DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, the terms "the peripheral casing" and "the tubular casing" do not have proper antecedent basis within the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nusser (US Patent No.: 5574323) in view of Goto et al. (Japanese Patent Document No.: JP 2003037954 A).
For claim 1, Nusser discloses the claimed invention comprising: a yoke (reference numeral 27) and a shaft (reference numeral 13, see figures 2, 3), the yoke supporting N magnets (reference numeral 29) magnetized radially or according to a rotating magnetization generating a radial main field (see figures 2, 3), an inner surface of each of the magnets (reference numeral 29) being arranged against the periphery of the yoke (reference numeral 27, see figures 2, 3); the magnets (reference numeral 29) being held on either side of their axial ends by at least one end plate (reference numeral 33) having at one of its peripheries N claws (reference numeral 45) extending in the axial direction (see figures 2, 3, 5, 6), the claws (reference numeral 45) being formed by blades (reference numeral 49, figure 6) extending obliquely to the surface of the end plate (see figure 6), wherein: the end plate(s) (reference numeral 33) are configured to be axially fitted onto the assembly comprising the rotor yoke (reference numeral 27) on which the magnets (reference numeral 29) are positioned (see figure 2), with increasing interference with the yoke or the magnets (i.e. figure 2 shows end plates 33 contacting the rotor yoke 27 and magnets 29); and the claws (reference numeral 45) coming into constrained contact with part of the outer surface of the magnet (reference numeral 29, see figures 2, 3). Nusser however does not specifically disclose the peripheral casing of the claws fitting, after assembly, within the tubular casing inscribing the magnets.
Goto et al. disclose claws of end plates (i.e. claws 16, 17 of end plates 14, see figures 1-4) being fitted within a tubular casing (reference numeral 15) inscribing the magnets (reference numeral 13, see figures 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claws fitted inside the tubular casing as disclosed by Goto et al. for the claws and magnets of Nusser for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the optimal assembly of the rotor components within the device.
For claim 2, Nusser discloses the cross-section of the magnets (reference numeral 29) being curved (see figure 3), and wherein the claws (reference numeral 45) come to rest on two consecutive magnets (reference numeral 29, see figure 3), straddling the slot separating the two consecutive magnets (i.e. slot in between magnets 29 shown in figure 3 straddled by claws 45), but Nusser in view of Goto et al. however do not specifically disclose the tubular casing having a radius corresponding to the radius passing through the apex of the curved part of the magnets. Goto et al. further disclose the the tubular casing (reference numeral 15) having a radius which would surround the magnets (i.e. casing 15 having a radius which surrounds the outer surface of the magnets 13, see figures 3, 4), which when applied to the tubular casing of Nusser in view of Goto et al. would disclose the tubular casing having a radius corresponding to the radius passing through the apex of the curved part of the magnets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radius of the tubular casing surrounding the magnets as disclosed by Goto et al. so that the radius of the tubular casing would correspond to the radius passing through the apex of the curved part of the magnets for Nusser in view of Goto et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the optimal assembly of the rotor components within the device.
For claim 3, Nusser in view of Goto et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the cross-section of the magnets being rectangular, the tubular casing having a radius corresponding to the radius passing through the outer edge of the magnets, and wherein the claws come to bear on a middle area of a magnet. Goto et al. further disclose the cross-section of the magnets (reference numeral 13) being rectangular (see figure 3), the tubular casing (reference numeral 15) having a radius corresponding to the radius passing through the outer edge of the magnets (see figure 3), and wherein the claws (reference numeral 16) come to bear on a middle area of a magnet (reference numeral 13, see figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rectangular magnets with the claws bearing on the middle area of the magnet as disclosed by Goto et al. for the magnets of Nusser in view of Goto et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the optimal assembly of the rotor components within the device.
For claim 4, Nusser discloses the claws (reference numeral 45) being resiliently deformable (i.e. claws 45 providing radial force on the magnets 49, column 3, lines 27-36, providing resilient deformation) and configured to present, with the profile of the magnets (reference numeral 29), an increasing interference as a function of the axial fitting of the end plate (reference numeral 33) onto the yoke (reference numeral 27, see figures 2, 3, 5, 6).
For claim 8, Nusser discloses the magnets (reference numeral 29) having a constant cross-section over their entire length (see figures 2, 3).
For claim 11, Nusser discloses the magnets (reference numeral 29) having a curved outer surface (see figure 3).
For claim 13, Nusser in view of Goto et al. disclose the claimed invention except for all the means for attaching the magnets to the yoke being located in the tubular casing enclosing the magnets. Goto et al. further disclose all the means for attaching the magnets to the yoke (i.e. means of claws 16, 17 of plates 14, figures 1-3) being located in the tubular casing (reference numeral 15) enclosing the magnets (reference numeral 13, see figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the means for attaching the magnets located in the tubular casing as disclosed by Goto et al. for the magnets and yoke of Nusser in view of Goto et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the optimal assembly of the rotor components within the device.
For claim 14, Nusser discloses an electric machine (reference numeral 1, figure 1) comprising a stator (reference numeral 7) and a rotor (reference numeral 11, see figure 1) according to claim 1.
For claim 15, Nusser discloses the rotor (reference numeral 11) being located inside the stator (reference numeral 7, see figure 1).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nusser in view of Goto et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kondo et al. (US Patent No.: 8283833).
For claim 9, Nusser discloses the claws (reference numeral 45) being formed by blades extending in the axial direction at an acute angle to the plane of the disc area of the end plate (i.e. plane of disc area 47, see figure 6), but Nusser in view of Goto et al. however do not specifically disclose the claws having an end of decreasing width. Having a decreasing width for the claw component is a known skill as exhibited by Kondo et al. which disclose a claw (reference numeral 3c, figure 3) having an end of decreasing width (figure 3) for holding magnet (reference numeral 7, figure 5), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the decreasing width as disclosed by Kondo et al. for the claw of Nusser in view of Goto et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the optimal assembly of the rotor components within the device.
For claim 10, Nusser in view of Goto et al. and Kondo et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the end plate having a radial rib at the bending edge of each of the claws. Goto et al. further disclose radial rib portion (reference numeral 17, see figures 1-3) for the claws, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rib as disclosed by Goto et al. for the claws of Nusser in view of Goto et al. and Kondo et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the optimal assembly of the rotor components within the device.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nusser in view of Goto et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okubo et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2009/0001838 A1).
For claim 12, Nusser in view of Goto et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the claws having a three-dimensional wedge shape suitable for fitting into the space between the lateral flanks of two consecutive magnets. Okubo et al. discloses claws (reference numeral 41) having a three-dimensional wedge (reference numeral 44, see figure 11) in between two magnets (reference numeral 17, see figure 11), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the three-dimensional wedge as disclosed by Okubo et al. for the claws of Nusser in view of Goto et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the optimal assembly of the rotor components within the device.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nusser in view of Goto et al. as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Leiber (US Patent No.: 7872389).
For claim 16, Nusser in view of Goto et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the rotor being located outside the stator. Having the rotor located outside the stator is a known skill as exhibited by Leiber (i.e. rotor 8a, 8b, 14 located outside of stator 11, see figure 1), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rotor located outside the stator as disclosed by Leiber for the rotor of Nusser in view of Goto et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the optimal assembly of the rotor components within the device.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nusser in view of Goto et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Billet et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0175777 A1).
For claim 17, Nusser discloses a rotor as explained for claim 1 (reference numeral 11, see figure 1), but Nusser in view of Goto et al. do not specifically disclose an electromagnetic sensor comprising a magnetosensitive probe. Billet et al. disclose an electromagnetic sensor comprising a magnetosensitive probe (reference numeral 19, see figures 3 and 7), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the magnetosensitive probe as disclosed by Billet et al. with the rotor of Nusser in view of Goto et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper operational function of the apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 and 7 are also objected to for their dependency upon aforementioned claim 5.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the prior art discloses some of the claimed invention as explained above in the present action, the prior art of record do not sufficiently disclose the combination of features including the yoke having trapezoidal cross-section cavities with a large arcuate base; the end plates having a peripheral ring formed of arcuate segments extending over an angular width of between 0.5 and 2 times the angular width of a magnet, the arcuate segments being connected by deformable segments, each of the arcuate segments having two claws bearing on the outer surface of one or two magnets, fitting inside the tubular casing of the magnetized structure; and each arcuate segment being bent on the side opposite the claw to form a wedge whose outer face is inclined, in the radial plane, to force centripetal displacement of the arcuate segment by the force exerted on the wedge by the outer edge of the corresponding cavity, during axial fitting of the end plate onto the yoke as recited in claim 5.
Claims 6 and 7 are dependent upon claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of rotor magnet retaining configurations: US 9425659 B2 (Schröder; Lothar), US 9246365 B2 (Honda; Yoshihiko et al.), US 8203245 B2 (Ishikawa; Ryuji et al.), US 7768168 B2 (Aschoff; Joerg et al.), US 7649293 B2 (Maldener; Klaus et al.), US 5237737 A (Zigler; Robert V. et al.), US 5053664 A (Kikuta; Hikaru et al.), US 4850100 A (Stokes; Vijay K.), US 4591749 A (Gauthier; Robert E. et al.), US 4219752 A (Katou; Aritsune), US 20190089213 A1 (TSURUHA; Jun et al.).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834