DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 should be formatted with proper indentations, in accordance with Rule 1.75(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ing (DE 102011016239) in view of CN 112543720A.
Regarding Claim 1, Ing discloses
a housing (i.e. body of 10), bearing element (4 and 14), a pedal (2 and 11) displaceably guided on the bearing element in an axial direction (i.e. guided along 10 in direction 7, while being supported by 4), a first spring means (12) connected to the bearing element and to the pedal and against the spring force of which the pedal is movable in the axial direction relative to the bearing element, and a first position detection device (18), a second spring means (8) connected to the housing and to the bearing element and against the spring force of which the bearing element is movable in the axial direction relative to the housing, and a second position detection device (19) by means of which a current axial position of the bearing element can be detected and at least one second position signal identifying this position can be provided (“a second position sensor 19 on the piston 4 sensed axial movement "s 2 " of the same”).
Ing does not disclose the first position detection device to detect axial position.
‘720 discloses a position detection device (116) by means of which a current axial position of the pedal (101) can be detected and at least one first position signal identifying this position can be provided, for the purpose of detecting the amount of pedal actuation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Ing by including a first position detection device that
detects axial position as disclosed by ‘720, for the purpose of detecting the amount of pedal actuation.
Regarding Claim 5, Ing discloses
wherein the first spring means is preloaded in the axial direction (i.e. even when
the pedal is not pressed by an operator, a load is exerted on 12 by 2, due to 2 being
mounted about a pivot overhead and a moment subsequently being generated by the
action of gravity, see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Ing does not explicitly disclose an evaluation device.
‘720 discloses an evaluation device (ECU) which is connected to the position
detection devices by means of which the position signals can be evaluated, and at least
one result signal identifying the result of the evaluation can be provided (“The return
signal may include one or more of a signal sent by the pedal stroke sensor and a signal
sent by the first pressure sensor acquired by the ECU”), for the purpose of
implementing sensors and feedback control.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Ing by including the evaluation device as disclosed
by ‘720, for the purpose of implementing sensors and feedback control. It is noted that
Ing already discloses both position sensors, thereby the ECU would connect to both
of these.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record shows a pedal to have a guide section extending in the axial direction into an axial guide hole of a bearing element (Claims 2-4) or a plurality of flat springs as claimed and penetrated by the bearing element (Claims 6-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bayer et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0144732) discloses housing 3, bearing element 7 and pedal 1 in Fig. 1.
Kato (JP 2017-053796) discloses housing 12, bearing element 20 and pedal 2.
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 September 17, 2026