DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
3. This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The species are as follows:
Species I: Figs. 1-3 and 7, directed a non-stick membrane made of a fluorine resin material formed on an abutment’s outer surface.
Species II: Figs. 4-6, directed to a non-stick cap made of the fluorine resin material covering an abutment’s surface.
The membrane (Species I) and the cap (Species II) are corresponding technical features because they share the same technical feature “non-stick fluorine-resin material on abutment’s surface” (claim 1), which is disclosed for the same function of keeping food from sticking thereto the abutment’s surface (Specification [0039]).
Species I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of “a fluorine resin material on an abutment’s surface”, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Rozzi et al. (US 5,662,887).
Rozzi et al. discloses a membrane/layer of coating of hydrophobic fluorine-containing polymer on surface of dental prosthetics to resist food, bacteria, plaque sticking thereto the surface (column 1 lines 32-52 “coating comprises a polymer comprising repeating units… C) 1-40% by weight of a hydrophobic fluorine-containing group”; column 2 lines 7-24 “the coating may be provided on … surfaces of dental restorations, orthodontic devices, or prostodontic devices… The coatings are provided in an amount sufficient to provide resistance of the coated surface to bacterial adhesion, plaque formation or staining from foods or dyes”).
Provisional Election
4. During a telephone conversation with Attorney Brian Fitzgerald on 09/28/2026, a provisional election was made to prosecute the invention of Species I, Figs. 1-3 and 7, claim 1 (non-stick membrane species), and claims 2-3, 5-7, 9-10. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. The non-stick cap species (in claim 1) and claims 4, 8, and 11, are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Specification
5. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains phrases which can be implied - "The present disclosure relates to…" (line 1), "More specifically, the present disclosure relates to…” (lines 3-4). Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites:
“A dental healing abutment that is temporarily coupled and fixed to a fixture implanted in an alveolar bone while gums heal,
wherein a non-stick membrane made of a fluorine resin material is formed on an outer surface of the dental healing abutment or the non-stick cap made of the fluorine resin material covers the outer surface.”
Claim 2 recites:
“The dental healing abutment of claim 1 comprising:
a coupling portion coupled and fixed to the fixture; and
a body portion formed on the upper portion of the coupling portion.”
In claim 1, note that “a fluorine resin material” and “an outer surface” are introduced only in an alternative Species of “a non-stick membrane”. Claim 1 recites another alternative Species “the non-stick cap” along with its limitations “the fluorine resin material” and “the outer surface”, all of which lack antecedent bases.
Claim 1 preamble “A dental healing abutment that is temporarily coupled and fixed to a fixture implanted in an alveolar bone while gums heal” is indefinite because it is claiming a dental healing abutment that is actively connected to “a fixture implanted in an alveolar bone while gums heal”. It is unclear whether “a fixture” (claim 1), “the fixture” (claim 2), “alveolar bone”, “gum”, are positively claimed as an elements of the invention or only as an environment of use.
Claim 2 recites “the upper portion”, which lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim(s).
Claim 3 recites “an outer surface of the body portion”; it is unclear whether such outer surface is the same as, different from, or part of the “outer surface of the “outer surface” previously recited in claim 1.
Claim 5 recites “the lower portion”, which lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim(s).
Claim 10 recites “a film installed to cover a graft to prevent detachment of the graft transplanted to a defect area of the alveolar bone”. It is unclear whether the “graft” and “defect area” are positively claimed elements or only as environment of intended use.
All dependent claims are rejected herein based on dependency.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. The above list of issues of indefiniteness is not exhaustive. Applicant is required to review all claims to correct all indefiniteness issues and grammatical and idiomatic errors and conform with U.S. practice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
9. Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1 recites “abutment that is temporarily coupled and fixed to a fixture implanted in an alveolar bone while gums heal”, and claim 10 recites “film installed to cover a graft to prevent detachment of the graft transplanted to a defect area of the alveolar bone”, which are attempting to claim the invention in combination with human anatomy, i.e. “alveolar bone”, “gums”, “a defect area of the alveolar bone” (see In re Rohrbacher, 128 USPQ 117 (CCPA 1960)). Claims that are directed to or include within their scope a human being are not considered patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 since the grant of a limited, but exclusive property right in a human being is prohibited by the constitution. See 1077 OG 24 (April 21, 1987).
Applicant is suggested to recite the underlined language as intended use or functional claim language, e.g. "adapted to couple and fixed to…”, “configured to…”, etc., in order to avoid positively reciting/claiming the human anatomy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al. (WO 2012/169667, see English translation for text citations) in view of Rozzi et al. (US 5,662,887).
Note that the independent claim 1 recites alternative species. Since the “non-stick membrane” species (Figs. 1-3) has been elected (see above Restriction Requirement and provisional Election), claim I is examined and rejected herein as it reads on the elected species – “non-stick membrane”. The species “non-stick cap” (alternative recitation in claim 1) is not examined, along with claims 4, 8, and 11, are withdrawn as directed to non-elected species.
Regarding claims 1-3, Heo et al. discloses a dental healing abutment 600 (Figs. 10-11) that is temporarily coupled and fixed to a fixture 20 implanted in an alveolar bone while gums heal; the abutment comprising a coupling portion 604 coupled and fixed to the fixture, and a body portion 601/602 formed on the upper portion of the coupling portion 604 (Figs. 10-11, page 9 “lower male coupling part 604 of the abutment 600 is screwed to the fixture 20 implanted in the alveolar bone 10“ ).
Heo et al. fails to disclose a non-stick membrane made of a fluorine resin material formed on an outer surface to cover the outer surface of the body portion.
Rozzi et al. discloses a membrane/layer of coating of hydrophobic fluorine-containing polymer on surface of dental prosthetics to resist food, bacteria, plaque sticking thereto the surface (column 1 lines 32-52 “coating comprises a polymer comprising repeating units… C) 1-40% by weight of a hydrophobic fluorine-containing group”; column 2 lines 7-24 “the coating may be provided on … surfaces of dental restorations, orthodontic devices, or prostodontic devices… The coatings are provided in an amount sufficient to provide resistance of the coated surface to bacterial adhesion, plaque formation or staining from foods or dyes”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the fluorine-containing polymer coating layer of Rozzi as a membrane on the outer surface of the healing abutment 600 of Heo et al. in order to resist adherence of plaque, bacteria, and food stains to the abutment while it remains in the mouth during gingival healing, as Rozzi expressly teaches for devices placed temporarily or permanently in the mouth.
As to claims 5-6, Heo et al. shows that in the body portion 601/602, a diameter of the upper portion 602 is larger than a diameter of the lower portion 601, wherein the coupling portion 604 is screw-coupled to the fixture 20 (Fig. 11).
As to claim 7, Heo et al. shows a driver groove 608 is formed in the upper portion of the body portion (Fig. 10; English translation page 9 paragraph 1 “Tool insertion groove 608”).
As to claims 9-10, Heo et al. further discloses a peripheral groove 603 is formed around a periphery of the body portion 601/602, wherein a dental barrier film 30 installed to cover a graft to prevent detachment of the graft transplanted to a defect area of the alveolar bone is coupled to the peripheral groove. (Figs. 10-11; page 9 paragraph 5 “shielding film insertion groove 603… shielding film 30”).
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner HAO D. MAI whose telephone number is (571)270-3002. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 8:00-4:30. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eric Rosen can be reached on (571) 270-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HAO D MAI/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772