DETAILED ACTION
This is a first office action in response to application 19/124,492 filed 04/25/2025, in which claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Currently claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0126634 A1 hereinafter Lee in view of Bae et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0028614 A1 hereinafter Bae.
Consider Claim 1:
Lee discloses a peripheral input device comprising: (Lee, See Abstract.)
a housing; an input button depressible relative to the housing, the input button having a resting surface for receiving a finger of a user; (Lee, [0091], “According to various embodiments, the pressure reception arrangement 124 may include a housing mounted to the at least one mounting panel 110 and the plunger element 122 may be slidable through a ceiling of the housing. The button cap 123 may be coupled to the plunger element 122 so as to be movable relative to the housing. The biasing element 126 may bias the plunger element 122 away from the floor of the housing in the biasing direction so as to indirectly bias the button cap 123 away from the at least one mounting panel 110.”)
a displacement sensing arrangement comprising a first interactive part associated with the input button in a manner so as to be movable when the input button is being depressed, and a second interactive part disposed in a fixed position with respect to the housing, wherein relative movement between the first interactive part and the second interactive part when the input button is being depressed causes an interaction between the first interactive part and the second interactive part as a measure of detecting that the input button is being depressed. (Lee, [0090], “According to various embodiments, the pressure reception arrangement 124 of each analog push button assembly 120 may include an optical sensing sub-arrangement 125 configured to measure an amount of light varied according to a pressure or force sensed at the pressure reception arrangement 124. Accordingly, depressing the analog push button assembly 120 may exert a corresponding pressure or force on the pressure reception arrangement 124 which may vary the amount of light sensed by the optical sensing sub-arrangement 125. According to various embodiments, the amount of light may be varied via proportionally varying an extent of blockage of the light with a light blocking element 134 with respect to the pressure or force on the pressure reception arrangement 124. According to various embodiments, the pressure reception arrangement 124 may include an output terminal 133 for outputting an analog signal corresponding to the amount of light measured. Accordingly, the amount of light measured may be output as the analog signal. According to various embodiments, the amount of light may be an intensity of light.”)
Lee however does not specify to additionally provide a touch sensing arrangement comprising a touch sensing element disposed at the input button to sense a presence of the finger of the user at the resting surface of the input button.
Bae however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a touch sensing arrangement comprising a touch sensing element disposed at the input button to sense a presence of the finger of the user at the resting surface of the input button. (Bae, [0025], [0030], [0031], [0041] Accordingly, the button driver 112 is normally depressed into the side surface of the portable terminal 10, and the button 111 forms a surface that is coplanar with the inner surface of the portable terminal 10. In this state, when a touch or proximity is made in relation to the button 111, the second sensor 140 senses that an activation signal is provided to the input unit 100. When the activation is sensed by the second sensor 140, a sensed value is applied to the controller 150. The controller 150 controls the actuator 130 or 230 to be driven, thereby producing a haptic feedback or a physical deformation, such as protrusion, and activating the input unit 100. As a result, the user can recognize that the input unit 100 is activated to when the second inputting can be conducted.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide additionally a touch sensing arrangement with the input device as this was a known technique in view of Bae and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of conducting the button-inputting of the portable terminal easily and flawlessly, and for providing visual and haptic information to the user according to the button-inputting of the portable terminal. (Bae, [0008])
Consider Claim 2:
Lee in view of Bae disclose the peripheral input device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the touch sensing arrangement outputs a touch signal upon sensing the presence of the finger of the user at the resting surface of the input button, wherein the displacement sensing arrangement outputs a displacement signal upon detecting that the input button is being depressed. (Bae, [0030], Lee, [0090], [0093], “According to various embodiments, the optical sensing sub-arrangement 125 of the pressure reception arrangement 124 may include a light sensor 132. The light sensor 132 may be disposed in the light path 131 and may be configured to output an analog signal based on the amount of light sensed by the light sensor 132 for outputting via the output terminal 133. Accordingly, the light sensor 132 may be placed in a position that is directly facing the light emitter 130. Hence, the light emitter 130 and the light sensor 132 may be arranged in an opposing manner such that the light from the light emitter 130 is directly projected straight towards the light sensor 132. According to various embodiments, the light sensor 132 may detect an intensity of light incident on the light sensor 132 and output an analog signal according to the intensity of light detected. According to various embodiments, the light sensor 132 may include, but not limited to, a phototransistor-type light sensor or a photoresistor-type light sensor or a photodiode-type light sensor. According to various embodiments, the analog signal from the light sensor 132 may be an analog voltage or an analogue current.)
Consider Claim 3:
Lee in view of Bae disclose the peripheral input device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the displacement sensing arrangement is turned on upon the touch sensing arrangement sensing the presence of the finger of the user at the resting surface of the input button, and wherein the displacement sensing arrangement is turned off when the touch sensing arrangement cease to sense the presence of the finger of the user at the resting surface of the input button. (Lee, [0046], “Referring to FIGS. 8 and 9, button information for the button icons used for a button-inputting by touching the screen 11 of the portable terminal 10 and button information for the input unit 100 implemented on a side surface of the portable terminal 10 are set in step S10. The user touches the button 111 with a finger or positions the finger proximately to the button 111 in order to execute an inputting through the input unit 100 provided on a side surface of the portable terminal 10. The second sensor 140 provided below the button 111 senses an activation signal produced by the touch or proximity in step S 100. When the activation signal is sensed by the second sensor 140, a sensed value is applied to the controller 150, and the controller 150 controls the actuator 130 or 230 to be driven according to the sensed value. A voltage is applied to the actuator 130 or 230 provided below the button driver 112, and the actuator 130 or 230 applies a force to the button driver 112 to the outside of the side surface of portable terminal 10, thereby causing the button 111 to protrude from the side surface of the portable terminal 10. The input unit 100 is in the activated condition in which an inputting is enabled in step S200.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Lee in view of Bae disclose the peripheral input device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the input button comprises a button cap, wherein the resting surface of the input button is a crown surface of the button cap, wherein the touch sensing element of the touch sensing arrangement is disposed at an underside surface of the button cap opposite the crown surface of the button cap. (Bae, [0025], Lee, [0089], “According to various embodiments, each analog push button assembly 120 may include a pressure sensor 121 having a plunger element 122 and a pressure reception arrangement 124. The plunger element 122 may interact with the pressure reception arrangement 124 in a manner so as to exert a pressure or a force on the pressure reception arrangement 124 when the analog push button assembly 120 is being pressed by a user's finger. According to various embodiments, the pressure sensor 121 may be a swappable single unitary key-switch or may be a non-separable integrated built-in arrangement of the analog input device 100. According to various embodiments, each analog push button assembly 120 may include a button cap 123 removably coupled or fixedly coupled to the plunger element 122 of the pressure sensor 121. According to various embodiments, the button cap 123 may be a thin shell having an input surface for receiving a finger tip of the user. Accordingly, the button cap 123 may be ergonomically shaped for receiving the finger tip.”)
Consider Claim 6:
Lee in view of Bae disclose the peripheral input device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the interaction between the first interactive part and the second interactive part of the displacement sensing arrangement varies continuously across a range of relative movement between the first interactive part and the second interactive part in a manner so as to be capable of serving as a measurement corresponding to an amount of depression of the input button. (Lee, [0094-0095], Bae, [0030], [0024], “The input unit 100 should be firstly activated in order to execute the second inputting through the input unit 100, and an input signal of a contact pressure, such as pushing, should be secondarily input to the input unit 100. In this regard, the input unit 100 forms a surface that is coplanar with a surface of the portable terminal 10, and is provided as depressed into the portable terminal 10 with reference to the surface of the portable terminal 10. When the surface of the input unit 100 is provided to be coplanar with the surface of the portable terminal 10, the input unit 100 is in the inactivated condition that does not allow inputting. When a touch or proximity occurs in relation to the inactivated input unit 100, the input unit 100 is turned ON for allowing the second inputting, i.e. allowing a signal to be input through the input unit 100, but not allowing the second inputting.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Lee in view of Bae disclose the peripheral input device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first interactive part of the displacement sensing arrangement comprises a light blocking member having a cut-out profile, the light blocking member being operatively connected to the input button in a manner so as to be capable of being moved by the input button when the input button is being depressed, wherein the second interactive part of the displacement sensing arrangement comprises an optical sensing sub-arrangement fixedly disposed in the housing, and wherein the interaction between the first interactive part and the second interactive part is the optical sensing sub-arrangement detecting a light from the optical sensing sub-arrangement passing through the cut-out profile of the light blocking member during relative movement between the light blocking member and the optical sensing sub-arrangement. (Lee, [0012], [0094], [0095], “According to various embodiments, the light blocking element 134 may include a cut-out profile. FIG. 3A to FIG. 3D show various examples of the cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134. The cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134 may vary the amount of light passing through the light blocking element 134 as the light blocking element 134 moves transversely across the light path 131 when a pressure or force is applied to push the button cap 123 towards the at least one mounting panel 110. Accordingly, the cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134 may vary the extent of blockage of the light path 131 according to the movement of the plunger element 122 as a result of the pressure or force on the pressure reception arrangement 124. According to various embodiments, the cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134 may include, but not limited to, a triangular shape (see FIG. 3A), or a frusto-conical shape (see FIG. 3B), or a trumpet shape (see FIG. 3C), or arc shape (see FIG. 3D) or any other suitable shape which may vary the amount of light passing through as the light blocking element 134 moves to intersect the light path 131. According to various embodiments, the light blocking element 134 may include an elongate plate with the cut-out profile 136 and may be disposed so as to move longitudinally to intersect the light path 131 as the user applies a pressure or force to push the button cap 123.”)
Consider Claim 11:
Lee in view of Bae disclose the peripheral input device as claimed in claim 10, wherein the cut-out profile of the light blocking member has a shape which proportionally varies an amount of light from the optical sensing sub-arrangement passing therethrough when the light blocking member moves relative to the optical sensing sub-arrangement as the input button is being depressed such that the optical sensing sub-arrangement is capable of detecting the amount of light as a measure of an amount of depression of the input button. (Lee, [0012], [0095], “According to various embodiments, the light blocking element 134 may include a cut-out profile. FIG. 3A to FIG. 3D show various examples of the cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134. The cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134 may vary the amount of light passing through the light blocking element 134 as the light blocking element 134 moves transversely across the light path 131 when a pressure or force is applied to push the button cap 123 towards the at least one mounting panel 110. Accordingly, the cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134 may vary the extent of blockage of the light path 131 according to the movement of the plunger element 122 as a result of the pressure or force on the pressure reception arrangement 124. According to various embodiments, the cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134 may include, but not limited to, a triangular shape (see FIG. 3A), or a frusto-conical shape (see FIG. 3B), or a trumpet shape (see FIG. 3C), or arc shape (see FIG. 3D) or any other suitable shape which may vary the amount of light passing through as the light blocking element 134 moves to intersect the light path 131. According to various embodiments, the light blocking element 134 may include an elongate plate with the cut-out profile 136 and may be disposed so as to move longitudinally to intersect the light path 131 as the user applies a pressure or force to push the button cap 123.”)
Consider Claim 12:
Lee in view of Bae disclose the peripheral input device as claimed in claim 10, wherein the optical sensing sub-arrangement comprises a light emitter for emitting the light along a light path, a light sensor disposed in the light path and configured to sense the light passing through the cut-out profile of the light blocking member, wherein the light blocking member moves transversely across the light path when the input button is being depressed. (Lee, [0012], [0095], “According to various embodiments, the light blocking element 134 may include a cut-out profile. FIG. 3A to FIG. 3D show various examples of the cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134. The cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134 may vary the amount of light passing through the light blocking element 134 as the light blocking element 134 moves transversely across the light path 131 when a pressure or force is applied to push the button cap 123 towards the at least one mounting panel 110. Accordingly, the cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134 may vary the extent of blockage of the light path 131 according to the movement of the plunger element 122 as a result of the pressure or force on the pressure reception arrangement 124. According to various embodiments, the cut-out profile 136 of the light blocking element 134 may include, but not limited to, a triangular shape (see FIG. 3A), or a frusto-conical shape (see FIG. 3B), or a trumpet shape (see FIG. 3C), or arc shape (see FIG. 3D) or any other suitable shape which may vary the amount of light passing through as the light blocking element 134 moves to intersect the light path 131. According to various embodiments, the light blocking element 134 may include an elongate plate with the cut-out profile 136 and may be disposed so as to move longitudinally to intersect the light path 131 as the user applies a pressure or force to push the button cap 123.”)
Consider Claim 13:
Lee in view of Bae disclose the peripheral input device as claimed in claim 10, further comprising a motion transfer sub-arrangement connected between the input button and the light blocking member, wherein the motion transfer sub-arrangement transfer a motion of the input button to a corresponding movement of the light blocking member for interacting with the optical sensing sub-arrangement. (Lee, [0094], “According to various embodiments, the optical sensing sub-arrangement 125 of the pressure reception arrangement 124 may include a light blocking element 134. The light blocking element 134 may be associated with the plunger element 122 in a manner so as to be movable together with the plunger element 122 along a movement direction parallel to the biasing direction. The light blocking element 134 may be extending towards the mounting panel 110 to intersect the light path 131 between the light emitter 130 and the light sensor 132. According to various embodiments, the light blocking element 134 may be directly or indirectly coupled to the plunger element 122. According to various embodiments, the light blocking element 134 may be of an elongate shape and may be extending downwards towards the mounting panel 110. According to various embodiments, the light blocking element 134 may be positioned in a manner such that a movement path of the light blocking element 134, due to depressing of the analog push button assembly 120 by the user, may intersect the light path 131 between the light emitter 130 and the light sensor 132. According to various embodiments, when the pressure reception arrangement 124 includes the housing and the plunger element 122 is slidable through the ceiling of the housing with the button cap 123 coupled to the plunger element 122, the light blocking element 134 may be coupled to the plunger element 122 so as to be movable together with the button cap 123.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0126634 A1 in view of Bae et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0028614 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hanssen et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0201254 A1 hereinafter Hanssen.
Consider Claim 5:
Lee in view of Bae disclose the conductive peripheral input device as claimed in claim 1, however does not specify wherein the touch sensing element comprises a conductive metal plate.
Hanssen however teaches that it was a known technique in the art to provide wherein the touch sensing element comprises a conductive metal plate.
(Hanssen, [0019], [0035], [0043], [0026], “Cover 8 may include any suitable material configured to house one or more buttons 6. Cover 8 may comprise metal, plastic, silicone, or any other suitable material.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the touch element using metal as this was a known technique in view of Hanssen and would have been utilized for the purpose of may therefore enable capacitive measurements by touch-sensor controller while also enabling traditional mechanical keyboard sensing upon contacting touch sensor when the button is depressed. (Hanssen, [0043])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0126634 A1 in view of Bae et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0028614 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Orion et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0394047 A1 hereinafter Orion.
Consider Claim 7:
Lee in view of Bae disclose the peripheral input device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first interactive part of the displacement sensing arrangement comprises a Hall sensor coupled to the input button in a manner so as to be movable together with the input button when the input button is being depressed, wherein the second interactive part of the displacement sensing arrangement comprises a magnet fixedly disposed in the housing, and wherein the interaction between the first interactive part and the second interactive part is the Hall sensor detecting a magnetic field of the magnet during relative movement between the Hall sensor and the magnet.
Orion teaches that it was a known technique in the art to provide wherein the first interactive part of the displacement sensing arrangement comprises a Hall sensor coupled to the input button in a manner so as to be movable together with the input button when the input button is being depressed, wherein the second interactive part of the displacement sensing arrangement comprises a magnet fixedly disposed in the housing, and wherein the interaction between the first interactive part and the second interactive part is the Hall sensor detecting a magnetic field of the magnet during relative movement between the Hall sensor and the magnet. (Orion, [0046], [0027], “Various components of the controller 100 are excluded from FIG. 2 to better illustrate a trigger-stop assembly 300 associated with the trigger 110. As best shown in FIG. 2A, the trigger 110 can be rotatably coupled to the housing 150 via a spring-loaded hinge assembly. The spring-loaded hinge assembly can include a pin 116 and barrel 114 configuration, with a resilient or compliant member 115 (e.g., a spring, such as a torsion spring) applying a force between housing 150 and trigger 110 that imposes a resistance to trigger depressions. Though not specifically depicted, spring-loaded hinge assembly can include another barrel or sleeve member that is coupled to the housing 150 and which holds the pin 116 in place relative to the housing 150. The barrel or sleeve member of the housing 150 and barrel 114 of trigger 110 may be fitted together to create a common channel through which pin 116 can be disposed. The spring-loaded hinge mechanism allows the trigger 110 to be depressed at least partially into the housing when pulled or pressed by a user (e.g., by a user's finger pressing on the trigger surface to depress the trigger 110), and then return to its original position when not being pressed or pulled by the user (e.g., by the force imposed by spring 115). A magnet 360 can be attached directly to or operatively attached to the trigger 110, for operation of a Hall effect sensor 170 that communicates with the electronics 200 (e.g., the processor or MCU or microcontroller 175), as further described below. Though not shown, one of skill in the art will recognize that the trigger-stop assembly 300 can also be implemented in the housing 150 to engage with the trigger 112, and that the trigger 112 can also have a spring-loaded hinge mechanism as shown in FIG. 2A.)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a hall sensor with magnet as this was a known technique in view of Orion and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of providing the ability to generate a signal representative of such movements of the input device and communicate them to the electronics. (Orion, [0046])
Consider Claim 8:
Lee in view of Bae in view of Orion disclose the peripheral input device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the Hall sensor measures an intensity of the magnetic field of the magnet, which varies proportionally depending on a distance apart between the Hall sensor and the magnet when the Hall sensor moves relative to the magnet as the input button is being depressed, so as to serve as a measure of an amount of depression of the input button. (Orion, [0046], [0027], “Various components of the controller 100 are excluded from FIG. 2 to better illustrate a trigger-stop assembly 300 associated with the trigger 110. As best shown in FIG. 2A, the trigger 110 can be rotatably coupled to the housing 150 via a spring-loaded hinge assembly. The spring-loaded hinge assembly can include a pin 116 and barrel 114 configuration, with a resilient or compliant member 115 (e.g., a spring, such as a torsion spring) applying a force between housing 150 and trigger 110 that imposes a resistance to trigger depressions. Though not specifically depicted, spring-loaded hinge assembly can include another barrel or sleeve member that is coupled to the housing 150 and which holds the pin 116 in place relative to the housing 150. The barrel or sleeve member of the housing 150 and barrel 114 of trigger 110 may be fitted together to create a common channel through which pin 116 can be disposed. The spring-loaded hinge mechanism allows the trigger 110 to be depressed at least partially into the housing when pulled or pressed by a user (e.g., by a user's finger pressing on the trigger surface to depress the trigger 110), and then return to its original position when not being pressed or pulled by the user (e.g., by the force imposed by spring 115). A magnet 360 can be attached directly to or operatively attached to the trigger 110, for operation of a Hall effect sensor 170 that communicates with the electronics 200 (e.g., the processor or MCU or microcontroller 175), as further described below. Though not shown, one of skill in the art will recognize that the trigger-stop assembly 300 can also be implemented in the housing 150 to engage with the trigger 112, and that the trigger 112 can also have a spring-loaded hinge mechanism as shown in FIG. 2A.)
Consider Claim 9:
Lee in view of Bae in view of Orion disclose the peripheral input device as claimed in claim 7, further comprising a flexible elongated electrical component electrically connecting the Hall sensor to a circuit board of the peripheral input device, wherein the flexible elongated electrical component runs underneath the resting surface of the input button, wherein the touch sensing element is disposed between the resting surface of the input button and the flexible elongated electrical component, and wherein the flexible elongated electrical component electrically connects the touch sensing element to the circuit board of the peripheral input device. (Orion, [0046], [0027], “Various components of the controller 100 are excluded from FIG. 2 to better illustrate a trigger-stop assembly 300 associated with the trigger 110. As best shown in FIG. 2A, the trigger 110 can be rotatably coupled to the housing 150 via a spring-loaded hinge assembly. The spring-loaded hinge assembly can include a pin 116 and barrel 114 configuration, with a resilient or compliant member 115 (e.g., a spring, such as a torsion spring) applying a force between housing 150 and trigger 110 that imposes a resistance to trigger depressions. Though not specifically depicted, spring-loaded hinge assembly can include another barrel or sleeve member that is coupled to the housing 150 and which holds the pin 116 in place relative to the housing 150. The barrel or sleeve member of the housing 150 and barrel 114 of trigger 110 may be fitted together to create a common channel through which pin 116 can be disposed. The spring-loaded hinge mechanism allows the trigger 110 to be depressed at least partially into the housing when pulled or pressed by a user (e.g., by a user's finger pressing on the trigger surface to depress the trigger 110), and then return to its original position when not being pressed or pulled by the user (e.g., by the force imposed by spring 115). A magnet 360 can be attached directly to or operatively attached to the trigger 110, for operation of a Hall effect sensor 170 that communicates with the electronics 200 (e.g., the processor or MCU or microcontroller 175), as further described below. Though not shown, one of skill in the art will recognize that the trigger-stop assembly 300 can also be implemented in the housing 150 to engage with the trigger 112, and that the trigger 112 can also have a spring-loaded hinge mechanism as shown in FIG. 2A.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626