DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the feed reel" in line 3, “the receiving reel” in line 4, and “the guide arrangement” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Smits et al.(WO 2006/054895)
Smits discloses a cartridge comprising a feed reel(11), a receiving reel(12), a guide arrangement, and a material tape with a plurality of adhesive dots(Pg. 3, ll. 13-16) arranged on the tape. The tape is wound on the receiving roll and fastened to the feed roll(Figure 1A) The guide arrangement(14) is mechanically fixed and the tape is guided over it from the feed reel to the receiving reel such that the adhesive elements are separable from the tape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara(EP 3450158) in view of Downs et al.(US Publication 2003/0164220) and Jenkins(US Patent 4,457,981)
Fujiwara discloses a method of producing an adhesive reel comprising providing a dispenser tape(13) having a plurality of adhesive components with a carrier and adhesive backing(labels) on a separating material, separating the elements from the separating material(30), providing a receiving arrangement comprising a feed reel(5), a guide arrangement(51), and a receiving reel(6), winding a second separating material onto the receiving reel after leaving the feed reel, and transferring adhesive elements to the second separating material. The reference does not disclose feeding to two or more receiving arrangements. Both Downs et al.(Figure 1) and Jenkins(Figure 3) teach it is known to make a web more than one element wide which is split into multiple strips each having elements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to make two or more sets of receiving rolls, feed rolls, and guide arrangements since this would allow making multiple reels of adhesive elements at once as taught for example by Downs et al.(Figure 1) and Jenkins(Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, while Fujiwara teaches overlapping the adhesive elements and thus a greater number per unit length, in combination with Downs and Jenkins, it teaches two or more next to each other, so twice as many per unit length as one strip worth. As Fujiwara teaches controlling the amount of overlap so it can be relatively small and Jenkins shows the labels are directly adjacent, one in the art would appreciate that until the labels overlapped by over 50%, a single output reel with a single set of adhesive elements would have fewer per unit length that the original reel since it had multiple adhesive elements per unit width.
Regarding claim 4,
Regarding claim 7, Fujiwara et al. shows a fixed dispensing edge that separates the adhesive elements from the fist separating material.(30)
Regarding claim 14, refilling a roll for use in a dispenser cartridge is structurally the same as filling one.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 4, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest a detaching region upstream of the dispensing region which is configure to reduce the adhesion of the adhesive elements while they are on the first separating material, Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest transfer elements which receive the adhesive elements from the first separating material and dispense them to the second separating material. Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest a circulating conveyor with a reduced adhesive surface configured to receive the adhesive elements from the first separating material.
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746