DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 2020/0154772) in view of Gouda (US 5422442).
Regarding Claim 1, Lim discloses a casing (2) for securing an aerosol generating article (1) which comprises at least one ferromagnetic element (182-attaching member specified to be a magnet as discussed in Paragraph 0131), the casing comprising a cavity (230) comprising a base portion and a first side portion comprising at least one ferromagnetic element (274) configured to attract the at least one ferromagnetic element of the article. The cavity is configured to secure the aerosol generating article in a first position (flat against the base) and in a second position (tilted as shown in Fig. 2), wherein in the first position, the aerosol generating article is configured to be secured by the base portion and in the second position, the aerosol generating article is configured to be secured by the first side portion, wherein the at least one ferromagnetic element of the first side portion of the casing is configured to engage with the at least one ferromagnetic element of the article such that the aerosol generating article is held against the first side portion, wherein the aerosol generating article in the second position is rotated by 10° to 70°; compared to the aerosol generating article in the first position (Paragraph 0055). Lim does not explicitly disclose one or more further side portions.
Gouda discloses in Figures 12-14 a similar casing for the retaining an article (14) in a cavity having a having a sloped surface (15e) for tilting an end of the article towards a user by pushing the article against the angled fulcrum base surface and comprising further side portions (15f, 15b, 15a, 15c – Col. 12 Lines 3-35). Lim and Gouda are analogous inventions in the art of casings which allows for an article to be tilted and raised to become accessible.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cradle of Lim with the sidewalls shown in Gouda to provide a lock projection to maintain the article within the holder below a plane consisting of the upper surface of the main body (Col. 11 Line 61-Col. 12 Line 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Lim discloses the at least one ferromagnetic element of the first side portion of the casing is configured to engage with the at least one ferromagnetic element of the aerosol generating article by a magnetic attractive force.
Regarding Claim 3, while Gouda does not explicitly disclose the one or more further side portions are substantially perpendicular to the base portion, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the sidewall portions may be configured in various ways to best accommodate the article held in the cradle.
Regarding Claim 4, Lim discloses the first side portion forms an angle between 10° and 70°, relative to the base portion of the cavity.
Regarding Claim 5, Gouda discloses that a portion of the article is configured to engage with one or more of the one or more further side portions (15f, 15g) while in the first flat position as a pressure keeping slope (Col. 12 Lines 27-31).
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, Gouda discloses the one or more further side portions consisting of a second side portion, a third side portion and a fourth side portion. While Gouda does not explicitly disclose the first side portion is substantially opposite to the second side portion, and the third side portion is substantially opposite to the fourth side portion, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the sides of the depression may be made opposite as an obvious variation in the size and shape of the cavity in order to accommodate differently sized items.
Regarding Claim 7, Lim discloses the cavity is further configured such that the aerosol generating article is configured to move from the first position to the second position by a rotation movement around a rotational axis extending in a lateral direction of the cavity and positioned at a side of the first side portion.
Regarding Claim 8, Lim discloses the cavity is further configured such that the aerosol generating article is configured to move from the first position to the second position by a rotation movement around a rotational axis extending in a lateral direction of the cavity and positioned at a side of the first side portion.
Regarding Claim 9, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the magnetic attractive force between the at least one ferromagnetic element of the article and the least one ferromagnetic element of the first side portion of the casing seen in Lim is configured to has have a magnitude such that the aerosol generating article moves from the first position to the second position only if the aerosol generating article is translated and/or rotated towards the first side portion.
Regarding Claim 13, Lim discloses the casing is configured to electrically charge the aerosol generating article when the aerosol generating article is in the first position by way of the terminals (170 and 260).
Regarding Claim 14, Lim discloses the casing according to claim 1 and an aerosol generating article secured by the casing.
Regarding Claims 15-16, Lim discloses values within the range claimed.
Regarding Claims 17-18, Lim discloses angles within the claimed range (Paragraph 0049).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modified Lim in view of Gouda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tuttle (US 1956936).
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Lim discloses the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Modified Lim does not disclose a retracting member different from the base portion and the one or more side portions, wherein the retracting member is configured to be brought into a configuration in which the retracting member holds the article in the first position.
Tuttle discloses a similar casing for an article (10) which is configured to tilt (by way of spring (22, 23) with a retracting member (lid 3) different from the base portion and the one or more side portions, wherein the retracting member is configured to be brought into a configuration in which the retracting member holds the article in the first position Page 2 Line 55-Line 90). Modified Lim and Tuttle are analogous inventions in the art of cases with tilting mechanisms for aligning a detachable article.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cradle of Modified Lim with the lid retracting member seen in Tuttle in order to position the removable article into a convenient position for withdrawal whenever the container lid is opened (Page 2 Lines 85-91)
Regarding Claim 11, Tuttle discloses the retracting member is a cover which is configured to be positioned over an opening of the cavity (4) to cover the opening of the cavity.
Regarding Claim 12, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the spring positioning means seen in Tuttle may be modified to operate using the magnetic means seen in Lim in order to have a magnitude such that the aerosol generating article moves from the first position to the second position when the retracting member is not configured to hold the article in the first position and position the article tilted upwards for access by a user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In particular, please note Lan (US 2020/0328607) and Rehders (US 2018/0251286).
/GIDEON R WEINERTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736