends obliquely( Figure 5, angle “α” from the earphone body to be inserted into an external auditory canal of an ear at least deeper than a tragus,( [0073], Figure 6 and [0039] teaches the cushion 120 includes an inner cavity along its main body. The inner cavity of the cushion 120 can accommodate the nozzle portion of the housing 100 therein. The cushion 120 also includes an ear-canal aperture opening toward the ear canal of a user (not shown), [0045] If the inner cavity provides a space through the cushion main body portion 121 along AXIS Y, the cushion tip portion 122 would extend from the cushion main body portion 121 at an angle α from AXIS Y. For example, the illusory center plane CP substantially aligns with the direction the cushion tip 122 extending from the cushion main body portion 121. The first point PP10 is on the exterior surface of the cushion main body portion 121 along the illusory center plane CP. The second point PP20 is on the exterior surface of the cushion tip portion 122 along the illusory center plane CP. The angle α is between 65 to 40 degrees. More generally, the angle α may be between 80 to 30 degrees. Further, on [0050] teaches the housing 200 includes a nozzle portion 204 that extends from the main body of the housing 200 along a first axis. The nozzle portion 204 extends toward an ear canal of a user's ear (not shown) when the headphone is worn by the user. As illustrated in FIG. 4B, if the cross-section of the headphone 20 is aligned substantially along the XY-plane, the nozzle portion 204 may extend along the Y-axis. See at least Figure 4A, 4B. ; wherein the acoustic duct ( Figure 7, nozzle 504 and cushion 502) is divided into two: an upper divided piece that is integrally formed with the earphone body( nozzle portion 204 of the housing, See at least Figure 4B, [0043]); and a lower divided piece that is attachable to and detachable from the upper divided piece( the cushion 220 of the headphone 20 preferably has an ergonomic exterior shape. The exterior shape of the cushion 220 preferably is designed to be worn in a user's cavum conchae region. The cushion 220 is configured to secure the wearing of the headphone 20 by a user and to provide comfort to the user while wearing the headphone 20. [0053] The cushion 220 includes an inner cavity 223 along its main body. The inner cavity 223 of the cushion 220 can accommodate the nozzle portion 204 of the housing 200 therein. The inner cavity 223 of the cushion 220 also may include a side indentation 223a. The indentation 223a can correspond to the shape of the housing retainer 206. For example, the housing retainer 206 may latch into the indentation 223a of the cushion 220. When the housing retainer 206 is latched into the side indentation 223a of the cushion 220, the engagement between the housing 200 and the cushion 220 can be more secured or more stable. Chou does not explicitly teach an earring is attached to the lower divided piece of the acoustic duct, wherein one end of the earring abuts against the tragus of the ear, and other end of the earring abuts against an inner wall of an ear concha. However, Sandanger in related field (Hearing aid) teaches an auricular attachment in the form of a skirt for in-ear hearing aids. See at least abstract. Figure 3 teaches a skirt having plurality of counter pressure members. [0097] and [0098] teaches a counterbalancing outward force is created by at least one counter pressure member 500. The counter pressure member is preferably a part 504 extending from frame 250 to a contact area 12b of the crus of helix. There are further alternatives: [0099] counter pressure member 502 for engaging concha wall contact area 32a [0100] counter pressure member 504 for engaging crus of helix contact area 12b [0101] counter pressure member 506 for engaging cymba concha contact area 25a [0102] counter pressure member 508 for engaging cavum concha contact area 26a. [0105] teaches the skirt is a continuous body having an upper end 212 for fitting under a superior part of antihelix, typically under the inferior crux 16 of antihelix, and may optionally extend under a flap 11a. Typically the skirt also comprises a lower end 214 for fitting under an inferior part of antihelix, and may optionally comprise an extended lower end 216 for fitting under the antitragus or extend to under the tragus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the cushion as taught by Chou to further include counter pressure members as to release the pressure exerted on the pressure sensitive ear canal. See at least Sandanger on [0004], [0006]. Chou in view of Sandanger further teaches a first communication passage communicating the speaker with the external auditory canal of the ear( sound exit axis of the nozzle portion 204 for communicating sound from speaker 230 to the ear canal, See at least [0058] and 4B) and a second communication passage communicating atmosphere with the external auditory canal of the ear are formed in the acoustic duct, Sandanger teaches the ear tip 370 is designed such that some ambient sound is permitted into the ear, [0114], Figure 7C since the ear tip is not completely blocking the ear canal.
As to Claim 3, Chou in view of Sandager teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein an inclination angle Θ of the acoustic duct with respect to the earphone body is set to be 50° to 70°, Chou teaches the angle α is between 65 to 40 degrees. [0045].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SUNITA JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691