DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 should be formatted with proper indentations, in accordance with Rule 1.75(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diesner et al. (DE 10347843).
Regarding Claim 1, Diesner et al. discloses
a housing (10), a pedal (18), a spring means (30, 31) connected to the housing and to the pedal, and counter to the spring force of the spring means, the pedal can be moved in an axial direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2) relative to the housing, and a position detection device (55) which can detect a current axial position of the pedal and can provide at least one position signal that identifies this position (i.e. at least indirectly via the force signal, [0025]), wherein the spring means comprises one or more flat springs, which are oriented transversely to the axial direction, and penetrated by the pedal and resiliently supporting this on the housing in the axial direction (see Fig. 2, [0020]-[0021]).
Regarding Claim 2, Diesner et al. discloses
the pedal further has an actuation section (i.e. upper surface of 18) arranged outside the housing (i.e. dotted line in Fig. 2) and has a guide section (i.e. the body of 18, below its upper surface) extending away from this actuation section in the axial direction (i.e. vertically downwards), via which guide section each flat spring is penetrated (Fig. 2). It is noted that ‘section’ may be taken as any portion of a whole and need not be a discrete part.
Regarding Claim 4, Diesner et al. discloses
wherein the pedal is connected to the housing via a parallel arrangement of the flat springs (i.e. 30, 31 against 19, 20, see [0020], Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diesner et al. (DE 10347843) in view of Tiemann et al. (DE 10032574).
Regarding Claim 3, Diesner et al. does not disclose a pedal cap.
Tiemann et al. discloses a pedal cap (1) seated on the actuation section (3), which pedal cap covers a side of the actuation section facing away from the housing (i.e. bottom side in Fig. 2) and grips under it with a buffer region (12), which is arranged between the actuation section and a pedal-side axial end region of the housing in the axial direction (i.e. between 3 and the opposing side 11 of the housing as modified into Diesner et al.) for the purpose of preventing slipping.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Diesner et al. by including the pedal cap as
disclosed by Tiemann et al., for the purpose of preventing slipping.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diesner et al. (DE 10347843) in view of Neugart et al. (DE 102014007988).
Regarding Claim 5, Diesner et al. does not disclose springs arranged as claimed.
Neugart et al. discloses flat springs are arranged one after the other in the axial direction and at a distance from each other (i.e. see two sets of 11, 12, vertically separated in Fig. 3), for the purpose of applying consistent urging force on the actuating member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Diesner et al. by including the spring arrangement
as disclosed by Neugart et al., for the purpose of applying consistent urging force on the actuating member.
.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diesner et al. (DE 10347843) in view of Wittrock et al. (DE 102008041966).
Regarding Claims 6, 9 and 10, Diesner et al. does not disclose spring bars as
claimed.
Wittrock et al. discloses each flat spring has S-shaped spring bars (34a, 50a)
arranged around the pedal (i.e. around the spring center) which spring bars resiliently
support the pedal in the axial direction on the housing, for the purpose of applying
consistent urging force on the actuating member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Diesner et al. by including the spring bars as
disclosed by Wittrock et al., for the purpose of applying consistent urging force on the
actuating member.
It is noted that by this modification, the outer ends of the spring bars would
contact the housing as in Diesner et al. to which the outer ends would furthermore have
to be fastened in order for the spring to function as disclosed (i.e. for spring action as
well as for strain measurement).
Regarding Claim 7, Diesner et al. does not disclose an inner ring.
Wittrock et al. discloses each flat spring has an inner ring (18a) rigidly connected
to its spring bars and penetrated by the pedal (as modified into Diesner et al.) by which
inner ring the flat spring is fastened to the pedal, for the purpose of supporting the
spring bars.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Diesner et al. by including the inner ring as
disclosed by Wittrock et al., for the purpose of supporting the spring bars.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record shows an outer ring (Claim 8) or a metal sleeve (Claim 11) as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sakamoto et al. (US Patent No. 6,626,061) discloses housing 4 and spring 11 in Fig. 2.
Beurdeley et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0168706) discloses spring 178 in Fig. 6.
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 August 28, 2026