Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "or the like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-15 recite a method (process), Claims 16-17 recite a convertible piece of furniture (manufacture) and claim 18 recites a computing device (machine) and therefore fall into a statutory category.
Step 2A – Prong 1 (Is a Judicial Exception Recited?):
The claims as a whole recite concepts covering a manner for managing the utilization capacity of a property based on the analysis of collected information, which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts for Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and covers concepts capable of being performed in Mental Processes.
The abstract idea portion of the claims is as follows:
(Claim 1)
A method for managing the utilisation capacity of a multi- purpose property, the multi-purpose property comprising numerous bookable premises, the purpose of use of which can be changed according to need between use as accommodation premises, office work premises or meeting rooms, whereupon each of the above-said uses comprises the convertible furnishings and/or layout of the premises,
whereupon the feature determining the primary use of a piece of furniture can be folded out of the user's reach inside the walls and/or other structures [by means of the mechanisms of the piece of furniture and/or layout], the piece of furniture comprises [an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for] identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use, [as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable],
for managing the utilisation capacity is provided [a system] by means of which is determined the booking and the booking parameters for each of the premises related to it for each moment of time, the booking parameters including the client, the client type, the booking type according to the allocated use, the starting and ending time of the booking, as well as recorded the actual time of departure,
whereupon in the method is calculated a forecast of secondary use period of use which remains between the actual departure times and starting times of the bookings of different clients, which is released for booking for other than primary use.
(Claim 16)
[A convertible piece of furniture,] wherein the feature determining the primary use of the piece of furniture can be folded out of the user's reach inside walls and/or other structures [by means of the mechanism of the piece of furniture, characterised in that wherein the piece of furniture comprises an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for] identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use,
[as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable by] using a method for managing the utilisation capacity of a multi-purpose property, the multi- purpose property comprising numerous bookable premises, the purpose of use of which can be changed according to need between use as accommodation premises, office work premises or meeting rooms, whereupon each of the above-said uses comprises the convertible furnishings and/or layout of the premises,
for managing the utilisation capacity is provided [a system] by means of which is determined the booking and the booking parameters for each of the premises related to it for each moment of time, the booking parameters including the client, the client type, the booking type according to the allocated use, the starting and ending time of the booking, as well as recorded the actual time of departure,
whereupon in the method is calculated a forecast of secondary use period of use which remains between the actual departure times and starting times of the bookings of different clients, which is released for booking for other than primary use.
(Claim 18) A method for managing the utilization capacity of a multi-purpose property, the method comprising: managing utilisation capacity of a multi-purpose property, the multi-purpose property including numerous bookable premises, the purpose of use of which can be changed according to need between use as accommodation premises, office work premises, or meeting rooms, wherein each of the uses comprises the convertible furnishings and/or layout of the premises;
determining a primary use of a piece of furniture that can be folded out of the user's reach inside the walls and/or other structures, [wherein the piece of furniture includes an electrically controlled locking mechanism and a locking device(s), the electrically controlled locking mechanism including at least one sensor and/or switch for] identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use, [the locking device(s) configured to open/lock the piece of furniture in the primary position use and the secondary position of use;]
[programmatically controlling the piece of furniture in connection with] managing the utilisation capacity provided [a system configured to] determine the booking and the booking parameters for each of the premises related to it for each moment of time, the booking parameters including the client, the client type, the booking type according to the allocated use, the starting and ending time of the booking, as well as recorded the actual time of departure;
and calculating a forecast of secondary use period of use which remains between the actual departure times and starting times of the bookings of different clients, which is released for booking for other than primary use.
Here the claims are directed to managing personal behavior (following rules or instructions) but for the recitation of generic computer components. Additionally, the claims are directed to concepts capable of being performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). In the present application the claims recite concepts covering a manner for managing the utilization capacity of a property based on the analysis of collected information. (See paragraphs 2-4 and 7-8 of the Specification).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts capable of being performed in managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people it falls under the Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity, grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04. Additionally, if a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts capable of being performed in human mind it falls under the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas. See Id.
Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A-Prong 2 (Is the Exception Integrated into a Practical Application?):
The examiner views the following as the additional elements:
A system. (See paragraphs 8 and 19 of the Specification)
These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that they act to merely “apply” the abstract idea using generic computing components and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05 (f)) The combination of these additional elements and/or results oriented steps are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. (See Id.)
Regarding (Claim 1) “by means of the mechanisms of the piece of furniture and/or layout, an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable”, (Claim 16) “A convertible piece of furniture, by means of the mechanism of the piece of furniture, characterised in that wherein the piece of furniture comprises an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for, as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable by”, and (Claim 18) “wherein the piece of furniture includes an electrically controlled locking mechanism and a locking device(s), the electrically controlled locking mechanism including at least one sensor and/or switch for the locking device(s) configured to open/lock the piece of furniture in the primary position use and the secondary position of use; programmatically controlling the piece of furniture in connection with” the Examiner views these additional elements merely indicating the particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the abstract idea, in this instance furniture within a premise. See MPEP 2106.05 (h).
Accordingly, even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to Significantly More than the Judicial Exception?):
As noted above, the claims as a whole merely describes a method and system that generally “apply” the concepts discussed in prong 1 above. (See MPEP 2106.05 f (II)) In particular applicant has recited the computing components at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. As the court stated in TLI Communications v. LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613 (Fed. Cir. 2016) merely invoking generic computing components or machinery that perform their functions in their ordinary capacity to facilitate the abstract idea are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea within a computing environment and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Regarding the additional elements of “(Claim 1) “by means of the mechanisms of the piece of furniture and/or layout, an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable”, (Claim 16) “A convertible piece of furniture, by means of the mechanism of the piece of furniture, characterised in that wherein the piece of furniture comprises an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for, as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable by”, and (Claim 18) “wherein the piece of furniture includes an electrically controlled locking mechanism and a locking device(s), the electrically controlled locking mechanism including at least one sensor and/or switch for the locking device(s) configured to open/lock the piece of furniture in the primary position use and the secondary position of use; programmatically controlling the piece of furniture in connection with” is generally well understood routine, routine, and conventional information as taught by the Specification. See paragraphs 20 and 29-32. Accordingly, these additional computer components do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea and as a result the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2-3, 7-9, 11-12 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional elements of generic system (See paragraphs 8 and 19) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more. Therefore claims 2-3, 7-9, 11-12 are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 4 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional elements of generic system (See paragraphs 8 and 19) and physical access control tag (See paragraph 14) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more. Therefore claim 4 is considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 5 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional elements of generic user interface (See paragraph 19) and mobile device (See paragraph 19) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more. Therefore claim 5 is considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claims 6 and 10 further define the abstract idea as identified and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical or add significantly more. Therefore claims 6 and 10 are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 13 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional elements of generic computer program (See paragraph 19), non-transitory computer readable storage medium (See paragraph 19), instructions (See paragraph 19), a computer (See paragraph 19) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more. Therefore claim 13 is considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 14 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional elements of generic instructions (See paragraph 19), user interface (See paragraph 19) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more. Therefore claim 14 is considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 15 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional elements of generic mobile device instructions (See paragraph 19), user interface (See paragraph 19) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more. Therefore claim 15 is considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 17 further generally links the abstract idea to a field of use in which to apply the abstract idea, in particular, furniture within a premise and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further the Specification illustrates the additional elements are well-understood routine conventional activity and do not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Therefore claim 17 is considered to be patent ineligible.
In conclusion the claims do not provide an inventive concept, because the claims do not recite additional elements or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of the claims. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and the collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an order combination, the claims are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petroulas (US 20230100529) in view of McLaughlin et al. (US 20200126003).
Referring to claim 1,
Petroulas, which is directed to dynamic optimization and allocation of resources for defined spaces and time periods, teaches
A method for managing the utilisation capacity of a multi- purpose property, the multi-purpose property comprising numerous bookable premises, the purpose of use of which can be changed according to need between use as accommodation premises, office work premises or meeting rooms, whereupon each of the above-said uses comprises the convertible furnishings and/or layout of the premises, (Petroulas paragraphs 245-247 teaching in one embodiment, the user interface allow the at least one remote user to input into the position number generator information as to how the position numbers are to be structured around a table allocated to a space, subspace, section or class in the allocation of a booking. In one embodiment the user interface is arranged to allow at least one remote user to input information relating one or more objects of furniture. For example, the system may allow the user to provide table set-up details, such as which types of tables and table tops are interchangeable, or which chairs may be paired with particular types of tables. In this manner, the algorithm is provided with increased flexibility in the manner in which different items of furniture may be paired and/or substituted. In one embodiment, the user interface allows at least one remote user to define the quantum and sizes of the tables and chairs allocated to the different spaces, subspaces and sections on the floor plan noting which are fixed tables and chairs and, which are flexible tables and chairs, and which can be moved and reallocated as well as defining the additional quantum and sizes of additional tables and chairs that can be brought in as required to optimise the seating available on the scaled floor plan which would vary in one example, based on the different sizes of bookings received. Petroulas paragraphs 250-253 teaching in one embodiment, the user interface allows the at least one remote user to input into the data base different seating periods that are allowed during a particular service. For example, breakfast, lunch or dinner on any particular day. This feature allows the restaurant to have flexible seating periods of different durations that can overlap. In turn, the ability to set up multiple seating periods is utilised by the iteration process of the algorithm, ensuring that an existing booking on an earlier seating has been given the time allocated to it based on its choice of menu and other constraints plus allowance has been made for the time to reset the table before a further booking can be made on that table for a later seating booking. To ensure time is better managed and optimised in the allocation of bookings to a space, table or table combination. In one embodiment, the data base includes different menus, different number of courses per menu, different group sizes and they are allocated different booking times and duration periods of time that would be offered to a booking request, wherein, this information would be utilised as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict. In one embodiment, the data base includes the different time that would be required to prepare and re-set tables for re-use by day and by time as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict due to the requirement to reset tables. In one embodiment, the database includes sub-space constraint information regarding sub-spaces with the space available within the venue, whereby the iterative and structured allocation of requests for each sub-space, independent of other sub-spaces, to optimise and/or prioritise the allocation of space and time within each sub-space. Petroulas paragraphs 255-256 teaching in one embodiment, the data base includes constraint information that information that define spaces and subspaces to include objects including furniture that are fixed and cannot change during the booking allocation process. In one embodiment, the data base includes constraint information that define sections within spaces and subspaces as including objects including furniture that are flexible and can be rearranged added to or removed during the booking allocation process. Petroulas paragraph
338 in one embodiment, the system is arranged to execute a simulation using estimated booking patterns or historical booking patterns to determine an optimal restaurant layout. The layout may include selecting the most appropriate table sizes and furniture, quantities of different table sizes and furniture to purchase, flexible seating areas versus fixed seating areas, different combinations of areas, subareas and sections, different classes to determine an optimised restaurant furniture layout so as to assist in the management of the restaurant, the set-up of the restaurant or the financial projections and planning of the restaurant.)
Petroulas does not teach or suggest whereupon the feature determining the primary use of a piece of furniture can be folded out of the user's reach inside the walls and/or other structures by means of the mechanisms of the piece of furniture and/or layout, the piece of furniture comprises an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use, as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable,
for managing the utilisation capacity is provided a system by means of which is determined the booking and the booking parameters for each of the premises related to it for each moment of time, the booking parameters including the client, the client type, the booking type according to the allocated use, the starting and ending time of the booking, as well as recorded the actual time of departure, (Petroulas paragraphs 251-254 in one embodiment, the data base includes different menus, different number of courses per menu, different group sizes and they are allocated different booking times and duration periods of time that would be offered to a booking request, wherein, this information would be utilised as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict. In one embodiment, the data base includes the different time that would be required to prepare and re-set tables for re-use by day and by time as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict due to the requirement to reset tables. In one embodiment, the database includes sub-space constraint information regarding sub-spaces with the space available within the venue, whereby the iterative and structured allocation of requests for each sub-space, independent of other sub-spaces, to optimise and/or prioritise the allocation of space and time within each sub-space. In one embodiment, the database includes section constraint information regarding sections within each of the spaces and sub-spaces available within the venue, whereby the iterative allocation of requests occurs for each section, independent or in conjunction with other sections, to optimise and/or prioritise the allocation of space and time within each section. Petroulas paragraphs 376-377 teaching a product has specific attributes and those attributes can include an association with a specific service period, booking time, booking duration time, day of the week, date, group size and/or occasion. The product may include or be associated with one or more services, including extended duration time, location within a venue, class of tables within a venue specific type of table, specific table within a venue, specific level of service. Petroulas paragraph 384 teaching in one embodiment, the system is arranged to calculate and collect information concerning the duration times of customers and associating the duration times with relevant constraint information. The constraint information may include menu, menu courses, time of booking, day of booking, occasion, and/or group size. The collected information is used to provide recommendations or autonomously adjust booking duration times allowed for different areas, subareas, sections or classes at different times, menus and courses offered. Petroulas paragraph 736 teaching the constraint information may further include patron identifiers, such as, but not limited to, a unique seat or position at each table. This allows for specific identification of patrons and the particulars of the request made to use the space. For example, when the request is made, the system may allocate each of the patrons to a position number, such that the patrons can preselect a menu item or items, drinks or any other particular aspect of their experience at the venue, and corresponding pay in advance for the experience, where the preselected items would be associated with each position number. In a further embodiment there are provided sensors at specific locations to identify the arrival and the seating of individual people at a specific position number at the table as well as knowing when all guests have arrived and the table is complete. In one embodiment, the sensors may be located in a table and/or chair. In another embodiment, sensors are provided at spaced apart locations within the venue, wherein the sensors are capable of locating individuals within a particular space.)
whereupon in the method is calculated a forecast of secondary use period of use which remains between the actual departure times and starting times of the bookings of different clients, which is released for booking for other than primary use. (Petroulas paragraphs 382-386 teaching in one embodiment, the algorithm interrogates the data base to locate unbooked periods of time longer than the minimum time required to consume a one course menu to match an appropriate menu or menu(s) to the periods of time, wherein the system offers the located booking times and booking durations to users at a discounted cost. This allows the system to autonomously “backfill” unused time slots, which increases restaurant revenue while minimising discounts offered for other non-constrained bookings. In one embodiment, the data base is interrogated to find periods of time that contain short lead time unallocated space, sub-space, section, tables or chairs and offering such space at a discount in order to create and have a standby list of customers. In one embodiment, the system is arranged to calculate and collect information concerning the duration times of customers and associating the duration times with relevant constraint information. The constraint information may include menu, menu courses, time of booking, day of booking, occasion, and/or group size. The collected information is used to provide recommendations or autonomously adjust booking duration times allowed for different areas, subareas, sections or classes at different times, menus and courses offered. In one embodiment, the seating allocation of a restaurant is analysed by comparing the hypothetical actions which would have been taken by a system in accordance with the invention, to actions taken by a manual intervention, to determine whether the autonomous action or the manual intervention provides or provided a more favourable outcome using a customer's CRM or social media ranking. In one embodiment, restaurant capacity is calculated as the product of the tables that are capable of incorporation into the space including additional tables as they would have been included by the autonomous use of the allocation algorithms and the number of chairs and the number of hours that the restaurant is open for service. This hypothetical calculated capacity is utilised as a benchmark and used to compare to real life performance (specifically against manual interventions performed by a member of staff) to evaluate whether the manual intervention produces a more desirable result. If so, the algorithm autonomously adjusts the algorithm and allocation process. Petroulas paragraph 736 teaching the constraint information may further include patron identifiers, such as, but not limited to, a unique seat or position at each table. This allows for specific identification of patrons and the particulars of the request made to use the space. For example, when the request is made, the system may allocate each of the patrons to a position number, such that the patrons can preselect a menu item or items, drinks or any other particular aspect of their experience at the venue, and corresponding pay in advance for the experience, where the preselected items would be associated with each position number. In a further embodiment there are provided sensors at specific locations to identify the arrival and the seating of individual people at a specific position number at the table as well as knowing when all guests have arrived and the table is complete. In one embodiment, the sensors may be located in a table and/or chair. In another embodiment, sensors are provided at spaced apart locations within the venue, wherein the sensors are capable of locating individuals within a particular space. Petroulas paragraph 757 teaching in an embodiment, the predictive module 220 may also be used for optimising the use of resources in a restaurant or venue, where the predictive module 220 uses the processors 210 to accesses historical and live data regarding the use of the resources of a restaurant stored in the database 212. The predictive module 220 also accesses the information regarding the actual usable resources at any given period of time collected by the user interface 218. The predicative module 220 utilises the optimisation module 208 and processor 210 to analyse the historical and current “live” data and the actual usable resource data and determine the relative optimal use of the usable restaurant resources for the any given period of time using a yield determination algorithm, or any other similar deterministic algorithm.)
However, McLaughlin, which is directed to a collective group of hotel rooms able to selectively and serially linked by a customer, teaches
whereupon the feature determining the primary use of a piece of furniture can be folded out of the user's reach inside the walls and/or other structures by means of the mechanisms of the piece of furniture and/or layout, the piece of furniture comprises an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use, as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable, (McLaughlin paragraph 32 teaching collectively, embodiments of the present invention comprises four distinct room layouts: the Standard Room, the Corner Room, the Flex Room, and the Bunk Room. As described herein, each of the different room layouts may have a corresponding room type identifier, which may be associated with a room identifier so as to indicate that the room associated with the room identifier comprises the room type (i.e. layout) corresponding to the room type identifier. In various embodiments, for example, at booking or at some time thereafter, a customer can select the specific combination of proximate rooms that he or she wishes. Because the rooms have different capacities and different customizable features that facilitate different activities, a customer has the ability to choose the specific combination of rooms that most efficiently and effectively accommodates his or her particular group or specialized use. Uniquely, a customer has the flexibility to book three or more distinct rooms and have them all selectively linked so as to create a single linked corridor that runs continuously through the entirety of the customer's plurality of linked rooms. Notably, each of these room layouts can be fully functional independent of other potentially linked rooms. As shown in FIGS. 2, 3, 4, and 7, each of the respective room layouts can come equipped with basic accommodation elements, including, but not limited to, a bed 5, a wardrobe compartment 2, an integrated vanity/sink 3, a desk 4, a toilet 7, a stand-alone shower 8, and a window 10. Although described with regards to four distinct available room layouts, any combination of the room layouts or multiples of the room layouts could be configured to create a set of two, three, five, six, or more selectively linked rooms. McLaughlin paragraph 35 teaching as shown in FIGS. 4-7, one aspect of the Flex Room layout 40 comprises a hotel room configuration complete with each of the aforementioned basic elements that would allow this room to be suitable for a single-room accommodation as well as two linking doors 1 on both ends of the room to accommodate a guest's preferred linked configuration. Distinct from both the Standard Room 20 and the Corner Room 30, this embodiment of the Flex Room 40 has a space-saving desk 4 and a bed 5 that may be lowered into a sleeping position, or folded about a pivot point into a raised position against a wall (i.e. a “wall” bed). Further, the illustrated embodiment of the Flex room comprises an elongated vanity/wet bar 3 and additional seating 41, a sofa 42, and a coffee table 43 to accommodate a more social setting. FIG. 6 depicts an aspect of the Flex Room layout 40 wherein the bed 5 is arranged in a raised position so as to maximize floor space and further facilitate social interaction amongst a group of guests. In such a configuration, the back cushions of the sofa 42 may be arranged so as to rest against the wall created by the raised bed 5. Conversely, FIG. 7 depicts an aspect of the Flex Room layout 40 wherein the bed 5 is lowered in a sleeping position that can comfortably sleep two guests. In such a configuration, the bed 5 may be lowered to rest upon the coffee table 43 and the back cushions of the sofa may be selectively stored within a storage compartment located underneath the front cushions of the sofa 42 or elsewhere in the room.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bookings and allocations of furniture within a space as taught in Petroulas to incorporate whereupon the feature determining the primary use of a piece of furniture can be folded out of the user's reach inside the walls and/or other structures by means of the mechanisms of the piece of furniture and/or layout, the piece of furniture comprises an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use, as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable as taught in McLaughlin with the motivation of allowing guests to manipulate the furniture to enable them to maximize floor depending on the occasion. (McLaughlin paragraphs 32 and 35)
Referring to claim 2,
Petroulas further teaches characterised in that wherein on the basis of the realised actual departure times, the system calculates for each client a statistical estimated departure time according to client type, whereupon the overall capacity for secondary use is determined on the basis of statistical probability. (Petroulas paragraph 492 teaching in more detail an eighth aspect of the embodiment provides a computing system in accordance with the first aspect of the invention, wherein venue constraints are varied utilising one of a forecasting module arranged to use historical data to predict probable desired outcomes and an artificial intelligence engine arranged to review both historical data and external data to predict probable desired outcomes, wherein the predicted outcomes are utilised to vary one of the venue constraint information and the strategy of the venue to in turn affect the optimisation of quantitative and qualitative outcome. Petroulas paragraph 736 teaching the constraint information may further include patron identifiers, such as, but not limited to, a unique seat or position at each table. This allows for specific identification of patrons and the particulars of the request made to use the space. For example, when the request is made, the system may allocate each of the patrons to a position number, such that the patrons can preselect a menu item or items, drinks or any other particular aspect of their experience at the venue, and corresponding pay in advance for the experience, where the preselected items would be associated with each position number. In a further embodiment there are provided sensors at specific locations to identify the arrival and the seating of individual people at a specific position number at the table as well as knowing when all guests have arrived and the table is complete. In one embodiment, the sensors may be located in a table and/or chair. In another embodiment, sensors are provided at spaced apart locations within the venue, wherein the sensors are capable of locating individuals within a particular space)
Referring to claim 3,
Petroulas further teaches characterised in that wherein the system calculates the forecast of available free capacity until the beginning of each booking, until the booking is confirmed to be in use. (Petroulas paragraph 250 teaching in one embodiment, the user interface allows the at least one remote user to input into the data base different seating periods that are allowed during a particular service. For example, breakfast, lunch or dinner on any particular day. This feature allows the restaurant to have flexible seating periods of different durations that can overlap. In turn, the ability to set up multiple seating periods is utilised by the iteration process of the algorithm, ensuring that an existing booking on an earlier seating has been given the time allocated to it based on its choice of menu and other constraints plus allowance has been made for the time to reset the table before a further booking can be made on that table for a later seating booking. To ensure time is better managed and optimised in the allocation of bookings to a space, table or table combination. Petroulas paragraph 736 teaching the constraint information may further include patron identifiers, such as, but not limited to, a unique seat or position at each table. This allows for specific identification of patrons and the particulars of the request made to use the space. For example, when the request is made, the system may allocate each of the patrons to a position number, such that the patrons can preselect a menu item or items, drinks or any other particular aspect of their experience at the venue, and corresponding pay in advance for the experience, where the preselected items would be associated with each position number. In a further embodiment there are provided sensors at specific locations to identify the arrival and the seating of individual people at a specific position number at the table as well as knowing when all guests have arrived and the table is complete. In one embodiment, the sensors may be located in a table and/or chair. In another embodiment, sensors are provided at spaced apart locations within the venue, wherein the sensors are capable of locating individuals within a particular space. Petroulas paragraph 757 teaching in an embodiment, the predictive module 220 may also be used for optimising the use of resources in a restaurant or venue, where the predictive module 220 uses the processors 210 to accesses historical and live data regarding the use of the resources of a restaurant stored in the database 212. The predictive module 220 also accesses the information regarding the actual usable resources at any given period of time collected by the user interface 218. The predicative module 220 utilises the optimisation module 208 and processor 210 to analyse the historical and current “live” data and the actual usable resource data and determine the relative optimal use of the usable restaurant resources for the any given period of time using a yield determination algorithm, or any other similar deterministic algorithm.)
Referring to claim 4,
McLaughlin further teaches, characterised in that wherein the system comprises an access control function, by means of which the locking of each of the premises is determined, and a physical access control tag, such as a key card, a mobile device NFC tag or the like, by means of the programming of which the bookings and the secondary use period between bookings are separated from one another. (McLaughlin paragraph 87 teaching as shown at Block 1424, the hotel server 110 may selectively allocate at least a portion of room credential data associated with at least one of the room identifiers associated with the linked room combination identifier to at least one of the guests associated with a guest profile associated with the reservation request. As used herein, room credential data may comprise one or more collections of data associated with a room identifier that may be utilized to verify that a particular guest is authorized to access a room associated with the room identifier and/or utilize technological functionalities therein. For example, room credential data may comprise data in either a physical keycard or data defining a digital key that may be used to gain access into a room associated with a room identifier associated therewith. As a further example, room credential data may comprise data transmitted to a device that may be used to enable a technological feature of a room associated with the room identifier, such as, for example, an internet of things and/or content control functionality that may be enabled by a device located in the room associated with the room identifier upon the receipt of the room credential data by the device. Each reservation request received by the hotel server 110 may be associated with guest profile associated with the hospitality enterprise, wherein the guest profile is associated with the user associated with the client device 102. In various embodiments, a reservation request may be associated with a plurality of guest profiles, each being associated with a respective guest in the same party as the user associated with the client device 102. Where the reservation request is associated with a linked room combination and a plurality of guest profiles, the hotel server 110 may selectively distribute various room credential data associated with each respective room identifier associated with the linked room combination identifier to one or more of the guests associated with the plurality of guest profiles. For example, where each guest profile is associated with a room identifier associated with one of the plurality of linked rooms of the linked room combination, at least one of the guest profiles associated with at least one of the room identifiers may be transmitted to a device associated with the guest profile.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bookings and allocations of furniture within a space as taught in Petroulas to incorporate characterised in that wherein the system comprises an access control function, by means of which the locking of each of the premises is determined, and a physical access control tag, such as a key card, a mobile device NFC tag or the like, by means of the programming of which the bookings and the secondary use period between bookings are separated from one another as taught in McLaughlin with motivation of leveraging various means for controlling the access of a room as part of an ongoing booking. (McLaughlin paragraph 87)
Referring to claim 5,
Petroulas further teaches wherein the method is controlled by a user interface adaptable to a mobile device, whereupon the client can independently make a booking concerning the premises or their uses, or change a booking. (Petroulas paragraph 662 teaching an embodiment of the computer system shown in FIG. 8c includes a user interface module 808 which allows a remote user to pre-select a number of the particulars of their request to use a space. The user preselect interface module 808 may include the number of people 820, the beginning time of the booking 822, the menu selection 824, the desired number of courses in the menu 826, the departure time 828 and the allocated time 830. Based on the information entered by the remote user into the preselect interface module 808, the user interface will automatically provide a departure time which accounts for the number of people in the booking and the number of courses selected. That is, the departure time will vary depending on the selection of request particulars by the remote user. Further, the preselect interface module 808 also includes an option that allows the remote user to change their departure time 832. The preselect interface module 808 automatically associates an additional charge 833 to the user associated with the later departure time in accordance with the opportunity cost of the space in the venue not being used by other patrons. That is, the computer system seeks to optimise the utilisation in respect of the time that the space is available.)
Referring to claim 6,
Petroulas further teaches characterised in that wherein a client of the multi-purpose property may be an organisational user managing the bookings of several premises and allocating them to several separate users in the said organisation. (Petroulas paragraph 250 in one embodiment, the user interface allows the at least one remote user to input into the data base different seating periods that are allowed during a particular service. For example, breakfast, lunch or dinner on any particular day. This feature allows the restaurant to have flexible seating periods of different durations that can overlap. In turn, the ability to set up multiple seating periods is utilised by the iteration process of the algorithm, ensuring that an existing booking on an earlier seating has been given the time allocated to it based on its choice of menu and other constraints plus allowance has been made for the time to reset the table before a further booking can be made on that table for a later seating booking. To ensure time is better managed and optimised in the allocation of bookings to a space, table or table combination. Petroulas paragraphs 253-254 in one embodiment, the database includes sub-space constraint information regarding sub-spaces with the space available within the venue, whereby the iterative and structured allocation of requests for each sub-space, independent of other sub-spaces, to optimise and/or prioritise the allocation of space and time within each sub-space. In one embodiment, the database includes section constraint information regarding sections within each of the spaces and sub-spaces available within the venue, whereby the iterative allocation of requests occurs for each section, independent or in conjunction with other sections, to optimise and/or prioritise the allocation of space and time within each section. Petroulas paragraph 346 teaching in one embodiment, the optimised and/or prioritised allocation set saved in the data base and provided as a diagrammatic representation within a detailed representation of the floor plan changes dynamically over time, such that the representation of the table allocation is layered in time with a notation as to how many times each table will be used during service. In other words, the floor plan displayed on the user interface is a true “live” representation of the table plan at any point in time during a service with the representation of the tables being rearranged with the correct table numbers and gaps between tables. This feature also allows restaurant staff or anyone looking at the floor plan to easily identify the location of a table or easily understand how to reset and reposition tables.)
Referring to claim 7,
Petroulas further teaches characterised in that wherein the system includes a feature by means of which future bookings of premises are forecast on the basis of an organisational user's earlier or preliminary indicated needs. (Petroulas paragraph 346 teaching in one embodiment, the optimised and/or prioritised allocation set saved in the data base and provided as a diagrammatic representation within a detailed representation of the floor plan changes dynamically over time, such that the representation of the table allocation is layered in time with a notation as to how many times each table will be used during service. In other words, the floor plan displayed on the user interface is a true “live” representation of the table plan at any point in time during a service with the representation of the tables being rearranged with the correct table numbers and gaps between tables. This feature also allows restaurant staff or anyone looking at the floor plan to easily identify the location of a table or easily understand how to reset and reposition tables.)
Referring to claim 8,
Petroulas further teaches, characterised in that wherein the system comprises an incentive relating to the management of the bookings, which motivates the user to choose a course of action which allows selling the secondary use period or to choose a starting time for the booking or ending time for the booking based on the capacity calculated by the system and deviating from the user's primary wish. (Petroulas paragraphs 349-350 teaching in one embodiment, a user interface is provided to at least one remote user to input into the data base the different menus that a restaurant wishes to make available by the different spaces, subspaces, classes and sections, on different days, for different meal periods and by the times and group sizes they wish to make the menus available. For example, only offering a one course menu option at 6 pm and requiring a person to accept 3 course menu if they wish to dine at say a peak time like 7:30 pm; or offering a more expensive menu for more premium seating; or offering a cheaper price or cheaper menu for less premium seating for allocation to a space, subspace, section, class, table or table combination. In one embodiment, the user interface is arranged to allow at least one remote user to input into the data base the different duration times that will be allowed for a booking based on constraints such as, the menu selected, the number of courses selected, the size of the group, the occasion and the day and is also used to inform user of this condition as part of the accepted booking terms and conditions wherein the user can accept these conditions or alter their request.)
Referring to claim 9,
Petroulas further teaches characterised in that wherein when the system detects a change in demand in the bookings of the premises, the system can change the incentive in order to make possible a booking for premises corresponding to the demand. (Petroulas paragraphs 349-350 teaching in one embodiment, a user interface is provided to at least one remote user to input into the data base the different menus that a restaurant wishes to make available by the different spaces, subspaces, classes and sections, on different days, for different meal periods and by the times and group sizes they wish to make the menus available. For example, only offering a one course menu option at 6 pm and requiring a person to accept 3 course menu if they wish to dine at say a peak time like 7:30 pm; or offering a more expensive menu for more premium seating; or offering a cheaper price or cheaper menu for less premium seating for allocation to a space, subspace, section, class, table or table combination. In one embodiment, the user interface is arranged to allow at least one remote user to input into the data base the different duration times that will be allowed for a booking based on constraints such as, the menu selected, the number of courses selected, the size of the group, the occasion and the day and is also used to inform user of this condition as part of the accepted booking terms and conditions wherein the user can accept these conditions or alter their request. Petroulas paragraph 382 teaching in one embodiment, the algorithm interrogates the data base to locate unbooked periods of time longer than the minimum time required to consume a one course menu to match an appropriate menu or menu(s) to the periods of time, wherein the system offers the located booking times and booking durations to users at a discounted cost. This allows the system to autonomously “backfill” unused time slots, which increases restaurant revenue while minimising discounts offered for other non-constrained bookings.)
Referring to claim 10,
Petroulas further teaches characterised in that wherein the incentive may guide the client to choose a later starting time for the booking or an earlier ending time for the booking. (Petroulas paragraphs 349-350 teaching in one embodiment, a user interface is provided to at least one remote user to input into the data base the different menus that a restaurant wishes to make available by the different spaces, subspaces, classes and sections, on different days, for different meal periods and by the times and group sizes they wish to make the menus available. For example, only offering a one course menu option at 6 pm and requiring a person to accept 3 course menu if they wish to dine at say a peak time like 7:30 pm; or offering a more expensive menu for more premium seating; or offering a cheaper price or cheaper menu for less premium seating for allocation to a space, subspace, section, class, table or table combination. In one embodiment, the user interface is arranged to allow at least one remote user to input into the data base the different duration times that will be allowed for a booking based on constraints such as, the menu selected, the number of courses selected, the size of the group, the occasion and the day and is also used to inform user of this condition as part of the accepted booking terms and conditions wherein the user can accept these conditions or alter their request.)
Referring to claim 11,
Petroulas further teaches characterised in that wherein the system comprises a referral programme as an incentive, by means of which registered users with payment transactions can also recommend the services of the property in question or of the same operator to their own contacts and be compensated when a new user is obtained for whom payment transactions are created. (Petroulas paragraph 366 in one embodiment, the system is arranged to adjust the amount of pre-payment received by a restaurant in a manner which maximises the commitment by a user to a booking. This in turn minimises “no shows” and increases upfront cash flow to a restaurant. The amount of pre-payment required is determined by interrogating a database arranged to provide object constraint information regarding one or more of the terms and conditions for a particular booking made available on a particular day, a particular service, a particular area, a particular class of seating, a table, a table combination, particular time, a particular menu selected, a particular number of courses, a particular number of guests and/or a particular persons CRM ranking/rating, a user input module arranged to receive information regarding the actual usable resources at any given time, wherein an optimisation module in communication with a processor receives the data, and the data is analysed to provide a dynamic prepayment algorithm to determine the relative optimal prepayment that should be requested for a specific booking request. Petroulas paragraph 1138 in combination with Petroulas paragraphs 1236-1239 teaching Examples of Performance Indicators for Restaurant Management, Yield Management, Efficiency and Metrics for Forecasting and Artificial Intelligence for Autonomous Constraint ChangesBooking source, by website, by third party, by app, by referral: Source of Booking Booking source (Source of Revenue), by website, by third party, by app, by referral Cost of booking source and cost of referrals.)
Referring to claim 12,
Petroulas further teaches wherein the system comprises a feature which directs the physical change in the purpose of use of the premises and cleaning to be carried out in the time window associated with the change of client. (Petroulas paragraph 250 teaching in one embodiment, the user interface allows the at least one remote user to input into the data base different seating periods that are allowed during a particular service. For example, breakfast, lunch or dinner on any particular day. This feature allows the restaurant to have flexible seating periods of different durations that can overlap. In turn, the ability to set up multiple seating periods is utilised by the iteration process of the algorithm, ensuring that an existing booking on an earlier seating has been given the time allocated to it based on its choice of menu and other constraints plus allowance has been made for the time to reset the table before a further booking can be made on that table for a later seating booking. To ensure time is better managed and optimised in the allocation of bookings to a space, table or table combination. Petroulas paragraph 279 teaching the allocation of a SVIP to their preferred table. 2. Moreover, as the algorithm has knowledge of the space and the furniture within the space, bookings can be allocated in a completely autonomous manner. In the description, it is clearly shown the underlying feature of “spatial awareness” allows completely autonomous restaurant management system from the time of the online restaurant booking request until the time a person leaves the restaurant other than the physical aspects of cooking the food, delivering the food and beverages to the table and cleaning and resetting a table.
Petroulas paragraph 1138 in combination with Petroulas paragraphs 1189-1192 teaching Examples of Performance Indicators for Restaurant Management, Yield Management, Efficiency and Metrics for Forecasting and Artificial Intelligence for Autonomous Constraint ChangesBooking source, by website, by third party, by app, by referral: Front of House (Dining Room) Hours HDRP (Hours Dining Room Preparation) HDRO (Hours Dining Room Open) HDRC (Hours Dining Room Clean-up))
Referring to claim 13,
Petroulas further teaches A computer program stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that comprises instructions which, when running on a computer, are configured to implement the method of claim l one of the methods according to any of -the preceding claims. (Petroulas paragraphs 700-702 teaching in FIG. 2 a there is shown a schematic diagram of a computing system, which in this embodiment is a computing system 100 suitable for use with an embodiment of the present invention. The computing system 100 may be used to execute application and/or system services such as a computer program and an interface in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. With reference to FIG. 2 a , the computing system 100 may comprise suitable components necessary to receive, store and execute appropriate computer instructions. The components may include a processor 102, read only memory (ROM) 104, random access memory (RAM) 106, an input/output devices such as disc drives 108, remote or connected mobile devices 110 (such as computers, smartphones or tablets and the like), and one or more communications link(s) 114 including internet links to other applications, websites and system services including Internet cloud services 120. The computing system 100 includes instructions that may be installed in ROM 104, RAM 106 or disc drives 112 and may be executed by the processor 102. There may be provided a plurality of communication links 114 which may variously connect to one or more user devices 110, such as computers, smartphones or tablets, wherein the one or more user devices have a user interface for interacting with user by collecting and displaying data or information using the conventional means provided by such devices. At least one of a plurality of communications link 114 may be connected to an external computing network through a telecommunications network, including Internet cloud services 120.)
Referring to claim 14,
Petroulas further teaches wherein the instructions further comprise: generating and presenting a user interface for controlling the method. according to any of the preceding claims. (Petroulas paragraph 702 teaching the computing system 100 includes instructions that may be installed in ROM 104, RAM 106 or disc drives 112 and may be executed by the processor 102. There may be provided a plurality of communication links 114 which may variously connect to one or more user devices 110, such as computers, smartphones or tablets, wherein the one or more user devices have a user interface for interacting with user by collecting and displaying data or information using the conventional means provided by such devices.)
Referring to claim 15,
Petroulas further teaches wherein the user interface is adaptable to a mobile device. (Petroulas paragraph 702 teaching the computing system 100 includes instructions that may be installed in ROM 104, RAM 106 or disc drives 112 and may be executed by the processor 102. There may be provided a plurality of communication links 114 which may variously connect to one or more user devices 110, such as computers, smartphones or tablets, wherein the one or more user devices have a user interface for interacting with user by collecting and displaying data or information using the conventional means provided by such devices.)
Referring to claim 16,
Petroulas further teaches using a method for managing the utilisation capacity of a multi-purpose property, the multi- purpose property comprising numerous bookable premises, the purpose of use of which can be changed according to need between use as accommodation premises, office work premises or meeting rooms, whereupon each of the above-said uses comprises the convertible furnishings and/or layout of the premises, (Petroulas paragraphs 245-247 teaching in one embodiment, the user interface allow the at least one remote user to input into the position number generator information as to how the position numbers are to be structured around a table allocated to a space, subspace, section or class in the allocation of a booking. In one embodiment the user interface is arranged to allow at least one remote user to input information relating one or more objects of furniture. For example, the system may allow the user to provide table set-up details, such as which types of tables and table tops are interchangeable, or which chairs may be paired with particular types of tables. In this manner, the algorithm is provided with increased flexibility in the manner in which different items of furniture may be paired and/or substituted. In one embodiment, the user interface allows at least one remote user to define the quantum and sizes of the tables and chairs allocated to the different spaces, subspaces and sections on the floor plan noting which are fixed tables and chairs and, which are flexible tables and chairs, and which can be moved and reallocated as well as defining the additional quantum and sizes of additional tables and chairs that can be brought in as required to optimise the seating available on the scaled floor plan which would vary in one example, based on the different sizes of bookings received. Petroulas paragraphs 250-253 teaching in one embodiment, the user interface allows the at least one remote user to input into the data base different seating periods that are allowed during a particular service. For example, breakfast, lunch or dinner on any particular day. This feature allows the restaurant to have flexible seating periods of different durations that can overlap. In turn, the ability to set up multiple seating periods is utilised by the iteration process of the algorithm, ensuring that an existing booking on an earlier seating has been given the time allocated to it based on its choice of menu and other constraints plus allowance has been made for the time to reset the table before a further booking can be made on that table for a later seating booking. To ensure time is better managed and optimised in the allocation of bookings to a space, table or table combination. In one embodiment, the data base includes different menus, different number of courses per menu, different group sizes and they are allocated different booking times and duration periods of time that would be offered to a booking request, wherein, this information would be utilised as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict. In one embodiment, the data base includes the different time that would be required to prepare and re-set tables for re-use by day and by time as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict due to the requirement to reset tables. In one embodiment, the database includes sub-space constraint information regarding sub-spaces with the space available within the venue, whereby the iterative and structured allocation of requests for each sub-space, independent of other sub-spaces, to optimise and/or prioritise the allocation of space and time within each sub-space. Petroulas paragraphs 255-256 teaching in one embodiment, the data base includes constraint information that information that define spaces and subspaces to include objects including furniture that are fixed and cannot change during the booking allocation process. In one embodiment, the data base includes constraint information that define sections within spaces and subspaces as including objects including furniture that are flexible and can be rearranged added to or removed during the booking allocation process. Petroulas paragraph
338 in one embodiment, the system is arranged to execute a simulation using estimated booking patterns or historical booking patterns to determine an optimal restaurant layout. The layout may include selecting the most appropriate table sizes and furniture, quantities of different table sizes and furniture to purchase, flexible seating areas versus fixed seating areas, different combinations of areas, subareas and sections, different classes to determine an optimised restaurant furniture layout so as to assist in the management of the restaurant, the set-up of the restaurant or the financial projections and planning of the restaurant.)
for managing the utilisation capacity is provided a system by means of which is determined the booking and the booking parameters for each of the premises related to it for each moment of time, the booking parameters including the client, the client type, the booking type according to the allocated use, the starting and ending time of the booking, as well as recorded the actual time of departure, (Petroulas paragraphs 251-254 in one embodiment, the data base includes different menus, different number of courses per menu, different group sizes and they are allocated different booking times and duration periods of time that would be offered to a booking request, wherein, this information would be utilised as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict. In one embodiment, the data base includes the different time that would be required to prepare and re-set tables for re-use by day and by time as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict due to the requirement to reset tables. In one embodiment, the database includes sub-space constraint information regarding sub-spaces with the space available within the venue, whereby the iterative and structured allocation of requests for each sub-space, independent of other sub-spaces, to optimise and/or prioritise the allocation of space and time within each sub-space. In one embodiment, the database includes section constraint information regarding sections within each of the spaces and sub-spaces available within the venue, whereby the iterative allocation of requests occurs for each section, independent or in conjunction with other sections, to optimise and/or prioritise the allocation of space and time within each section. Petroulas paragraphs 376-377 teaching a product has specific attributes and those attributes can include an association with a specific service period, booking time, booking duration time, day of the week, date, group size and/or occasion. The product may include or be associated with one or more services, including extended duration time, location within a venue, class of tables within a venue specific type of table, specific table within a venue, specific level of service. Petroulas paragraph 384 teaching in one embodiment, the system is arranged to calculate and collect information concerning the duration times of customers and associating the duration times with relevant constraint information. The constraint information may include menu, menu courses, time of booking, day of booking, occasion, and/or group size. The collected information is used to provide recommendations or autonomously adjust booking duration times allowed for different areas, subareas, sections or classes at different times, menus and courses offered. Petroulas paragraph 736 teaching the constraint information may further include patron identifiers, such as, but not limited to, a unique seat or position at each table. This allows for specific identification of patrons and the particulars of the request made to use the space. For example, when the request is made, the system may allocate each of the patrons to a position number, such that the patrons can preselect a menu item or items, drinks or any other particular aspect of their experience at the venue, and corresponding pay in advance for the experience, where the preselected items would be associated with each position number. In a further embodiment there are provided sensors at specific locations to identify the arrival and the seating of individual people at a specific position number at the table as well as knowing when all guests have arrived and the table is complete. In one embodiment, the sensors may be located in a table and/or chair. In another embodiment, sensors are provided at spaced apart locations within the venue, wherein the sensors are capable of locating individuals within a particular space.)
whereupon in the method is calculated a forecast of secondary use period of use which remains between the actual departure times and starting times of the bookings of different clients, which is released for booking for other than primary use. (Petroulas paragraphs 382-386 teaching in one embodiment, the algorithm interrogates the data base to locate unbooked periods of time longer than the minimum time required to consume a one course menu to match an appropriate menu or menu(s) to the periods of time, wherein the system offers the located booking times and booking durations to users at a discounted cost. This allows the system to autonomously “backfill” unused time slots, which increases restaurant revenue while minimising discounts offered for other non-constrained bookings. In one embodiment, the data base is interrogated to find periods of time that contain short lead time unallocated space, sub-space, section, tables or chairs and offering such space at a discount in order to create and have a standby list of customers. In one embodiment, the system is arranged to calculate and collect information concerning the duration times of customers and associating the duration times with relevant constraint information. The constraint information may include menu, menu courses, time of booking, day of booking, occasion, and/or group size. The collected information is used to provide recommendations or autonomously adjust booking duration times allowed for different areas, subareas, sections or classes at different times, menus and courses offered. In one embodiment, the seating allocation of a restaurant is analysed by comparing the hypothetical actions which would have been taken by a system in accordance with the invention, to actions taken by a manual intervention, to determine whether the autonomous action or the manual intervention provides or provided a more favourable outcome using a customer's CRM or social media ranking. In one embodiment, restaurant capacity is calculated as the product of the tables that are capable of incorporation into the space including additional tables as they would have been included by the autonomous use of the allocation algorithms and the number of chairs and the number of hours that the restaurant is open for service. This hypothetical calculated capacity is utilised as a benchmark and used to compare to real life performance (specifically against manual interventions performed by a member of staff) to evaluate whether the manual intervention produces a more desirable result. If so, the algorithm autonomously adjusts the algorithm and allocation process. Petroulas paragraph 736 teaching the constraint information may further include patron identifiers, such as, but not limited to, a unique seat or position at each table. This allows for specific identification of patrons and the particulars of the request made to use the space. For example, when the request is made, the system may allocate each of the patrons to a position number, such that the patrons can preselect a menu item or items, drinks or any other particular aspect of their experience at the venue, and corresponding pay in advance for the experience, where the preselected items would be associated with each position number. In a further embodiment there are provided sensors at specific locations to identify the arrival and the seating of individual people at a specific position number at the table as well as knowing when all guests have arrived and the table is complete. In one embodiment, the sensors may be located in a table and/or chair. In another embodiment, sensors are provided at spaced apart locations within the venue, wherein the sensors are capable of locating individuals within a particular space. Petroulas paragraph 757 teaching in an embodiment, the predictive module 220 may also be used for optimising the use of resources in a restaurant or venue, where the predictive module 220 uses the processors 210 to accesses historical and live data regarding the use of the resources of a restaurant stored in the database 212. The predictive module 220 also accesses the information regarding the actual usable resources at any given period of time collected by the user interface 218. The predicative module 220 utilises the optimisation module 208 and processor 210 to analyse the historical and current “live” data and the actual usable resource data and determine the relative optimal use of the usable restaurant resources for the any given period of time using a yield determination algorithm, or any other similar deterministic algorithm.)
Petroulas does not teach or suggest A convertible piece of furniture, wherein the feature determining the primary use of the piece of furniture can be folded out of the user's reach inside walls and/or other structures by means of the mechanism of the piece of furniture, characterised in that wherein the piece of furniture comprises an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use, as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable by
However McLaughlin teaches A convertible piece of furniture, wherein the feature determining the primary use of the piece of furniture can be folded out of the user's reach inside walls and/or other structures by means of the mechanism of the piece of furniture, characterised in that wherein the piece of furniture comprises an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use, as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable by (McLaughlin paragraph 32 teaching collectively, embodiments of the present invention comprises four distinct room layouts: the Standard Room, the Corner Room, the Flex Room, and the Bunk Room. As described herein, each of the different room layouts may have a corresponding room type identifier, which may be associated with a room identifier so as to indicate that the room associated with the room identifier comprises the room type (i.e. layout) corresponding to the room type identifier. In various embodiments, for example, at booking or at some time thereafter, a customer can select the specific combination of proximate rooms that he or she wishes. Because the rooms have different capacities and different customizable features that facilitate different activities, a customer has the ability to choose the specific combination of rooms that most efficiently and effectively accommodates his or her particular group or specialized use. Uniquely, a customer has the flexibility to book three or more distinct rooms and have them all selectively linked so as to create a single linked corridor that runs continuously through the entirety of the customer's plurality of linked rooms. Notably, each of these room layouts can be fully functional independent of other potentially linked rooms. As shown in FIGS. 2, 3, 4, and 7, each of the respective room layouts can come equipped with basic accommodation elements, including, but not limited to, a bed 5, a wardrobe compartment 2, an integrated vanity/sink 3, a desk 4, a toilet 7, a stand-alone shower 8, and a window 10. Although described with regards to four distinct available room layouts, any combination of the room layouts or multiples of the room layouts could be configured to create a set of two, three, five, six, or more selectively linked rooms. McLaughlin paragraph 35 teaching as shown in FIGS. 4-7, one aspect of the Flex Room layout 40 comprises a hotel room configuration complete with each of the aforementioned basic elements that would allow this room to be suitable for a single-room accommodation as well as two linking doors 1 on both ends of the room to accommodate a guest's preferred linked configuration. Distinct from both the Standard Room 20 and the Corner Room 30, this embodiment of the Flex Room 40 has a space-saving desk 4 and a bed 5 that may be lowered into a sleeping position, or folded about a pivot point into a raised position against a wall (i.e. a “wall” bed). Further, the illustrated embodiment of the Flex room comprises an elongated vanity/wet bar 3 and additional seating 41, a sofa 42, and a coffee table 43 to accommodate a more social setting. FIG. 6 depicts an aspect of the Flex Room layout 40 wherein the bed 5 is arranged in a raised position so as to maximize floor space and further facilitate social interaction amongst a group of guests. In such a configuration, the back cushions of the sofa 42 may be arranged so as to rest against the wall created by the raised bed 5. Conversely, FIG. 7 depicts an aspect of the Flex Room layout 40 wherein the bed 5 is lowered in a sleeping position that can comfortably sleep two guests. In such a configuration, the bed 5 may be lowered to rest upon the coffee table 43 and the back cushions of the sofa may be selectively stored within a storage compartment located underneath the front cushions of the sofa 42 or elsewhere in the room.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bookings and allocations of furniture within a space as taught in Petroulas to incorporate A convertible piece of furniture, wherein the feature determining the primary use of the piece of furniture can be folded out of the user's reach inside walls and/or other structures by means of the mechanism of the piece of furniture, characterised in that wherein the piece of furniture comprises an electrically controlled locking mechanism with at least one sensor and/or switch for identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use, as well as a locking device or locking devices for opening/locking the said operating positions, whereupon the piece of furniture is programmatically controllable by as taught in McLaughlin with the motivation of allowing guests to manipulate the furniture to enable them to maximize floor depending on the occasion. (McLaughlin paragraphs 32 and 35)
Referring to claim 17,
Petroulas further teaches wherein characterised in that the piece of furniture is a bed (2), table (3), chair (4), sofa (5), room divider or a combination of any of the foregoing. (Petroulas paragraph 247 teaching in one embodiment, the user interface allows at least one remote user to define the quantum and sizes of the tables and chairs allocated to the different spaces, subspaces and sections on the floor plan noting which are fixed tables and chairs and, which are flexible tables and chairs, and which can be moved and reallocated as well as defining the additional quantum and sizes of additional tables and chairs that can be brought in as required to optimise the seating available on the scaled floor plan which would vary in one example, based on the different sizes of bookings received)
Referring to claim 18,
Petroulas further teaches A method for managing the utilization capacity of a multi-purpose property, the method comprising: managing utilisation capacity of a multi-purpose property, the multi-purpose property including numerous bookable premises, the purpose of use of which can be changed according to need between use as accommodation premises, office work premises, or meeting rooms, wherein each of the uses comprises the convertible furnishings and/or layout of the premises; (Petroulas paragraphs 245-247 teaching in one embodiment, the user interface allow the at least one remote user to input into the position number generator information as to how the position numbers are to be structured around a table allocated to a space, subspace, section or class in the allocation of a booking. In one embodiment the user interface is arranged to allow at least one remote user to input information relating one or more objects of furniture. For example, the system may allow the user to provide table set-up details, such as which types of tables and table tops are interchangeable, or which chairs may be paired with particular types of tables. In this manner, the algorithm is provided with increased flexibility in the manner in which different items of furniture may be paired and/or substituted. In one embodiment, the user interface allows at least one remote user to define the quantum and sizes of the tables and chairs allocated to the different spaces, subspaces and sections on the floor plan noting which are fixed tables and chairs and, which are flexible tables and chairs, and which can be moved and reallocated as well as defining the additional quantum and sizes of additional tables and chairs that can be brought in as required to optimise the seating available on the scaled floor plan which would vary in one example, based on the different sizes of bookings received. Petroulas paragraphs 250-253 teaching in one embodiment, the user interface allows the at least one remote user to input into the data base different seating periods that are allowed during a particular service. For example, breakfast, lunch or dinner on any particular day. This feature allows the restaurant to have flexible seating periods of different durations that can overlap. In turn, the ability to set up multiple seating periods is utilised by the iteration process of the algorithm, ensuring that an existing booking on an earlier seating has been given the time allocated to it based on its choice of menu and other constraints plus allowance has been made for the time to reset the table before a further booking can be made on that table for a later seating booking. To ensure time is better managed and optimised in the allocation of bookings to a space, table or table combination. In one embodiment, the data base includes different menus, different number of courses per menu, different group sizes and they are allocated different booking times and duration periods of time that would be offered to a booking request, wherein, this information would be utilised as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict. In one embodiment, the data base includes the different time that would be required to prepare and re-set tables for re-use by day and by time as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict due to the requirement to reset tables. In one embodiment, the database includes sub-space constraint information regarding sub-spaces with the space available within the venue, whereby the iterative and structured allocation of requests for each sub-space, independent of other sub-spaces, to optimise and/or prioritise the allocation of space and time within each sub-space. Petroulas paragraphs 255-256 teaching in one embodiment, the data base includes constraint information that information that define spaces and subspaces to include objects including furniture that are fixed and cannot change during the booking allocation process. In one embodiment, the data base includes constraint information that define sections within spaces and subspaces as including objects including furniture that are flexible and can be rearranged added to or removed during the booking allocation process. Petroulas paragraph
338 in one embodiment, the system is arranged to execute a simulation using estimated booking patterns or historical booking patterns to determine an optimal restaurant layout. The layout may include selecting the most appropriate table sizes and furniture, quantities of different table sizes and furniture to purchase, flexible seating areas versus fixed seating areas, different combinations of areas, subareas and sections, different classes to determine an optimised restaurant furniture layout so as to assist in the management of the restaurant, the set-up of the restaurant or the financial projections and planning of the restaurant.)
managing the utilisation capacity provided a system configured to determine the booking and the booking parameters for each of the premises related to it for each moment of time, the booking parameters including the client, the client type, the booking type according to the allocated use, the starting and ending time of the booking, as well as recorded the actual time of departure; (Petroulas paragraphs 251-254 in one embodiment, the data base includes different menus, different number of courses per menu, different group sizes and they are allocated different booking times and duration periods of time that would be offered to a booking request, wherein, this information would be utilised as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict. In one embodiment, the data base includes the different time that would be required to prepare and re-set tables for re-use by day and by time as part of the algorithm to allocate bookings and ensure booking times accepted did not overlap or conflict due to the requirement to reset tables. In one embodiment, the database includes sub-space constraint information regarding sub-spaces with the space available within the venue, whereby the iterative and structured allocation of requests for each sub-space, independent of other sub-spaces, to optimise and/or prioritise the allocation of space and time within each sub-space. In one embodiment, the database includes section constraint information regarding sections within each of the spaces and sub-spaces available within the venue, whereby the iterative allocation of requests occurs for each section, independent or in conjunction with other sections, to optimise and/or prioritise the allocation of space and time within each section. Petroulas paragraphs 376-377 teaching a product has specific attributes and those attributes can include an association with a specific service period, booking time, booking duration time, day of the week, date, group size and/or occasion. The product may include or be associated with one or more services, including extended duration time, location within a venue, class of tables within a venue specific type of table, specific table within a venue, specific level of service. Petroulas paragraph 384 teaching in one embodiment, the system is arranged to calculate and collect information concerning the duration times of customers and associating the duration times with relevant constraint information. The constraint information may include menu, menu courses, time of booking, day of booking, occasion, and/or group size. The collected information is used to provide recommendations or autonomously adjust booking duration times allowed for different areas, subareas, sections or classes at different times, menus and courses offered. Petroulas paragraph 736 teaching the constraint information may further include patron identifiers, such as, but not limited to, a unique seat or position at each table. This allows for specific identification of patrons and the particulars of the request made to use the space. For example, when the request is made, the system may allocate each of the patrons to a position number, such that the patrons can preselect a menu item or items, drinks or any other particular aspect of their experience at the venue, and corresponding pay in advance for the experience, where the preselected items would be associated with each position number. In a further embodiment there are provided sensors at specific locations to identify the arrival and the seating of individual people at a specific position number at the table as well as knowing when all guests have arrived and the table is complete. In one embodiment, the sensors may be located in a table and/or chair. In another embodiment, sensors are provided at spaced apart locations within the venue, wherein the sensors are capable of locating individuals within a particular space.)
and calculating a forecast of secondary use period of use which remains between the actual departure times and starting times of the bookings of different clients, which is released for booking for other than primary use. (Petroulas paragraphs 382-386 teaching in one embodiment, the algorithm interrogates the data base to locate unbooked periods of time longer than the minimum time required to consume a one course menu to match an appropriate menu or menu(s) to the periods of time, wherein the system offers the located booking times and booking durations to users at a discounted cost. This allows the system to autonomously “backfill” unused time slots, which increases restaurant revenue while minimising discounts offered for other non-constrained bookings. In one embodiment, the data base is interrogated to find periods of time that contain short lead time unallocated space, sub-space, section, tables or chairs and offering such space at a discount in order to create and have a standby list of customers. In one embodiment, the system is arranged to calculate and collect information concerning the duration times of customers and associating the duration times with relevant constraint information. The constraint information may include menu, menu courses, time of booking, day of booking, occasion, and/or group size. The collected information is used to provide recommendations or autonomously adjust booking duration times allowed for different areas, subareas, sections or classes at different times, menus and courses offered. In one embodiment, the seating allocation of a restaurant is analysed by comparing the hypothetical actions which would have been taken by a system in accordance with the invention, to actions taken by a manual intervention, to determine whether the autonomous action or the manual intervention provides or provided a more favourable outcome using a customer's CRM or social media ranking. In one embodiment, restaurant capacity is calculated as the product of the tables that are capable of incorporation into the space including additional tables as they would have been included by the autonomous use of the allocation algorithms and the number of chairs and the number of hours that the restaurant is open for service. This hypothetical calculated capacity is utilised as a benchmark and used to compare to real life performance (specifically against manual interventions performed by a member of staff) to evaluate whether the manual intervention produces a more desirable result. If so, the algorithm autonomously adjusts the algorithm and allocation process. Petroulas paragraph 736 teaching the constraint information may further include patron identifiers, such as, but not limited to, a unique seat or position at each table. This allows for specific identification of patrons and the particulars of the request made to use the space. For example, when the request is made, the system may allocate each of the patrons to a position number, such that the patrons can preselect a menu item or items, drinks or any other particular aspect of their experience at the venue, and corresponding pay in advance for the experience, where the preselected items would be associated with each position number. In a further embodiment there are provided sensors at specific locations to identify the arrival and the seating of individual people at a specific position number at the table as well as knowing when all guests have arrived and the table is complete. In one embodiment, the sensors may be located in a table and/or chair. In another embodiment, sensors are provided at spaced apart locations within the venue, wherein the sensors are capable of locating individuals within a particular space. Petroulas paragraph 757 teaching in an embodiment, the predictive module 220 may also be used for optimising the use of resources in a restaurant or venue, where the predictive module 220 uses the processors 210 to accesses historical and live data regarding the use of the resources of a restaurant stored in the database 212. The predictive module 220 also accesses the information regarding the actual usable resources at any given period of time collected by the user interface 218. The predicative module 220 utilises the optimisation module 208 and processor 210 to analyse the historical and current “live” data and the actual usable resource data and determine the relative optimal use of the usable restaurant resources for the any given period of time using a yield determination algorithm, or any other similar deterministic algorithm.)
Petroulas does not teach or suggest determining a primary use of a piece of furniture that can be folded out of the user's reach inside the walls and/or other structures, wherein the piece of furniture includes an electrically controlled locking mechanism and a locking device(s), the electrically controlled locking mechanism including at least one sensor and/or switch for identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use, the locking device(s) configured to open/lock the piece of furniture in the primary position use and the secondary position of use; programmatically controlling the piece of furniture in connection with,
However McLaughlin teaches determining a primary use of a piece of furniture that can be folded out of the user's reach inside the walls and/or other structures, wherein the piece of furniture includes an electrically controlled locking mechanism and a locking device(s), the electrically controlled locking mechanism including at least one sensor and/or switch for identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use, the locking device(s) configured to open/lock the piece of furniture in the primary position use and the secondary position of use; programmatically controlling the piece of furniture in connection with (McLaughlin paragraph 32 teaching collectively, embodiments of the present invention comprises four distinct room layouts: the Standard Room, the Corner Room, the Flex Room, and the Bunk Room. As described herein, each of the different room layouts may have a corresponding room type identifier, which may be associated with a room identifier so as to indicate that the room associated with the room identifier comprises the room type (i.e. layout) corresponding to the room type identifier. In various embodiments, for example, at booking or at some time thereafter, a customer can select the specific combination of proximate rooms that he or she wishes. Because the rooms have different capacities and different customizable features that facilitate different activities, a customer has the ability to choose the specific combination of rooms that most efficiently and effectively accommodates his or her particular group or specialized use. Uniquely, a customer has the flexibility to book three or more distinct rooms and have them all selectively linked so as to create a single linked corridor that runs continuously through the entirety of the customer's plurality of linked rooms. Notably, each of these room layouts can be fully functional independent of other potentially linked rooms. As shown in FIGS. 2, 3, 4, and 7, each of the respective room layouts can come equipped with basic accommodation elements, including, but not limited to, a bed 5, a wardrobe compartment 2, an integrated vanity/sink 3, a desk 4, a toilet 7, a stand-alone shower 8, and a window 10. Although described with regards to four distinct available room layouts, any combination of the room layouts or multiples of the room layouts could be configured to create a set of two, three, five, six, or more selectively linked rooms. McLaughlin paragraph 35 teaching as shown in FIGS. 4-7, one aspect of the Flex Room layout 40 comprises a hotel room configuration complete with each of the aforementioned basic elements that would allow this room to be suitable for a single-room accommodation as well as two linking doors 1 on both ends of the room to accommodate a guest's preferred linked configuration. Distinct from both the Standard Room 20 and the Corner Room 30, this embodiment of the Flex Room 40 has a space-saving desk 4 and a bed 5 that may be lowered into a sleeping position, or folded about a pivot point into a raised position against a wall (i.e. a “wall” bed). Further, the illustrated embodiment of the Flex room comprises an elongated vanity/wet bar 3 and additional seating 41, a sofa 42, and a coffee table 43 to accommodate a more social setting. FIG. 6 depicts an aspect of the Flex Room layout 40 wherein the bed 5 is arranged in a raised position so as to maximize floor space and further facilitate social interaction amongst a group of guests. In such a configuration, the back cushions of the sofa 42 may be arranged so as to rest against the wall created by the raised bed 5. Conversely, FIG. 7 depicts an aspect of the Flex Room layout 40 wherein the bed 5 is lowered in a sleeping position that can comfortably sleep two guests. In such a configuration, the bed 5 may be lowered to rest upon the coffee table 43 and the back cushions of the sofa may be selectively stored within a storage compartment located underneath the front cushions of the sofa 42 or elsewhere in the room.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bookings and allocations of furniture within a space as taught in Petroulas to incorporate determining a primary use of a piece of furniture that can be folded out of the user's reach inside the walls and/or other structures, wherein the piece of furniture includes an electrically controlled locking mechanism and a locking device(s), the electrically controlled locking mechanism including at least one sensor and/or switch for identifying the primary position of use and the secondary position of use, the locking device(s) configured to open/lock the piece of furniture in the primary position use and the secondary position of use; programmatically controlling the piece of furniture in connection with as taught in McLaughlin with the motivation of allowing guests to manipulate the furniture to enable them to maximize floor depending on the occasion. (McLaughlin paragraphs 32 and 35)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shell et al. (US 20200242575) -directed to providing a discrete workspace.
/Michael J. Monaghan/Examiner, Art Unit 3629