DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments/amendments filed July 23, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
2. Claims 1-3 and 7-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim limitation “…when viewed in the power transmission direction;….with respect to the coil in a power transmission direction with a gap…” should be “…when viewed in a power transmission direction;….with respect to the coil in the power transmission direction with a gap…” according to antecedent basis requirement.
Dependent claims 2, 3 and 7-14 are also objected to at least the same reason as objected independent claim 1 as stated above because the dependent claims 2, 3 and 7-14 are depending on the objected independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the claim limitation “…receives the power in a wireless manner…” should be “…receives the power in the wireless manner…” according to antecedent basis requirement.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 4-6, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim limitation “A power transmission device used to transmit a power in a wireless manner with a power reception transmission device….the coil having an annular shape including an inner periphery when viewed in the power transmission direction;….the power reception device with respect to the coil in a power transmission direction,…..innermost of the coil and the magnetic member….four time a length of the gap between the coil and the shield member.” is being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention because –
(i). the first underlined portion of the claim limitation “a power reception transmission device” is not in accordance with the Application’s specification, as best understood the claim limitation is supposed to be “a power reception device”;
(ii). the second underlined portion of the claim limitation “the power transmission direction” should be “a power transmission direction” according to antecedent basis requirement;
(iii). the third underlined portion of the claim limitation “a power transmission direction” should be “the power transmission direction” according to antecedent basis requirement;
(iv). there is insufficient antecedent basis for the fourth underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnetic member”; if “the magnetic member” is referring back to previously defined “an annular magnetic member”, then the fourth underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnetic member” should be “the annular magnetic member, otherwise the claim should clearly define the differences; and
(v). there is insufficient antecedent basis for the fifth underlined portion of the claim limitation “the gap”.
Dependent claims 5, 6, 15 and 16 are also rejected at least the same reason as rejected independent claim 4 as stated above because the dependent claims 5, 6, 15 and 16 are depending on the rejected independent claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, the claim limitation “…the magnet member……the outermost of the coil and the magnetic member…” is being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention because –
(i). there is insufficient antecedent basis for the first underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnet member”; if “the magnet member” is referring back to previously defined “an annular magnetic member”, then the first underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnet member” should be “the annular magnetic member, otherwise the claim should clearly define the differences;
(ii). there is insufficient antecedent basis for the second underlined portion of the claim limitation “the outermost”, which should be “…outermost…” according to antecedent basis requirement; and
(iii). there is insufficient antecedent basis for the third underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnetic member”; if “the magnetic member” is referring back to previously defined “an annular magnetic member”, then the third underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnetic member” should be “the annular magnetic member, otherwise the claim should clearly define the differences.
Regarding claim 6, the claim limitation “…the outermost of the coil and the magnetic member…” is being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention because –
(i). there is insufficient antecedent basis for the first underlined portion of the claim limitation “the outermost”, which should be “…outermost…” according to antecedent basis requirement; and
(ii). there is insufficient antecedent basis for the second underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnetic member”; if “the magnetic member” is referring back to previously defined “an annular magnetic member”, then the second underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnetic member” should be “the annular magnetic member, otherwise the claim should clearly define the differences.
Regarding claim 15, the claim limitation “…the magnetic member…” is being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnetic member”; if “the magnetic member” is referring back to previously defined “an annular magnetic member”, then the underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnetic member” should be “the annular magnetic member, otherwise the claim should clearly define the differences.
Regarding claim 16, the claim limitation “…the magnetic member…” is being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnetic member”; if “the magnetic member” is referring back to previously defined “an annular magnetic member”, then the underlined portion of the claim limitation “the magnetic member” should be “the annular magnetic member, otherwise the claim should clearly define the differences.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-6, 8, 9 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (as best understood) as being anticipated by Yuki et al. (WO2015019478) (hereinafter “Yuki”).
Regarding claim 1, Yuki discloses a power transmission device (4 in Fig.1, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) used to transmit a power in a wireless manner with a power reception device (5 in Fig.1), the power transmission device (4) comprising: a coil (N1 in Figs.2, 3 and 6-8) that transmits the power in the wireless manner, the coil having an annular shape (N1 having an annular shape is shown in Figs.2 and 6-8) including an inner periphery (inner periphery of N1) when viewed in the power transmission direction (upward direction of T1 in Figs. 2, 3, 6 and 7); and a shield member (16 in Figs.2 and 3; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7; please consider all conditions) disposed on a side opposite to a side of the power reception device (T2 in Figs. 2, 6 and 7 is a part of the power reception device) with respect to the coil in a power transmission direction with a gap (a gap between N1 and 16 in Fig.2; N1 and 316 in Fig.6; or N1 and 416 in Fig.7) formed between the coil (N1) and the shield member (16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) in the power transmission direction (upward direction), the shield member (16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) having an annular shape including an inner periphery (inner periphery of 16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) when viewed in the power transmission direction, wherein the shield member (16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) at least partially overlaps the coil (N1) when viewed in the power transmission direction, and a distance between the inner periphery of the shield member (inner periphery of 16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) and the inner periphery of the coil (inner periphery of N1) when viewed in the power transmission direction is less than or equal to four times a length of the gap (a gap between N1 and 16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) between the coil and the shield member (according to Figs.2, 3 and 6-8, the distance between the inner periphery of 16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7 and the inner periphery of N1 when viewed in the power transmission direction is less than or equal to four times a length of the gap between N1 and 16 in Fig.2; N1 and 316 in Fig.6; or N1 and 416 in Fig.7; Note: Figs.2, 6 and 7 shows exploded view of the power supply transformer Tr in Fig.1, according to ¶ 17, 31 and 34, thus the sizes and positions relationship of each components in Figs.2, 6 and 7 are scaled and related to each other).
Regarding claim 2, Yuki discloses the shield member (16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) includes an outer periphery (outer periphery of 16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) when viewed in the power transmission direction, the coil (N1) includes an outer periphery (outer periphery of N1) when viewed in the power transmission direction, the shield member is configured in such a way that a distance between the outer periphery of the shield member (outer periphery of 16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) and the outer periphery of the coil (outer periphery of N1) is less than or equal to four times the length of the gap (a gap between N1 and 16 in Figs.2 and 3; N1 and 316 in Fig.6; or N1 and 416 in Fig.7 in upward direction; according to Figs.2, 3, 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 3, Yuki discloses when viewed in the power transmission direction, the shield member (16; 316; or 416) is configured in such a way that the distance between the inner periphery of the shield member (16; 316; or 416) and the inner periphery of the coil (N1) is more than or equal to twice the length of the gap (due to the combination of a spacing between 13 and N1, thickness of 16; 316; or 416 and thickness of 13; 313; or 413, respectively; please refer to Fig.3 for the spacing between 14 and N1 and the thickness of 16; 316; or 416 and thickness of 14; 314; or 414).
Regarding claim 4, Yuki discloses a power transmission device (4 in Fig.1, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) used to transmit a power in a wireless manner with a power reception device (5 in Fig.1), the power transmission device comprising: a coil (N1 in Figs.2, 3 and 6-8) that transmits the power in the wireless manner, the coil having an annular shape (N1 having an annular shape is shown in Figs.2 and 6-8) including an inner periphery (inner periphery of N1) when viewed in the power transmission direction (upward direction of T1 in Figs. 2, 3, 6 and 7); a shield member (16 in Figs.2 and 3; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7; please consider all conditions) disposed on a side opposite to a side of the power reception device (T2 in Figs. 2, 6 and 7 is a part of the power reception device) with respect to the coil (N1) in a power transmission direction (upward direction of T1 in Figs. 2, 3, 6 and 7), the shield member including an inner periphery (inner periphery of 16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) when viewed in the power transmission direction; and an annular magnetic member (15 in Figs.2 and 3; 315 in Fig.6; or 415 in Fig.7; please consider all conditions) provided between the coil (N1) and the shield member (16 in Figs.2 and 3; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7), the annular magnetic member including an inner periphery (inner periphery of 15; 315; or 415), wherein the shield member (16 in Figs.2 and 3; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) at least partially overlaps the coil (N1) when viewed in the power transmission direction, and a distance between the inner periphery of the shield member (inner periphery of 16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) and the inner periphery of innermost of the coil (N1) and the magnetic member (15; 315; or 415) when viewed in the power transmission direction is less than or equal to four times a length of the gap between the coil (N1) and the shield member (16; 316; or 416, please refer to Figs.2, 3, 6 and 7; Note: Figs.2, 6 and 7 shows exploded view of the power supply transformer Tr in Fig.1, according to ¶ 17, 31 and 34, thus the sizes and positions relationship of each components in Figs.2, 6 and 7 are scaled and related to each other).
Regarding claim 5, Yuki discloses the shield member (16; 316; or 416) includes an outer periphery (outer periphery of 16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) when viewed in the power transmission direction, the coil (N1) includes an outer periphery when viewed in the power transmission direction, the magnet member (15; 315; or 415) includes an outer periphery, and the shield member is configured in such a way that a distance between the outer periphery of the shield member and the outer periphery of the outermost of the coil and the magnetic member is less than or equal to four times the length of the gap (please refer to Figs.2, 3, 6 and 7; Note: Figs.2, 6 and 7 shows exploded view of the power supply transformer Tr in Fig.1, according to ¶ 17, 31 and 34, thus the sizes and positions relationship of each components in Figs.2, 6 and 7 are scaled and related to each other).
Regarding claim 6, Yuki discloses when viewed in the power transmission direction, the shield member (16; 316; or 416) is configured in such a way that a distance between the inner periphery of the shield member (16; 316; or 416) and the inner periphery of the outermost of the coil (N1) and the magnetic member (15; 315; or 415) is more than or equal to twice the length of the gap (due to the combination of a spacing between 13 and N1, thickness of 16; 316; or 416 and thickness of 13; 313; or 413, respectively; please refer to Fig.3 for the spacing between 14 and N1 and the thickness of 16; 316; or 416 and thickness of 14; 314; or 414).
Regarding claim 8, Yuki discloses wherein the shield member (16; 316; or 416) extends in such a direction that at least a part of the shield member includes a component (component of 16 in Fig.2; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7 (or) 13, 14, and/or 15 in Fig.3; 313, 314 and/or 315 in Fig.6; or 413, 415 and/or 415 in Fig.7; please consider all conditions) in the power transmission direction (upward direction).
Regarding claim 9, Yuki discloses the outer periphery of the shield member (outer periphery of 16 in Figs.2 and 3; 316 in Fig.6; or 416 in Fig.7) extends in the power transmission direction.
Regarding claim 12, Yuki discloses an inverter circuit (7 in Fig.1; ¶ 14) that supplies the power to the coil (N1).
Regarding claim 13, Yuki discloses when viewed in the power transmission direction, the shield member (16; 316; or 416) is configured in such a way that the distance between the outer periphery of the shield member (16; 316; or 416) and the outer periphery of the coil (N1) is more than or equal to the length of the gap (due to the combination of a spacing between 14 and N1, thickness of 16; 316; or 416 and thickness of 14; 314; or 414).
Regarding claim 14, Yuki discloses when viewed in the power transmission direction, the shield member (16; 316; or 416) is configured in such a way that the distance between the inner periphery of the shield member (16; 316; or 416) and the inner periphery of the coil (N1) is more than or equal to twice the length of the gap (due to the combination of a spacing between 13 and N1, thickness of 16; 316; or 416 and thickness of 13; 313; or 413, respectively; please refer to Fig.3 for the spacing between 13 and N1 and the thickness of 16; 316; or 416 and thickness of 13; 313; or 413).
Regarding claim 15, Yuki discloses when viewed in the power transmission direction, the shield member (16; 316; or 416) is configured in such a way that the distance between the outer periphery of the shield member (16; 316; or 416) and the outer periphery of the outermost of the coil (N1) and the magnetic member (15; 315; or 415) is more than or equal to the length of the gap (due to the combination of a spacing between 14 and N1, thickness of 16; 316; or 416 and thickness of 13; 313; or 413, respectively; please refer to Fig.3 for the spacing between 14 and N1 and the thickness of 16; 316; or 416 and thickness of 14; 314; or 414).
Regarding claim 16, Yuki discloses when viewed in the power transmission direction, the shield member (16; 316; or 416) is configured in such a way that the distance between the inner periphery of the shield member (16; 316; or 416) and the inner periphery of the innermost of the coil (N1) and the magnetic member (15; 315; or 415) is more than or equal to twice the length of the gap (due to the combination of a spacing between 13 and N1, thickness of 16; 316; or 416 and thickness of 13; 313; or 413, respectively; please refer to Fig.3 for the spacing between 13 and N1 and the thickness of 16; 316; or 416 and thickness of 13; 313; or 413).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuki et al. (WO2015019478) (hereinafter “Yuki”) in view of BRUSA ELEKTRONIK AG (EP 3041007) (hereinafter “Brusa”).
Regarding claim 7, Yuki is used to reject claim 1 above.
Yuki doesn’t disclose the coil is disposed so as to extend on a plane parallel to a road surface as a whole, and the shield member extends on the plane parallel to the road surface as a whole.
Brusa discloses the coil (10 in Fig.8) is disposed so as to extend on a plane parallel to a road surface (road surface shown in Fig.10) as a whole, and the shield member (1a or 1c) extends on the plane parallel to the road surface as a whole (please refer to Figs.1, 8 and 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuki with the teaching of Brusa to provide the coil is disposed so as to extend on a plane parallel to a road surface as a whole, and the shield member extends on the plane parallel to the road surface as a whole. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use the power transmission device to transfer power to the vehicle as supported by Brusa.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 10 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objection set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Richard Tan/Primary Examiner 2836