DETAILED ACTION
The application of Stefan Bohm for Method For Release For Use of Telematics services, Mobile Communication Device And Communication System for Performing the Method filed 4/24/25 has been examined. Claims 12-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-18 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Auer US Patent Application Publication 20170374550.
Regarding claim 12, Auer teaching a method for release for use of telematics services for a vehicle, the method comprising:
providing a mobile communication device with a storage medium, wherein at least
one digital vehicle key and an executable app for executing telematics services for a
vehicle are stored in the storage medium (paragraph 031,033);
executing, by the executable app, commands causing selection of a provided vehicle, and
authentication of the mobile communication device or the app to be performed using the at least one digital vehicle key with a vehicle backend assigned to the vehicle (paragraph 031-033); and establishing, by the vehicle backend responsive to the authentication being successful, a user session assigned to the selected vehicle for the mobile communication device or the app (paragraph 041-0430,056-057); and using, by a user of the mobile communication device or the app and during the established user session, the telematics services provided for the vehicle, wherein the vehicle backend provides telematics services for the vehicles assigned to the vehicle backend (paragraph 056-058).
Regarding claim 13, Auer teaches the at least one digital vehicle key includes right of use features related to the telematics services, wherein, based on the right of use features and when the user session is being established, an extent to which the telematics services can be used during the established user session for the user of the vehicle is set (paragraph 056).
Regarding claim 14, Auer teaches specifying, by the user of the vehicle, an owner of the vehicle, a person authorized by the owner of the vehicle, or the vehicle backend before the user session is established, the right of use features (paragraph 057-058).
Regarding claim 15, Auer teaches issuing, to a co-user of the vehicle using the digital vehicle key, a digital friend key, which is used to authenticate the mobile communication device or the app (paragraph 063).
Regarding claim 16, Auer teaches the digital friend key includes the right of
use features (paragraph 064-065).
Regarding claim 17, Auer teaches declaring, by the user of the vehicle, an owner of the vehicle, or a person authorized by the owner of the vehicle, the digital friend key issued to the co-user of the
vehicle to be invalid; and ending the established user session responsive to the declaring, wherein future
user sessions cannot be established anymore with the digital friend key (deleting the key information, paragraph 012,045,074).
Regarding claim 18, Auer teaches the user of the vehicle or a co-user, using the app, of the vehicle (paragraph 056):
1) starts the app on the mobile communication device (paragraph 069);
2) in case at least one digital vehicle key is stored in the storage medium of the
mobile communication device, performing a user request, during which the
user actively decides by selection whether (paragraph 070)
a) authentication is to be performed using the stored at least one
digital vehicle key (paragraph 070-071),
6) if more than one digital vehicle key is stored in the storage medium of the
mobile communication device, a further user request is performed, wherein
during the further user request the user actively decides by selection for which
vehicle telematics services are to be used (paragraph 051,071,072).
Regarding claim 21, Auer teaches a mobile communication device comprising:
a computer-readable storage medium storing at least one digital vehicle key and
an executable app configured to execute telematics services for a vehicle (paragraph 031,033,055),
wherein the mobile communication device is configured to, by executing commands of the executable app, select a provided vehicle, and authenticate the mobile communication device or the app to using the at least one digital vehicle key with a vehicle backend assigned to the vehicle (paragraph 031,033),
wherein the vehicle backend establishes a user session responsive to the
authentication being successful, wherein the established user session is assigned
to the selected vehicle for the mobile communication device or the app (paragraph 041-0430,056-057); and use, during the established user session, the telematics services provided
for the vehicle, wherein the vehicle backend provides telematics services for vehicles assigned to
the vehicle backend (paragraph 056-058).
Regarding claim 22, Auer teaches a communication system comprising:
a vehicle configured to execute telematics services (30-32);
a mobile communication device comprising a storage medium storing at least one
digital vehicle key (paragraph 031,033,039);
an executable app stored in the storage medium of the mobile communication
device, wherein the executable app is configured to execute telematics services for the
vehicle, wherein the app has commands which, when executed by the mobile
communication device, cause authentication of the mobile communication device or the
app to be performed with a vehicle backend assigned to the vehicle using the at least
one digital vehicle key (paragraph 060-063); and
a vehicle backend providing telematics services for the vehicle and configured to
establish and end a user session assigned to the selected vehicle for the mobile
communication device or the app, wherein during the established user session a user of
the vehicle can use the telematics services provided for the vehicle using the app (paragraph 041-0430,056-058).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auer US Patent Application Publication 20170374550 in view of Lavoie et al. US Patent Application Publication 2023/0087202..
Regarding claim 19, Auer is silent on teaching the at least one digital vehicle key is
provided according to Car Connectivity Consortium Digital Key standard. Lavoie in an analogous art teaches providing the digital vehicle key is provided according to Car Connectivity Consortium Digital Key standard (paragraph 048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Auer as disclosed by Lavoie because such modification represents the substitution of one type of interface between the mobile device and the vehicle for another and producing the predictable result of a reliably communication means between the mobile phone and the vehicle.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auer US Patent Application Publication 20170374550 in view of Bodin US Patent Application Publication 20040093289..
Regarding claim 20, Auer is silent on teaching the established user session is performed as an anonymous or pseudonymous user session. Bodin in an analogous art teaches the established user session is performed as an anonymous or pseudonymous user session (paragraph 0187).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Auer as disclosed by Lavoie because such modification represents the substitution of one form of communication between the mobile device and vehicle for another and producing the predictable result of providing
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686