DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to Applicant's Amendment filed on 4/24/25. By virtue of this amendment, claims 8-9,16-17,25-32 are cancelled and thus, claims 1-7,10-15,18-24 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/24/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 &1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21, line 1, should be deleted “any one of claims 18” and should be inserted ---claim 18---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7,10-15,18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Doland et al (US Patent No: 11,758,624).
With respect to claim 1, Doland et al disclose in figure 5 that, an apparatus comprising: a light source(530) to illuminate a space; a sensor(550) to detect an external signal, wherein the external signal is powered by a first power source(Utility power source(502)); a light source controller (520)to control the light source(530), wherein the light source controller (520)is to operate the light source (530) in a first state when the sensor (550) detects the external signal, and wherein the light source controller (520) is to operate the light source(530) in a second state when the sensor(550) fails to detect the external signal; and a connector (550) to receive power from a second power source(Backup power source(506)), wherein the power is provided to the light source(530), the light source controller(520), and the sensor(550), and wherein the second power source ((506) when switch (550) open or off) is separate from the first power source(502).Col.9, lines 49-67 to col.11, lines 1-39 and also see figures 1 or 4 similar embodiment of Doland et al , col.2 , lines 38-67 to col.9, lines 1-48.
With respect to claim 2, Doland et al disclose wherein the light source controller defaults to the
second state when powered on. Figure 5. Col.10, lines 32-63.
With respect to claim 3, Doland et al disclose wherein the light source controller (520 as switches) switches from the first state to the second state after a predetermined period of time without a detection of the external signal.Col.3, lines 55-67 to col.4, lines 1-40.
With respect to claim 4, Doland et al disclose wherein the light source controller in the second state activates the light source for a predetermined hold time.Col.4, lines 63-67 to col.5, lines 1-25.
With respect to claim 5, Doland et al disclose further comprising an occupancy detector (512,172,112) to detect occupancy in the space, wherein the light source controller reduces power to the light source after the predetermined hold time from an occupancy detection.Col.3, lines 35-67 to col.4, lines 1-14.
With respect to claim 6, Doland et al disclose further comprising an emitter to emit a heartbeat signal (the detector 450 may transmit messages via a wired or wireless connection. For example, the detector 450 may communicate via radio frequency (RF) signals 460, col.8, lines 55-67 to col.9. lines 1-18), wherein the heartbeat signal is to establish a connection with an external device.
With respect to claim 7, Doland et al disclose wherein the second power source is an uninterrupted power supply. Figures 4-5.
With respect to claim 10, Doland et al disclose a system comprising: a first device(132,432,532) comprising: a first light source to illuminate a space; a signal generator(140,440,540) to generate a device signal(col.5, lines 48-67 to col.6, lines 1-7), wherein the device signal is broadcasted to the space to indicate a normal operation of the first device(132, 432, 532); and a first light source controller (122,422,522) to control the first light source; a second device (130,430,530) comprising: a second light source to illuminate the space; a sensor(450,550) to detect the device signal; and a second light source controller(120,420,520) to control the second light source, wherein the second light source controller(120,420,520) is to operate the second light source in a first state when the sensor(450.550) detects the device signal to indicate normal operation of the first device(132,432,532), and wherein the second light source controller(120,420,520) is to operate the second light source in a second state when the sensor(450,550) fails to detect the device signal; a first power source(102,402,502) to power the first device; and a second power source (106,406,506)to power the second device(120,420,520), wherein the first power source (102,402,502)and the second power source (106,406,506)are electrically isolated(when switch (550) is connected to the first power source(102.402,502). Col.9, lines 49-67 to col.11, lines 1-39 and also see figures 1 or 4 similar embodiment of Doland et al, col.2, lines 38-67 to col.9, lines 1-48.
With respect to claim 11, Doland et al disclose wherein the second light source controller (120,420,520) defaults to the second state when powered on. Figure 5. Col.10, lines 32-63.
With respect to claim 12, Doland et al disclose wherein the second light source
controller switches from the first state to the second state after a predetermined period of
time without a detection of the device signal. Col.3, lines 55-67 to col.4, lines 1-40.
With respect to claim 13, Doland et al disclose wherein the second light source controller in the second state activates the second light source for a predetermined hold time. Col.4, lines 63-67 to col.5, lines 1-25.
With respect to claim 14, Doland et al disclose wherein the second device further includes an
occupancy detector (112,412,512) to detect occupancy in the space, wherein the second light source
controller reduces power to the second light source after the predetermined hold time from
an occupancy detection.
With respect to claim 15, Doland et al disclose wherein the second power source is an uninterrupted power supply. Figures 4-5.
With respect to claim 18, Doland et al disclose a method comprising: detecting an external signal via a sensor(550), wherein the external signal is generated by an external device powered by a first power source(502); operating a light source in a first state when the external signal is detected; operating the light source in a second state when the external signal is unable to be detected by the sensor(550); and receiving power from a second power source to power the light source, wherein the second power source is separate from the first power source. Col.9, lines 49-67 to col.11, lines 1-39 and also see figures 1 or 4 similar embodiment of Doland et al, col.2, lines 38-67 to col.9, lines 1-48.
With respect to claim 19, Doland et al disclose further comprising defaulting to the second state when the light source is powered on. Col.3, lines 55-67 to col.4, lines 1-40 and col.10, lines 32-63.
With respect to claim 20, Doland et al disclose further comprising switching from the
first state to the second state after a predetermined period of time without a detection of the
external signal. Col.3, lines 55-67 to col.4, lines 1-40.
With respect to claim 21, Doland et al disclose wherein operating the light source in a second state comprises activating the light source for a predetermined hold time. Col.4, lines 63-67 to col.5, lines 1-25.
With respect to claim 22, Doland et al disclose further comprising: (112,412,512) for detecting occupancy in a space; and reducing power to the light source after the predetermined hold time from an occupancy detection.Col.3, lines 16-67 to col.4, lines 1-5.
With respect to claim 23, Doland et al disclose further comprising emitting a heartbeat signal to establish a connection with the external device. The detector 450 may transmit messages via a wired or wireless connection. For example, the detector 450 may communicate via radio frequency (RF) signals 460, col.8, lines 55-67 to col.9. lines 1-18.
With respect to claim 24, Doland et al disclose wherein receiving power from a second power source comprises receiving power from an uninterrupted power supply. Figures 1, 4-5.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845