Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 5, 11 and 18, prior art does not explicitly disclose wherein the request to perform the security operation defined by the security operation script comprises an identifier of the security operation script and the personal security device obtains the security operation script using the identifier of the security operation script.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Forget (EP3008852).
Regarding Claim 9, Forget discloses A personal security device configured to: receive from a security server a request to perform a security operation defined by a security operation script; perform the security operation script; and (Paragraph [0048] E.N. The validation challenge is sent to the validation device. By the creation of a validation challenge which is derived from the original message, the user can be ensured that this derived message comes from a trusted source with acceptable reasons to believe that it has not been altered before being presented to the user for validation as part of the signature generation process. This validation code is received at the signature creation device and must be verified before the transaction is signed by the central or local SCD.)
return to the security server a security operation result of performing the security operation script. (Paragraph [0048] E.N. The verification ensures that the signature can only be generated if this verification has been successful.)
Regarding Claim 10, Forget discloses the personal security device of claim 9. Forget also discloses wherein the personal security device is further configured to: obtain the security operation script defining the security operation requested by the security server. (Figure 1a E.N. The validation challenge is sent to the validation devices and by the creation of a validation challenge which is derived from the original message, the user can be ensured that the derived message comes from a trusted source.)
Regarding Claim 12, Forget discloses the personal security device of claim 10. Forget also discloses wherein the request to perform the security operation defined by the security operation script (Paragraph [0048] E.N. The validation challenge is sent to the validation device)
comprises the security operation script and the personal security device obtains the security operation script from the request to perform the security operation. (Figure 1a E.N. The validation challenge is sent to the validation devices and by the creation of a validation challenge which is derived from the original message, the user can be ensured that the derived message comes from a trusted source.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forget (EP3008852) in view of Greenberg (US20200327589).
Regarding Claims 1 and 14 Forget discloses A system for securing interaction of a user with a computer-based application, the system comprising: a security server configured to: (Paragraph [0023] E.N. The signature server may comprise a separate authentication and validation server.)
receive from the computer-based application a request to perform a security task for the user; EP3008852 (Paragraph [0028] E.N. The validation challenge may be sent direct or indirect to the second user device, e.g. the validation challenge may be sent via the first user device. The method may further comprise reformatting the validation challenge as a barcode (e.g. QR code) which is readable by the second user device. The barcode may be displayed on the first user device to be read by the second user device.)
send to a personal security device of the user a request to perform a security operation defined by the security operation script; (Paragraph [0048] E.N. The validation challenge is sent to the validation device)
receive from the personal security device a security operation result of performing the security operation script; (Paragraph [0048] E.N. If the user recognizes the transaction, he approves it on the Validation Device in which case a unique validation code is generated. This validation code is received at the signature creation device.)
determine a security task result as a function of the security operation result; and return the security task result to the computer-based application. (Paragraph [0048] E.N. Must be verified before the transaction is signed by the central or local SCD.)
Forget does not, but in related art, Greenberg discloses identify a security operation script corresponding to the security task; (Paragraph [0036] E.N. The user presents a form of identification to the merchant and receives, from the merchant, information (e.g. a verification code) that provides verification that the user satisfies the purchase restriction.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Forget to incorporate the teachings of Greenberg because Forget does not explicitly disclose identify a security operation script corresponding to the security task which is taught by Greenberg. Incorporating the teachings of Greenberg to Forget allows for the system to identify scripts that may be used for conducting security tasks to determine the authentication/verification of the user/application.
Regarding Claims 2 and 15 Forget in view of Greenberg discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 14. Forget further discloses wherein the security server is further configured to: identify from among a plurality of personal security devices the personal security device associated with the user; (Paragraph [0020] E.N. The signature is preferably an advanced electronic signature, i.e. one which is uniquely linked to the signatory, is capable of identifying the signatory, is created using means that the signatory can maintain under his sole control and is linked to the data to which it relates in such a manner that any subsequent change of the data is detectable.)
wherein the request to perform the security operation defined by the security operation script is sent by the security server to the identified personal security device associated with the user. (Paragraph [0048] E.N. The validation challenge is sent to the validation device. By the creation of a validation challenge which is derived from the original message, the user can be ensured that this derived message comes from a trusted source with acceptable reasons to believe that it has not been altered before being presented to the user for validation as part of the signature generation process. This validation code is received at the signature creation device and must be verified before the transaction is signed by the central or local SCD.)
Regarding Claims 3 and 16, Forget in view of Greenberg discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 14. Forget further discloses wherein the system further comprises: the personal security device of the user, wherein the personal security device of the user is configured to: receive from the security server the request to perform the security operation defined by the security operation script; perform the security operation script; and (Paragraph [0048] E.N. The validation challenge is sent to the validation device. By the creation of a validation challenge which is derived from the original message, the user can be ensured that this derived message comes from a trusted source with acceptable reasons to believe that it has not been altered before being presented to the user for validation as part of the signature generation process. This validation code is received at the signature creation device and must be verified before the transaction is signed by the central or local SCD.)
return to the security server a security operation result of performing the security operation script. (Paragraph [0048] E.N. The verification ensures that the signature can only be generated if this verification has been successful.)
Regarding Claims 4 and 17, Forget in view of Greenberg discloses the system of claim 3 and the method of claim 14. Forget further discloses wherein the personal security device is further configured to: obtain the security operation script defining the security operation requested by the security server. (Figure 1a E.N. The validation challenge is sent to the validation devices and by the creation of a validation challenge which is derived from the original message, the user can be ensured that the derived message comes from a trusted source.)
Regarding Claims 6, Forget in view of Greenberg discloses the system of claim 1. Forget further discloses receive from the security server the request to perform the security operation defined by the security operation script; perform the security operation script; and (Paragraph [0048] E.N. The validation challenge is sent to the validation device. By the creation of a validation challenge which is derived from the original message, the user can be ensured that this derived message comes from a trusted source with acceptable reasons to believe that it has not been altered before being presented to the user for validation as part of the signature generation process. This validation code is received at the signature creation device and must be verified before the transaction is signed by the central or local SCD.)
return to the security server a security operation result of performing the security operation script. (Paragraph [0048] E.N. The verification ensures that the signature can only be generated if this verification has been successful.)
Forget does not, but in related art, Greenberg discloses wherein the system further comprises: a plurality of personal security devices including the personal security device of the user, each of the plurality of personal security devices configured to: (Paragraph [0022] E.N. Some example implementations described herein concern a single transaction device, transaction authorization platform, transaction card, user device, and/or user, but implementations may include a plurality of transaction devices, transaction authorization platforms, transaction cards, user devices, and/or users. In some implementations, the transaction device, the transaction authorization platform, and/or the user device may be connected via a network, such as the internet, an intranet, and/or the like.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Forget to incorporate the teachings of Greenberg because Forget does not explicitly disclose a plurality of personal security devices which is taught by Greenberg. Incorporating the teachings of Greenberg to Forget allows for the system to identify multiple security devices and determine which devices have access to certain permissions/applications.
Regarding Claims 7, Forget in view of Greenberg discloses the system of claim 6. Forget further discloses wherein each of the plurality of personal security devices is configured to: obtain the security operation script defining the security operation requested by the security server. (Figure 1a E.N. The validation challenge is sent to the validation devices and by the creation of a validation challenge which is derived from the original message, the user can be ensured that the derived message comes from a trusted source.)
Regarding Claims 8 and 20, Forget in view of Greenberg discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 14. Forget does not, but in related art, Greenberg discloses wherein the security task is associated with transaction data, the security operation script is a micro application (u-app) that provides instructions to the personal security device for processing the transaction data, and the p-app does not include the transaction data. (Paragraph [0084] E.N. Receiving transaction data relating to a transaction event involving a transaction card, wherein the transaction card stores user data associated with a user of the transaction card, and wherein the transaction data includes the user data and a category identifier of a merchant. For example, the transaction authorization platform may receive transaction data relating to a transaction event involving a transaction card.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Forget to incorporate the teachings of Greenberg because Forget does not explicitly disclose security task associated with transaction data which is taught by Greenberg. Incorporating the teachings of Greenberg to Forget allows for the system to associate security tasks with transactional data for better authentication/verification.
Regarding Claim 13, Forget discloses the personal security device of claim 9. Forget does not, but in related art, Greenberg discloses wherein the security operation script is a micro application (u-app) that provides instructions to the personal security device for processing transaction data associated with a security task and the p-app does not include the transaction data. (Paragraph [0084] E.N. Receiving transaction data relating to a transaction event involving a transaction card, wherein the transaction card stores user data associated with a user of the transaction card, and wherein the transaction data includes the user data and a category identifier of a merchant. For example, the transaction authorization platform may receive transaction data relating to a transaction event involving a transaction card.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Forget to incorporate the teachings of Greenberg because Forget does not explicitly disclose security task associated with transaction data which is taught by Greenberg. Incorporating the teachings of Greenberg to Forget allows for the system to associate security tasks with transactional data for better authentication/verification.
Regarding Claim 19, Forget in view of Greenberg discloses the method of claim 17. Forget further discloses wherein the request to perform the security operation defined by the security operation script comprises the security operation script and the personal security device obtains the security operation script from the request to perform the security operation. (Figure 1a E.N. The validation challenge is sent to the validation device. By the creation of a validation challenge which is derived from the original message, the user can be ensured that this derived message comes from a trusted source with acceptable reasons to believe that it has not been altered before being presented to the user for validation as part of the signature generation process.)
Conclusion
/AAYUSH ARYAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/AMIR MEHRMANESH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2435