DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action for US Application 19/124,653 for a Support Frame for Pressure Vessels.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the edge portions of the first securing groove in claim 2 and the clamping screw of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 12, 13, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 114151727 to Instant Yuan Construction Group Co LTD (referred to as Yuan hereinafter). Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses a support frame for securing pressure vessels (see figure 1 and annotated figure above). The frame comprises two side struts (see above… the part 200 on each side, and each of the 3 horizontal members attached to it), and at least one cross strut (see above… the three cross struts on each side) extending between the two side struts to accommodate a plurality of pressure vessels positioned between the side struts. Pressure vessels supported on the frame can have a neck piece at one end (the pressure vessels are not positively recited in the claims, and therefore the limitation limiting that structure has no patentable significance).
There is a plurality of holders (see figure 1… one of holders 300 on top cross strut) corresponding to each of the pressure vessels and secured to the cross strut to secure the neck pieces of the pressure vessels. There is at least one first securing groove (see figure 2… 900) that extends along the cross strut, wherein each of the holders has a first securing mechanism that engages in the first securing groove of the cross strut (see figure 2 showing the holder 300 secured into the groove by a mechanism).
Regarding claim 2, extrusion is a process that does not limit the structure of the support frame, and therefore the limitation claiming the cross strut as an extruded profile has no patentable significance. Regarding claim 4, the first securing has a clamping element with which the first securing mechanism can be fixed in the first securing groove (the clamping mechanism is inherent for attaching element 300 to groove 900). Regarding claim 6, there is a first securing element for at least one pipe, each of the first securing elements having a second securing mechanism which engages in a second securing groove of the cross strut (see figures 1 and 2… elements 310, 320 on right of second cross strut, secured in groove 900).
Regarding claim 12, each of the side struts has an L-shaped profile (see annotated figure above, each cross strut forms a an L-shape with 200). Regarding claim 13, the first surface of the cross strut faces upwards when the support fame is in an operating position (See figure 2, the groove is in a surface of the cross strut that faces upwardly). Regarding claim 16, extrusion is a process that does not limit the structure of the support frame, and therefore the limitation claiming each side strut as an extruded profile has no patentable significance.
Regarding claim 17, the cross strut connects first ends of the side struts (see figure 1). Regarding claim 18, there is a connecting strut that extends between second ends of the side struts (see figure 1… there are connecting struts on both ends of the side struts).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan. Regarding claim 7, Yuan discloses second securing elements for at least one cable, each of the securing elements having a third securing mechanism, which engages in a securing groove of the cross strut (see figures 1 and 2… elements 310, 320 on left of second cross strut, secured in groove 900). Yuan does not disclose the securing elements as engaged in the second securing groove. However, although the first and second securing elements are each engaged in separate securing grooves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have just utilized one continuous securing groove for both securing elements.
Regarding claim 8, the first securing groove is located in a first surface of the cross strut (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 19, Yuan discloses first securing elements for at least one cable, each of the securing elements having a second securing mechanism, which engages in a securing groove of the cross strut (see figures 1 and 2… elements 310, 320 on left of the first cross strut, secured in groove 900). Yuan does not disclose the securing elements as engaged in the first securing groove. However, although the first securing element and holder are each engaged in separate securing grooves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have just utilized one continuous securing groove for both elements.
Regarding claim 20, Yuan does not disclose second securing elements for at least one cable, each of the securing elements having a third securing mechanism which engages in the first securing groove of the cross strut. However, duplicating parts is a design preference that has been held to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the cross elements with an additional holder (300) to support additional conduits.
The structure of the additional holder meets the limitations of second securing elements (310, 320) for at least one cable, each of the securing elements having a third securing mechanism which engages in a securing groove of the cross strut. Yuan does not disclose the securing elements as engaged in the first securing groove. However, although the first securing elements and second securing elements would each be engaged in separate securing grooves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have just utilized one continuous securing groove for both elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 9-11, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 3, the prior art does not disclose a support frame with the elements of claim 1, and the first securing groove having edge portions projecting towards a center of the groove at two edges thereof, the edge portions engaged from behind by the first securing mechanism. Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not disclose a support frame with the elements of claim 1, and the clamping element as a clamping screw. Regarding claims 9-11, the prior art does not disclose a support frame with the elements of claim 1and at least one channel that extends along the cross strut and wherein a fixing screw is screwed into at least one end of the at least one channel. Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not disclose a support frame with the elements of claim 1, 8, and 13, and a second securing groove located in a second surface of the cross strut that is inclined towards the first surface of the cross strut.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 7244084 to Anthony US 10864859 to Sloan
US 10196199 to Demianovich
US 4262943 to Armstrong
US 7137474 to Yokote
US 10047910 to Chung
US 6536722 to Sadowski
US 5518272 to Fukagawa
The above prior art discloses various support frames for conduits and pressure vessels.
STEVEN M. MARSH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/STEVEN M MARSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632