DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites the limitation "said cylinder" on line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear to the Examiner whether “said cylinder applies a mechanical load” is a part of the at least one mechanical load element recited previously. Claim 4 is also rejected because of its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process, and its scope is unclear since it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites a use of a conditioning and/or testing installation without reciting any step(s) involved in the process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lamont et al. (WO 2005/081006).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 7, Lamont teaches a transport and testing trolley (26) for moving and conditioning and/or testing stacked assemblies of electrolyser and/or fuel cell components (28), comprising:
a movable frame (30) intended to be moved from a production zone of at least one stacked assembly of electrolyser and/or fuel cell components to a conditioning and/or testing station not included in the production zone;
a support (104) mounted onto or integral with the movable frame comprising at least one top surface area accessible from the exterior by an operator and/or a robot, intended to support the at least one stacked assembly of electrolyser and/or fuel cell components;
at least one electrical connector (32) mounted onto the movable frame to arrange an external electric connection to the at least one stacked assembly of electrolyser and/or fuel cell components; and at least one fluid manifold mounted onto the movable frame to recover and/or to feed gases to and/or from the exterior to and/or from at least one stacked assembly of electrolyser and/or fuel cell components (pg. 7, ll. 23-25);
at least one mechanical load (74) in the movable frame, said mechanical load being movable between an extended position in which the at least one stacked assembly are accessible by an operator and can be put in place or removed from the top surface area and a retracted position in which said cylinder applies a mechanical load on the stacked assembly (pg. 12, ll. 1-15) [claim 3]; and
wherein the movable frame is equipped with wheels (Fig. 1) [claim 7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamont in view of Stelter (US Pub. No. 2007/0277367).
Regarding claim 2, Lamont teaches all the claimed limitations except for at least one heating coil arranged around each top surface area of the support. Stelter teaches an assembly comprises least one heating coil (3) to heat the fuel cell stack (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate at least one heating coil around the top surface of the area support in order to maintain a desirable temperature of the fuel cell stack during transport.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamont.
Regarding claim 5, Lamont teaches all the claimed limitations except for the support comprising four top surface areas arranged at 90 degrees to teach other in front view, however it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lamont’s top surface area into four top surface areas as taught since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamont in view of Baeg et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0133932).
Regarding claim 6, Lamont teaches all the claimed limitations except for at least one condensate trap, in the movable frame to collect all the condensates coming from at least one stack assembly of electrolyser/fuel cell components during their conditioning and/or testing. Baeg teaches a fuel cell assembly comprises at least one condensate trap, in a movable frame to collect all the condensates coming from at least one stack assembly of electrolyser/fuel cell components (para. 49). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate at least one condensate trap as taught by Baeg within said movable frame in order to collect the condensate/by-product of the fuel cell components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 are allowed.
Conclusion
MINH Q. PHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/MINH Q PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852