DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application filed April 22, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 11-12, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crombez et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0049945 (referred to hereafter as Crombez).
As to claim 1, Crombez discloses A brake system for a vehicle that includes an energy storage device ("The braking system 58 may also include a regenerative braking system 64, wherein braking energy is captured and stored as electrical energy in the battery 48.". para [0024]); and an electric motor that is operable in a generator mode ("In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the electric machine arrangement (i.e., the motor 40 and the generator 14) can both be used as motors to output torque. Alternatively, each can also be used as a generator, outputting electrical power to a high voltage bus 44 and to an energy storage system 46, which may include a battery 48 and a battery control module (BCM) 50.", para [0020]), comprising:
a brake actuator adapted to indicate a braking demand ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]);
a sensor adapted to sense at least one parameter indicating the braking demand based on actuation of the brake actuator ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]); and
a controller adapted to receive signals from the sensor indicating the braking demand ("Similarly, the accelerator pedal 60 may include one or more sensors, which, like the sensors in the braking system 58, may communicate with the
controller 54.", para [0024]); adapted to operate the motor in the generator mode to regeneratively brake the vehicle and charge the energy storage device, and adapted to engage a friction brake of the vehicle to frictionally brake the vehicle ("For instance, during a braking event, when the total braking demand exceeds the amount of braking that can be supplied by the regenerative braking system 64 (i.e., the regenerative braking threshold value), the friction braking system 62 may be engaged to make up the difference.", para [0077]);
wherein the controller is adapted to: (a) operate the motor in the generator mode to brake the vehicle only regeneratively in response to the braking demand, indicated by the signals from the sensor, not exceeding a first predetermined threshold, to control the regenerative braking to the braking demand ([only regenerative braking is used until a threshold is reached] "As seen therein, the regenerative braking indicator 80 may be displayed at the regenerative braking threshold 82 to indicate to a driver that the regenerative braking threshold value has been reached.", para [0077]); and (b) operate the motor in the generator mode and engage the friction brake to simultaneously brake
the vehicle regeneratively and frictionally in response to the braking demand, indicated by the signals from the sensor, exceeding the first predetermined threshold, to control a total amount of the regenerative braking and the friction braking to the braking demand ("Thus, the amount of regenerative braking may be limited by the capability of the vehicle's powertrain to apply a negative torque (i.e., the powertrain brake torque limit, TI) or the amount of additional charge the battery 48 can accept in its current state (i.e., the battery electrical charge system power limit, PI, batt).", para [0053]; "FIG. 2(b) illustrates an example of the braking gauge 70 during a different state of a braking event in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present application. For instance, during a braking event, when the total braking demand exceeds the amount of braking that can be supplied by the regenerative braking system 64 (i.e., the regenerative braking threshold value), the friction braking system 62 may be engaged to make up the difference.", para [0077]).
As to claim 2, Crombez discloses the brake system according to claim 1. Crombez further discloses wherein the brake actuator includes a lever and/or a pedal ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]).
As per claim 5, Crombez discloses the brake system according to claim 1. Crombez further discloses wherein the controller is adapted to operate the motor in the generator mode and engage the friction brake to simultaneously brake the vehicle regeneratively and frictionally in response to the braking demand, indicated by the signals from the sensor, exceeding the predetermined threshold, to control the regenerative braking to approximately equal an amount of electrical energy that the energy storage device is able to receive and to control a total amount of the regenerative braking and the friction braking to the braking demand ("Thus, the amount of regenerative braking may be limited by the capability of the vehicle's powertrain to apply a negative torque (i.e., the powertrain brake torque limit, TI) or the amount of additional charge the battery 48 can accept in its current state (i.e., the battery electrical charge system power limit, Pl, batt).", para [0053]; "FIG. 2(b) illustrates an example of the braking gauge 70 during a different state of a braking event in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present application. For instance, during a braking event, when the total braking demand exceeds the amount of braking that can be supplied by the regenerative braking system 64 (i.e., the regenerative braking threshold value), the friction braking system 62 may be engaged to make up the difference.", para [0077]).
As per claim 7, Crombez discloses the brake system according to claim 1. Crombez further discloses wherein the energy storage device includes a rechargeable battery device ("The braking system 58 may also include a regenerative braking system 64, wherein braking energy is captured and stored as electrical energy in the battery 48.", para [0024]).
As per claim 11, Crombez discloses the brake system according to claim 1. Crombez further discloses wherein the parameter includes a position of, a displacement of, a force exerted on, and/or a pressure exerted on the brake actuator ([pressure] "The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]).
As per claim 12, Crombez discloses the brake system according to claim 1. Crombez further discloses wherein the sensor includes a position sensor, a force sensor, and/or a pressure sensor ([pressure sensor] "The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]).
As per claim 15, Crombez teaches a a front friction brake and/or rear friction brake (para. 27-28).
As per claim 19, Crombez discloses a vehicle ("To control the engine 12 and components of the transmission 52 (i.e., the generator 14 and motor 40) a vehicle computing system, shown generally as vehicle controller 54, may be provided.", para [0020]); comprising:
an energy storage device ("The braking system 58 may also include a regenerative braking system 64, wherein braking energy is captured and stored as electrical energy in the battery 48.", para [0024]); an electric motor operable in a generator mode ("In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the electric machine arrangement (i.e., the motor 40 and the generator 14) can both be used as motors to output torque.
para [0024]); including:
a brake actuator adapted to indicate a braking demand ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]);
a sensor adapted to sense at least one parameter indicating the braking demand based on actuation of the brake actuator ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]); and
a controller adapted to receive signals from the sensor indicating the braking demand ("Similarly, the accelerator pedal 60 may include one or more sensors, which, like the sensors in the braking system 58, may communicate with the controller 54.", para [0024]); adapted to operate the motor in the generator mode to regeneratively brake the vehicle and charge the energy storage device, and adapted to engage a friction brake of the vehicle to frictionally brake the vehicle ("For instance, during a braking event, when the total braking demand exceeds the amount of braking that can be supplied by the regenerative braking system 64 (i.e., the regenerative braking threshold value), the friction braking system 62 may be engaged to make up the difference." para [0077]);
wherein the controller is adapted to: (a) operate the motor in the generator mode to brake the vehicle only regeneratively in response to the braking demand, indicated by the signals from the sensor, not exceeding a first predetermined threshold, to control the 15 regenerative braking to the braking demand ([only regenerative braking is used until a threshold is reached] "As seen therein, the regenerative braking indicator 80 may be displayed at the regenerative braking threshold 82 to indicate to a driver that the regenerative braking threshold value has been reached.", para [0077]); and (b) operate the motor in the generator mode and engage the friction brake to simultaneously brake the vehicle regeneratively and frictionally in response to the braking demand, indicated by the signals from the sensor, exceeding the first predetermined threshold, to control the regenerative braking to not exceed an amount of electrical energy that the energy storage device is able to receive and to control a total amount of the regenerative braking and the friction braking to the braking demand ("Thus, the amount of regenerative braking may be limited by the capability of the vehicle's powertrain to apply a negative torque (i.e., the powertrain brake torque limit, TI) or the amount of additional charge the battery 48 can accept in its current state (i.e., the battery electrical charge system power limit, PI, batt).", para [0053]; "FIG. 2(b) illustrates an example of the braking gauge 70 during a different state of a braking event in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present application. For instance, during a braking event, when the total braking demand exceeds the amount of braking that can be supplied by the regenerative braking system 64 (i.e., the regenerative braking threshold value), the friction braking system 62 may be engaged to make up the difference.", para [0077]).
As per claim 20, Crombez discloses a method for operating a vehicle that includes an energy storage device and an electric motor that is operable in a generator mode ("To control the engine 12 and components of the transmission 52 (i.e., the generator 14 and motor 40) a vehicle computing system, shown generally as vehicle controller 54, may be provided.", para [0020]); comprising:
sensing, by a sensor of the vehicle, at least one parameter indicating a braking demand based on actuation of a brake actuator of the vehicle ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]);
receiving, by a controller of the vehicle, signals from the sensor indicating the braking demand ("Similarly, the accelerator pedal 60 may include one or more sensors, which, like the sensors in the braking system 58, may communicate with the controller 54.", para [0024]); operating, by the controller, the motor in the generator mode to brake the vehicle only regeneratively in response to the braking demand, indicated by the signals from the sensor, not exceeding a first predetermined threshold, to control the regenerative braking to the braking demand ([only regenerative braking is used until a threshold is reached] "As seen therein, the regenerative braking indicator 80 may be displayed at the regenerative braking threshold 82 to indicate to a driver that the regenerative braking threshold value has been reached.", para [0077]); and
operating, by the controller, the motor in the generator mode and engaging, by the controller, the friction brake to simultaneously brake the vehicle regeneratively and frictionally in response to the braking demand, indicated by the signals from the sensor, exceeding the first predetermined threshold, to control the regenerative braking to not exceed an amount of electrical energy that the energy storage device is able to receive and to control a total amount of the regenerative braking and the friction braking to the braking demand ("Thus, the amount of regenerative braking may be limited by the capability of the vehicle's powertrain to apply a negative torque (i.e., the powertrain brake torque limit, TI) or the amount of additional charge the battery 48 can accept in its current state (i.e., the battery electrical charge system power limit, PI, batt).", para [0053]; "FIG. 2(b) illustrates an example of the braking gauge 70 during a different state of a braking event in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present application. For instance, during a braking event, when the total braking demand exceeds the amount of braking that can be supplied by the regenerative braking system 64 (i.e., the regenerative braking threshold value), the friction braking system 62 may be engaged to make up the difference.", para [0077]).
2. Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
As per claim 16, Takahashi discloses a brake system for a vehicle that includes an energy storage device and an electric motor that is operable in a generator mode ("The regenerative brake mechanism 30 includes the electric motor 13, the inverter 26M, the battery 28, etc. The electrical energy generated by regenerative braking of the electric motor 13 is supplied to the battery 28 via the inverter 26M and stored in the battery 28.", para [0039]), comprising:
a front brake actuator adapted to indicate a first braking demand of a front brake of the vehicle ("The target front wheel friction braking force Ffrt is a target value of the front wheel friction braking force that is applied to the front wheels 8, and the target rear wheel friction braking force Frrt is a target value of the rear wheel friction braking force that is applied to the rear wheels 10.", para [0053]);
a rear brake actuator adapted to indicate a second braking demand of a rear brake of the vehicle ("The target front wheel friction braking force Ffrt is a target value of the front wheel friction braking force that is applied to the front wheels 8, and the target rear wheel friction braking force Frrt is a target value of the rear wheel friction braking force that is applied to the rear wheels 10.", para [0053]); a front brake sensor adapted to sense at least one parameter indicating the first braking demand based on actuation of the front brake actuator ("The wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114 are provided for the wheel cylinders 46FR, 46FL, 47RR, 47RL and individually detect the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 46, 47. The friction braking forces applied to the wheels 8, 10 are individually obtained based on the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 46, 47 detected by the wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114. An actual front wheel friction braking force Ffr, which is the sum of actual friction braking forces applied to the right and left front wheels 8FR, 8FL, is obtained based on the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 46 detected by the wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114. An actual rear wheel friction braking force Frr, which is the sum of actual friction braking forces applied to the right and left rear wheels 10RR, 10RL, is obtained based on the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 47 detected by the wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114.", para [0050]); a rear brake sensor adapted to sense at least one parameter indicating the second braking demand based on actuation of the rear brake actuator ("The wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114 are provided for the wheel cylinders 46FR, 46FL, 47RR, 47RL and individually detect the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 46, 47. The friction braking forces applied to the wheels 8, 10 are individually obtained based on the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 46, 47 detected by the wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114. An actual front wheel friction braking force Ffr, which is the sum of actual friction braking forces applied to the right and left front wheels 8FR, 8FL, is obtained based on the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 46 detected by the wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114. An actual rear wheel friction braking force Frr, which is the sum of actual friction braking forces applied to the right and left rear wheels 10RR, 10RL, is obtained based on the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 47 detected by the wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114.", para [0050]); and
a controller adapted to receive signals from the front brake sensor Indicating the first braking demand ("In the brake system configured as described above, when the brake pedal 40 is depressed and, for example, it is determined based on the information of the front monitoring device etc. that a braking force needs to be applied to the vehicle, a brake operation request is made and a required total braking force Fs is obtained. In the brake ECU 100, a maximum regenerative braking force that can be output is obtained within the range that is not larger than the required total braking force Fs, based on the amount of electrical energy stored in the battery 28 as detected by the state-of-charge sensor 118, the traveling speed of the vehicle obtained based on the detection values of the wheel speed sensors 116 (which corresponds to the rotational speed of the electric motor 13 etc.), etc.", para [0052]; "Next, a target front wheel friction braking force Ffrt and a target rear wheel friction braking force Frrt are obtained based on the required total braking force Fs minus the actual regenerative braking force Fe.", para [0053]); adapted to receive signals from the rear brake sensor indicating the second braking demand ("Next, a target front wheel friction braking force Ffrt and a target rear wheel friction braking force Frrt are obtained based on the required total braking force Fs minus the actual regenerative braking force Fe.", para [0053]); adapted to operate the motor in the generator mode to regeneratively brake the vehicle and charge the energy storage device ("The electrical energy generated by regenerative braking of the electric motor 13 is supplied to the battery 28 via the inverter 26M and stored in the battery 28.", para [0039]); and adapted to engage a friction brake of the vehicle to frictionally brake the vehicle ("Based on the detection values of the wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114, the solenoid valve devices 84, 85 of the hydraulic brake mechanism 32 etc. are controlled SO that the actual front wheel friction braking force Ffr and the actual rear wheel friction braking force Frr become closer to the target front wheel friction braking force Ffrt and the target rear wheel friction braking force Frrt. Control that is performed so as to satisfy the required total braking force Fs by one or more of the regenerative braking force Fe, the front wheel friction braking force Ffr, and the rear wheel friction braking force Frr is called regenerative cooperative control.", para [0053]);
wherein the controller is adapted to: (a) operate the motor in the generator mode to brake the vehicle only regeneratively in response to a total braking demand, indicated by the signals from the front brake sensor and the rear brake sensor, not exceeding a first predetermined threshold, to control the regenerative braking to the total braking demand ([as long as braking demand is within a threshold, friction braking force can be 0] "In the brake system configured as described above, when the brake pedal 40 is depressed and, for example, it is determined based on the information of the front monitoring device etc. that a braking force needs to be applied to the vehicle, a brake operation request is made and a required total braking force Fs is obtained This maximum regenerative braking force that can be output is set as a target regenerative braking force Fe* An actual regenerative braking force Fe, which is an actual regenerative braking force output to the right front wheel 8FR and the left front wheel 8FL, is controlled by control of the inverter 26M of the regenerative brake mechanism 30 etc. so that the actual regenerative braking force Fe becomes closer to the target regenerative braking force Fe*.", para [0052]; "In the regenerative cooperative control, one or more of the regenerative braking force Fe, the front wheel friction braking force Ffr, and the rear wheel friction braking force Fm may be 0.", para [0053]); and (b) operate the motor in the generator mode and engage the friction brake to simultaneously brake the vehicle regeneratively and frictionally in response to the total braking demand, indicated by the signals from the front brake sensor and the rear brake sensor, exceeding the first predetermined threshold, to control the regenerative braking to not exceed an amount of electrical energy that the energy storage device is able to receive and to control a total amount of the regenerative braking and the friction braking to the total braking demand ("The target regenerative braking force Fe* can be set to a larger value when the amount of electrical energy stored in the battery 28 is small than when it is large. However, the target regenerative braking force Fe* may be limited by the temperature of the battery 28, the characteristics of the battery 28, etc. An actual regenerative braking force Fe, which is an actual regenerative braking force output to the right front wheel 8FR and the left front wheel 8FL, is controlled by control of the inverter 26M of the regenerative brake mechanism 30 etc. so that the actual regenerative braking force Fe becomes closer to the target regenerative braking force Fe*. The actual regenerative braking force Fe can be obtained based on an actual current flowing through the electric motor 13 etc.", para [0052]; "Next, a target front wheel friction braking force Ffrt and a target rear wheel friction braking force Frrt are obtained based on the required total braking force Fs minus the actual regenerative braking force Fe.. Control that is performed so as to satisfy the required total braking force Fs by one or more of the regenerative braking force Fe, the front wheel friction braking force Ffr, and the rear wheel friction braking force Frr is called regenerative cooperative control.", para [0053]).
As to claim 17, Takahashi teaches the brake system according to claim 16. Takahashi further discloses wherein the friction brake is arranged as a front friction brake of the vehicle ("The wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114 are provided for the wheel cylinders 46FR, 46FL, 47RR, 47RL and individually detect the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 46, 47. The friction braking forces applied to the wheels 8, 10
are individually obtained based on the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 46, 47 detected by the wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114. An actual front wheel friction braking force Ffr, which is the sum of actual friction braking forces applied to the right and left front wheels 8FR, 8FL, is obtained based on the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 46 detected by the wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114. An actual rear wheel friction braking force Frr, which is the sum of actual friction braking forces applied to the right and left rear wheels 10RR, 10RL, is obtained based on the hydraulic pressures of the wheel cylinders 47 detected by the wheel cylinder pressure sensors 114.", para [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 3-4, 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crombez in view of Fabini US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0139329.
As to claim 3, Crombez teaches a brake actuator adapted to indicate a braking demand ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]). Crombez does not explicitly teach the brake actuator includes a front brake lever adapted to engage a front friction brake of the vehicle and a rear brake pedal adapted to engage a rear friction brake of the vehicle.
However, Fabini discloses the brake system according to claim 1. Fabini further discloses wherein the brake actuator includes a front brake lever adapted to engage a front friction brake of the vehicle and a rear brake pedal adapted to engage a rear friction brake of the vehicle ("For example, as shown in the alternative configurations of FIGS. 9 and 12, HECU 48 may cause master cylinder 50 to transmit pressure and brake fluid to brake lines 54 for actuating front calipers 62 to frictionally interface with friction rotors 60, thereby providing mechanical stopping torque for wheels 24.", para [0035]).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to install a front brake lever adapted to engage a front friction brake of the vehicle and a rear brake pedal adapted to engage a rear friction brake of the vehicle in Crombez as taught by Fabini. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Fabini that doing so would utilize regeneration to provide a boosted feel akin.
As to claim 4, Crombez teaches a brake actuator adapted to indicate a braking demand ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]). Crombez does not explicitly teach brake actuator adapter to hydraulically engage the friction brake of the vehicle.
However, Fabini discloses the brake system according to claim 1 wherein the brake actuator is adapted to hydraulically engage the friction brake of the vehicle ("In one configuration, this input can be used to initiate the "jump-in" regenerative braking while brake pads (not shown) on brake calipers 62, 64 are being brought into contact with rotors 60 through the hydraulic system before significant brake line pressure is developed.", para [0037]).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to install brake actuator adapter to hydraulically engage the friction brake of the vehicle in Crombez. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well know in the art that using hydraulic brakes is commonly used because it allows the driver to apply brakes with ease.
As to claim 6, Crombez teaches a brake actuator adapted to indicate a braking demand ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]). Crombez does not explicitly teach the vehicle is arranged as an electric motorcycle.
However, Fabini teaches As per claim 6, Fabini discloses the brake system according to claim 1. Fabini further discloses wherein the vehicle is arranged as an electric motorcycle ("The foregoing description of the embodiments has been provided for purposes of illustration and description. It is not intended to be exhaustive or to limit the disclosure. For example, while a three-wheeled vehicle is shown (two driving front wheels with one central rear wheel), a vehicle having an alternate wheel or drive wheel arrangement can also be employed (e.g., 2-wheeled, at least 4 wheels, AWD, FWD, RWD)., para [0053]).
As per claim 8, Crombez teaches a brake actuator adapted to indicate a braking demand ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]). Crombez does not explicitly teach “the controller is adapted to monitor a temperature of the motor and to control the regenerative braking to not exceed a predetermined motor temperature threshold”.
However, Fabini further discloses wherein the controller is adapted to monitor a temperature of the motor and to control the regenerative braking to not exceed a predetermined motor temperature threshold (" It is also assumed that a maximum amount of power can be recovered by electric motor 14 at any given time, which may be caused by the inability to conduct additional current (e.g., hardware saturated due to temperature level, switching frequency, etc.).", para [0036]).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application monitor a temperature of the motor and to control the regenerative braking to not exceed a predetermined motor temperature threshold in Crombez as taught by Fabini. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Fabini that doing so would maximize the amount of energy absorbed by the motor.
As per claim 9, Crombez teaches a brake actuator adapted to indicate a braking demand ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]). Crombez does not explicitly teach “the controller is adapted to monitor a rotational wheel speed of a wheel of the vehicle to prevent lockup of the wheel.
However, Fabini discloses the brake system according to claim 1. Fabini further discloses wherein the controller is adapted to monitor a rotational wheel speed of a wheel of the vehicle ("VCU 16 may use this hydraulic pressure, along with other inputs (e.g., vehicle speed via wheel speed sensors 58), to develop a powertrain regenerative braking request from brake pedal 20.", para [0034]); and control the friction brake to prevent lockup of the wheel (" Regenerative braking may also be implemented in conjunction with a brake control unit or an antilock brake system/electronic stability control (ABS/ESC) system.", para [0035]).
5. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crombez in view of Takahashi, US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0307386 (referred to hereafter as Takahashi).
As to claim 10, Crombez teaches a brake actuator adapted to indicate a braking demand ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]). Crombez does not explicitly teach “the friction brake includes a brake disk, a brake caliper, a brake pad, and an actuator, the controller adapted to actuate the actuator to engage the friction brake to press the brake pad against the brake disk by the brake caliper”.
However, Takahashi teaches a vehicle comprising friction brake includes a
brake disk (60), a brake caliper (65), a brake pad (61), and an actuator (64), the controller adapted to actuate the actuator to engage the friction brake to press the brake pad against the brake disk by the brake caliper ("The hydraulic brakes 36, 38 are disc brakes having the same structure. As shown in FIG. 3, each of the hydraulic brakes 36, 38 includes a brake rotary body 60, a pair of friction engagement members 61, 62, and a pressing device 64. The brake rotary body 60 is a rotary body that rotates with the wheel 8, 10. The pair of friction engagement members 61, 62 is located on both sides of the brake rotary body 60. The pressing device 64 presses the friction engagement members 61, 62 against the brake rotary body 60. The pressing device 64 includes a caliper 65 and the wheel cylinder 46, 47. The caliper 65 is moved by the hydraulic pressure of the wheel cylinder 46, 47, and the pair of friction engagement members 61, 62 are pressed against the brake rotary body 60.", para [0043]).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to use a brake disk, a brake caliper, a brake pad, and an actuator, the controller adapted to actuate the actuator to engage the friction brake to press the brake pad against the brake disk by the brake caliper in Crombez. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that brake disks, calipers and friction brakes are very commonly used because of efficiency and low cost.
6. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crombez in view of Watanabe et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0332302 (referred to hereafter as Watanabe).
As to claim 13, Crombez teaches a brake actuator adapted to indicate a braking demand ("The braking system 58 may include such things as a brake pedal, position sensors, pressure sensors, or some combination thereof (not shown), as well as a mechanical connection to the vehicle wheels, such as the wheels 36, to effect friction braking via a friction braking system 62.", para [0024]). Crombez does not explicitly teach the controller is adapted to communicate with the sensor, the motor, and the friction brake via a communication bus of the vehicle.
However, Watanabe does disclose a controller that is adapted to communicate with a sensor, a motor, and a friction brake via a communication bus of the vehicle. ("A request for autonomous brake (for example, collision reduction brake and adaptive cruise control) is issued from the vehicle system, and a request for control of frictional brake is issued from a regenerative cooperative brake function. A communication unit is provided in the first control unit 18 to input these requests via the vehicle side and a CAN (control area network).", para [0039]; The first control unit 18 is connected to the stroke sensor 12 via a dedicated electric wire (a power source line, a ground line, and a signal line). The first control unit 18 calculates a target wheel cylinder hydraulic pressure according to the pedal stroke detected by the stroke sensor 12. Further, the first control unit 18 controls each of the electromagnetic valves and the motor 25 in the first hydraulic pressure unit 105. Para [0036], [0050]-[0052]).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to implement the communication with the brakes via bus taught by Watanabe, since such would allow for reliable transmission of data and requests (Watanabe, para [0039]).
As to claim 14, Crombez in view of Wanabe teach the system of claim 13. Watanabe further teaches the communication bus includes a CAN bus (The first control unit 18 and the second control unit 19 transmit and receive data via the CAN, para [0039], [0051]).
7. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Fabini.
Takahashi teaches the system of claim 16. Takahashi does not explicitly teach the vehicle is arranged as an electric motorcycle.
However, Fabini does disclose wherein the vehicle is arranged as an electric motorcycle ("The foregoing description of the embodiments has been provided for purposes of illustration and description. It is not intended to be exhaustive or to limit the disclosure. For example, while a three-wheeled vehicle is shown (two driving front wheels with one central rear wheel), a vehicle having an alternate wheel or drive wheel arrangement can also be employed (e.g., 2-wheeled, at least 4 wheels, AWD, FWD,
RWD)., para [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the brake system taught by Takahasi with the motorcycle taught by Fabini, since such would allow for a motorcycle to be able to balance regenerative braking with friction braking
(Fabini, para [0053]).
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669