DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the
invention.
Claim 138 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 138 reciting optionally one or more polyfunctional crosslinkers, such recitation (with emphasis added) deems indefinite as it is unclear if one or more polyfunctional crosslinkers is a part of the scope of the claimed invention.
Applicant is invited to provide certainty for such recitation and/or clarity for scope of invention.
Claim 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 56 requiring the stimuli-responsive polymer is a crosslinked polymer, such recitation does not further limiting claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11-12, 18-19, 30-31, 50, 56, 60, 118, 127, 129, and 138 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardy (U.S. Patent No. US 6145507) and further in view of Kluge (US 2012/0330211 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Figures 1-8 discloses applicant’s claimed condom (2) comprising:
a barrier layer (4) suitable for prohibiting passage of semen (column 2 lines 65-67 discloses base 4 is of latex/vinyl, of which material is suitable of prohibiting passage of semen) and comprising an inner surface and outer surface (Figures 1-8 illustrates base 4 having opposing surfaces), and
an adhesive layer (14) adhered to at least a portion of the inner surface of the barrier layer (4); wherein:
the condom (2) is configured for adhesion of the adhesive layer (14) to the glans of the penis (6) of a human subject,
the condom (2) is configured to provide fractional coverage of the penis (see Figures 3-4), and
the adhesive layer (14) comprises an adhesive that comprises a stimuli-responsive polymer formed from one or more monomers and one or more polyfunctional crosslinkers (column 4, lines 19-41), and
wherein when the condom (2) is applied to the penis, the adhesive layer (14) adheres to the glans (6) of the penis, and the adhesive layer (14) can be removed from the glans of the penis following application of a stimulus to the condom (Hardy condom fully capable of being removed from the glans of penis upon application of a stimulus).
Hardy does not disclose wherein the stimuli-responsive polymer is a crosslinked polymer having a heterogeneous crosslink network.
However, Kluge teaches an adhesive for skin, paragraph 007 discloses polymerization of monomers in presence of a radical initiator, paragraph 008 teaches suitable monomers such as methacrylates, paragraph 013 discloses polymerization process, paragraph 0016 discloses adding polyfunctional monomers to the monomer mixture, paragraph 0019 discloses preparation of inventive adhesive, and paragraph 0020 discloses Example 1 of adhesive. Kluge teaching necessarily creates crosslink clumping which results in heterogeneous crosslinking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute Hardy’s adhesive (14) for Kluge’s adhesive would not leave a residue and would not damage skin even after a relatively long wearing period.
Regarding claim 2, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the condom (2) is sized and shaped such that, when applied to the penis, the condom (2) does not contact the corona and/or shaft of the penis (see Figures 3-4, Hardy).
Regarding claims 4-5, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the barrier layer (4) comprises a membrane or film (column 2 lines 65-66 discloses flexible elastic material) wherein the barrier layer (4) comprises natural latex rubber (column 2 lines 67).
Regarding claim 11, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the barrier layer has a thickness from 0.001 mm to 2 mm.
Regarding claim 12, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the barrier layer (4) further comprises a reservoir (12) sized and shaped suitably for collecting semen ejaculated from the penis.
Regarding claims 18-19, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the condom (2) curved geometry circle (see Figures 1-2 & 5-6, Hardy) wherein the barrier layer (4) has a circle geometry (see Figures 1-2 & 5-6, Hardy).
Regarding claims 30-31, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the adhesive layer is adhered to only a portion of the inner surface of the barrier layer, and wherein the adhesive is adhered to the outer portion of the inner surface of the barrier layer (see Figures 3-4 and 7-8, Hardy).
Regarding claim 50, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein, following adhesion of the adhesive layer to the glans of the penis, removal of the condom from the glans of the penis by light peeling induces no pain (paragraph 001 in Kluge teaching is a reliable adhesive on skin, leaves no residue and no damage, such disclosure deems to meet applicant’s claimed limitations in claim 50).
Regarding claim 56, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the stimuli-responsive polymer is a crosslinked polymer (paragraph 0007-0008).
Regarding claim 60, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the crosslinked polymer is a semi-interpenetrating network (paragraph 0007-0008).
Regarding claim 118, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed package (19, column 4 lines 32-42) comprising the condom of claim 1.
Regarding claim 127, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of applying a condom of claim 1 to the penis of a human subject (see Figures 3-4, Hardy) comprising:
contacting the adhesive layer (14) of the condom (2) to the glans (6) of the penis; and
applying pressure to the condom (2) sufficient to adhere the condom (2) to the glans (6) of the penis.
Regarding claim 129, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of removing a condom of claim 1 from the penis of a human subject comprising:
applying a stimulus (19) to the condom whose adhesive layer (14) is adhered to the glans (6) of the penis, and
removing the condom (2) from the glans (6) of the penis.
Regarding claim 138, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method preparing a condom of claim 1 comprising:
adhering an adhesive layer (12) to a barrier layer (4) , wherein the adhesive layer (14) comprises an adhesive that comprises a stimuli-responsive polymer formed from one or more monomers (paragraph 0008, Kluge).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardy (U.S. Patent No. US 6145507)/Kluge (US 2012/0330211 A1), and further in view of Delson (U.S. Patent No. 5513654).
Regarding claim 20, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited.
Hardy/Kluge does not disclose the radius of the circle is at least about 0.5 cm (5mm).
However, Delson teaches an analogous condom having a diameter, column 3 lines 11-15 teaches diameter of condom are commonly 29-33 mm, which radius is 14.5mm to 16.5mm which meets applicant’s claimed radius.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to applicant’s effective filing to construct Hardy/Kluge condom having diameter of 19-33 mm (radius14.5 mm to 16.5 mm) as such dimensions deems to accommodate majority of the population.
Regarding claim 24, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited.
Hardy/Kluge does not further disclose a lubricant on outer surface of the barrier layer (4).
However, Delson teaches a lubricant is provided on exterior surface of the condom (column 11 lines 44-67 and column 12 lines 1-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to applicant’s effective filing to construct Hardy/Kluge condom having lubricated external surface of barrier layer (4), taught by Delson, as such lubrication facilitates penis insertion and subsequent coitus (column 11 lines 50-51).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardy (U.S. Patent No. US 6145507)/Kluge (US 2012/0330211 A1), and further in view of Luo (WO 2016/026256A1).
Regarding claim 34, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed condom comprising all features as recited.
Hardy/Kluge does not disclose the adhesive layer has a thickness from 0.1 microns to 3,000 microns (.0001mm to 3mm).
However, Luo teaches the adhesive layer having a thickness of 0.001mm to 0.1mm (see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to applicant’s effective filing date to coat the adhesive layer onto the condom such that the thickness of the adhesive layer is of 0.001mm to 0.1mm, as such thickness deems adequate adherence and still maintain comfort.
Claims 46-48 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardy (U.S. Patent No. US 6145507)/Kluge (US 2012/0330211 A1).
Regarding claims 46-48 and 55 the stimuli-responsive polymer has a storage modulus of from 0.01 MPa to 1MPa (claim 46), wherein the stimuli-responsive polymer has a loss modulus from 0.1 MPa to 1 MPa (claim 47), wherein the stimuli-responsive polymer has a tan(δ) (ratio of storage modulus (G") to loss modulus (G') at 25 °C and 1Hz of 0.1 to 2 (claim 48), and wherein glass transition temperature (Tg) from -100 to 100 °C (claim 55).
The teaching of stimuli-responsive polymer in Kluge does not explicitly disclose storage modulus, and loss modulus, and a tan(δ) ratio of stimuli-responsive polymer.
However, Kluge teaches preferred acrylate-based monomers (paragraph 0008) which are well-known in the making of adhesive.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to applicant’s effective filing date to recognize that acrylate-based monomers are necessarily and innately exhibiting the attributes recited in these claims.
Claim 126 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardy (U.S. Patent No. US 6145507)/Kluge (US 2012/0330211 A1), and further in view of Velaquez (WO 2005/002475 A1).
Regarding claim 126, Hardy/Kluge combination, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed kit (package 19, column 4 lines 32-42) comprising (a) the condom of claim 1.
Hardy/Kluge does not disclose (b) instructions for use.
However, Velaquez teaches a kit comprising a product and instruction for using the device (page 5, lines 11-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to applicant’s effective filing date to include instruction for using the device with the Hardy/Kluge kit (19), taught by Velaquez, as instructions provide clarity and bring success results.
Conclusion
/CAMTU T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3786