DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Status
Applicant’s preliminary amendment of 04/24/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 7, 9, 14, 17, 19, 21-22, 24, and 26-27 are amended. Claims 1-27 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/US2023/077792 filed on 10/25/2023 and claims domestic benefit to U.S. Application No. 63/380,905 filed on 10/25/2022 as reflected in the filing receipt dated on 10/23/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/24/2025 and 02/05/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the Examiner except where lined through. In the IDS filed 04/24/2025, several foreign patent documents listed on the IDS fail to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because no English translation or concise explanation of the relevance of content of the information that is not in the English language was provided. These documents, which have been lined through on the annotated IDS, have been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
The drawings filed 04/24/2025 are objected to because FIG. 1 contains illegible axis titles, value labels, and legend. More specifically, the axis value labels appear too faint to be read, likely due to the color of the text, and the axis titles and legend are highly pixelated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 12-13, 15-16, 18, 20, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the triclosan” in line 2. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claim 12 ultimately depends from claims 1, 9, and 10, which do not recite that the topical adhesive solution comprises triclosan. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear to which triclosan the claim refers. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting the claim to mean that the solution further comprises triclosan in the instantly claimed concentration range. Claim 13 is rejected by virtue of tis dependency on claim 12, as it fails to resolve the ambiguity in question.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “The topical adhesive solution of claim 15” and “the polyethylene glycol”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The claim depends from itself, so it is unclear to which topical adhesive solution “the topical adhesive solution” refers and to which polyethylene glycol “the polyethylene glycol” refers. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting the claim to refer to the topical adhesive solution of claim 14, which provides sufficient antecedent basis for the claim limitations.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “The topical adhesive solution of claim 16” and “the polyethylene glycol”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The claim depends from itself, so it is unclear to which topical adhesive solution “the topical adhesive solution” refers and to which polyethylene glycol “the polyethylene glycol” refers. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting the claim to refer to the topical adhesive solution of claim 14, which provides sufficient antecedent basis for the claim limitations.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “The topical adhesive solution of claim 18” and “the thickener”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The claim depends from itself, so it is unclear to which topical adhesive solution “the topical adhesive solution” refers and to which thickener “the thickener” refers. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting the claim to refer to the topical adhesive solution of claim 17, which provides sufficient antecedent basis for the claim limitations.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “The topical adhesive solution of claim 20” and “the polymerization accelerator”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The claim depends from itself, so it is unclear to which topical adhesive solution “the topical adhesive solution” refers and to which polymerization accelerator “the polymerization accelerator” refers. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting the claim to refer to the topical adhesive solution of claim 19, which provides sufficient antecedent basis for the claim limitations.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “The topical adhesive solution of claim 23” and “the plasticizer”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The claim depends from itself, so it is unclear to which topical adhesive solution “the topical adhesive solution” refers and to which polymerization accelerator “the plasticizer” refers. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting the claim to refer to the topical adhesive solution of claim 22, which provides sufficient antecedent basis for the claim limitations.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “The topical adhesive solution of claim 25” and “the polymerization inhibitor”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The claim depends from itself, so it is unclear to which topical adhesive solution “the topical adhesive solution” refers and to which polymerization accelerator “the polymerization inhibitor” refers. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting the claim to refer to the topical adhesive solution of claim 24, which provides sufficient antecedent basis for the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 21, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beatriz et al. (BR1020120168383A2; published: 08/12/2014; IDS of 04/24/2025).
Regarding claim 1: Beatriz discloses a process for preparing cyanoacrylate monomers for availability as a topical adhesive [claims; pg. 1, lines 5-7]. Beatriz further teaches a formulation comprising 100 mL cyanoacrylate monomer to which 0.01 mg of gentian violet and 2 mL trans-cinnamaldehyde are added to obtain a bluish colored product with a smell of cinnamon [pg. 7, lines 5-11, Example 3]. The formulation is reasonably a solution since the cyanoacrylate monomer is solubilized in dimethyl sulfoxide solvent [pg. 6-7, Example 2, which is used to prepare Example 3], and Beatriz expressly teaches the importance of fluidity of the monomer in applying the product in contrast to solid formulations [pg. 1, lines 18-21]. Since the monomer solution is necessarily mixed with the trans-cinnamaldehyde and gentian violet in order to obtain the observed bluish end product, an ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably conclude that the trans-cinnamaldehyde is indeed dissolved in the monomer solution, as a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. "[P]roducts of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Note MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 21: The formulation of Beatriz does not comprise a plasticizer [pg. 5, lines 18-27; pg. 6, lines 1-3; pg. 7, lines 1-11] and, thus, meets the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 24: Beatriz teaches that depolymerization of cyanoacrylate polymers occurs in the presence of a polymerization inhibitor, hydroquinone, to obtain the cyanoacrylate monomer, to which gentian violet and trans-cinnamaldehyde are subsequently added [pg. 5, lines 18-27; pg. 6, lines 1-3; pg. 7, lines 1-11]. Absent disclosure of a purification step, an ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably conclude that the cyanoacrylate monomer solution, to which trans-cinnamaldehyde is added to obtain the final product, contains at least some amount of polymerization inhibitor.
Regarding claim 27: Beatriz teaches that the final product is stable and, thus, meets the claim limitation [pg. 7, lines 5-11].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 17-18, 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bordoloi et al. (US20060093572A1; published: 05/04/2006; IDS of 04/24/2025) in view of Chen et al. (CN111729127A; published: 10/02/2020; PTO-892) as evidenced by Beatriz et al. (BR1020120168383A2; published: 08/12/2014; IDS of 04/24/2025).
Bordoloi teaches a polymerizable antimicrobial formulation for forming a wound closure adhesive comprising: cyanoacrylate monomer, diiodomethyl-p-tolylsulfone, and a halogenated hydroxyl diphenyl ether; wherein the halogenated hydroxyl diphenyl ether is 2,4,4'-trichloro-2'-hydroxydiphenyl ether, commonly referred to as triclosan [abstract; claims; 0005]. The formulations are prepared by dissolving one or more antimicrobial agents (e.g., diiodomethyl-p-tolylsulfone, triclosan, etc.) in cyanoacrylate monomer [0036; 0043-0045; 0071-0072]. Bordoloi further teaches that antimicrobial agents are routinely incorporated into cyanoacrylate formulations to improve the microbial barrier properties of the resultant polymer film, and often more than one antimicrobial agent is used to achieve a broader spectrum of antibacterial activity [0001; 0005].
However, Bordoloi does not expressly teach that the formulation comprises cinnamaldehyde, a cinnamic ester, or cinnamon essential oil dissolved in the cyanoacrylate monomer.
Chen, also drawn to film-based wound care formulations, teaches that cinnamaldehyde, which is naturally found in essential oils such as Sri Lankan cinnamon oil, has a high efficiency for sterilization, disinfection, and preservation, especially against fungi [0026; 0030]. Cinnamaldehyde also has inhibitory effects against several bacteria, such as Escherichia coli, Bacillus subtilis, Staphylococcus aureus, Staphylococcus albus, Shigella dysenteriae, Salmonella typhi and Salmonella paratyphi A, Streptococcus pneumoniae, Enterobacter aerogenes, Proteus, Bacillus anthracis, Salmonella enteritidis, Vibrio cholerae, etc., and has significant bactericidal effects on gram-positive bacteria [0026].
Regarding claims 1-6: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antimicrobial formulation of Bordoloi, which comprises triclosan, by further including the cinnamaldehyde or cinnamon essential oil of Chen, according to known methods, i.e., by dissolving the antimicrobial agent in cyanoacrylate monomer as directed by Bordoloi, to yield the predictable result of an antibacterial formulation with a broader spectrum of antimicrobial activity, including antifungal activity. Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to include the cinnamaldehyde or cinnamon essential oil in an amount such that the final cinnamaldehyde concentration is 3% to 6% by weight of the formulation, which lies within and thus renders obvious the instantly claimed range, because Chen teaches that this amount is suitable for achieving the desired antimicrobial effect when incorporated into film-based wound care formulations comprising additional antimicrobial agents [claim 1; 0030; 0034].
There is a reasonable expectation of success because Bordoloi expressly encourages the use of blends of antimicrobial agents, and while cinnamaldehyde alone exhibits high levels of antimicrobial activity, Chen teaches that the antimicrobial effect of cinnamaldehyde is more pronounced when used in combination with additional antibacterial agents [Bordoloi, 0005; Chen, 0068-0070, see pg. 24 for machine translation of Chen’s Table 1]. Because the prior art teaches the same concentration of cinnamaldehyde as instantly claimed, an ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect that this amount of cinnamaldehyde is soluble in cyanoacrylate monomer. Note MPEP 2112.01. "[P]roducts of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 7-8: The claims are rendered prima facie obvious because Bordoloi teaches that 2,4,4'trichloro-2'-hydroxydiphenyl ether (triclosan) is soluble in cyanoacrylate monomer at least up to 15,000 ppm and is most preferably in a concentration of about 2,800 ppm, which lies within and, thus, reads on the instantly claimed ranges [0036; 0073-0077, Samples E & I].
Regarding claims 17-18: Bordoloi further teaches that the formulation may also include thickeners and expressly names poly(2-ethylhexyl methacrylate) and poly(2-ethylhexyl acrylate), among others, as suitable thickening agents [0018; 0022-0023]. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further include poly(2-ethylhexyl methacrylate) or poly(2-ethylhexyl acrylate) as a thickener in order to achieve a desired viscosity.
Regarding claim 21: The formulation taught by the combination of Bordoloi and Chen does not require a plasticizer and, thus, meets the claim limitation.
Regarding claims 22-23: Bordoloi further teaches that the formulation may optionally include at least one plasticizing agent and expressly names tributyl citrate and acetyl tributyl citrate (same chemical as tributyl O-acetyl citrate) as preferred plasticizers [0019-0020]. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further include tributyl citrate or acetyl tributyl citrate as a plasticizer in order to impart flexibility to the polymeric film formed from the monomer formulation, as directed by Bordoloi [0019-0020].
Regarding claims 24-25: Bordoloi further teaches that the formulation may optionally include at least one stabilizing agent and expressly names butylated hydroxy anisole, among others, as a suitable radical stabilizing agent and names sulfur dioxide as the preferred anionic vapor phase stabilizer [0025-0028]. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further include butylated hydroxy anisole, sulfur dioxide, or mixtures thereof because Bordoloi teaches that stabilizing agents inhibit premature polymerization, which is taught as critical [0001; 0025].
Regarding claim 26: Bordoloi expressly teaches that its formulations are stable after heat sterilization and/or heat aging for extended periods of time [0041]. Because the cinnamaldehyde of Chen is also known to be stable in cyanoacrylate monomer formulations, as evidenced by Beatriz [pg. 7, lines 5-11], an ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably determine that the formulation taught by the combination of Bordoloi and Chen is also stable. Alternatively, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the concentrations of components in the formulation in order to achieve a desired stability because Bordoloi expressly teaches that it is desirable that such formulations are stable over an extended period of time, for use at a later date, i.e., polymerization at a later date [0001].
Regarding claim 27: Because the prior art teaches the same concentrations of cinnamaldehyde and triclosan as instantly claimed, which are reasonably soluble in cyanoacrylate monomer as discussed above in relation to instant claim 1, an ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect that the resulting solution is homogenous. Alternatively, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to agitate the antimicrobial agents until they are sufficiently dissolved in cyanoacrylate monomer, as practiced by Bordoloi [0043-0045], in order to obtain a homogenous solution to ensure equal distribution of antimicrobial agents upon application to the wound site.
Claims 1-8, 9-13, 17-18, and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bordoloi et al. (US20060093572A1; published: 05/04/2006; IDS of 04/24/2025) in view of Chen et al. (CN111729127A; published: 10/02/2020; PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-8, 17-18, and 21-27 above, and further in view of Liang et al. (US20180000858A1; published: 01/04/2018; IDS of 04/24/2025) and as evidenced by Beatriz et al. (BR1020120168383A2; published: 08/12/2014; IDS of 04/24/2025).
The combination of Bordoloi and Chen as evidenced by Beatriz teaches the invention(s) of claims 1-8, 17-18, and 21-27 as discussed in detail above and further incorporated herein.
Bordoloi further cites U.S. Pat. No. 6,214,332 to teach that polyvinylpyrrolidone-iodine (same chemical as povidone iodine) can be combined with cyanoacrylate monomer to produce a formulation that is stable for 8 weeks, polymerizes to form a film, and exhibits an antimicrobial effect [0002].
However, the prior art combination does not expressly teach that the formulation further comprises solubilized povidone iodine as recited in instant claims 9-13.
Liang teaches a thin-film forming composition comprising 0.5% w/w to 2.5% w/w povidone iodine as an antiseptic and a film-forming material dissolved in non-aqueous solvent, which are useful for the treatment and prevention of infections in wounds [abstract; claims 1-3]. Povidone iodine is strongly effective against viruses, bacteria, fungi, and mold spores, and it causes little irritation on skin and has low toxicity [0006]. Liang further teaches that povidone iodine film-forming composition can further comprise a topical adhesive comprising cyanoacrylate, which produces a clear solution when combined [claims 18-19; 0103-0107, Example 20].
Regarding claim 9: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the formulation taught by the combination of Bordoloi and Chen with the povidone iodine film-forming composition of Liang, according to known methods and as directed by Liang, to yield the predictable result of a topical adhesive formulation for wounds having a broader spectrum of antimicrobial activity against viruses, bacteria, fungi, and mold spores. Note: MPEP 2144.06(I). "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 10-11: It would have been prima facie obvious to include the povidone iodine in an amount of 0.5% to 2% by weight of the formulation, which lies within and thus renders obvious the instantly claimed ranges, because Liang teaches that this amount is suitable for achieving the desired antiseptic effect when incorporated into film-forming compositions comprising cyanoacrylate topical adhesives.
Regarding claims 12-13: As discussed above in relation to instant claims 7-8, the amount of 2,4,4'trichloro-2'-hydroxydiphenyl ether (triclosan) taught by the combination of Bordoloi and Chen lies within and, thus, reads on the instantly claimed ranges.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because Bordoloi expressly encourages the use of blends of antimicrobial agents and teaches that povidone iodine is known to be combined with cyanoacrylate monomer to produce stable, polymerizable film formulations having antimicrobial properties. Further, Liang expressly teaches that its povidone iodine composition can be combined with cyanoacrylate monomer to produce a clear solution, suggesting that the povidone iodine is sufficiently soluble. Moreover, because the prior art teaches the same concentration of povidone iodine as instantly claimed, an ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect that this amount is soluble in cyanoacrylate monomer. Note MPEP 2112.01. "[P]roducts of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 1-8, 14-16, 17-18, and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bordoloi et al. (US20060093572A1; published: 05/04/2006; IDS of 04/24/2025) in view of Chen et al. (CN111729127A; published: 10/02/2020; PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-8, 17-18, and 21-27 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US20030044380A1; published: 03/06/2003; PTO-892) and as evidenced by Beatriz et al. (BR1020120168383A2; published: 08/12/2014; IDS of 04/24/2025).
The combination of Bordoloi and Chen as evidenced by Beatriz teaches the invention(s) of claims 1-8, 17-18, and 21-27 as discussed in detail above and further incorporated herein.
However, the prior art combination does not expressly teach that the formulation further comprises polyethylene glycol as recited in instant claims 14-16.
Zhu teaches medicament-containing cyanoacrylate adhesive formulations for sealing wounds comprising polyethylene glycol as a defect-forming agent, which dissolves upon contact with water and leaves passages behind to facilitate the controlled release of medicaments from the dense cyanoacrylate adhesive matrix [abstract; claims; 0111].
Regarding claim 14: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the formulation taught by the combination of Bordoloi and Chen by further including the polyethylene glycol of Zhu in order to facilitate release of the antimicrobial agents from the polymerized cyanoacrylate film after application to a wound site.
Regarding claims 15-16: Zhu teaches that the defect-forming material is added to the cyanoacrylate at a concentration of from about 0 wt.% to about 30 wt.%, and specifically names concentrations of about 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, or 9 wt.% as suitable [0129], which lie within or overlap the ranges recited in instant claims 15-16, thus, rendering the amounts obvious. It would have been prima facie obvious to adjust the amount of polyethylene glycol within the prior art range to achieve a desired rate of release and dosage level of the medicament because Zhu teaches that the more defect-forming material added to the adhesive, the greater the release rate of the medicament contained within the adhesive [0129-0130]. Note: MPEP 2144.05. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
There is a reasonable expectation of success because Zhu expressly teaches that polyethylene glycol is the preferred defect-forming agent for release of anti-infective agents from cyanoacrylate adhesive formulations [claims 5 and 8], and Bordoloi emphasizes the importance of the antimicrobial agent being capable of being released from the polymeric film in sufficient amounts in order to be effective [0001]. While some embodiments of Zhu comprise medicaments in microcapsules to block undesired reactions between the medicaments and cyanoacrylates [0053], because the antimicrobial agents taught by the combination of Bordoloi and Chen are specifically employed due to their stability in cyanoacrylate monomer, an ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably conclude that the antimicrobial agents can be successfully released from the PEG-modified film without the need for encapsulation.
Claims 1-8, 17-18, 19-20, and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bordoloi et al. (US20060093572A1; published: 05/04/2006; IDS of 04/24/2025) in view of Chen et al. (CN111729127A; published: 10/02/2020; PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-8, 17-18, and 21-27 above, and further in view of Zhang (US20080319063A1; published: 12/25/2008; PTO-892) and as evidenced by Beatriz et al. (BR1020120168383A2; published: 08/12/2014; IDS of 04/24/2025).
The combination of Bordoloi and Chen as evidenced by Beatriz teaches the invention(s) of claims 1-8, 17-18, and 21-27 as discussed in detail above and further incorporated herein.
However, the prior art combination does not expressly teach that the formulation further comprises a polymerization accelerator as recited in instant claims 19-20.
Zhang teaches a cyanoacrylate adhesive composition including a medically suitable cure speed enhancer, wherein the composition does not cure upon sterilization and allows the tissue to be sealed quickly upon application of the liquid adhesive [abstract; claims; 0006; 0028]. Preferably, the cure speed enhancer is a crown ether [claim 2].
Regarding claims 19-20: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antimicrobial formulation taught by the combination of Bordoloi and Chen by further including the crown ether cure speed enhancer of Zhang in order to improve the speed at which the cyanoacrylate adhesive polymerizes and seals upon contact with the tissue, which Zhang expressly recognizes as a need when using cyanoacrylate adhesives for medical applications. There is a reasonable expectation of success because Zhang teaches that its cure speed enhancers, such as crown ethers, are suitable for the same medical applications as the topical adhesive formulation taught by the combination of Bordoloi and Chen.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/124,288 (reference application).
Reference claim 1 recites a topical adhesive solution comprising at least one antimicrobial compound dissolved in a cyanoacrylate monomer, wherein the at least one antimicrobial compound comprises povidone iodine. Reference claim 10 recites that the at least one antimicrobial compound further comprises a cinnamon derivative selected from cinnamaldehyde, a cinnamic ester, or a cinnamon oil, which reads on all limitations of instant claims 1 and 9. Reference claims 2 and 3 recite that the povidone iodine is present in amounts which read on instant claims 10-11, respectively. Reference claims 4-6 recite that the at least one antimicrobial compound further comprises triclosan or a derivative thereof in amounts which read on instant claims 4, 7-8, and 12-13. Reference claims 7-9 and 14 recite that the solution further comprises polyethylene glycol in an amount which reads on instant claims 14-16. Reference claim 11 recites that the cinnamon derivative is limited to those recited in instant claim 4. Reference claims 12-13 and 15 recite that the cinnamon derivative is present in amounts which read on instant claims 2-3 and 5-6. Reference claims 16-17 recite that the solution further comprises a thickener selected from those recited in instant claims 17-18. Reference claims 18-19 recite that the solution further comprises a polymerization accelerator selected from those recited in instant claims 19-20. Reference claims 20-22 recite that the composition does not or does comprise a plasticizer selected from those instantly claimed, which reads on the limitations recited in instant claims 21-23. Reference claims 23-24 recite that the solution further comprises a polymerization inhibitor selected from those recited in instant claims 24-25. Reference claims 25-26 respectively recite that the solution is homogenous and stable, which reads on the limitations recited in instant claims 26-27.
The reference claims differ from the instant claims in that the cinnamon derivative is not a required feature of all reference claims. However, because the reference claims expressly recite embodiments including the cinnamon derivative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the antimicrobial agent in any of the solutions recited in the reference claims in order to achieve a greater antimicrobial effect. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-35 of copending Application No. 18/969,346 (reference application) in view of Chen et al. (CN111729127A; published: 10/02/2020; PTO-892), Bordoloi et al. (US20060093572A1; published: 05/04/2006; IDS of 04/24/2025), Liang et al. (US20180000858A1; published: 01/04/2018; IDS of 04/24/2025), and Zhu et al. (US20030044380A1; published: 03/06/2003; PTO-892) as evidenced by Beatriz et al. (BR1020120168383A2; published: 08/12/2014; IDS of 04/24/2025).
The reference claims recite a composition comprising a cyanoacrylate monomer and a radiopaque agent that is useful as a topical adhesive [see ref. claims 1, 24-25, and 27, for example]. Reference claims 11-12 recite that the composition further comprises a viscosity modifier selected from a limited list including tributyl citrate, tributyl-O-acetyl citrate, and dibutyl sebacate, which renders obvious the plasticizer of instant claims 22-23. The reference claims do not require a plasticizer, however, and thus reads on the limitation of instant claim 21, wherein the solution does not comprise a plasticizer. Reference claims 14-15 recite that the composition further comprises a cure speed modifier selected from a limited list including sulfur dioxide, which renders obvious the polymerization inhibitor recited in instant claims 24-25, and crown ether or a calixarene, which renders obvious the polymerization accelerator recited in instant claims 19-20. Thus, it would have been obvious to use any of these modifiers to control cyanoacrylate polymerization. Reference claims 34-35 recite that the composition further comprises one or more bioactive agents, including antibiotics.
The reference claims differ from the instant claims in that the reference claims do not expressly recite that the composition is a solution comprising at least one dissolved antimicrobial agent comprising a cinnamon derivative as recited in instant claim 1 or the further limitations of instant claims 2-18 or 26-27.
These deficiencies are cured by Chen, Bordoloi, Liang, and Zhu as evidenced by Beatriz, whose teachings are as set forth above and further incorporated herein.
Regarding instant claims 1-3: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition recited in the reference claims by further including the cinnamaldehyde or cinnamon essential oil of Chen in an amount of 3% to 6% by weight of the formulation, according to known methods, i.e., by dissolving the antimicrobial agent in cyanoacrylate monomer, to yield the predictable result of an antibacterial adhesive solution with antimicrobial activity, which is useful for the medical applications recited in the reference claims.
Regarding instant claims 4 and 7-8: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition taught by the combination of reference claims and Chen by further including the triclosan of Bordoloi in an amount of 2,800 ppm, according to known methods, i.e., by dissolving the antimicrobial agent in cyanoacrylate monomer, to yield the predictable result of an antibacterial adhesive solution with a broader spectrum of antimicrobial activity.
Regarding instant claims 5-6: The amount of cinnamon derivative is rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied to instant claims 2-3 above.
Regarding instant claims 9-11: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the formulation taught by the combination of reference claims, Chen, and Bordoloi with the povidone iodine film-forming composition of Liang, according to known methods and as directed by Liang, to yield the predictable result of a topical adhesive formulation for wounds having a broader spectrum of antimicrobial activity against viruses, bacteria, fungi, and mold spores. Note: MPEP 2144.06(I). "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to include the povidone iodine in an amount of 0.5% to 2% by weight of the formulation, which lies within and thus renders obvious the instantly claimed ranges, because Liang teaches that this amount is suitable for achieving the desired antiseptic effect when incorporated into film-forming compositions comprising cyanoacrylate topical adhesives.
Regarding instant claims 12-13: The amount of triclosan is rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied to instant claims 7-8 above.
Regarding instant claims 14-16: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the formulation taught by the combination of reference claims, Chen, Bordoloi, and Liang by further including the polyethylene glycol of Zhu in an amount of about 0 wt.% to about 30 wt.%, such as about 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, or 9 wt.%, in order to achieve a desired rate of release and dosage level of the antimicrobial agents from the polymerized cyanoacrylate film after application to a wound site.
Regarding instant claims 17-18: It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the formulation taught by the combination of reference claims, Chen, Bordoloi, Liang, and Zhu by further including poly(2-ethylhexyl methacrylate) or poly(2-ethylhexyl acrylate) of Bordoloi as a thickener in order to achieve a desired viscosity.
Regarding instant claims 26-27: Because the antimicrobial agents in the formulation taught by the combination of reference claims, Chen, Bordoloi, Liang, and Zhu are known to be stable in cyanoacrylate monomer as evidenced by Bordoloi and Beatriz, and because the components are present in the same concentrations as instantly claimed and are thus reasonably soluble in cyanoacrylate monomer, an ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect that the formulation is both stable and homogenous. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the concentration of components in the formulation and/or agitate the solution until the antimicrobial agents are fully dissolved and homogenous in order to achieve a formulation that is storage stable and provides equal distribution of antimicrobial agents upon application to the target site.
An ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect success in modifying the reference claims with the prior art teachings as proposed because all ingredients and concentrations are known in the art to be suitable for the same medical purposes as recited in the reference claims and are known to be compatible in cyanoacrylate adhesive compositions without inducing premature polymerization.
Claims 1-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 12,194,189 B2 in view of Chen et al. (CN111729127A; published: 10/02/2020; PTO-892), Bordoloi et al. (US20060093572A1; published: 05/04/2006; IDS of 04/24/2025), Liang et al. (US20180000858A1; published: 01/04/2018; IDS of 04/24/2025), and Zhu et al. (US20030044380A1; published: 03/06/2003; PTO-892) as evidenced by Beatriz et al. (BR1020120168383A2; published: 08/12/2014; IDS of 04/24/2025).
The reference claims recite a composition comprising a cyanoacrylate monomer and a radiopaque agent that is useful as a topical adhesive [see ref. claims 1, 25-26, and 28, for example]. Reference claims 11-12 recite that the composition further comprises a viscosity modifier selected from a limited list including tributyl citrate, tributyl-O-acetyl citrate, and dibutyl sebacate, which renders obvious the plasticizer of instant claims 22-23. The reference claims do not require a plasticizer, however, and thus reads on the limitation of instant claim 21, wherein the solution does not comprise a plasticizer. Reference claims 14-15 recite that the composition further comprises a cure speed modifier selected from a limited list including sulfur dioxide, which renders obvious the polymerization inhibitor recited in instant claims 24-25, and crown ether or a calixarene, which renders obvious the polymerization accelerator recited in instant claims 19-20. Thus, it would have been obvious to use any of these modifiers to control cyanoacrylate polymerization. Reference claims 35-36 recite that the composition further comprises one or more bioactive agents, including antibiotics.
The reference claims differ from the instant claims in that the reference claims do not expressly recite that the composition is a solution comprising at least one dissolved antimicrobial agent comprising a cinnamon derivative as recited in instant claim 1 or the further limitations of instant claims 2-18 or 26-27.
These deficiencies are cured by Chen, Bordoloi, Liang, and Zhu as evidenced by Beatriz, whose teachings are as set forth above and further incorporated herein.
Regarding instant claims 1-3: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition recited in the reference claims by further including the cinnamaldehyde or cinnamon essential oil of Chen in an amount of 3% to 6% by weight of the formulation, according to known methods, i.e., by dissolving the antimicrobial agent in cyanoacrylate monomer, to yield the predictable result of an antibacterial adhesive solution with antimicrobial activity, which is useful for the medical applications recited in the reference claims.
Regarding instant claims 4 and 7-8: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition taught by the combination of reference claims and Chen by further including the triclosan of Bordoloi in an amount of 2,800 ppm, according to known methods, i.e., by dissolving the antimicrobial agent in cyanoacrylate monomer, to yield the predictable result of an antibacterial adhesive solution with a broader spectrum of antimicrobial activity.
Regarding instant claims 5-6: The amount of cinnamon derivative is rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied to instant claims 2-3 above.
Regarding instant claims 9-11: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the formulation taught by the combination of reference claims, Chen, and Bordoloi with the povidone iodine film-forming composition of Liang, according to known methods and as directed by Liang, to yield the predictable result of a topical adhesive formulation for wounds having a broader spectrum of antimicrobial activity against viruses, bacteria, fungi, and mold spores. Note: MPEP 2144.06(I). "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to include the povidone iodine in an amount of 0.5% to 2% by weight of the formulation, which lies within and thus renders obvious the instantly claimed ranges, because Liang teaches that this amount is suitable for achieving the desired antiseptic effect when incorporated into film-forming compositions comprising cyanoacrylate topical adhesives.
Regarding instant claims 12-13: The amount of triclosan is rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied to instant claims 7-8 above.
Regarding instant claims 14-16: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the formulation taught by the combination of reference claims, Chen, Bordoloi, and Liang by further including the polyethylene glycol of Zhu in an amount of about 0 wt.% to about 30 wt.%, such as about 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, or 9 wt.%, in order to achieve a desired rate of release and dosage level of the antimicrobial agents from the polymerized cyanoacrylate film after application to a wound site.
Regarding instant claims 17-18: It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the formulation taught by the combination of reference claims, Chen, Bordoloi, Liang, and Zhu by further including poly(2-ethylhexyl methacrylate) or poly(2-ethylhexyl acrylate) of Bordoloi as a thickener in order to achieve a desired viscosity.
Regarding instant claims 26-27: Because the antimicrobial agents in the formulation taught by the combination of reference claims, Chen, Bordoloi, Liang, and Zhu are known to be stable in cyanoacrylate monomer as evidenced by Bordoloi and Beatriz, and because the components are present in the same concentrations as instantly claimed and are thus reasonably soluble in cyanoacrylate monomer, an ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect that the formulation is both stable and homogenous. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the concentration of components in the formulation and/or agitate the solution until the antimicrobial agents are fully dissolved and homogenous in order to achieve a formulation that is storage stable and provides equal distribution of antimicrobial agents upon application to the target site.
An ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect success in modifying the reference claims with the prior art teachings as proposed because all ingredients and concentrations are known in the art to be suitable for the same medical purposes as recited in the reference claims and are known to be compatible in cyanoacrylate adhesive compositions without inducing premature polymerization.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/SARAH C WISTNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616