DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 thru 8 have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “39” has been used to designate both the hydraulic motor (P0020] and Figure 2 (in and an element below left AXLE (Figure 2). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: In Figure 2, reference number “40” is not in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a travel device configured to cause travel, and a brake device configured to brake in claims 1 and 6; a setting device operable to set in claims 2 and 7; and a brake operating member operable to adjust in claim 4.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The travel device is interpreted to include “axles 26, 27, front wheels 28A, 28B, and rear wheels 28C, 28D” (P[0022], Figures 1 and 2). The brake device is interpreted as hydraulic brakes P[0025], wet-type multi-plate brakes P[0025], front brakes and rear brakes P[0025]. The setting device is interpreted as a dial-type switch, a slide-type switch, a push-button-type switch, or a touch panel P[0041]. The brake operating member is interpreted as a pedal, level or switch P[0035].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami et al Patent Number 6,052,644 in view of Crombez Chinese Patent Application Publication Number CN 107521476 A (translation cited).
Regarding claims 1 and 6 Murakami et al teach the claimed work machine, a working vehicle (title), and the claimed method for controlling a work machine, flowcharts of Figures 4 and 15, comprising:
the claimed drive source, engine 45 (Figure 1);
the claimed transmission connected to the drive source, transmission 65 (Figure 1), and an engine is connected to an input shaft of a transmission (column 1 lines 51 and 52);
the claimed travel device connected to the transmission and configured to cause the work machine to travel, the transmission is connected to the driving rear wheels (column 1 lines 53 and 54), and “the number of rotations per unit time of the driving rear wheels 84 can be calculated to detect the vehicle speed” (column 15 lines 33 thru 35);
the claimed brake device to brake the travel device, “The brake control device 70 inputs a brake operating signal from the vehicle speed limit control means 11, and actuates a brake control valve based on that signal to control the brake 75.” (column 15 lines 9 thru 12 and Figure 1), and “The brake 75 is generally used for continuously controlling a traveling vehicle speed of the working vehicle.” (column 16 lines 15 thru 17); and
the claimed controller, vehicle speed control device 10 (Figure 1), configured to
the claimed acquire a brake command to brake the work machine, “The vehicle speed limit control means 11 controls an engine 45, a transmission 65 and a brake 75 through an engine control device 40, a speed change control device 60, and a brake control device 70, respectively.” (column 14 lines 10 thru 14), “The vehicle speed limit control means 11 inputs a depressing stroke signal and a vehicle speed signal, and outputs the inputted depressing stroke signal to the engine control device 40 when the vehicle speed signal is smaller than the vehicle speed limit value.” (column 14 lines 36 thru 40), and “The brake control device 70 inputs a brake operating signal from the vehicle speed limit control means 11, and actuates a brake control valve based on that signal to control the brake 75.” (column 15 lines 9 thru 12);
the claimed determine a target braking force in response to the brake command, “when the CPU 20 outputs the brake actuating command data to the register 32, the brake controller 71 actuates the brake control valve 72 to apply the brake 75, so that the vehicle speed decreases gradually” (column 23 lines 54 thru 57);
the claimed acquire transmission information indicating a state of the transmission, “The speed change control device 60 is composed of a speed change controller 61 and a speed change control valve 62. The speed change controller 61 inputs switched vehicle speed data obtained when upshifting or downshifting corresponding to each speed stage, and the present vehicle speed data from the vehicle speed limit control means 11, and compares the switched vehicle speed data and the present vehicle speed data to judge whether the upshift or downshift should be done. When the upshift or downshift should be done, it outputs the corresponding speed stage signal to the speed change control valve 62. The speed change control valve 62 is a switching solenoid valve which is actuated based on the speed stage signal, and it switches the speed stage of the transmission 65.” (column 14 line 66 thru column 15 line 8), in order to upshift or down shift, the current state or gear of the transmission is required to be known to the control means, this would equate to the claimed transmission state;
the claimed control a braking force of the brake device, “The control gain changing means 12 inputs the result of the judgment as to whether it is the stable vehicle speed period or the acceleration-deceleration period, and outputs a control gain suited thereto to the vehicle speed limit control means 11.” (column 14 lines 54 thru 58), and “The vehicle speed change control device 60 inputs switching vehicle speed data, obtained when downshifting and upshifting corresponding to each speed stage, and the present vehicle speed data from the vehicle speed limit control means 111, and compares the switching vehicle speed data with the present vehicle speed data to judge whether a downshift or an upshift should be done. When the downshift or upshift should be done, the transmission 65 is controlled so that the corresponding speed stage is achieved. The brake control device 70 inputs a brake operating signal from the vehicle speed limit control means 111, and control the brake 75 based on the signal.” (column 29 lines 33 thru 44).
Murakami et al do not teach the claimed calculate an inertial braking force from the transmission information, and the claimed braking force is based on a difference between the target braking force and the inertial braking force. The braking forces would be applied to the speed limit controls of Murakami et al.
Crombez teaches,
the claimed calculate an inertial braking force from the transmission information, “In an exemplary vehicle 10, power transmission system can be applied to a power transmission system braking to decelerate the vehicle 10. power transmission system movement, the braking resistance wheel 18 so that the wheel and vehicle 10 decelerates. motor 38 and engine 36 is the type of power transmission system brake.” (translation page 4 paragraph 12); and
the claimed braking force is based on a difference between the target braking force and the inertial braking force, “using a combination of power transmission system braking and friction braking” (translation page 2, technical field paragraph), and “Then, the method 50 moves to step 58, wherein at least one brake controller 26 to determine whether the vehicle 10 is decelerated to a stop required total braking torque. among others, the request may be based on vehicle 10 speed, the accelerator pedal position, the power transmission system 14 of the reduction ability and mapping the input relative to a predetermined deceleration. those skilled in the art will understand how to configure the controller to request the total braking torque.” (translation page 6 paragraph 7). The combining of the friction braking and the power transmission braking provides the desired deceleration (translation page 7 paragraph 5) which equates to the claimed target braking force, the friction braking equates to the claimed braking force and the power transmission braking equates to the claimed inertial braking.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus and method for limiting the vehicle speed of a working vehicle of Murakami et al with the combination of power transmission system braking and friction braking to achieve a desired deceleration of Crombez in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, compensate for the friction brake to provide the desired deceleration (Crombez translation page 7 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 2 Murakami et al and Crombez teach the claimed work machine of claim 1 (see above). Murakami et al teach,
the claimed setting device operable by an operator to set the target braking force, “The control constant setting means 5 is used for setting a control constant, etc., which is provided with at least a set value input means 5a, and a set value display means 5b can be provided as needed. When numerical values are directly inputted using, for example, a key switch and a digital switch as the set value input means 5a, or they are inputted using a touch key with a display, good operability is offered. The set value display means 5b checks the above inputted set values, etc., and includes, for example, a character display or a graphic display, such as an LED display, a segment display, and a plasma display.” (column 24 lines 24 thru 34); and
the claimed controller acquires the brake command corresponding to an operation of the setting device, “The control constant setting means 5 outputs an inputted set value information signal to the vehicle speed limit control means 11, and inputs a set value information signal to be displayed from the vehicle speed limit control means 11.” (column 24 lines 35 thru 39).
Regarding claim 7 Murakami et al and Crombez teach the claimed method of claim 6 (see above). Murakami et al teach,
the claimed brake command corresponds to an operation of a setting device by an operator to set the target braking force, “The control constant setting means 5 is used for setting a control constant, etc., which is provided with at least a set value input means 5a, and a set value display means 5b can be provided as needed. When numerical values are directly inputted using, for example, a key switch and a digital switch as the set value input means 5a, or they are inputted using a touch key with a display, good operability is offered. The set value display means 5b checks the above inputted set values, etc., and includes, for example, a character display or a graphic display, such as an LED display, a segment display, and a plasma display.” (column 24 lines 24 thru 34), and “The control constant setting means 5 outputs an inputted set value information signal to the vehicle speed limit control means 11, and inputs a set value information signal to be displayed from the vehicle speed limit control means 11.” (column 24 lines 35 thru 39).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 thru 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 thru 10, 14 and 15 of copending Application No. 19/123613 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claim limitations are recited more broadly than the reference application limitations. Additionally, the dependent claims patentably recite the same limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Related Art
The examiner points to Otake PGPub 2014/0303868 A1 as related art, but not relied upon for any rejection. Otake is directed to setting a target braking deceleration to an amount required by the driver P[0085] in consideration of the braking torque rotational resistance of the transmission P[0087].
Conclusion
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662