DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2025, 11/26/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding “Failure to particularly point out & distinctly claim [indefinite]”:
Claim 1 in lines 7-17 recites the limitations 1) "wherein the isolation switch, when in a closed position, allows power to pass from the power connections to the power input port, and when in an open position, does not allow power to pass from the power connections to the power input port thereby isolating the power input port from the power source" & 2) "a ". Both limitations describe the functionality of a switch located between a power source and a device which makes use of the power source, and it is not clear how or if the “isolation switch” & the “receptacle switch” are different. Additionally, if these are separate switches what is the relationship between them (parallel or series, for two switches in either series or parallel neither has full control of the power to the circuit)?
Claims 3, 6, & 14 in lines 1- recites the limitation "wherein the housing has a front side and an opposing back side". It is not clear which side is considered to be the front side and which side is considered to be the back side. Additionally, a housing inherently has a front side and a backside and any feature on a side is inherently “accessible” from that side.
Claim 13 in lines 2-5 recites the limitation "with one or more of: a mesh network; a mobile device; and gateway hub". The phrase “one or more of” indicates an ‘OR’ relation between the limitations that follow, but semicolons indicate an ‘AND’ relation between the limitations that follow. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as an ‘OR’ relation.
Claim 14 in lines 9-23 recites the limitations 1) "an isolation switch electrically coupled between one or more of the power connections and the power input port, wherein the isolation switch, when in a closed position, allows power to pass from the power connections to the power input port, and when in an open position, does not allow power to pass from the power connections to the power input port thereby isolating the power input port from the power source, the isolation switch includes an isolation switch actuator accessible from outside of the housing, wherein the isolation switch actuator is manually movable by a user to manually switch the isolation switch between the closed position and the open position;" & 2) "a receptacle switch operatively coupled between the power input port and the socket receptacle, the receptacle switch, when in a closed position, allows power to pass from the power input port to the socket receptacle, and when in an open position, does not allow power to pass from the power input port to the socket receptacle;". Both limitations describe the functionality of a switch located between a power source and a device which makes use of the power source, and it is not clear how or if the “isolation switch” & the “receptacle switch” are different. Additionally, if these are separate switches what is the relationship between them (parallel or series, for two switches in either series or parallel neither has full control of the power to the circuit).
Note (at least 3 possible configurations possible based on claim language):
One switch
Switch open & device does not have power
Switch closed & Device is powered
two switches which are controlled together to achieve either ‘device is powered’ or ‘device is not powered’ (with no other possibilities) is effectively one switch.
Series combination of switches
Switch one open
Switch one closed
Switch two open
device is not powered
device is not powered
Switch two closed
device is not powered
Device is powered
parallel combination of switches
Switch one open
Switch one closed
Switch two open
device is not powered
Device is powered
Switch two closed
Device is powered
Device is powered
Claim 20 in line 1 recites the limitation "The method of claim 19". Claim 20 inherits the limitations of claim 19, but it is not clear how or if claim 20 further limits claim 19; both claims are not necessarily more than ‘to send a wireless signal to the device(s) which causes them to make audible or visual indication of location, in order for a user to be able to disconnect them’.
Regarding ‘rejected for inheriting the rejected limitation(s) of a parent claim without rectifying the issue(s) for which the parent claim was rejected’:
Claims 2-13 & 15-16 in line 1 recites the limitation "The smart socket of claim 1[2][3][5][11]" & "The smart socket of claim 14".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-17, & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130234534 A1 (Lin) in view of US 10616742 B2 (Tetreault).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a smart socket comprising: a housing (Fig. 1C-1: power socket has housing) that houses: a socket receptacle (Fig. 1C-1: “power socket with wireless communication capability”, receptacle/(“socket”)) for receiving an electrical plug (Fig. 1C: plug connected to example device of a fan 16); one or more power connections (Fig. 1C-200: “power outlet”) for connecting to a power source; a power input port (Fig. 1C-200: device connects to power source and receives power and therefore has “power port for receiving input power”) for receiving input power from the one or more power connections; an isolation switch (Fig. 1A-13: “Switch”) electrically coupled between one or more of the power connections (Fig. 1A: “Power Source”, power connection/(“power source”)) and the power input port (Fig. 1A-11: “Power input unit”), wherein the isolation switch, when in a closed position, allows power to pass from the power connections to the power input port, and when in an open position, does not allow power to pass from the power connections to the power input port thereby isolating the power input port from the power source (Fig. 1A-13: “Switch”, this switch is between the power source and the devices); a receptacle switch (Fig. 1A-13: “Switch”, this switch is between the power source and the devices) operatively coupled between the power input port and the socket receptacle, the receptacle switch, when in a closed position, allows power to pass from the power input port to the socket receptacle, and when in an open position, does not allow power to pass from the power input port to the socket receptacle; … ; a wireless communication circuit (Fig. 1A-14: “wireless communication module”, circuit/(“module”)) for wirelessly communicating with a remote device (Fig.4-41: “wireless router”, remote device/(“wireless router”)); … ; transmit via the wireless communication circuit one or more power parameters that are based at least in part on one or more of the received electrical characteristics of the power that is delivered to the socket receptacle (Fig. 1C-1: “power socket with wireless communication capability”, receptacle/(“socket”)); and receive one or more commands via the wireless communication circuit, including a command that causes the controller to switch the receptacle switch between the closed position and the open position (para 0045: “The wireless router 41 transmits the control signal SI to the power socket with wireless communication capability 4.”).
Lin does not as explicitly teach a meter for capturing one or more electrical characteristics of power that is delivered to the socket receptacle … a controller operatively coupled to the receptacle switch, the meter and the wireless communication circuit, the controller configured to: receive from the meter one or more of the captured electrical characteristics of the power that is delivered to the socket receptacle.
Tetreault teaches a meter (Fig. 2-40: “power meter board”, column 7 lines 37-40: “Power meter board 40 is configured, as would be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art, to measure the power flowing to a device plugged into socket 34”) for capturing one or more electrical characteristics of power that is delivered to the socket receptacle (Fig. 1-36: “external female socket”, receptacle/(“socket”)); … a controller (Fig. 3-65: “microcontroller”, column 10 line 65 to column 11 line 2: “The microcontroller 65 can in effect serve as a receiver or base station for one or more accessory devices 70, 82, thereby providing continuous monitoring of or reception of data from accessory devices 70, 82 that are within range of the power plug 10.”) operatively coupled to the receptacle switch, the meter and the wireless communication circuit, the controller configured to: receive from the meter one or more of the captured electrical characteristics of the power that is delivered to the socket receptacle (Fig. 2-40: “power meter board”, column 7 lines 37-40: “Power meter board 40 is configured, as would be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art, to measure the power flowing to a device plugged into socket 34”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Lin with the teachings of Tetreault. One would have added to the “Power socket with wireless communication capability” of Lin the “multifunction pass-through wall power plug” and in particular the meter for capturing electrical characteristics of power. The motivation would have been that including a meter would better enable the storage and analysis of data regarding power usage (see Tetreault column 12 lines 4-12: “The data transferred to remote computer 84 may be used for any suitable purpose as should be understood by those of skill in the art. For example, the remote computer may be used to store and analyze usage data received from the plug 10. This usage data, for example, can consist of times when an appliance plugged into the power plug 10 was turned on or off, or the current drawn by the appliance during the “on” period, which corresponds to energy consumption and peak power.”).
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 1,
Tetreault further teaches wherein the isolation switch includes an isolation switch actuator (column 3 lines 27-34: “In some embodiments, the pass through wall power plug comprises a relay or other switch that controls power supply to an external device connected to the power plug. The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug. In addition, the microcontroller may be configured to respond to remote instructions to actuate the switch or relay to turn the power to the device on or off.”) accessible from outside of the housing, wherein the isolation switch actuator is manually movable by a user to manually switch the isolation switch between the closed position and the open position (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”).
Regarding claim 3, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 2,
Tetreault further teaches wherein the housing has a front side and an opposing back side, wherein the socket receptacle is accessible from the front side of the housing and the isolation switch actuator is accessible from the back side of the housing (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”).
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 3,
Lin further teaches wherein the one or more power connections are accessible from the back side of the housing (Fig. 1C-1: “power socket”).
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 1,
Tetreault further teaches further comprising a receptacle switch actuator (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”) accessible from outside of the housing, wherein the receptacle switch actuator is manually movable by a user to manually switch the receptacle switch between the closed position and the open position.
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 5,
Tetreault further teaches wherein the housing has a front side and an opposing back side, wherein the socket receptacle is accessible from the front side of the housing and the receptacle switch actuator is accessible from the front side of the housing (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”).
Regarding claim 7, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 1,
Tetreault further teaches wherein the one or more of the power connections comprise a live connection and a neutral connection, wherein the isolation switch is electrically coupled between the live connection and the power input port (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”, when the switch is open it is a neutral connection and when it is closed and there must be a connection between the ‘live connection’ and the ‘power input port’ for power to be provided to devices).
Regarding claim 8, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 1,
Lin further teaches wherein the one or more of the power connections comprise one or more wiring terminals (para 0028: “A power source with 110 volts provides a signal phase alternating current (50.about.60 Hz AC) which needs at least two connecting terminals, and the power source with 10 volts may needs a third connecting terminals for grounding.”, wiring terminals/(“connecting terminals”)).
Regarding claim 9, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 1,
Lin further teaches wherein the one or more of the power connections comprise one or more wires(para 0028: “A power source with 110 volts provides a signal phase alternating current (50.about.60 Hz AC) which needs at least two connecting terminals, and the power source with 10 volts may needs a third connecting terminals for grounding.”, terminals necessarily imply wires since terminals are for connecting wires).
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 1,
Tetreault further teaches wherein the receptacle switch comprises a relay, and wherein the controller switches the receptacle switch by controlling the relay (column 3 lines 29-34: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug. In addition, the microcontroller may be configured to respond to remote instructions to actuate the switch or relay to turn the power to the device on or off.”).
Regarding claim 11, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 1,
Lin further teaches wherein the controller is operatively coupled to the isolation switch, and is configured to receive one or more commands via the wireless communication circuit including a command that causes the controller to switch the isolation switch between the closed position and the open position(Fig. 1A-13: “Switch”, para 0045: “The wireless router 41 transmits the control signal SI to the power socket with wireless communication capability 4.”).
Regarding claim 13, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 1,
Tetreault further teaches wherein the wireless communication circuit supports BLE communication (column 2 lines 43-47: “In some embodiments, the wall plug incorporates both a long-range communication protocol radio, such as Wi-Fi, and a short-range communication protocol, such as Bluetooth and/or Bluetooth Low Energy, for communication with both short-range devices,”, BLE/(“Bluetooth Low Energy”)) with one or more of: a mesh network; a mobile device (Fig. 4-80: “remote device”, column 8 line 65 to column 9 line 4: “the microcontroller 65 can be directed to actuate the relay switch, i.e., that is operatively connected to button 38, when the proximity sensor is triggered, thereby powering the device plugged into the socket 34. Likewise, the proximity function can turn off a device or take other action when it detects the user (via the user's smart phone) has moved a certain distance away from the plug 10.”, mobile device/(“smart phone” or other device which would trigger a proximity sensor)); and gateway hub.
Regarding claim 14, Lin teaches a smart socket comprising: a housing (Fig. 1C-1: power socket has housing) having a front side and an opposing back side, the housing houses: a socket receptacle (Fig. 1C-1: “power socket with wireless communication capability”, receptacle/(“socket”)) for receiving an electrical plug (Fig. 1C: plug connected to example device of a fan 16), the socket receptacle is accessible from the front side of the housing; one or more power connections (Fig. 1C-200: “power outlet”) for connecting to a power source, the one or more power connections accessible from the back side of the housing (Fig. 1C-1: “power socket”); a power input port (Fig. 1C-200: device connects to power source and receives power and therefore has “power port for receiving input power”) for receiving input power from the one or more power connections; an isolation switch (Fig. 1A-13: “Switch”) electrically coupled between one or more of the power connections (Fig. 1A: “Power Source”, power connection/(“power source”)) and the power input port (Fig. 1A-11: “Power input unit”), wherein the isolation switch, when in a closed position, allows power to pass from the power connections to the power input port, and when in an open position, does not allow power to pass from the power connections to the power input port thereby isolating the power input port from the power source (Fig. 1A-13: “Switch”, this switch is between the power source and the devices), … ; a receptacle switch (Fig. 1A-13: “Switch”, this switch is between the power source and the devices) operatively coupled between the power input port and the socket receptacle, the receptacle switch, when in a closed position, allows power to pass from the power input port to the socket receptacle, and when in an open position, does not allow power to pass from the power input port to the socket receptacle; a wireless communication circuit (Fig. 1A-14: “wireless communication module”, circuit/(“module”)) for wirelessly communicating with a remote device (Fig.4-41: “wireless router”, remote device/(“wireless router”)); … , the controller configured to receive one or more commands via the wireless communication circuit, including a command that causes the controller to switch the receptacle switch between the closed position and the open position (para 0045: “The wireless router 41 transmits the control signal SI to the power socket with wireless communication capability 4.”).
Lin does not as explicitly teach the isolation switch includes an isolation switch actuator accessible from outside of the housing, wherein the isolation switch actuator is manually movable by a user to manually switch the isolation switch between the closed position and the open position … and a controller operatively coupled to the receptacle switch and the wireless communication circuit.
Tetreault teaches the isolation switch includes an isolation switch actuator (column 3 lines 27-34: “In some embodiments, the pass through wall power plug comprises a relay or other switch that controls power supply to an external device connected to the power plug. The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug. In addition, the microcontroller may be configured to respond to remote instructions to actuate the switch or relay to turn the power to the device on or off.”) accessible from outside of the housing, wherein the isolation switch actuator is manually movable by a user to manually switch the isolation switch between the closed position and the open position (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”) … and a controller (Fig. 3-65: “microcontroller”, column 10 line 65 to column 11 line 2: “The microcontroller 65 can in effect serve as a receiver or base station for one or more accessory devices 70, 82, thereby providing continuous monitoring of or reception of data from accessory devices 70, 82 that are within range of the power plug 10.”) operatively coupled to the receptacle switch and the wireless communication circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Lin with the teachings of Tetreault. One would have added to the “Power socket with wireless communication capability” of Lin the “multifunction pass-through wall power plug” and in particular the meter for capturing electrical characteristics of power. The motivation would have been that including a meter would better enable the storage and analysis of data regarding power usage (see Tetreault column 12 lines 4-12: “The data transferred to remote computer 84 may be used for any suitable purpose as should be understood by those of skill in the art. For example, the remote computer may be used to store and analyze usage data received from the plug 10. This usage data, for example, can consist of times when an appliance plugged into the power plug 10 was turned on or off, or the current drawn by the appliance during the “on” period, which corresponds to energy consumption and peak power.”).
Regarding claim 15, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 14,
Tetreault further teaches wherein the isolation switch actuator is accessible from the back side of the housing (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”).
Regarding claim 16, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 14,
Tetreault further teaches further comprising a receptacle switch actuator (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”) accessible from the front side of the housing, wherein the receptacle switch actuator is manually movable by a user to manually switch the receptacle switch between the closed position and the open position.
Regarding claim 17, Lin teaches a method for testing a power line network of a building, wherein the building includes a plurality of smart sockets (Fig. 1A & 1B) connected to the power line network, with each smart socket configured to receive an electrical plug (Fig. 1C: plug connected to example device of a fan 16) from a corresponding electrical appliance and each smart socket is configured to wirelessly report one or more power parameters of power delivered by the smart socket from the power line network to the corresponding electrical appliance (Fig. 1C-1: “power socket with wireless communication capability”, receptacle/(“socket”)),
Lin does not as explicitly teach wherein each smart socket includes an isolation switch actuator accessible from outside of the smart socket to actuate an isolation switch of the smart socket to electrically isolate the smart socket from the power line network of the building, the method comprising: manually actuating the isolation switch actuator of each of the plurality of smart sockets that are connected to the power line network to electrically isolate each of the plurality of smart sockets from the power line network of the building; performing a test of the power line network of the building; and manually actuating the isolation switch actuator of each of the plurality of smart sockets to re-connect each of the plurality of smart sockets to the power line network of the building.
Tetreault teaches wherein each smart socket includes an isolation switch actuator (column 3 lines 27-34: “In some embodiments, the pass through wall power plug comprises a relay or other switch that controls power supply to an external device connected to the power plug. The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug. In addition, the microcontroller may be configured to respond to remote instructions to actuate the switch or relay to turn the power to the device on or off.”) accessible from outside of the smart socket to actuate an isolation switch of the smart socket to electrically isolate the smart socket from the power line network of the building (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”), the method comprising: manually actuating the isolation switch actuator of each of the plurality of smart sockets that are connected to the power line network to electrically isolate each of the plurality of smart sockets from the power line network of the building (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”); performing a test of the power line network of the building (Fig. 2-40: “power meter board”, column 7 lines 37-40: “Power meter board 40 is configured, as would be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art, to measure the power flowing to a device plugged into socket 34”); and manually actuating the isolation switch actuator of each of the plurality of smart sockets to re-connect each of the plurality of smart sockets to the power line network of the building (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Lin with the teachings of Tetreault. One would have added to the “Power socket with wireless communication capability” of Lin the “multifunction pass-through wall power plug” and in particular the meter for capturing electrical characteristics of power. The motivation would have been that including a meter would better enable the storage and analysis of data regarding power usage (see Tetreault column 12 lines 4-12: “The data transferred to remote computer 84 may be used for any suitable purpose as should be understood by those of skill in the art. For example, the remote computer may be used to store and analyze usage data received from the plug 10. This usage data, for example, can consist of times when an appliance plugged into the power plug 10 was turned on or off, or the current drawn by the appliance during the “on” period, which corresponds to energy consumption and peak power.”).
Regarding claim 19, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the method of claim 17,
Lin further teaches further comprising: wirelessly transmitting one or more commands to a first one of the plurality of smart sockets (Fig. 1C-1: “power socket with wireless communication capability”, receptacle/(“socket”)),
Tetreault further teaches and in response, the first one of the plurality of smart sockets emitting an audible or visual alert to help a user locate the first one of the plurality of smart sockets in the building (column 8 lines 21-26: “The microcontroller 65 may also direct the wireless communication module to transmit a beacon message to any electronic device within a particular range of the power plug 10. The beacon function enables the plug 10 to transmit signals, such as targeted messages or information, to any mobile device within a certain range.”); and once the first one of the plurality of smart sockets is located, manually actuate the isolation switch actuator of the first one of the plurality of smart sockets to electrically isolate the first one of the plurality of smart sockets from the power line network of the building (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”).
Regarding claim 20, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the method of claim 19,
Lin further teaches further comprising: wirelessly transmitting one or more commands to one or more other of the plurality of smart sockets (Fig. 1C-1: “power socket with wireless communication capability”, receptacle/(“socket”)),
Tetreault further teaches and in response, each of the one or more other of the plurality of smart sockets emitting an audible or visual alert to help the user locate the one or more other of the plurality of smart sockets in the building (column 8 lines 21-26: “The microcontroller 65 may also direct the wireless communication module to transmit a beacon message to any electronic device within a particular range of the power plug 10. The beacon function enables the plug 10 to transmit signals, such as targeted messages or information, to any mobile device within a certain range.”); and once the one or more other of the plurality of smart sockets are located, manually actuating the isolation switch actuator of each of the one or more other of the plurality of smart sockets to electrically isolate the one or more other of the plurality of smart sockets from the power line network of the building (column 3 lines 29-31: “The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug.”).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130234534 A1 (Lin) in view of US 10616742 B2 (Tetreault) in further view of US 11349925 B2 (Binder).
Regarding claim 12, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the smart socket of claim 11,
Neither Lin nor Tetreault explicitly teach wherein the isolation switch comprises a latching relay, and the controller switches the isolation switch by controlling the latching relay
Binder teaches wherein the isolation switch comprises a latching relay, and the controller switches the isolation switch by controlling the latching relay (column 115 lines 14-17: “A relay is a non-limiting example of an electrically operated switch. A relay may be a latching relay, that has two relaxed states (bistable), and when the current is switched off, the relay remains in its last state.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Lin in view Tetreault with the teachings of Binder. One would have added to the “Power socket with wireless communication capability” and “multifunction pass-through wall power plug” of Lin in view of Tetreault the latching relays of Binder. The motivation would have been that a latching relay is more power efficient and that the devices need to be either on or off rather than randomly switching on and off (see Binder column 115 lines 15-17: “A relay may be a latching relay, that has two relaxed states (bistable), and when the current is switched off, the relay remains in its last state.”).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130234534 A1 (Lin) in view of US 10616742 B2 (Tetreault) in further view of US 12573876 B2 (Schwagmann).
Regarding claim 18, Lin in view of Tetreault teaches the method of claim 17,
Tetreault further teaches the insulation integrity test comprising applying a voltage and/or a current to the one or more wires of the power line network that could damage one or more of the plurality of smart sockets if the isolation switches of the plurality of smart sockets were not actuated to electrically isolate each of the plurality of smart sockets from the power line network of the building (column 3 lines 27-34: “In some embodiments, the pass through wall power plug comprises a relay or other switch that controls power supply to an external device connected to the power plug. The relay or switch may be controlled physically using a button that is accessed through an external housing of the power plug. In addition, the microcontroller may be configured to respond to remote instructions to actuate the switch or relay to turn the power to the device on or off.”).
Neither Lin nor Tetreault teach wherein the test comprises an insulation integrity test for testing the insulation of one or more wires of the power line network.
Schwagmann teaches wherein the test comprises an insulation integrity test for testing the insulation of one or more wires of the power line network (column 2 lines 18-28: “For example, a detected voltage and/or current difference at the supply measurement points can be used, among other things: to ensure the sufficient operating voltage of the devices to be supplied during operation, to determine the voltage drops across the supply lines, to continuously determine operating currents with known line resistances, wherein the line resistances can be determined, for example, in a test run via the voltage difference with a current source, to evaluate voltage drops over time,”, system can test condition of electrical insulation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Lin in view Tetreault with the teachings of Schwagmann. One would have added to the “Power socket with wireless communication capability” and “multifunction pass-through wall power plug” of Lin in view of Tetreault the testing of line resistances of Schwagmann. The motivation would have been that the testing could be harmful to some components (see Schwagmann column 11 lines 15-22: “The interruption of the line can be carried out in the sense of a protective disconnection known per se, wherein, for example, the electrical circuit comprised by the electrical plug connector performs and/or triggers the interruption. For this purpose, a switch can be provided which is formed in a manner known per se, for example as a semiconductor element; alternatively or additionally, an electrical fuse can be provided.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL "Remote-controllable and energy-saving room architecture based on ZigBee communication" (Han) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure see Fig. 1.
NPL "How to "Kill a Watt" and Save Energy" (Massiha) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see photo 1.
US 9685783 B2 (Raneri) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1 & Fig. 2.
US 9146549 B2 (Pernia) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1 & Fig. 2.
US 20160209899 A1 (Brantner) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 6.
US 20100148983 A1 (Huxley) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Figs 1 & Figs 2.
US 20090251127 A1 (Kim) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1.
US 11740671 B1 (Krummey) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 6 & Fig. 7.
US 11216051 B2 (Kaipu Narahari) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 6.
/MARTIN WALTER BRAUNLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858