DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ASBECK (US 2011/0113924 A1).
Re 1, ASBECK teaches of an apparatus for manufacturing slabs from powdery raw material, the apparatus comprising:
- a lower die 16, defining a moulding cavity 28;
- a feeding device 3, configured to receive a charge 10 of the powdery raw material and to feed the charge of the powdery raw material to the moulding cavity 28 (see Fig. 1);
- an upper die 22, provided with an upper punch 25 and movable relative to the lower die along a vertical direction, between an open position, where the upper punch is spaced from the lower die to allow loading the charge into the moulding cavity 28, and a pressing position, where the upper punch is inserted into the moulding cavity to compress the charge to form the slab (compactate or blank, see [0026]), wherein the upper die and the lower die are also displaceable to a pre-pressing position, vertically interposed between the open position and the pressing position, wherein, in the pre-pressing position, the moulding cavity is closed by the upper punch to prevent the charge from moving out of the moulding cavity but, at the same, it is in air communication with a surrounding air volume;
- a sealing arrangement (see sidewall 22) configured to keep the moulding cavity and said surrounding air volume airtight, in the pre-pressing and pressing positions of the upper die and the lower die;
- a vacuum system 27 (evacuation system, see [0014]), configured to suck air from the moulding cavity in the pre-pressing position of the upper die and the lower die, and to keep a negative pressure inside the moulding cavity in the pressing position of the upper die and the lower die (the air sucked through the gas permeable filter insert 26).
Re 2 (upon 1), wherein the lower die includes a bottom wall (16) and a lateral wall (11) cooperating with the bottom wall to delimit the moulding cavity, the bottom wall and the lateral wall being movable relative to one another along the vertical direction.
(see Fig. 1)
Re 3 (upon 2), wherein the lower die 15, 16) includes a lower punch, defining the bottom wall, and a lower block, defining the lateral wall and having a top surface which extends along a horizontal plane perpendicular to the vertical direction, wherein the lower punch and the lower block are movable along the vertical direction relative to each other to be displaceable between an alignment position, where the bottom wall is flush with the top surface so that the bottom wall and the top surface lie in the same feeding plane, and an offset position, where the bottom wall is placed below the top surface so as to define the moulding cavity (see Figs. 1-2 with the movement of the lower punch and the block, and the walls, particularly of the movement for the material from the filling position to the positioning in the punch).
Re 4 (upon 3), comprising (see Fig. 1) a feeding surface which extends along the feeding plane (see movement via displacement rod 12, and see support table 8), wherein the feeding device (see 3, 5) defines a passage oriented vertically and is movable in a working direction parallel to the feeding surface, in sliding contact with the feeding surface, between a loading position (see Fig. 1), where the feeding device receives the charge of powdery raw material, and an unloading position, where the passage is vertically aligned with the bottom wall, so that, in the unloading position (see Figs. 1 and 2), the charge is contained in a volume delimited by the passage and the bottom wall.
Re 9 (upon 2), wherein the bottom wall is movable vertically with respect to the lateral wall. (see movement of the bottom wall 16 of the punch/die)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IWASAKI (US 4534721 A) in view KONDO (US 2004/0113319 A1).
IWASAKI teaches of the prepressing operation of vacuuming.
Re 15, IWASAKI teaches of a method for manufacturing slabs from powdery raw material, the method comprising the following steps:
- providing a lower die (11), defining a moulding cavity;
- providing an upper die (1) with an upper punch (2);
- moving the upper die and the lower die relative to one another, along a vertical direction (see operation between Figs. 1 and 2), between an open position and a pressing position, to compress a charge of the powdery raw material to form the slab (compact B);
- feeding the charge of the powdery raw material to the moulding cavity through a feeding device (charger 14), when the upper die and the lower die are in the open position (see Fig. 1);
- displacing the upper die and the lower die in a configuration intermediate between the open position and the pressing position, so that the upper die and the lower die are in a pre- pressing position, wherein, in the pre-pressing position, the moulding cavity is closed by the upper punch to prevent the charge from moving out of the moulding cavity but, at the same time, it is in air communication with a surrounding air volume (see Figs. 1-3, wherein, teaching of the vacuum step prior to compression, see Col. 4, lines 28-35);
- keeping the moulding cavity and said surrounding air volume airtight, when the upper die is in the pre-pressing position and in the pressing position (see Fig. 2);
- sucking air from the moulding cavity, when the upper die and the lower die are in the pre- pressing position, and keeping a negative pressure inside the moulding cavity while pressing the charge (see Col. 4, lines 28-35).
IWASAKI fails to teach “the powdery raw material being cathode active material for rechargeable batteries”.
Whereupon, KONDO teaches of powder forming, including teaching of punches for the powder granule, see Fig. 1, see also [0135], see also Fig. 8, of the compression and further teaching of suction box 58, 61, see Fig. 12, for removal of powder residue. Whereupon, the KONDO further provides teaching of powder compacting that are known in various industries, including molding of battery related products, see [0003-0004].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified IWASAKI with the forming of the powder material for batteries as taught by KONDO as this can be seen under KSR rationale, see MPEP 2143, as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Re 16 (upon 15), see IWASAKI, Fig. 1, that teaches of comprising the following steps:
- providing the lower die with a bottom wall and a lateral wall cooperating with the bottom wall to delimit the moulding cavity;
- moving the bottom wall and the lateral wall relative to one another, along the vertical direction;
- providing the lower die with a lower punch, defining the bottom wall, and with a lower block, defining the lateral wall and having a top surface which extends along a horizontal plane perpendicular to the vertical direction, wherein, the lateral wall cooperates with the bottom wall to delimit the moulding cavity;
- moving the lower punch and the lower block along the vertical direction relative to each other between an alignment position, where the bottom wall is flush with the top surface so that the bottom wall and the top surface lie in the same feeding plane, and an offset position, where the bottom wall is placed below the top surface so as to define the moulding cavity,
- moving the bottom wall vertically with respect to the lateral wall.
Re 17 (upon 16), IWASAKI further teaches of comprising the following steps:
- providing the feeding device with a passage oriented vertically;
- moving the feeding device (5) into sliding contact with a feeding surface and in a working direction parallel to the feeding surface between a loading position and an unloading position (see Figs. 1 and 3), wherein the feeding surface extends along the feeding plane;- loading the feeding device (15) with the charge in the loading position;- vertically aligning the passage (see Figs. 1-3) with the bottom wall in the unloading position, so that, in the unloading position, the charge is contained in a volume delimited by the passage and the bottom wall.
Re 18 (upon 17), see teaching by IWASAKI of the additional comprising the following steps:
- providing a pick-up device (18 with grips 19);
- moving the pick-up device along the working direction, between a pick-up position and a delivery position (See Fig. 3);
- grabbing the formed slab through the pick-up device in the pick-up position (see grips 19 that would grab the compact B);
- providing the slab through the pick-up device to an outlet (see outlet at location, see Fig. 3 wherein the compact B is upon a conveyor 21) in the delivery position;
- connecting the pick-up device and the feeding device to a carriage;
- moving the carriage backwards and forwards along the working direction (see movement via the cylinders 20, which are the equivalent to the carriage);
- placing the pick-up device upstream of the feeding device in the forward direction defined from the loading position towards the outlet;
- placing the feeding device in the loading position when the pick-up device is in the pick-up position;
- placing the feeding device in the unloading position when the pick-up device is in the unloading position. (see operation of the pick up device 18, Fig. 3)
Re 19 (upon 15), wherein, the step of sucking air from the molding cavity begins when the upper die and the lower die are in the pre-pressing position, and continues during the movement of the upper die downwards along the vertical direction between the pre-pressing position to a position where the upper punch is in contact with the powder inside the cavity. (see teaching by IWASAKI with the suctioning in the top and bottom, see teaching of evacuating form the upper and lower chambers, see Col. 4, lines 29-35.)
Re 20 (upon 15), wherein suction channels are provided in the lower die and in the upper die for sucking air from the molding cavity, so that air is sucked both from above and below the moulding cavity. (see teaching by IWASAKI with the suctioning in the top and bottom, see teaching of evacuating form the upper and lower chambers, see Col. 4, lines 29-35.)
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASBECK as shown in claim 1 above.
Re 11 (upon 1), wherein the lower die includes a plurality of moulding cavities arranged to form an array of moulding cavities, and wherein the upper die includes a plurality of upper punches, each upper punch being configured to cooperate with a corresponding moulding cavity to form a respective slab of a plurality of slabs.
This is seen as a multiplication of the parts of the cavities and punches for a plural effect, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), whereby it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have duplicated the molding cavities and punches as this would allow for production of a plural slabs simultaneously,
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASBECK as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of NAKAI (US 2006/0022371 A1)
Re 12 (upon 1), comprising a heating system, connected to the lower die and to the upper die to keep them at a predetermined temperature. ASBECK does not specifically teach of the heating system.
NAKAI teaches of a powder molding that includes upper and lower punch, see [0014-0016] and having a heater provided to maintain the temperature of the punches.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modify ASBECK with a heating system as taught by NAKAI for maintaining the desired temperature of the powders during operation.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASBECK as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of OGATA (US 2019/0176428 A1).
Re 13 (upon 1), wherein the lower die includes a bottom wall and a lateral wall cooperating with the bottom wall to delimit the moulding cavity, wherein the bottom wall, the lateral wall and the upper punch are made from stainless steel.
See teaching by OGATA teaches of the punch/die for tableting of the powder, see [0051], where upon, as seen in Fig. 2 of the punch tip that includes metal base material such as iron-based material such as stainless steel that can be used, this allows for a punch tip excellent in workability and unlikely for cracking or chipping to occur, see [0035].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modify the die, walls, and punch of IWASAKI with construction from stainless steel as taught by OGATA as a known material used, particularly for its known properties of workability and being unlikely to crack or chip during operation.
Re 14 (upon 12), wherein the upper punch and the lower punch has a first layer and a second layer removably connected to the first layer, the second layer being in contact with the powdery raw material, wherein the second layer of the upper punch and of the lower punch is made from stainless steel.
(see teaching by OGATA with the upper punch 14 and lower punch 16, see also teachings of the layers that include base body 10 and of the punch tips 14a, 16a, with tableting surface layer 20, see Fig. 1, see also [0024].)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASBECK as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of GALL (US 2015/0158057 A1).
Re 10 (upon 1), having an inlet to receive the powdery raw material and an outlet, to receive the formed slabs, the apparatus further comprising a particle suction system, configured to remove airborne particles, the particle suction system having a first hood and a second hood, connected to the upper die, wherein the first hood is placed upstream of the moulding cavity in an advancing direction defined from the inlet towards the outlet and is configured to remove the airborne particles from the surroundings of moulding cavity and wherein the second hood is placed downstream of the moulding cavity in the advancing direction and is configured to remove the airborne particles from the surroundings of the outlet.
ASBECK does not specifically teach of the hoods.
GALL teaches of powder pressing and further in which the features include suction zones and includes cleaning tunnel which would be equivalent to the claimed hood, see [0013-0014], wherein, there is removal of dust, particles, contaminants, wherein, the evacuation would prevent carryover particles from other zones, and further teaching of the space 4 that includes a particle removal, and thereby allowing for removal of more intensive cleaning measures. Wherein, the teaching of the first and second hoods being plural
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified ASBECK with the hoods for removal of airborne particles as taught by GALL that allows for removal of the particles along the desired locations along the system.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASBECK as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of IWASAKI (US 4534721 A).
Re 5 (upon 4), further comprising:- an outlet, wherein the formed slabs are provided at the outlet;- a pick-up device, movable along the working direction, between a pick-up position, where the pick-up device grabs the formed slab, and a delivery position, where the pick-up device delivers the slab to the outlet.
ASBECK fails to teach of the pick-up device.
Wherein, IWASAKI teaches of formed slabs from the pressing machine, and having an outlet with conveyor 21, and further having pick up device 18 and having hydraulic cylinder 13 for movement.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified ASBECK with a pickup device as taught by IWASAKI as a known configuration for removal of the formed product from the system, under KSR rationale, see MPEP 2143, as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Re 6 (upon 5), comprising a carriage, configured to move backwards and forwards along the working direction, wherein the pick- up device and the feeding device are connected to the carriage, wherein the pick-up device is positioned upstream of the feeding device in the forward direction defined from the loading position towards the outlet, and wherein, in the pick-up position of the pick-up device, the feeding device is placed in the loading position, and, in the delivery position of the pick-up device, the feeding device is placed in the unloading position. (see teaching Fig. 3 by IWASAKI).
Re 7 (upon 5), wherein in the pick-up position of the pick-up device, the bottom wall is configured to be moved upwards along the vertical direction and the lateral wall is configured to be displaced downwards along the vertical axis. (see teaching in ASBECK)
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IWASAKI (US 4534721 A) in view of GALL (US 2015/0158057 A1).
Re 21, wherein, IWASAKI teaches of - an upper die (1), provided with an upper punch (2) and movable relative to the lower die along a vertical direction, between an open position, where the upper punch is spaced from the lower die to allow loading the charge into the moulding cavity (see Fig. 1), and a pressing position (see Fig. 2), where the upper punch is inserted into the moulding cavity to compress the charge to form the slab, wherein the upper die and the lower die are also displaceable to a pre-pressing position, vertically interposed between the open position and the pressing position, wherein, in the pre- pressing position (see Figs. 1-3, wherein, teaching of the vacuum step prior to compression, see Col. 4, lines 28-35), the moulding cavity is closed by the upper punch to prevent the charge from moving out of the moulding cavity but, at the same, it is in air communication with a surrounding air volume (see Fig. 2);
- a sealing arrangement (see teaching in Fig. 2) configured to keep the moulding cavity and said surrounding air volume airtight, in the pre-pressing and pressing positions of the upper die and the lower die; the apparatus having an inlet to receive the powdery raw material and an outlet, to receive the formed slabs (compact B), the apparatus further comprising a particle suction system, configured to remove airborne particles (see teaching of air being evacuated which would be capable of removing airborne particles, see Col. 5, lines 19-23).
IWASAKI fails to teach of “the particle suction system having a first hood and a second hood, connected to the upper die, wherein the first hood is placed upstream of the moulding cavity in an advancing direction defined from the inlet towards the outlet and is configured to remove the airborne particles from the surroundings of moulding cavity and wherein the second hood is placed downstream of the moulding cavity in the advancing direction and is configured to remove the airborne particles from the surroundings of the outlet.”
GALL teaches of powder pressing and further in which the features include suction zones and includes cleaning tunnel which would be equivalent to the claimed hood, see [0013-0014], wherein, there is removal of dust, particles, contaminants, wherein, the evacuation would prevent carryover particles from other zones, and further teaching of the space 4 that includes a particle removal, and thereby allowing for removal of more intensive cleaning measures. Wherein, the teaching of the first and second hoods being plural
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified IWASAKI with the hoods for removal of airborne particles as taught by GALL that allows for removal of the particles along the desired locations along the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re 8 (upon 6), further comprising:- a pair of sliding bars extending longitudinally and spaced from each other along a first horizontal axis, each sliding bar having a first end and a second end, the first horizontal axis being orthogonal to a second horizontal axis along the working direction, wherein the carriage is configured to slide on the sliding bars backwards and forwards and along the working direction;- a plurality of longitudinal wheels distributed on each bar of the sliding bars along the working direction and configured to support the weight of the carriage along the sliding bars and to allow the carriage to move backwards and forwards along the working direction;- a plurality of transversal wheels placed at two ends of each sliding bar and arranged rotated by 90 degrees with respect to the longitudinal wheels, to keep the carriage aligned with the working direction along which it moves, wherein the longitudinal and transversal wheels are made from rubber.
(Wherein, the operation of the hydraulic cylinder of the pickup device of IWASAKI would be equivalent to the claimed sliding bars wheel for operation. The
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 form, generally teaching of powder tableting, of note:
IWASAKI (US 3794458 A) teaches of brick press that includes powder feeding and further teaching of vacuum pump to create a desired degree of vacuum of the material.
NAKAMURA (US 20020051726 A1) teaches of powder feeding and pressing of the powder in the cavity.
/EMMANUEL S LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744