DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the filing of 4/24/2025. Claims 1-6, 8, 12-16, 18-20, and 23-27 are currently pending. Claims 1-6, 8, 12-16, 18-20, and 23-27 have been amended in a preliminary amendment. Claims 7, 9-11, 17, and 21-22 have been canceled in the preliminary amendment.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the “striking portion” of claims 1, 23, and 26 and corresponding to piston 28 and driver blade 29;
the “biasing portion” of claims 1, 23, and 26 and corresponding to pressure chamber 226;
the “rotating portion” of claims 1, 23, and 26 and corresponding to pin wheel 50;
the “rotating portion-side engagement portions” of claims 1, 23, and 26 and corresponding to pins 51-60;
the “striking portion-side engagement portions” of claims 1, 23, and 26 and corresponding to racks 61-70;
the “rotation position detection unit” of claim 3 and corresponding to the Hall sensor of paragraph 0163;
the “striking portion-position detection unit” of claim 3 and corresponding to detector switch 80a;
the “plurality of intermediate portions” of claims 16 and 23 and corresponding to indents 271; and
the “deformation intermediate portion” of claims 16 and 23 and corresponding to indent 271a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 8, 12-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “wherein the control unit is able to determine whether the striking operation is a first striking operation in which all of the plurality of rotating portion-side engagement portions is engaged with the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions or a second striking operation in which some of the plurality of rotating portion-side engagement portions is not engaged with the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions” is indefinite because claim 1 expressly requires the striking operation to occur when the engagement of the striking portion is released from the rotating portion. If the striking portion is released from the rotating portion, then there can be no engagement between the striking portion-side engagement portions and the plurality of rotating portion-side engagement portions. In order to further prosecution, the striking operation has been interpreted to be the entire movement cycle of the striking portion, not just the movement of the striking portion to the one side, thereby allowing the engagement during the striking operation. Claims, 3-6, 8, and 12-14 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites that the control unit determines engagement when the rotating portion moves the striking portion to the other side. Claim 1 expressly discloses that the determination occurs during the striking operation which is when the striking portion moves to the one side. In order to further prosecution, the striking operation has been interpreted to be the entire movement cycle of the striking portion, not just the movement of the striking portion to the one side, thereby allowing the engagement during the striking operation.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites that the determination occurs before the engagement is released. However, claim 1 expressly recites that the determination occurs during the striking operation which is when the engagement has already been released. In order to further prosecution, the striking operation has been interpreted to be the entire movement cycle of the striking portion, not just the movement of the striking portion to the one side, thereby allowing the engagement during the striking operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pedicini (US 2006/0180631 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pedicini discloses a working machine (100 – Fig. 1) comprising: a motor (1 – Fig. 1); a striking portion (8 – Fig. 3) capable of striking a fastener by moving to one side (the distal side of 100 – Fig. 1) in a first direction (to the right in Fig. 1); a rotating portion (31 – Fig. 3) that rotates by a driving force of the motor and is engageable with and disengageable from the striking portion (para. 0077, lines 29-34); and a control unit (3 – Fig. 3) that controls driving of the motor (para. 0077, lines 20-26), wherein the rotating portion includes a plurality of rotating portion-side engagement portions (the unlabeled teeth of 31 – Fig. 3) provided along a rotation direction of the rotating portion (see Fig. 3), wherein the striking portion includes a plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions (4 – Fig. 3) that is provided along the first direction and is engageable with the plurality of rotating portion-side engagement portions (para. 0077, lines 29-34), wherein the striking portion moves to another side (the proximal side of 100 – Fig. 1) in the first direction when the rotating portion rotates in a state where the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions is engaged with the plurality of rotating portion-side engagement portions (para. 0077, lines 34-38), and when the engagement with the rotating portion is released, the striking portion executes a striking operation in which the striking portion moves to the one side in the first direction due to a biasing force of the biasing portion, thereby striking the fastener (para. 0077, lines 38-44), and wherein the control unit determines whether or not the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions and the plurality of rotating portion-side engagement portions have a predetermined engagement relationship in the striking operation (when 8 and 31 have disengaged, para. 0083, lines 1-11).
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baba (US 2023/0364762 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Baba discloses a working machine (1 – Fig. 1) comprising: a motor (31 – Fig. 1); a striking portion (40 – Fig. 3) capable of striking a fastener by moving to one side (the distal side of 100 – Fig. 1) in a first direction (up-down in Fig. 1); a rotating portion (22 – Fig. 3) that rotates by a driving force of the motor and is engageable with and disengageable from the striking portion (para. 0074); and a control unit (5 – Fig. 1) that controls driving of the motor (para. 0056), wherein the rotating portion includes a plurality of rotating portion-side engagement portions (25 – Fig. 3) provided along a rotation direction of the rotating portion (see Fig. 3), wherein the striking portion includes a plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions (41 – Fig. 3) that is provided along the first direction and is engageable with the plurality of rotating portion-side engagement portions (para. 0052), wherein the striking portion moves to another side (the proximal side of 100 – Fig. 1) in the first direction when the rotating portion rotates in a state where the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions is engaged with the plurality of rotating portion-side engagement portions (para. 0058, last two sentences), and when the engagement with the rotating portion is released, the striking portion executes a striking operation in which the striking portion moves to the one side in the first direction due to a biasing force of the biasing portion, thereby striking the fastener (para. 0074), wherein the striking portion includes a plurality of intermediate portions (42-47 – Fig. 3) provided between the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions (see Fig. 3), and wherein any of the plurality of intermediate portions includes a deformation intermediate portion (42a, 45a) having a shape different from a shape of another intermediate portion (42a has a different depth than 43a and 44a and 45a has a different depth than 46a and 47a, hence the shapes of 42a and 45a are different from the others para. 0069).
Baba further discloses:
Claim 24, a distance between the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions disposed with the deformation intermediate portion interposed therebetween among the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions is different from a distance between the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions that is not disposed with the deformation intermediate portion interposed therebetween (para. 0071).
Claim 25, among the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions, the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions disposed with the deformation intermediate portion interposed therebetween have different shapes (42a is between 42c and 44c, since the 42a is deeper than 43a, 44c has a longer incline than 43a, hence 44c has a different shape than 42c).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-27 are allowed.
Claims 15-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2-6, 8, 12-14, and 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 2, Pedicini simply discloses determining if the plurality of rotating portion-side engagement portions are disengaged from the plurality of striking portion-side engagement portions. Pedicini does not disclose determining if all or some of the portions are engaged.
Regarding claim 15, Pedicini uses a sensor to determine that the portions are disengaged. Pedicini does not measure rotation speed or the current of the motor to make this determination.
Regarding claim 20, Pedicini discloses stopping the motor after the portions have been disengaged. Pedicini does not discloses stopping the motor before the portions are disengaged.
Regarding claim 26, Pedicini does not disclose a learned model. While learned models may be known, they are not known in the context of determining whether the two plurality of portions are engaged.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yasutomi (US 2021/0213595 A1) discloses a working machine wherein the rotation angle or the phase of a rotating portion is determined.
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
9/14/2026