Claim Status
Claims 26 – 32 and 70 – 79 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26 – 32, 70 and 74 – 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0405035 A1; cited on IDS, hereinafter Harris) in view of Shah et al. (Bioengineered surfaces and hydrogels for specific cell capture and release from whole blood”, Dissertation for the Master of Science degree of Mechanical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, June 2008; cited on IDS, hereinafter Shah), and Kevlahan et al. (C.N. Patent Application Publication No. 109154614; hereinafter Kevlahan) The claims are mapped to the machine translation for Kevlahan.
Regarding claims 26 – 32 and 70, Harris discloses a cell selection and sorting process (para. [0008]) that includes attaching cells of a target cell type to a first set of polymeric beads (para. [0034], examples of beads) having a first bead diameter in a chamber (para. [0009]). Harris further discloses attaching cells of a target cell type to a first set of polymeric beads and greater than a cell diameter to remove unattached cells (one unbound cell). The process additionally includes washing the chamber through a first filter having a pore size less than the first bead diameter to retain the first set of polymeric beads and greater than a cell diameter to remove unattached cells. Although, Harris does disclose subjecting PGSU (poly(glycerol sebacate)-urethane) microspheres in a reaction vessel to an elevated temperature to increase reaction rates (para. [0114]; Example 1). Also, Harris discloses that the sorting chamber conditions can be adjusted to maintain optimal processing conditions (para. [0082]), which include pH, O2 levels, nutrient, CO2 levels. However, Harris teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above but does not teach b) subjecting the reaction chamber to polymerization conditions to generate, in the reaction chamber, a 3D matrix comprising the plurality of binding agents and e) subjecting the 3D matrix to a dissolving reagent to dissolve the 3D matrix.
Shah discloses bioengineered surfaces and hydrogels for specific cell capture and release from whole blood (Abstract). Shah’s work presented the development and evaluation of a functional hydrogel coating (Section 3.2.1 System Design and Fabrication…, starting on p. 32 “alginate priming layer”) that supplements microfluidic capture devices, thereby providing the motivation to incorporate e) a degradable matrix and the motivation for step b) an alginate hydrogel coated microfluidic device for generating a 3D matrix. Further Shah discloses linking avidin to the surface of the gels (2.3.3 Incorporating Bio-Functionality, starting on p. 19). Also, Shah emphasized cell viability as a factor for the evaluation of the “catch and release” system (Abstract).
Kevlahan discloses an invention related to compositions, devices, and methods used for cell separation that features hydrogel beads and antibodies (last para of p. 2 going into p. 3; Claim 22 scFV, Fab). Further Kevlahan provides the motivation for step c) by stating that proteins can be included in the binding reaction before adding the cells, adding the cells after, or at the same time such as to limit the non-specificity (p. 16, 2nd para. from the bottom). Kevlahan further discloses beads comprising Ca2+alginate (Claims 6 – 9, Ca2+ ions) thereby providing the motivation to incorporate a degradable matrix as in step e), which can be removed by a chelating agent such as EDTA (p. 17, starting at the 3rd para. from the bottom to the end of the page). The aim of Kevlahan’s method is for high-purity cell separation (p. 25, paragraph above “Claims”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell selection method of Harris by incorporating the alginate-hydrogel matrix coating for supplementing microfluidic devices as taught by Shah; the binding agents and motivation from Kevlahan for adding the plurality of cells and plurality binding agents (before, after, same time) to limit non-specificity. Doing so would allow for: 1)the ability to polymerize a “bio-functional; avidin binding” 3D hydrogel matrix in a microfluidic device; 2) a degradable beads/matrix (alginate hydrogel coat) in a microfluidic device; 3) antibodies (scFV, Fab); 4) an “all-in-one” aspect for the rapid enumeration/separation/capture of live cells in order maintain cell viability, which also limits non-specific binding, thereby finishing high-purity cell separation, as taught by Shah and Kevlahan.
Regarding claims 74 – 75, Kevlahan discloses the use the reducing agent tris (2-carboxyethyl) phosphine (p. 24, middle of page (TCEP-HCl)).
Claims 71 – 73 and 76 – 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris, Shah, and Kevlahan as applied to claims 26 – 32, 70 and 74 – 75 above, and further in view of Riddell et al. (W.O. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/095895 A1; hereinafter Riddell).
Regarding claims 71 – 73 and 76 – 77, Kevlahan discloses (starting on p. 24, Example 4) the capture and release of CD4+ and CD8+ T cells isolated from a CD3+ T cell population and the use of streptavidin (Example 3, p. 23 – 24), biotin (Claim 21), proteins A and G (p. 13, 3rd para. from the top). Kevlahan does not disclose antibodies for CD28, which is a protein expressed on T cells that provides essential co-stimulatory signals required for T cell activation and survival. However, Riddell discloses an invention related to tagged chimeric effector molecules and receptors, in which scFVs and Fabs are used for T cell receptor antibodies (p. 12, line 11 – 25). Further, Riddell discloses a method comprising expanding functional T cells (including CD4 and CD28) subsets with a tag binding partner, such as an antibody (p. 44, line 5 – 30; and starting on p. 55, Example 12, StrepTactin Microbeads, Nanobeads). Riddell further discloses maltose binding protein (p. 24, line 15 – 16), protein G beads (p.55, Example 12, line 15 – 30), and biotin (p. 23, line 20 – 25).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the add the methodology/teachings/components (StrepTactin, protein G, T cell subset markers, antibodies for the receptors/markers, etc.) of Riddell for selecting CD28+ T cells in the 3D polymer matrix cell selection chamber/method of Harris, Shah, and Kevlahan. Doing so would incorporate well-established methods and binding partners for T cell selection into the cell selection protocol of Harris, Shah, and Kevlahan.
Claims 78 – 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris, Shah, and Kevlahan as applied to claims 26 – 32, 70 and 74 – 75 above, and further in view of Walt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0164971 A1; hereinafter Walt).
Regarding claims 78 – 79, Harris, Shah, and Kevlahan teach all of the element of the current invention as stated above except for polymer precursors comprising alkenes. However, Walt discloses, in an invention related to methods for detection and quantification of target analytes in liquid samples, the use of azides, alkenes, and alkynes as conjugating moieties on a capture probe (para. [0146]). Walt further discloses the motivation for including conjugating moieties with the aforementioned compounds is due to their ability to undergo a conjugation reaction.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the polymer of Harris, Shah, and Kevlahan with the alkene of Walt. Doing so would utilize compounds that undergo conjugation reactions for their stability and reactivity properties. In particular, the conjugation of alkenes are more stable than isolated double bonds because the delocalized electrons reduce electron density on any single bond, distributing it over multiple atoms.
Conclusion
/WALTER JACKSON III/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638