Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/25/2025 and 2/26/2026 have been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 4/25/2025 are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Saruwatari et al (US20190165360).
Regarding claim 1, Saruwatari discloses a production method of a positive electrode active material for a lithium-ion secondary battery, the positive electrode active material including a lithium nickel complex oxide and containing secondary particles in which a plurality of primary particles are aggregated (abstract), the production method comprising: mixing a nickel-containing material containing at least nickel, and a lithium compound, thereby preparing a raw material mixture (para 0041); firing the raw material mixture in an oxidative atmosphere, thereby obtaining a fired product (para 0041); and spraying a boron-containing solution onto the fired product obtained in the firing, the boron-containing solution containing a boron-containing material that is at least one selected from a boron simple substance and a boron-containing compound (para 0058), wherein the lithium nickel complex oxide contains lithium (Li), nickel (Ni), boron (B), and element M (M) at a ratio by mole of Li:Ni:B:M=a:b:c:d, where 0.95≤a≤1.10, 0.50≤b<1.00, 0.00<c≤0.03, 0.00≤d≤0.47, b+c+d=1, and element M is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mn, Co, V, Mg, Mo, Ca, Cr, Zr, Ta, Ti, Nb, Na, W, Fe, Zn, Si, Sn, Cu, P, and Al (para 0050-52). Saruwatari does not expressly disclose the lithium nickel complex oxide having a hexagonal crystalline layered structure. However, given that the lithium nickel complex oxide of Saruwatari is produced by identical or substantially identical processes as claimed, a person having an ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the lithium nickel complex oxide of Saruwatari to have the claimed structure. The law held that "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Saruwatari discloses the method of the positive electrode active material for the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1, further comprising: thermally treating, after the spraying, treated powder that is the fired product onto which the boron-containing solution is sprayed (para 73-74).
Regarding claims 4-7, Saruwatari does not disclose the claimed volume ratio based on a titration curve. However, given that the lithium nickel complex oxide of Saruwatari is produced by identical or substantially identical processes as claimed, a person having an ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the lithium nickel complex oxide of Saruwatari and the claimed to be identical or substantially identical. Therefore, the composition of prior art would possess the same properties as claimed because it has been held that "products of identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
7/11/2026