DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 25, 2025, has been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 113500837).
Zhou discloses a gas barrier sheet, the sheet comprising an upper surface layer, an intermediate core layer, and a lower surface layer, wherein the intermediate core layer comprises 60-80 wt% of PBAT and 20-40 wt% of PGA, and has good gas barrier properties (see claim 1, paragraph [0007], and figure 1). Although Zhou does not explicitly disclose the exact weight percentage of PGA, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Although Zhou does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the layers, thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04. Zhou does not appear to explicitly teach the Mathematical Formula 1; however, substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the gas barrier multilayer film is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the gas barrier multilayer film discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed Mathematical Formula 1, as in claim 1.
Concerning claim 2, Zhou discloses a gas barrier sheet, the sheet comprising an upper surface layer, an intermediate core layer, and a lower surface layer, wherein the intermediate core layer comprises 60-80 wt% of PBAT and 20-40 wt% of PGA, and has good gas barrier properties (see claim 1, paragraph [0007], and figure 1). Zhou does not appear to explicitly teach the Mathematical Formula 2; however, substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the gas barrier multilayer film is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the gas barrier multilayer film discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed Mathematical Formula 2.
Concerning claim 3, Zhou discloses a gas barrier sheet, the sheet comprising an upper surface layer, an intermediate core layer, and a lower surface layer, wherein the intermediate core layer comprises 60-80 wt% of PBAT and 20-40 wt% of PGA, and has good gas barrier properties (see claim 1, paragraph [0007], and figure 1). Zhou does not appear to explicitly teach the Mathematical Formula 3; however, substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the gas barrier multilayer film is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the gas barrier multilayer film discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed Mathematical Formula 3.
Concerning claim 4, Zhou discloses a gas barrier sheet, the sheet comprising an upper surface layer, an intermediate core layer, and a lower surface layer, wherein the intermediate core layer comprises 60-80 wt% of PBAT and 20-40 wt% of PGA, and has good gas barrier properties (see claim 1, paragraph [0007], and figure 1). Although Zhou does not explicitly disclose the exact weight percentage of PGA, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Concerning claims 5-6, Zhou discloses a gas barrier sheet having a degradable function, the sheet comprising an upper surface layer, an intermediate core layer, and a lower surface layer, wherein the intermediate core layer comprises 60-80 wt% of PBAT and 20-40 wt% of PGA, and has good gas barrier properties (see claim 1, paragraph [0007], and figure 1).
Concerning claims 7-8, Zhou discloses a gas barrier sheet, the sheet comprising an upper surface layer, an intermediate core layer, and a lower surface layer, wherein the intermediate core layer comprises 60-80 wt% of PBAT and 20-40 wt% of PGA, and has good gas barrier properties (see claim 1, paragraph [0007], and figure 1). Although Zhou does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the layers, thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
Concerning claim 9, Zhou discloses a gas barrier sheet, the sheet comprising an upper surface layer, an intermediate core layer, and a lower surface layer, wherein the intermediate core layer comprises 60-80 wt% of PBAT and 20-40 wt% of PGA, and has good gas barrier properties (see claim 1, paragraph [0007], and figure 1).
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781