DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application Ser. No. 19/124,169 filed on April 24, 2025, as a 371 National Stage entry of International Application Number PCT/EP2023/080703. The preliminary amendment filed April 24, 2025, has been entered. Claims 1-26 are cancelled. New Claims 27-46 are added. Claims 27-46 are pending and are examined.
Drawings
Drawings were received on April 24, 2025. The drawings are accepted.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic priority as a 371 National Stage entry of International Application Number PCT/EP2023/080703, filed November 11, 2023.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on Greek application Ser. No. GR 20230100026 filed on January 16, 2023. Receipt of the certified copy of the Greek application on April 24, 2025, is hereby acknowledged.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/422,266 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior-filed application does not include drawings corresponding to Figures 10-17 of the instant application nor the associated disclosure that discloses the specific features of the event definition configuration, the event reporting configuration, and the event configuration identifier recited in independent Claims 27 and 45.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s submission of the Information Disclosure Statement dated April 24, 2025, is acknowledged by the Examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending (see attached PTO-1449).
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
regarding Claim 27, a colon should be added in line 4 following the word “comprising” and the term “the AI/ML events” recited in lines 7-8 should be replaced with “the one or more AI/ML events”;
regarding Claim 33, the term “the second node” recited in line 5 should be replaced with “the second network node” and the term “the first and second network nodes” recited in line 5 should replaced with “the first network node and the second network node;”
regarding Claim 34, the word “of” recited in line 3 should be deleted and the term “two or more nodes” recited in line 3 should be replaced with “two or more network nodes”, and the semicolon ending the claim should be replaced with a period;
regarding Claim 35, a colon should be added in line 1 following the word “message”, and the term “one or more part” recited in lines 2 and 4 should be replaced with “one or more parts”;
regarding Claim 39, the term “both the EDC and ERC” recited in lines 2 and 7 should be replaced with “both the EDC and the ERC” and the term “part of both the EDC and ERC” recited in line 4 should be replaced with “parts of both the EDC and the ERC”;
regarding Claim 42, the semicolon ending the claim should be replaced with a period;
regarding Claim 44, the term “the first and third messages” recited in line 1 should be replaced with “the first message and the third message”;
regarding Claim 45, a colon should be added in line 7 following the word “comprising”, and the term “the AI/ML events” recited in lines 10-11 should be replaced with “the one or more AI/ML events”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 27-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation “an event reporting configuration (ERC) defining the content and structure of a report of an event, to be generated and sent by the second network node upon fulfillment of the AI/ML event(s), and including information regarding when and where in the network to send the report” in lines 9-12. The relationship between “the AI/ML event(s)” recited here and “one or more AI/ML events” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear whether “the AI/ML event(s)” should be interpreted as referring back to “one or more AI/ML events” recited previously, of whether it should be interpreted as referring to a subset of “the one or more AI/ML events”, which raises the question of whether the claim requires generation and sending the report upon fulfillment of any one of “one or more AI/ML events” or whether all of “one or more AI/ML events” must be fulfilled for the report to be generated and sent.
Dependent Claims 28-44 are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 27 in view of their dependence thereon.
For examination purposes, the clause “to be generated and sent by the second network node upon fulfillment of the AI/ML event(s)” is interpreted as “to be generated and sent by the second network node upon fulfilment of an AI/ML event defined by the EDC”.
Additionally, Claim 29 recites the limitations “ascertaining that the second node can detect the AI/ML event(s) per the EDC” and “ascertaining that the second node can report the AI/ML event(s) per the ERC” in lines 3 and 4, respectively. The relationship between the term “the AI/ML event(s)” recited here and “one or more AI/ML events” introduced in Claim 27 is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
For examination purposes, the term “the AI/ML event(s)” is interpreted as “the one or more AI/ML events”.
Additionally, Claim 30 recites the limitations “rejects the event configuration(s)”, “accepts the event configuration(s)” and “accepts the event configuration(s) with specified modifications to the ERC” in lines 4-6, respectively. The relationship between the term “the event configuration(s)” recited here and “one or more event configurations” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
For examination purposes, the term “the event configuration(s)” is interpreted as “the one or more event configurations”.
Additionally, Claim 32 recites the limitation comprising “prior to sending the first message, receiving, from a third network node, a fourth message including one or more event configurations, each associated with an event configuration identifier, optionally, wherein the fourth message further includes an indication of which event configuration to send to the second network node at a defined time” in lines 2-6. It is unclear whether “optionally” is referring to the inclusion of an indication of which event configuration to send within the fourth message or to the receiving of the fourth message itself, rendering the claim indefinite.
For examination purposes, “optionally” is interpreted as referring to the inclusion of the indication of which event configuration to send within the fourth message.
Additionally, Claim 35 recites the limitations “omits one or more part of the event configuration that are common”, “comprises only a complete or partial ERC” and “updates or overrides one or more part of the event configuration that are common” in lines 2-4. It is unclear whether the limitations should be in the alternative “OR”, in which case the claim requires one of omitting one or more parts of the event configuration that are common, comprises only a complete or partial ERC, and updates or overrides one or more parts of the event configuration that are common, or interpreted in the inclusive “AND”, in which case the claim requires all of omitting, comprising, and updating or overriding, rendering the claim indefinite.
For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as requiring one of omitting, comprising, and updating or overriding.
Additionally, Claim 38 recites the limitation “wherein the first message includes one or more event identifiers and assistance information allowing the second network node to obtain event configurations for the event identifiers from the third network node” in lines 6-8. The relationship among the terms “one or more event identifiers” and “the event identifiers” recited here and “one or more event identifiers” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
For examination purposes, the term “one or more event identifiers” recited in line 6 is interpreted as “the one or more event identifiers” and the term “the event identifiers” recited in line 8 is interpreted as “the one or more event identifiers”.
Additionally, Claim 42 recites the limitations “when a predefined number of events occurred”, “when a predefined number of samples are collected”, “for predefined metrics”, “for predefined network actions”, “per network node, cell, radio access technology (RAT), or slice” and “for one, a predefined group, or all user equipment (UE)” in lines 2-7. It is unclear whether the limitations should be in the alternative “OR”, in which case the claim requires sending the report in any one of the enumerated situations, or interpreted in the inclusive “AND”, in which case the claim requires sending the report in ALL of the enumerated situations, rendering the claim indefinite. Additionally, it is unclear whether “one” and “a predefined group” should be interpreted as “one user equipment (UE)” and “a predefined group of UEs”, respectively, rendering the claim indefinite.
For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as requiring a report to be sent in any one of the enumerated situations, the term “one” is interpreted as “one user equipment (UE)”, and the term “a predefined group” is interpreted as “a predefined group of UEs”.
Additionally, Claim 43 recites the limitation “wherein the EDC of one or more event configurations in the first message includes an identifier of an action instance or action type undertaken by the first network node, further wherein the third message includes information related to the specified action instance or action type” in lines 1-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the specified action instance or type” in the claims.
Dependent Claim 44 is rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 43 in view of its dependence thereon.
For examination purposes, the term “the specified action instance or type” is interpreted as “the action instance or action type specified by the identifier”.
Additionally, Claim 44 recites the limitations “part of the same network procedure”, “parts of two network procedures” and “further wherein: one procedure is specific for AI/ML and one procedure is not specific for AI/ML; or neither of the two procedures is specific for AI/ML” in lines 2-7. The relationship between the terms “one procedure” and “two procedures” and the term “two network procedures” recited earlier in the claim is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite. Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the same network procedure” in the claims.
For examination purposes, the term “the same network procedure” recited in line 2 is interpreted as “one network procedure”, the term “one procedure” recited twice in line 5 is interpreted as “one procedure of the two network procedures”, and the clause “neither of the two procedures” is interpreted as “neither procedure of the two network procedures”.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 45 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 27.
Dependent Claim 46 is rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 45 in view of its dependence thereon.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner has noted significant issues supra as to the pending claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Presently, the pending claims do not adequately reflect what the disclosed invention is. In light of the precedence set forth in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 862 (CCPA 1962) and In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385 (CCPA 1970), the Examiner applies cited art in accordance with a position as best understood in the context of the claims and the invention as a whole to expedite compact prosecution. Such interpretations of the claims versus the cited art cannot be used as a basis for overcoming the objections or rejections set forth supra. Any claim not rejected in view of art does not ascribe allowable subject matter, but remains pending and rejected under their respective titles supra.
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) presented supra, the Examiner welcomes the applicant to contact the Examiner to discuss clarifications to the claims that would overcome the rejections in a manner that is amenable to the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27, 30, 31 and 39-46, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al., Pub. No. US 2022/0368605 A1, hereby “Gao”, in view of Parichehrehteroujeni et al., Pub. No. WO 2021/256978 A1, hereby “Pari”.
Regarding Claim 27, Gao discloses “A method, performed by a first network node, of ascertaining information related to Artificial Intelligence (AI) or Machine Learning (ML) in a wireless communication network (Gao figs. 1 and 3 and paragraphs 26 and 49: a method for AI measurement management 230, wherein the method is performed by NG-RAN node1 310 comprising an AI entity), the method comprising:
generating or obtaining an event configuration (Gao fig. 3 and paragraph 50: “At 232, the NG-RAN node1 310 sends a measurement request message (e.g., AI MEASUREMENT REQUEST message) to NG-RAN node2 315. The message includes at least one of: a measurement objective, a report configuration, a report granularity.” -while not explicitly stated, generating or obtaining configuration information, e.g., measurement objective, report configuration and report granularity, by NG-RAN node1 310 is inferred), comprising” and
“an event reporting configuration (ERC) defining the content and structure of a report of an event, to be generated and sent by the second network node upon fulfillment of the AI/ML event(s), and including information regarding when and where in the network to send the report (Gao fig. 3 and paragraph 50: “The message includes at least one of: a measurement objective, a report configuration, a report granularity. The measurement objective indicates the measurement object the peer node is requested to report. The report configuration indicates the configuration for a periodic report, a time-period report, and/or an event trigger report. The report granularity includes but is not limited to the UE granularity, cell granularity, node granularity, and/or slice granularity.”);
associating an event configuration identifier with the event configuration (Gao fig. 3 and paragraph 56: the initiating peer of a procedure, i.e., NG-RAN node1 310, may generate a transaction ID to identify messages belonging to the same procedure, i.e., messages relating to the measurement request); and
sending at least part of the event configuration and the event configuration identifier to a second network node in a first message (Gao fig. 3 and paragraphs 50 and 56: NG-RAN node1 310 sends a measurement report request, i.e. a first message comprising event configuration, to NG-RAN node2 315, wherein the measurement report request may include the transaction ID).”
However, while Gao discloses that the measurement request message may include at least one of a measurement objective indicating the measurement object the peer is requested to report and a report configuration for a period report, time-period report and/or an event trigger report (Gao paragraph 50), Gao does not explicitly disclose “an event definition configuration (EDC) defining one or more AI/ML events, and including one or more identifiers, parameters, indications, actions, or conditions by which a second network node determines whether the AI/ML events are fulfilled (emphasis added)”.
In the same field of endeavor, Pari discloses “generating or obtaining an event configuration (Pari figs. 4 and 10, page 12, lines 6-20 and page 18, line 25 through page 26, line 1: source node 32 configures a feedback request 36), comprising
an event definition configuration (EDC) defining one or more AI/ML events, and including one or more identifiers, parameters, indications, actions, or conditions by which a second network node determines whether the AI/ML events are fulfilled (Pari figs. 4 and 10, page 12, line 6-20 and page 18, lines 1-37: feedback request 36 includes a list of feature information, e.g., target node load information such as PRB utilization, the number of connected users and/or number of bearers and bearer type, as well as feedback criteria, e.g., thresholds that trigger sending of the feedback information)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the method of Gao to include feedback criteria, such as thresholds that trigger sending of the measurement information, within the measurement request message as taught by Pari because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (including criteria triggering sending of feedback in a feedback request message) to known devices and/or methods (a method for AI measurement management) ready for improvement to yield predictable and desirable results (configuring the conditions under which the second node reports the measurement data). See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Regarding Claim 30, the combination of Gao and Pari discloses all of the limitations of Claim 27.
Additionally, Gao discloses “receiving from the second network node a second message indicating, for one or more event configurations in the first message, whether the second network node: rejects the event configuration(s); accepts the event configuration(s); or accepts the event configuration(s) with specified modifications to the ERC (Gao fig. 3 and paragraphs 51-52: NG-RAN node2 315 replies with an acknowledgement message that indicates the requested measurement has been successfully initiated or a failure message if the AI measurement request fails).”
Regarding Claim 31, the combination of Gao and Pari discloses all of the limitations of Claim 27.
Additionally, Gao discloses “receiving, from the second network node, a third message including a report of one or more AI/ML events as defined by the EDC, the report conforming to the ERC (Gao fig. 3 and paragraph 53: NG-RAN node1 310 receives an AI measurement report message from NG-RAN node2 315, the measurement report including at least one of a measurements results and a report granularity).”
Regarding Claim 39, the combination of Gao and Pari discloses all of the limitations of Claim 27.
Additionally, Gao, as modified by Pari, suggests “wherein: both the EDC and ERC of an event configuration in the first message are sent in a non-opaque format; or part of both the EDC and ERC of an event configuration in the first message are sent in a non-opaque format, and part of both the EDC and ERC are sent in an opaque format; or both the EDC and ERC of an event configuration in the first message are sent in an opaque format (Gao fig. 3 and paragraphs 50 and 56: NG-RAN node1 310 sends a measurement report request to NG-RAN node2 315 – while not explicitly stated, absent any suggestion of encryption of all or a portion of the measurement report request, sending of the measurement report request and its contents unencrypted, i.e., in a non-opaque format, is inferred).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the method of Gao to include feedback criteria, such as thresholds that trigger sending of the measurement information, within the measurement request message as taught by Pari for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 27.
Regarding Claim 40, the combination of Gao and Pari discloses all of the limitations of Claim 27.
Additionally, Pari discloses “wherein the EDC comprises one or more conditions applied to one or more metrics, actions, or network/radio procedures (Pari figs. 4 and 10, page 12, line 6-20 and page 18, lines 1-37: the feedback criteria included in feedback request 36 may comprise thresholds applied to one or more metrics, e.g., if throughput in the target cell is not within a threshold range).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the method of Gao to include feedback criteria, such as thresholds that trigger sending of the measurement information, within the measurement request message as taught by Pari for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 27.
Regarding Claim 41, the combination of Gao and Pari discloses all of the limitations of Claim 27.
Additionally, Gao, discloses “wherein the ERC specifies that a report is sent: when requested; only once; periodically; only upon a change in reported information in excess of a threshold amount; until a timer expires; or for a defined duration (Gao fig. 3 and paragraph 50: the report configuration indicates the configuration for a periodic report, a time-period report, and/or an event trigger report).”
Regarding Claim 42, the combination of Gao and Pari discloses all of the limitations of Claim 27.
Additionally, Gao, discloses “wherein the ERC specifies that a report is sent: when a predefined number of events occurred; when a predefined number of samples are collected; for predefined metrics; for predefined network actions; per network node, cell, radio access technology (RAT), or slice; for one, a predefined group, or all user equipment (UE) (Gao fig. 3 and paragraph 50: “The message includes at least one of: a measurement objective, a report configuration, a report granularity. The measurement objective indicates the measurement object the peer node is requested to report.” – i.e., for predefined metrics).”
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 45 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 1.
Additionally, Gao discloses “An apparatus, operative in a wireless communication network implementing Artificial Intelligence (AI) or Machine Learning (ML) (Gao figs. 1 and 3 and paragraphs 26 and 49-50: NG-RAN node1 310 comprising an AI entity) characterized by:
communication circuitry configured to communicate with one or more network nodes (Gao fig. 8 and paragraph 62: transceiver electronics 815); and
processing circuitry operatively connected to the communication circuitry... (Gao fig. 8 and paragraph 62: processor electronics 810)”.
Regarding Claim 46, the combination of Gao and Pari discloses all of the limitations of Claim 27.
Additionally, Gao, discloses “wherein the apparatus is one of: a network node in the wireless communication network; and a User Equipment operative in the wireless communication network (Gao figs. 1 and 3 and paragraphs 26 and 49-50: NG-RAN node1 310 is part of a next-generation radio access network).”
Claims 28, 29, 32, 33-38, 43 and 44 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM C MCBETH/Examiner, Art Unit 2449