DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gu (EP 3708407 A1).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Gu discloses a device for controlling an electric vehicle and a method for controlling an electric vehicle (electric vehicle 100, figs.1-9), the electric vehicle having a power consumption suppression mode with a priority given to suppression of power consumption and a driving performance mode with a priority given to driving performance as a control mode (economic mode 301, sports mode 302, automatic mode 300, fig.3) for distributing a required torque to a front torque (torque from front motor 105, figs.1-2) that is a torque generated in a front wheel (fig.1) and a rear torque (torque from rear motor 106, figs.1-2) that is a torque generated in a rear wheel (fig.1) and adjusting the distribution of the required torque, the method comprising:
in the power consumption suppression mode, distributing the required torque more to either the front torque or the rear torque (paragraphs [0016 and 0029]);
in the driving performance mode, reducing the front torque or the rear torque to which the required torque is distributed more in the power consumption suppression mode (paragraphs [0032-0033, 0039, and 0043], fig.2);
acquiring a temperature of one drive system of a front drive system for driving the front wheel and a rear drive system for driving the rear wheel, the one drive system corresponding to the front torque or the rear torque to which the required torque is distributed more in the power consumption suppression mode (paragraphs [0013-0014]);
limiting the front torque or the rear torque to which the required torque is distributed more in the power consumption suppression mode by setting, for the front torque or the rear torque to which the required torque is distributed more in the power consumption suppression mode, an upper limit value corresponding to the temperature of the corresponding drive system (paragraphs [0008-0009, 0013-0014, 0034-00036, 0039-0044, and 0049-0054], figs.1-9);
when the control mode is the power consumption suppression mode, switching the control mode to the driving performance mode after the upper limit value starts to decrease according to the temperature of the drive system and before the front torque or the rear torque to which the required torque is distributed more in the power consumption suppression mode is limited to the upper limit value, and thereby maintaining a total torque, which is a sum of the front torque and the rear torque, at the required torque (switching between economic mode and sports mode, figs.1-9, paragraphs [0033, 0035-0037, 0046, 0052-0054]);
and switching the control mode from the driving performance mode to the power consumption suppression mode when the upper limit value increases after the control mode is switched from the power consumption suppression mode to the driving performance mode (switching between economic mode and sports mode, figs.1-9, paragraphs [0033, 0035-0037, 0046, 0052-0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (EP 3708407 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Gu discloses wherein in the power consumption suppression mode, the required torque is distributed more to the front torque than to the rear torque (paragraph [0029], economic mode, front drive mode is used at a high speed, paragraph [0031], front drive, fig.2), in the driving performance mode, the required torque is distributed less to the front torque as compared with the power consumption suppression mode (Gu discloses switching between the economic mode and sports mode, and different driving modes of four-wheel drive, front drive, and rear drive; it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the different modes and drives would distribute the torque differently for the different performance needs and the required front torque for one mode could be less than another), a temperature of the front drive system for driving the front wheel is acquired (paragraphs [0013-0014]), an output of the front torque is limited by setting the upper limit value corresponding to the temperature of the front drive system for the distributed front torque (paragraphs [0013-0014]), and when the control mode is the power consumption suppression mode, the control mode is switched to the driving performance mode after the upper limit value decreases and before the output of the front torque is limited to the upper limit value (switching between different drive modes four-wheel drive, front drive, or rear drive based on temperature thresholds, paragraphs [0013-0014, 0053, and 0056], it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the control mode would put the automatic mode 300 in economic mode 301 when the motors are above a temperature threshold to allow them to cool down and then put it back in sports mode when the torque and acceleration are demanded and temperatures have lowered).
Regarding claim 13, Gu discloses wherein the temperature of the front drive system is a temperature of an electric motor that generates the front torque, a temperature of an inverter that drives the electric motor, or both the temperature of the electric motor and the temperature of the inverter (paragraphs [0013-0014, 0053, and 0056]).
Regarding claim 14, Gu discloses wherein a first threshold serving as a condition for switching from the power consumption suppression mode to the driving performance mode is set in advance for the upper limit value, and when the upper limit value is equal to or smaller than the first threshold, the control mode is switched from the power consumption suppression mode to the driving performance mode (switching between economic mode and sports mode, figs.1-9, paragraphs [0033, 0035-0037, 0046, 0052-0054], Gu discloses switching between operation modes and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that under certain circumstances and the controllers have preset values in their memory to switch between the different modes based on preset values for different conditions).
Regarding claim 15, Gu discloses wherein when the control mode is to be switched, change rates of the front torque and the rear torque are limited (paragraph [0038], figs.3-6).
Regarding claim 16, Gu discloses wherein a second threshold serving as a return condition to the power consumption suppression mode is set in advance for the upper limit value, and when the upper limit value is equal to or larger than the second threshold, the control mode is returned to the power consumption suppression mode (switching between economic mode and sports mode, figs.1-9, paragraphs [0033, 0035-0037, 0046, 0052-0054], Gu discloses switching between operation modes and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that under certain circumstances and the controllers have preset values in their memory to switch between the different modes based on preset values for different conditions).
Regarding claim 17, Gu discloses wherein when the control mode is the power consumption suppression mode and the electric vehicle travels on an uphill road, the control mode is switched to the driving performance mode after the upper limit value decreases and before the output of the front torque is limited to the upper limit value (switching between economic mode and sports mode, figs.1-9, paragraphs [0033, 0035-0037, 0046, 0052-0054], Gu discloses switching between operation modes with the sports mode having acceleration demand and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that under certain circumstances and the controllers have preset values in their memory to switch between the different modes based on preset values for different conditions).
Regarding claim 18, Gu discloses wherein when the control mode is the power consumption suppression mode and the electric vehicle travels while towing another vehicle, the control mode is switched to the driving performance mode after the upper limit value decreases and before the output of the front torque is limited to the upper limit value (switching between economic mode and sports mode, figs.1-9, paragraphs [0033, 0035-0037, 0046, 0052-0054], Gu discloses switching between operation modes and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that under certain circumstances and the controllers have preset values in their memory to switch between the different modes based on preset values for different conditions).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613