DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Amendment filed June 2, 2026. Claims 14-16 and 22-23 are amended. Claims 14-29 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-26 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukasawa et al (US 2011/0235353).
Regarding claim 14, Fukasawa discloses a lighting device comprising: at least one housing (at least 3); at least one lens 5; at least one light source (at least 9); and at least one light guide 6 arranged at least partly between the housing and the lens, wherein light emitted by the at least one light source 9 is coupled into the at least one light guide, to be directed to the at least one lens and to exit the at least one lens, wherein the light guide 6 is formed together with a mask 7 as a two component mould unit 4 in a three dimensional shape adapted to a selected light pattern, wherein the mask 7 is formed with at least a mask part (at least mask part 7e; see Fig. 2A) having an end facing the lens 5, and wherein the mask 7 of the two component mould unit extends at least partially parallel to the lens 5 (see at least Fig. 2A; at least portions 7e and 7c extend parallel to lens 5, also see Fig. 2B portion of 7b extends parallel to lens 5 as well) (see at least Figures 1-7, also reference Figures 8A-9B and paras [0034]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 15, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the light guide formed together with the mask is formed with one or more of: at least one light guide projection 6g extending towards the at least one lens, tapering in a direction of the lens; at least one recess, wherein the at least one recess is at least one of (i) within a region of the at last one light guide projection, (ii) on a side facing away from the lens and/or the mask, or (iii) providing at least one light in-coupling regions; at least one opening, wherein the at least one opening is at least one of (i) between two light guide projection, (ii) on both sides of each light guide projection, or (iii) extending through the light guide; or optics (6b, 6d, 6e, 6h and/or light shielding means etc), in at least one light in-coupling region, light reflecting region, and/or light out- coupling region not covered by the mask (see at least Figs. 6A-6C and paras [0043]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 16, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 15, wherein the mask 7 is formed with one or more of: at least one second mask part on at last one light guide projection; at least one third mask part between two light guide projections; fourth mask parts on both sides of one or more light guide projections 6g; at least a fifth mask part in the at last one opening (see at least Figs. 2B and 5A-5D).
Regarding claim 17, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the at least one light source 9 comprises one or more LEDs, comprises at least one color changing light source, cooperates with a color changing element, and/or produces one or more light sources (see at least para [0048]).
Regarding claim 18, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the light emitted by the at least one light source 9 is redirected at least once by the two component mould unit 4 and/or at least one reflector (see at least paras [0042]-[0044] which teaches light shielding reflector can be applied to mask 7 and/or rear surface of light guide 6).
Regarding claim 19, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the at least one light source 9 is screened by the mask 7 and/or cannot be seen through the lens (see at least Fig. 2A and para [0042]).
Regarding claim 20, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the two component mould unit 4 is detachably attached to the at least one of the housing 3 and/or the lens 5 (see at least Figs. 2A-2B and 7).
Regarding claim 21, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the housing 3 comprises an upper cover element and a lower element (see Figs. 2B-3C and upper cover elements and lower cover elements of housing 3), with the lens extending between the upper and lower cover elements, the upper cover element and/or the lower cover element provided with a housing attachment extension, and/or the lens 5 provided with a lens attachment extension (see generally lens extension 5a, see Fig. 2A) at at least one end (see at least Figs. 1A-3C).
Regarding claim 22, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 18, and further discloses wherein the at least one reflector is provided by or on the light guide 6 and/or a supporting element, provided on a supporting element of the housing to which the at least one light guide and/or the at least one light source 9 is detachably mounted (see at least paras [0042]-[0044] which teaches light shielding reflector can be applied to mask 7 and/or rear surface of light guide 6).
Regarding claim 23, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the at least one light source 9 is arranged behind an upper cover element and or a reflector (see at least Fig. 2A and para [0042] which teaches light source 9 can be arranged by piece 7e which can have light shielding reflector applied thereon).
Regarding claim 24, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the at least one light source 9 is screened such that is cannot be seen from the outside (see at least Fig. 2A and para [0042]).
Regarding claim 25, Fukasawa discloses an external rear-view device for a motor vehicle comprising: a foot (see Fig. 1A) configured to be fixedly secured to the vehicle; a head (see Fig. 1A) attached to the foot, defining at least one opening for at least one rear view element (opening to receive mirror, see para [0034]) and defining at least one recess (see Fig. 1A and recess receiving turn signal lamp 2) extending along a portion thereof for at least one lighting device 2 of claim 14 (see at least Figures 1-7, also reference Figures 8A-9B and paras [0034]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 26, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 25, and further discloses wherein the at least one lighting device provides a turn signal lamp (see at least Figure 1A and para [0034]).
Regarding claim 28, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 25, and further discloses wherein the at least one rear view element comprises at least one camera, rear view mirror and/or display (see at least Figure 1A and para [0034]).
Regarding claim 29, Fukasawa discloses a motor vehicle comprising at least one external rear view device of claim 25 (see at least Figures 1-7, also reference Figures 8A-9B and paras [0034]-[0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukasawa et al (US 2011/0235353) in view of Hwang et al (US 2011/0013409).
Regarding claim 27, Fukasawa discloses the limitations of claim 25, and further discloses wherein the outer surface of the lens 5 or a lens part flushes with the outer surface of the head 1a (see at least Fig. 1A), but Fukasawa does not specifically teach that the head 1A be formed from at least two cover elements including an upper and lower cover elements. However forming rear view mirror heads into upper and lower cover elements is common in the art and taught in Hwang (see Hwang, at least Figs. 1-2 and para [0029]). Accordingly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the head 1A in Fukasawa of an upper and lower cover element as taught by Hwang in order to more easily position the turn signal lamp 2 withing the mirror head 1A, and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure (i.e., head 1A) in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04(V)(C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 14, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s submission that the mask 7 in Fukasawa is not formed with a mask part having an end facing the lens 5 and that the mask does not extend at least partially parallel to the lens 5. As set forth above, the mask 7 in Fukasawa is formed with at least a mask part (at least mask part 7e; see Fig. 2A) having an end facing the lens 5 and the mask 7 of the two component mould unit extends at least partially parallel to the lens 5 (see at least Fig. 2A; at least portions 7e and 7c extend parallel to lens 5, also see Fig. 2B portion of 7b extends parallel to lens 5 as well). Accordingly, the rejection of at least claim 14 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN P GRAMLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875