DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04-22-2025 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an outer side and an inner side” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected because it recites limitations “an outer side and an inner side”. It is not clear what/where the structure is.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shida (2001/0039674) in view of Taniuchi (5,388,277).
Regarding claim 1, Shida teaches a helmet (figs 1-5), comprising:
a helmet body (member 1) including an eye port (member 3) at a front side;
a shield (member 4) attached to the helmet body to allow the eye port to be opened and closed (para 0036); and
an air intake mechanism (members 51-52) configured to deliver air to an inner surface of the shield when the shield is in a closed state closing the eye port (para 0112), wherein the air intake mechanism includes an accommodation portion (member 51) defined inside the helmet body, and
a body member (member 53) accommodated in and attached in a removable manner to the accommodation portion (para 0056),
the accommodation portion includes an outer wall member (member 56) including an air inlet (member 66) connecting an outer side and an inner side, an inner wall member (back side of member 56) positioned to face the outer wall member, an access port (member 58) used for attachment and removal of the mesh member, and a vent that delivers the air drawn in through the air inlet to the inner surface of the shield when the shield is in the closed state, and
the body member includes a body facing the air inlet in an accommodated state in which the body member is accommodated in the accommodation portion (figs 2-3).
Shida does not teach the air intake mechanism comprising a mesh portion.
Taniuchi teaches an air intake mechanism comprising a mesh portion (fig 3, member 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the structure of Shida by adding a mesh member into the body member, as taught by Taniuchi, in order to increase the air filter for a user.
Regarding claim 2, the modified structure Shida-Taniuchi discloses the access port and the vent are defined by the same opening (Shida, fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, the modified structure Shida-Taniuchi discloses the mesh is pressed against an inner surface of the outer wall member in the accommodated state (Taniuchi, fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, the modified structure Shida-Taniuchi discloses the mesh member includes reinforcement walls separated from each other, and each of the reinforcement walls is a wall extending in a first direction toward the vent on a surface of the mesh that faces the inner wall member (Shida, members 62-63).
Regarding claim 5, the modified structure Shida-Taniuchi discloses the mesh member includes a connecting wall connecting the reinforcement walls in a second direction that intersects the first direction (Shida, member 59).
Regarding claim 6, the modified structure Shida-Taniuchi discloses at least some of the reinforcement walls include an engagement tab engaged with an edge of the outer wall member that defines the access port (Shida, fig 4, member 58a and 58b).
Regarding claim 7, the modified structure Shida-Taniuchi discloses the mesh member includes, at each of two ends of the connecting wall in the second direction, a pressed portion pressed against the inner wall member in the accommodated state (Shida, fig 4, the two end of member 59).
Regarding claim 8, the modified structure Shida-Taniuchi discloses the accommodation portion includes a stopper that restricts excessive entry of the mesh member into the accommodation portion, and the mesh member includes a restriction piece having a distal end that comes into contact with the stopper when the mesh member is inserted into the accommodation portion (Shida, member 89).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732