Claims 1-12 are presented for examination
Examiner’s Remark
At the time of writing of the instant action, the Examiner is aware of potential avenues for advancing prosecution and encourages Applicant to contact the Examiner to advance prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because each of the claims are directed to an information processing system comprising at least one memory storing instructions and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed memory includes transitory signals. The Specification does not describe the metes and bounds, but also does not exclude transitory signals. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed processors includes software or software elements alone; such an interpretation is not expressly excluded. See Microsoft Corp. v. AT&T Corp., 550 U.S. 437, 449 (2007) and In re Warmerdam, 33 F.3d 1354, 1361 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Accordingly, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims is transitory signals and software. It has been noted that the ordinary and customary meaning of "computer readable storage medium" or a memory, to a person of ordinary skill in the art is broad enough to encompass both non-transitory and transitory media. See Ex parte Mewherter (Appeal 2012-007682) (Precedential). Transitory, propagating signals such as carrier waves are not within any of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter). Therefore, a claim directed to computer instructions embodied in a signal is not statutory under 35 U.S.C. 101. In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2007). The subject matter of the claims permitted within 35 U.S.C. 101 must be a machine, a manufacture, a process, or a composition of matter. "[t]he four categories [of § 101] together describe the exclusive reach of patentable subject matter. If the claim covers material not found in any of the four statutory categories, that claim falls outside the plainly expressed scope of § 101 even if the subject matter is otherwise new and useful.” In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2007); accord In re Ferguson, 558 F.3d 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2009). “The MPEP instructs that when a claim covers ‘both statutory and non-statutory embodiments,’ it is not eligible for patenting. MPEP § 2106 (9th ed. Mar. 2014.).” quoting Mentor Graphics v. Synopsys (Fed. Cir. Mar. 16, 2017, Precedential).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 9 each recite “the avatar” and lacks explicit antecedent basis.
Any claim not specifically addressed above is being rejected as incorporating the deficiencies of a claim upon which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tussy et al (U.S. Pat App Pub 2020/0042685 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tussy, in view of Vimadalal et al (U.S. Pat App Pub 2020/0026834 A1), hereinafter referred to as Vimadalal.
Re claims 1, 11 and 12: Tussy teaches an information processing system, a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer and an information processing method comprising: at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: a generation unit configured to generate, in a case where authentication based on first biometric information recorded in an identity verification medium (Fig 23; ¶328-¶330; Fig 25; ¶334-¶338; Fig 26; ¶339) and second biometric information of a user acquired by a sensor of a user terminal has been successfully performed, specific information based on the information recorded in the identity verification medium (Fig 16; ¶264-¶265; Fig 17; ¶266-¶277; Fig 24; ¶331-¶333; Fig 27; ¶342-¶351; Fig 28; ¶352; Fig 29; ¶353; Fig 31; ¶355); and a control unit configured to associate the specific information with account information of the user in a specific service and cause a distributed ledger system to record the associated information (¶23; ¶27; ¶30; ¶33; Fig 19; ¶287; ¶289-¶294; ¶326).
Vimadalal also teaches a control unit configured to associate the specific information with account information of the user in a specific service and cause a distributed ledger system to record the associated information (Fig 2A; ¶37; ¶40; ¶43; Fig 9; ¶57; page 8, claims 1 & 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Tussy with the teachings of Vimadalal, for the purpose of providing the explicit result of preventing single point failures and preventing control of the data by a single entity; such rationale is explicitly stated in Vimadalal (¶24).
Re claim 2: Tussy and Vimadalal teaches the identity verification medium is an individual number card in which an individual number is described, a driver's license indicating that driving of a mobile body is permitted, a residence card indicating that residence is permitted, or an Integrated Circuit (IC) chip of a passport (Tussy: ¶328; ¶344; ¶347; ¶364).
Re claim 3: Tussy and Vimadalal teaches the first biometric information includes at least one of a face image, a finger vein pattern, iris information, and fingerprint information (Tussy: Fig 4; ¶109-¶110; Fig 5; ¶117; Fig 9; ¶125-¶128; ¶199).
Re claim 4: Tussy and Vimadalal teaches in a case where the authentication based on the first biometric information and the second biometric information has been successfully performed (Tussy: Fig 16; ¶264-¶265; Fig 17; ¶266-¶277; Fig 24; ¶331-¶333; Fig 27; ¶342-¶351; Fig 28; ¶352; Fig 29; ¶353; Fig 31; ¶355), the at least one processor configured to cause the user terminal to record at least one of the first biometric information and the second biometric information (Tussy: ¶23; ¶27; ¶30; ¶33; Fig 19; ¶287; ¶289-¶294; ¶326; Vimadalal: Fig 2A; ¶37; ¶40; ¶43; Fig 9; ¶57; page 8, claims 1 & 4).
Re claim 5: Tussy and Vimadalal teaches in a case where the user who has been authenticated based on the identity verification medium uses the specific service, the at least one processor configured to authenticate the user based on at least one of the first biometric information and the second biometric information recorded in the user terminal and third biometric information of the user acquired by the sensor of the user terminal (Tussy: Fig 16; ¶264-¶265; Fig 17; ¶266-¶277; Fig 24; ¶331-¶333; Fig 27; ¶342-¶351; Fig 28; ¶352; Fig 29; ¶353; Fig 31; ¶355).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tussy et al (U.S. Pat App Pub 2020/0042685 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tussy, in view of Vimadalal et al (U.S. Pat App Pub 2020/0026834 A1), hereinafter referred to as Vimadalal, in further view of Inoue (U.S. Pat App Pub 2017/0124312 A1), hereinafter referred to as Inoue.
Re claim 6: The combination of Tussy and Vimadalal teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as previously stated and further teaches the specific information recorded in the “distributed ledger system” (Tussy: ¶23; ¶27; ¶30; ¶33; Fig 19; ¶287; ¶289-¶294; ¶326; Fig 2A; ¶37; ¶40; ¶43; Fig 9; ¶57; page 8, claims 1 & 4).
Inoue teaches the at least one processor configured to prohibit the user from creating a plurality of accounts in the specific service based on the specific information recorded (Fig 4; ¶85-¶93).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Tussy and Vimadalal with the teachings of Inoue, for the purpose of substituting one storage element for another yielding predictable results; here Inoue uses a coupled storage device whereas Tussy and Vimadalal store specific information using a distributed ledger and substituting one storage unit for another here yields the predictable results of immutability of data and also preventing single-point failures due to the nature of distributed ledger systems.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tussy et al (U.S. Pat App Pub 2020/0042685 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tussy, in view of Vimadalal et al (U.S. Pat App Pub 2020/0026834 A1), hereinafter referred to as Vimadalal, in further view of Saito et al (U.S. Pat App Pub 2023/0136394 A1), hereinafter referred to as Saito.
Re claim 7: The combination of Tussy and Vimadalal teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as previously stated.
Saito teaches the at least one processor configured to associate information indicating that the user has been authenticated based on the identity verification medium with an avatar of the user and displays the associated information on a virtual space in the specific service (Fig 3; ¶30-¶39; ¶49-¶50; Fig 9; ¶110-¶114; Fig 10; ¶126; ¶148; ¶166-¶167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Tussy and Vimadalal with the teachings of Saito, for the purpose of preventing an avatar / virtual presence from being used for fraudulent behavior.
Re claim 8: The combination of Tussy and Vimadalal teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as previously stated and further teaches the at least one processor configured to associate information corresponding to an attribute of the distributed ledger system (Tussy: ¶23; ¶27; ¶30; ¶33; Fig 19; ¶287; ¶289-¶294; ¶326; Fig 2A; ¶37; ¶40; ¶43; Fig 9; ¶57; page 8, claims 1 & 4).
Saito teaches an attribute with the avatar of the user and displays the associated information on the virtual space in the specific service (Fig 3; ¶30-¶39; ¶49-¶50; Fig 9; ¶110-¶114; Fig 10; ¶126; ¶148; ¶166-¶167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Tussy and Vimadalal with the teachings of Saito, for the purpose of preventing an avatar / virtual presence from being used for fraudulent behavior.
Re claim 9: The combination of Tussy and Vimadalal teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as previously stated.
Saito teaches the at least one processor configured to determine the avatar of the user in the specific service based on the face image included in the first biometric information (Fig 3; ¶30-¶39; ¶49-¶50; Fig 9; ¶110-¶114; Fig 10; ¶126; ¶148; ¶166-¶167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Tussy and Vimadalal with the teachings of Saito, for the purpose of preventing an avatar / virtual presence from being used for fraudulent behavior.
Re claims 10: The combination of Tussy, Vimadalal and Saito teaches the at least one processor configured to associate information indicating that the avatar has been determined based on the face image included in the first biometric information with the avatar and displays the associated information on the virtual space in the specific service (Saito: Fig 3; ¶30-¶39; ¶49-¶50; Fig 9; ¶110-¶114; Fig 10; ¶126; ¶148; ¶166-¶167).
Conclusion
Examiner's Note:
The Examiner identified and designated “the particular part[s] [of the references] relied on” as provided in 37 C.F.R § 1.104(c)(2).
A reference is not limited to the disclosure of specific working examples. In re Mills, 470 F.2d 649, 651 (CCPA 1972); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792, 794 n.1 (CCPA 1982) (A prior art reference’s disclosure is not limited to its examples.). Nor do disclosed examples teach away from a reference’s broader disclosure. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 446 n.3 (CCPA 1971); In re Boe, 355 F.2d 961, 965 (CCPA 1966) (All of the disclosures in a prior art reference “must be evaluated for what they fairly teach one of ordinary skill in the art.”).
“The prima facie case is merely a procedural device that enables an appropriate shift of the burden of production.” Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d. 1365, 1369 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (citing In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 1445 (Fed. Cir. 1992)). The court has, thus, held that the USPTO carries its procedural burden of establishing a prima facie case when its rejection satisfies the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 132 by notifying the applicant of the reasons for rejection, “together with such information and references as may be useful in judging of the propriety of continuing the prosecution of [the] application.” See In re Jung, 637 F.3d 1356, 1362 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
MPEP 2123 [R – 08.2012] states: "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (The court held that the prior art anticipated the claims even though it taught away from the claimed invention. "The fact that a modem with a single carrier data signal is shown to be less than optimal does not vitiate the fact that it is disclosed.").
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. See: Ralston Purina Co. v. FarMar-Co, Inc., 772 F.2d 1570, 1575 (Fed. Cir. 1985), In re Kaslow, 707 F.2d 1366, 1375 (Fed. Cir. 1983), Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly and Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1352 (Fed. Cir. 2010), Purdue Pharma L.P. v. Faulding, Inc., 230 F.3d 1320, 1323 (Fed. Cir. 2000), Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1560 (Fed. Cir. 1991) and TurboCare Div. of Demag Delavel Turbomachinery Corp. v. Gen. Elec. Co., 264 F.3d 1111, 1118 (Fed. Cir. 2001)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTOL-892.
/DARREN B SCHWARTZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435