DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This communication is responsive to the applicant's preliminary amendment filed 04/24/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ludwig et al (US-2021/0204057, hereinafter, Ludwig).
Regarding claim 1, Ludwig discloses an in-vehicle system (infotainment system 200 for a vehicle, see Fig. 2), comprising: one or more loudspeakers (202); one or more illumination devices (257) associated with the one or more loudspeakers (202); and a controller (206) to control at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers (see para [0024]), wherein the at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers are controllable to provide a set of functions (see para [0025]), wherein the controller is configured to operate in at least a first mode of operation (base infotainment system 200) and a second mode of operation (non-branded premium infotainment system or midlevel infotainment system 220), wherein in the first mode of operation, the controller is configured to control the at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers to provide only a subset of the set of functions (see para [0025]), and wherein in the second mode of operation, the controller is further configured to control the at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers to provide an entirety of the set of functions (see para [0026]).
Regarding claims 2-3, see Figs. 5-6, and para [0062], [0067].
Regarding claim 4, see Fig. 5, and para [0059].
Regarding claim 14, see para [0067], [0086].
Regarding claims 5-7, see Figs. 5-6, and para [0059], [0060], [0078], [0079].
Regarding claim 8, see Fig. 4, and para [0054], [0084].
Regarding claim 10, see para [0024].
Regarding claim 11, see Fig. 5, and para [0059].
Regarding claim 15, see Figs. 5 and 6, and para [0059], [0066].
Regarding claim 16, Ludwig discloses an in-vehicle system (infotainment system 200 for a vehicle, see Fig. 2), comprising: one or more loudspeakers (202); one or more illumination devices (257); and a controller (206) programmed to control at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers (see para [0024]), wherein the at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers are controllable to provide a set of functions (see para [0025]), wherein the controller is further programmed to operate in at least a first mode of operation (base infotainment system 200) and a second mode of operation (non-branded premium infotainment system or midlevel infotainment system 220), wherein in the first mode of operation, the controller is configured to control the at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers to provide only a subset of the set of functions (see para [0025]), and wherein in the second mode of operation, the controller is further configured to control the at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers to provide an entirety of the set of functions (see para [0026]).
Regarding claims 17-18, Ludwig discloses the controller is further programmed to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation in response to receiving a control signal from a remote server; and further comprising a user interface to enable a user to input a command to cause the remote server to generate and transmit the control signal (see para [0025], [0062], [0064], [0067]).
Regarding claim 19, see Fig. 5, and para [0059].
Regarding claim 20, Ludwig discloses an in-vehicle system (infotainment system 200 for a vehicle, see Fig. 2), comprising: one or more loudspeakers (202); one or more illumination devices (257); and a controller (206) programmed to control at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers (see para [0024]), wherein the at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers are controllable to provide a set of functions (see para [0025]), wherein the controller is further programmed to operate in at least a first mode of operation (base infotainment system 200) and a second mode of operation (non-branded premium infotainment system or midlevel infotainment system 220), wherein in the first mode of operation, the controller is programmed to control the at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers to provide only a subset of the set of functions (see para [0025]), and wherein in the second mode of operation, the controller is further programmed to control the at least one of the one or more illumination devices and the one or more loudspeakers to provide an entirety of the set of functions (see para [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludwig.
Regarding claim 9, Ludwig discloses the in-vehicle system as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Ludwig does not disclose the one or more illumination devices comprise at least one of a light emitting diode, an array of LEDs, and an array of individually controllable LEDs.
Ludwig discloses the illumination device or lighting/lights 210 including individual light may be activated and deactivated (see Fig. 2, para [0024], [0025]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect filing date of the claimed invention to utilize one of the old and well-known LED, an array of LEDs, and an array of individually controllable LEDs for providing visual indication of the activation status of speakers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karunamuni et al, Havemann, and Pilgaard Havemann disclose various in-vehicle infotainment systems having speaker and lighting control.
/XU MEI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695 09/29/2026