DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
According to the amendment filed August 24, 2026, claims 1 and 21 were amended and claims 2 and 12-14 were canceled. Further, according to the preliminary amendment filed October 14, 2026, claim 25 has been canceled. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11, 16-17, 20-22 and 24 are currently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Figs. 1-5, 13) in the reply filed on August 24, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 24, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ducharme (US 2011/0251642 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ducharme teaches a device (100; Figs. 1A-1D; para. 0015), for use in surgery, comprising:
a body (tubular outer body 102; Fig. 1A-1C; para. 0015) extending having a first end and a second end (as viewed in Figs. 1A-1C, body 102 has a first end, at left end of device 100, is not shown, second end having distal tip 104);
an actuator (defined by elongate inner body 112; Figs. 1A-1D);
one or more movable arms (defined by proximal linkage members 122; Figs. 1B-1C; para. 0017) disposed near to or at the second end (as shown; Figs. 1B-1C);
wherein the actuator (112; Figs. 1B-1D) and the one or more movable arms (122; Figs. 1B-1D) are operably connected (via at least boss 113 of actuator 112 and pivot apertures 123 of movable arms 122; Figs. 1B-1D; para. 0016) such that actuation of the actuator causes the one or more arms to move between a retracted configuration (shown in Fig. 1A) and a deployed configuration (shown in Figs. 1B-1C), wherein in the deployed configuration at least a portion of the one or more arms is disposed externally from the body (as shown in Figs. 1B-1D, at least a portion of arms 122 disposed externally from body 102);
wherein, in the retracted configuration (see Fig. 1A), no portion of the one or more movable arms protrudes beyond an outer perimeter of the body (as shown in Fig. 1A and described in para. 0018, in the retracted configuration, i.e. with the actuator body 112 in a more proximal position further from distal tip 104, the movable arms 122 are generally aligned with the actuator 112 and positioned “within an outermost diameter defined by the outer body 102” such that no portion of the arms protrude beyond an outer perimeter of the body), and wherein the one or more arms extend between a connection end and a free end (arms 122 extend between a connection end having proximal pivot aperture 123 and a free end defined by extension 124; Figs. 1B-1D; para. 0016-0017), and wherein the body comprises one or more apertures (103; Figs. 1B-1C; para. 0015) disposed near to or at the second end (as shown; Figs. 1A-1C), and wherein the one or more apertures are configured such that at least the free end (124; Figs. 1B-1C) of one or more arms can move from a region within the body and through the aperture to a region outside of the body, and vice versa (as shown; Figs. 1A-1C).
Regarding claim 3, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the actuator is arranged to be movable within the body (actuator 112 extends through outer body lumen 108, of body 102, and is “at least partially longitudinally slidable relative to the outer body 102” as recited in para. 0015; see Figs. 1A-1D).
Regarding claim 17, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 3 comprising a temporary securing means operable to temporarily prevent the actuator from moving relative to the body (where para. 0015 describes the actuator 112 as having a movable portion longitudinally slidable within body 102, and also describes the actuator as being attached to a plunger style handle, the plunger style handle is understood as a temporary securing means operable for being grasped or held by a user to prevent actuator 112 from moving relative to body 102; see Figs. 1A-1D).
Regarding claim 4, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the actuator comprises a movable portion arranged to be movably received at least partially within the body (actuator 112 extends through outer body lumen 108, of body 102, and “its proximal portion is at least partially longitudinally slidable relative to the outer body 102” as recited in para. 0015; see Figs. 1A-1D).
Regarding claim 5, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the movable portion is operably connected to the one or more arms (movable portion defined by a sliding portion of actuator 112, as described above with respect to claim 4, is operably connected to arms 122 via protruding boss 123 and respective pivot apertures 123 of the arms; Figs. 1C-1D; para. 0016) and/or wherein the movable portion is operable to move in the longitudinal direction relative to the body (actuator 112 extends through outer body lumen 108, of body 102, and is “at least partially longitudinally slidable relative to the outer body 102” as recited in para. 0015; see Figs. 1A-1D) and/or wherein the movable portion is operable to rotate about the longitudinal axis relative to the body.
Regarding claim 7, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the moveable portion is arranged to be manually movable by a user (where para. 0015 describes the actuator 112 as having a movable portion longitudinally slidable within body 102, and also describes the actuator as being attached to a plunger style handle, the movable portion of the actuator is understood to be manually movable by a user via the plunger style handle; see Figs. 1A-1D).
Regarding claim 8, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the actuator comprises a mechanical, electronic or electromechanical actuator (where para. 0015 describes the actuator 112 as having a movable portion longitudinally slidable within body 102, and also describes the actuator as being attached to a plunger style handle, the movable portion of the actuator is a mechanical actuator; see Figs. 1A-1D).
Regarding claim 9, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 1 comprising an actuation portion disposed near or at the first end, the actuation portion being configured to allow or assist a user to operate or actuate the actuator (Figs. 1A-1D do not depict the proximal/first end of the device, but where para. 0015 describes the actuator 112 as having a movable portion longitudinally slidable within body 102, and also describes the actuator as being attached to a plunger style handle, the first end of the actuator is understood to comprise an actuation portion defined by the “plunger style handle” for assisting a user to longitudinally slide the actuator 112).
Regarding claim 16, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 1, wherein in the deployed configuration, at least a portion of the arm(s) is/are orientated substantially perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the body (para. 0018, in the last sentence, describes the device 100 being configured such that the extension 124 of the movable arms 122 is allowed to pivot to being perpendicular relative to the longitudinal axis of the body 102; see Figs. 1A-1D).
Regarding claim 20, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the device is configured to be used with an external light source (device 100 in Figs. 1A-1D is capable for being used with an external light source).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ducharme (US 2011/0251642 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Squicciarini (US 2007/0213590 A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 21, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 1.
Ducharme does not disclose the device comprising at least one light source, the device further comprising one or more light guides configured to direct light from the light source to a desired portion of the device.
Squicciarini, in analogous art, is directed towards a device for use in surgery (see device 100 in Figs. 1-2), the device being a “portable multi-functional endoscopic device […] for use in the examination of tissue within a corporeal orifice to permit diagnostic, therapeutic or anatomical assessment of data” (see Abstract), the device also comprising movable arms (140; Figs. 1-2; para. 0053), and discloses the device comprising at least one light source, the device further comprising one or more light guides configured to direct light from the light source to a desired portion of the device (Figs. 1-2 depict a light source 114 disposed within a head 110 of the device 100, which light source is described in para. 0053 as optionally being located outside of the device so that light is transferred through the device via one or more light guides).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ducharme’s device to include a light source for transmitting light to the distal tip of the device via light guide(s) as taught by Squicciarini, so that the device includes a light source and one or more light guides for directing light from the source to a desired position (i.e. at the tip of the device), as claimed, because Squicciarini recognizes the inclusion of such an illumination system advantageously delivers light to the area to be treated (see Squicciarini, para. 0061).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ducharme (US 2011/0251642 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Sack (US 2015/0173808 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 1.
Ducharme does not disclose the device comprising a fluid channel suitable for conveying a stream of fluid therethrough.
Sack, in analogous art, is directed to a device for use in surgery having at least one movable arm deployable through an aperture in the device body (see device 100, with deployable arm 21; Figs. 1.1-1.4, 2 and 3; para. 0067-0069), the device comprising a fluid channel suitable for conveying a stream of fluid therethrough (cleanout port 97 defines a fluid channel for conveying a stream of fluid through the hollow outer cannula 1 of the device 100; Fig. 1.4; para. 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ducharme’s hollow outer body (see outer body 102 in Fig. 1C of Ducharme) to include Sack’s fluid channel in the form of a cleanout port disposed on a side of the outer body, the fluid channel being suitable for conveying a stream of fluid as claimed, because Sack recognizes that providing an outer cannula of a surgical device with such a fluid channel/port “may allow for flushing of the device prior to sterilization for reuse” (see Sack, para. 0082).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ducharme (US 2011/0251642 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of WO 2017/134415 A1 (Jayne).
Regarding claim 24, Ducharme discloses the device of claim 1.
Ducharme does not specifically disclose the device including a sealing element configured to provide a seal, in use, around at least a portion of a perimeter of the body.
Jayne, in analogous art, is directed toward a device for retracting tissue (shown Figs. 1-6; page 13, line 30 – page 14, line 21), the device having a plurality of movable arms (30; Figs. 5-6), wherein the device includes a sealing element (70; Figs. 5-6) configured to provide a seal, in use, around at least a portion of a perimeter of the body of the device (clamp 70 defines a sealing element, positioned about the shaft of the retraction device as shown in Figs. 5-6, where “clamp 70 can apply a compressive force downwardly onto the skin, thereby providing a sealing function” as recited on page 15, lines 24-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ducharme’s device to include Jayne’s clamp, positioned around outer shaft body of Ducharme’s device so as to provide a seal around the perimeter of the body in use, as claimed, because Jayne teaches that the inclusion of such a clamp can provide a sealing function that “helps to prevent gas leaking from the insufflated abdominal cavity” (see Jayne, page 15, lines 25-26).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other relevant prior art references can be found in the attached PTO-892.
/ANNA V. LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773